Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 05, 2013
I love coming for our 60+ family reunion every year. appreciate the 15% group rate. My experience in lodge # 64 was ok. I rent this lodge every year. a few things disapponited me that i should have complained about, but i am not a complainer.the toilet was dirty, still soiled, hood of stove was dirty, the stovetops didnt work, but i still had a great time. Needed better cleaning.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
we love it there. we go every year.awsome place.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
We had a fantastic time at the Astronomy Lodge!!! It was beautiful. We all loved the campgrounds, so well kept and manicured! Thank you and....see you again next summer!
Aug 03, 2013
I liked that the campground was more low-key than some others. Growing up in the Mohawk Valley I was happy to once again visit the West Canada Creek. It was as beautiful as I remembered. My grandsons went tubing for the first time and had a great time searching for cray-fish. Also, I was very happy I could have visitors for dinner and a campfire without an additional charge. We will return.
Aug 03, 2013
Great cabin! Clean and nice grounds.
Aug 02, 2013
The customer service was good and I appreciate that. However, site 58 was tight. We were very close to 57 whose sewer hook up was very close to our area making it difficult to avoid.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Stay was good; however we had friends in the kamping kottages and it was very inconvenient going across the road. Besides, in the kamping kabins there weren't enough washrooms/showers to accommodate all the kabins, there were wait times. Thanks,
Aug 01, 2013
The only disappointment was the wi-fi service.
Aug 01, 2013
The cabin that we rented was filthy. The bathroom near the cabins was filthy as well. We stay in KOA campgrounds whenever possible because of the reputation they have for cleanliness and friendliness. This campground was friendly, but was not what I would expect from a KOA in the area of clenliness.
Jul 30, 2013
We had a fantastc time! This was our 4th year staying at Herkimer KOA! We plan to make this an annual trip with our family and friends. We look forward to coming back next summer!
Jul 29, 2013
We booked our cabin a year prior to our stay requesting to be near our friends. We were put at K1.This was possibly the furthest away we could be when there were cabins right across from site 73 and 74. Front screen had tears in it letting mosquito and other bugs in. Spiders in bathrooms and huge webs in showers. While the company was great, the accommodations were less than favorable.
Jul 29, 2013
We had a lot of fun!!
Jul 29, 2013
Deluxe 'Kabin' was nice. A good adaptation of a trailer. Cooking utensils were good quality too. Freezer was full of frost (we defrosted). We did NOT receive our daily newspaper or Friday breakfast, thus only 4 stars. "Kabin' also needs an exterior light at the rear.
Jul 27, 2013
We came for the children's rock and gem camp. Both were fantastic!
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
stay was wonderfull.your dog policy is not I was told icould not keepmy dog in your cabins I saw people walking there dog thru your store also no pitbulls where allowed anywhere I saw two pitbulls at campsites while walking around the property my dog weighs 12lbs I was told I could not keep her in the cabin so I did not bring her so your rules do not apply to every one other than that we had enjoy
Jul 19, 2013
Loved the cabin, mattress a little less then desirable, but the folks were absolutely wonderful, it was clean and neat and my daughter and I enjoyed our stay. We hope to come back someday with the rest of the family.
Jul 18, 2013
I have a great time every time I come!!
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
The location is great and the staff is very helpful. We bring in a large group (30 to 40 people) every year and it gets better every time.
Jul 16, 2013
We had a great time. Lots to do. Looking forward to coming back.
Jul 15, 2013
Disappointed in staff. 1st, tree removal service with chainsaws at 8am is uncalled for. Staff was reluctant in helping a stuck RV in a site that the staff put them on. Also, Internet access is very poor and has been for a few years now.
Jul 14, 2013
Had a great time, I think there should be more of a mining discount when you stay in an upgraded cabin, due to the cost of the stay. Otherwise, it was a very nice time,and we look forward to coming back again.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
There was a very bad storm roads were washed out bridges were closed it rained for seven days torre and the owner went above and beyond to help us my grand niece had a fever and they called rescue immediately Torre also helped me by switching cabins thank you and see you next year
Jul 13, 2013
We stay here every year and love it!
Jul 13, 2013
Always a great experience - grounds in amazing condition considering area flooding
Jul 13, 2013
Very nice campground.....needs to repair laundry
Jul 13, 2013
I enjoyed the stay very much- loved our cabin. Found all the facilities to be excellent. My only complaint was with parents who not only allowed, but encouraged jumping in the pool. Staff members would walk by now and then, but no one enforced the rules. It was difficult to enjoy myself poolside or in the water constantly being splashed.
Jul 13, 2013
I was bit up by some type of bugs in #64 and would like to request a refund.
Jul 11, 2013
The grounds we're clean and kept nice, however, they could have made the entrance wider and not as angled. In the solar cottage, the bed should have been a fitted sheet for the mattress not a flat, the shower pressure was poor, the t.v. did not have the remote, and they lost the front door key to the solar cottage we had to enter through the master bedroom door. The store was limited.
Jul 08, 2013
This was my 9th year going here with friends and family and over the years this KOA has listened to our comments and has improved every year. Thanks for the great time and memories! Clean, Safe, and was happy the entire time.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
One of the worst experiences of my life. Awful employees with bad manners, bad people skills and really poor customer service. I would NEVER stay in any KOA again and I will tell everyone especially to avoid the Herkimer KOA.
Jul 08, 2013
This crew had a lot to deal with because of flooding! They got me food when the restaurants were closed and did their best to help those in need.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 05, 2013
The kabins on the mine side desperately need updating. Our refrigerator had a freezer full of frost. The TV did not have a remote control.
Jul 05, 2013
Super clean, super friendly, wish the weather was better (raining during our 4 day stay) Never made it into the pool- but it was gorgeous! As was the Creek, the mines were great fun- got jewelry made out of our finds! Owners are really great people too! Highly recommend this KOA!
Jul 03, 2013
It's clean, beautifully maintained, cabins are great, and the staff and owner are friendly and gracious. We stayed during a flood and they took great care of us. We appreciated the free breakfast the day after!
Jul 03, 2013
Our stay was wonderful. The staff was nice, there were lots of things to do and the cabin was comfortable. The only downfall was that after a day at the mines we got to our cabin to find it dirty. They then took over an hour and a half to clean it and didnt offer any compensation for the inconvenience and barely even apologized.
Jul 02, 2013
We had a great stay at the Herkimer Diamond Mines and KOA Kampground. Our kabin was sufficient and had great amenities, the grounds were well kept, and the staff was friendly. We had a great time mining for diamonds, and will definitely return in the future.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Our first visit to Hekimer and we had a fantastic time. The campground is very nice and the facilities are extremely clean. We would definitely return.
Jun 30, 2013
we stayed while there was flooding going on...koa was a nice camp ground. we couldnt take advantage of all there was to do because of the flooding. stayed in a deluxe cabin beds were horrible..couldnt sleep or move the next day, there were some nasty bugs in my cabin and the public bathrooms in the koa needed to be cleaned more but overall it was nice..next time i will be staying in a camper tho

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.