Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Oct 16, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Stayed for a long weekend in the Bluebirds Nest cabin. Very nice accomodations, beautiful location on the water. We weren't in the car 5 minutes for the trip home before everyone started talking about "next time". Highly recommend it.
Oct 15, 2013
I was disappointed that no where was it stated in the deluxe cabin description that it was across the street right on top of the diamond mine. So you had the noise and traffic of that on top of being on top of the road. Other than that clean cabin and campground.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
We had a wonderful time! This is a beautiful setting and October is a perfect time to enjoy the quiet beauty of the area. We LOVE this place and will be back.
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Rented the astronomy cabin for the weekend hoping to do some star watching. Unfortunately, it rained or was overcast the whole time. Cabin was nice but disappointed in the weather. Would be nice to get $30 reimbursement for not being able to use the telescopes, since it was the whole reason I rented it. Not to mention booking it 3+ months in advance you are hoping for a nice clear weekend.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Spectacular stay. We stayed in the astronomy lodge, and it seemed as though they had decorated for me, personally. We had a cloudy patch, but the night cleared and the viewing from the observatory we just excellent. Friends who were mining across the street were accommodated nearby in campsites. Kids can't stop talking about it. Thanks so much!
Sep 30, 2013
Always a great time at the Herkimer KOA
Sep 30, 2013
Pleasant stay. Please remember I mentioned electricity went out. Resetting 50 amp breaker restored electricity both times. Both times it went out was as second person was showering. Perhaps water heater adds too much load to circuit or breaker is faulty. Good luck on finding the cause.
Sep 30, 2013
Great activities and clean facilities. Thanks! This is our second trip back.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
THOROUGHLY enjoyed the Astronomy cabin...so beautifully decorated and CLEAN. Would love to return for a visit.
Sep 22, 2013
all I have to say is that camping has grown up since our tent days in the 60's. Great stay, great cabin.
Sep 21, 2013
We have been visiting this KOA for 6 years. It is well kept and the owners are always striving to improve and enhance their guests experiences. Love it here !
Sep 21, 2013
Sep 18, 2013
We had a great weekend! Thanks to the staff for their friendliness and accommodating our need for changes. Loved the fall decorations! Made me want to come home and do my yard and house! Thanks!
Sep 18, 2013
Wish there were more places to eat nearby....
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Great experience!
Sep 16, 2013
Staff was so helpful and friendly and the grounds were wonderfully kept and neat. I will definitely stay at KOA again !!!!
Sep 14, 2013
Nice cabin, clean, shade did not work, half curtains on backwards, 6 light bulbs out, cobwebs on light, But all minor. Staff friendly thanks
Sep 12, 2013
The people at the KOA were great and very helpful. I am not sure if the Herkimer Diamond gift shop is part of your camp ground, but I found the people there unfriendly, and rude. Will stay at this KOA again, but will keep away form the mine, and shop.
Sep 12, 2013
everything was great but the shower in our cabin, which didn't work as expected.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
We loved our cabin across the street. We also like the new theme. Staff pleasant and helpful. Great weekend away indeed. We will see you again next year!
Sep 09, 2013
We had a great time...the amenities such as heat and electric in the camping cabins were a bonus. So much to do, so little time!
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
The Solar Lodge was beautiful. Our kids had a great time and loved the diamond mining.
Sep 07, 2013
Great place. All the staff were friendly and courteous. The new Solar Cabins are awesome. All you really need to bring is food. We called it Glamorous Camping or Glamping.
Sep 04, 2013
Loved it and can't wait to come back!
Sep 03, 2013
Very clean. Very close to diamond mines and local towns. Cabin was very small; mattresses were hard. Arrived before check in time, so visited the mines first. At the mines we were asked if we were staying at the KOA, I explained yes but hadn't checked in yet due to time. When we did check in, we were told that we could get a discount at mines. We should have been given the discount initially!
Sep 02, 2013
Our kabin was clean and ready by the time we arrived. The pizza delivery and pancake breakfast made our one night stay very easy and relaxed. We loved the pool. I am only giving three stars because the cabins and camp sites are on top of one another. I personally would have prefered more space/ privacy. The mattresses provided were also on the thin side.
Aug 30, 2013
we had a great stay and enjoyed looking for diamonds. When we left we had your breakfast it was hot and filling and was great that all the money was giving to the koa cancer camp.
Aug 29, 2013
We absolutely loved it. The campground was so nice and clean, well kept, as was our cabin. The staff was great too, went above & beyond. The only disappointment was that we had rented the astronomy cabin, which was wonderful, but... the staff seemed unable to get the telescope going. They came back several times and they really tried, but in the end, we never got to use it. Otherwise - flawless!
Aug 29, 2013
The people at the front desk were extremely helpful! The solar cabin we stayed in was clean and spacious. There were many things for the kids to do. We will definitely be back and will recommend to friends!
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Wonderful place and wonderful people that works there. My family and I had a wonderful time. The kids are already planning on next year's trip back.
Aug 28, 2013
Diamond mines across the street had rude workers. I asked for 2 kabins in the middle (5or6) next to each other in way back in April and were booked 5 and 7. Fire grates are a must and the site accommodated. My brother busted his leg behind the Kabins on Thursday and not a single employee asked if he was ok and when we called the overnight phone# to explain they did not care
Aug 26, 2013
We liked our cabin and the activities - tubing, flashlight candy hunt, bingo. Our cabin did not have a bathroom. We liked the idea of having access to private bathrooms with a key - however, we did not like that so many other campers (not in cabins) were using the bathrooms as the doors were often left unlocked.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Cabin could have been a bit cleaner but overall a good experience.
Aug 24, 2013
The pull out bed was awful! Not enough bedding. Not enough cooking utencils. For the price, not what we expected. Very convenient to mine for diamonds.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Skunky had a blast! It was his first time Kamping ever. He dug for diamonds and Kamped out for 2 nights. He loved it and will be back!!!
Aug 21, 2013
My family and I absolutely loved every minute of our stay with you! We will definitely be coming back!!
Aug 20, 2013
i was really suprised at how clean the cabin was and how well maintained the campground was. My son and I really enjoyed our stay. I would recomend that your cleaning staff clean the vents and air/heating systems better also those little nooks and crannies they can't see. Overall we had an excellent time and were quite comfy for our stay. Thank you so much

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.