Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
We always have an excellent time at this campground. We already reserved sites for next year.The staff is very helpful and the campgrounds are very well kept and clean.
Aug 19, 2013
The creek is awesome and the best part of the park. We are coming back next year! The dish washing station is so handy too.
Aug 19, 2013
I would have given 5 stars except the bathrooms could have been kept up a little better. Regardless, we had a fantastic time and will be back next year.
Aug 19, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay here. It is very clean. Tubing was fun on the babbling brook. Staff very friendly.
Aug 19, 2013
It was a fun weekend with many activities to attend. We enjoyed Bingo, tie die, the hay ride, playground and pool. Would recommend sifting the sand bag over hammering rocks at the Diamond Mine. Great weather during the day but very cool at night.
Aug 19, 2013
We have stayed at your KOA in the past and enjoyed our stay, we enjoyed our stay again this time but we spent a majority of our time asking people to refrain from walking through our site, we actually had people walking through while we were eating breakfast, a possible suggestion to remedy this problem may be to put small reminder signs throughout the park.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Clean, comfortably sized grassy site. Clean bathrooms, showers, and pool. Great playground for the kids!
Aug 19, 2013
Unfortunately we only stayed here one night and it was just for passing through, we would definitely make another trip back for a longer period of time so we could enjoy it more. The sites by the river were nice and peaceful, people were friendly.
Aug 19, 2013
We have stayed at thie KOA in the past and always enjoy our stay. There is a large campground within 20 min of our home and we prefer to travel 90 min to spend weekends at the Herkimer KOA.
Aug 19, 2013
The one thing that needs to be addressed is that there is always garbage along the banks of the creekside sites. I wouldn't think it would be to hard of a job to monitor this regularly. There seems to be plenty of staff around, and it wouldn't take that long to walk the banks and pick up garbage once or twice a day. other than that, we love this campground , and stay here several times a year.
Aug 19, 2013
It was a lot of fun. The site we had did not have afternoon shade which is when you really need it. The main bathroom by the pool smelled of urine however I did see them cleaning it several times a day. Possibly it needs a deep clean. The activities for kids are great they loved the crayfishing. I wish the diamond minning was free to campers since staying at a Koa is not cheap. Great stay otherwis
Aug 18, 2013
We had a great time and the people that work there was always very pleasant and very helpful. We can't wait to come and stay with you all again.
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
great place stayed on the river-front good power, grear reception on cable, nice folks
Aug 17, 2013
Bathrooms need to be better maintained, sinks broken, not clean and very messy. Pull through grass site was unlevel.
Aug 17, 2013
We enjoyed our stay and we plan to come again next year with friends. We loved being near the river and the road really was not loud. Mary
Aug 16, 2013
We met up with friends at the campground. They had the site 2 down from us. We had a fantastic time. We went tubing for the first time. What a blast that was !!! Great bathrooms, loved the veggies for sharing (the tomatoes were delish). We also had fun playing bingo and then eating ice cream afterwards. We look forward to coming back next summer!!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 14, 2013
We would have "completely" enjoyed the stay if WiFi had worked any of the time. For it to be down from Thursday all the way through Tuesday seem extreme. Check in and store delays need to be addressed still.
Aug 14, 2013
please do something about the dusty roads. it is terrible when it dries out!slow the cars down and the help on the carts. sites need work where we put the rugs down.other than thateverything is fine. thanks.
Aug 14, 2013
It was great. We utilized the pool, went tubing in the creek, went to the diamond mines and the kids made pinatas with the staff. I thought the sites would not be as close. That was the only thing I was slightly disappointed with. We really enjoyed it and hope to come back again.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
While we were only there one night as a stop-over, I can easily see why so many people visit this campground. Possible we will visit some other time for a few nights. Neighbors on both sides were extremely friendly. Overall, jut a great, albeit a short experience.
Aug 13, 2013
Love the riverside campsites
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
We are a Dutch family on a road trip in the USA. We stayed two enjoyable nights at Herkimer. Especially the sites at the river are pretty. Overall good place to stay.
Aug 12, 2013
I love coming to Herkimer KOA! Amazing staff, amazing activities, and always an amazing time! Can't wait to spend my next week there next year!
Aug 12, 2013
Creek was great! Grass at campgrounds need to be cut and bathrooms needed attention(cleaning and maintenance). Staff friendly and helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Well, to answer your first question, I already have suggested your location to a friend. This is our second stay and we had a great time. Between hunting for diamonds, the activities at camp for kids, tubing and being there in the dark wide open space to see the persiod meteor shower, it was great. I would suggest this KOA to anyone looking to explore central NY.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Sites are very very close together. They show a putt putt course on the map but too old to play on. Playground was very old and should be torn down, safety. Overall disappointed.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
I would highly recommend this KOA campsite. It is right across the street from the Herkimer diamond mines, which is an amazing family day. You may even walk away with a little change in your pocket if you sell your "diamonds" back to Herkimer. The KOA has a great staff, very clean, and great amenities.
Aug 12, 2013
Wish we had more time to enjoy this campground!
Aug 12, 2013
There were a lot of different activities for our girls to do, it was a nice change. We did visit the mines for the majority of our stay but it was nice to have the river so close and the meals options at the pavilon was a nice alternative to cooking on short notice. We will definitely come back again.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
It was OK, little road noise, and golf carts that race around.
Aug 11, 2013
The camp was very clean and safe for kids. The river tubing is a super activity for the family.
Aug 11, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.