Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

May 27, 2014
Camp ground was very nice and very well maintained. Everyone was extremely nice and friendly. We will definitely be making another trip.
May 23, 2014
we stayed in the astronomy lodge which was just awesome! perfect for a family of 4
May 23, 2014
Just an overnight stay but location next to the creek was lovely. The newly remodeled bath house was very nice. Unfortunately there was no remote for the TV and the pegs were missing from the wall. Would certainly stop again if in the area.
May 20, 2014
The campground was clean and the staff was very friendly. Our cabin was right on the creek - We had a wonderful time! We were so happy to see that they are pet friendly (the dogs had fun too! :-) We are planning to go back in the fall - thank you!!
May 19, 2014
We stayed in one of the cottages near the mine and it was terrific. After a day of mining, we ate at the Crystal Chandelier and had a fantastic meal. A++++
May 19, 2014
Great stay and will be back. My only negative comment would be that the TV reception in #78 was not good at all, most channels were fuzzy.
May 19, 2014
May 16, 2014
The cabin was amazing!! It was breathtaking. It had everything we needed and was very comfortable to sleep in. We would stay in another one again. Everyone enjoyed themselves and had a great time.
May 16, 2014
Extremely disappointed in our stay. We rented 2 cabins at $150.00/night. One cabin no A/C, second cabin next day no linen service. Staff was inexperienced but were great to deal with, management was hard to find.
May 15, 2014
Lovely place, lovely cabin, mattresses were very uncomfortable in the bunk beds. If I come back I'll sleep in the double bed and let someone else have the bunk. Low supply of hot water too for showers.
May 15, 2014
May 15, 2014
Have stayed at the Herkimer KOA numerous times and have always enjoyed the time there. Staff is courteous and friendly and the campground is in a lovely setting. The renovations of the bathhouse are awesome and the addition of the small fridges in the Kamping Kabins are a wonderful touch.
May 14, 2014
clean cabin, actual hot water in the clean showers and restroom. friendly employees. beautiful setting. had a fun, activity full weekend. thanks so much!!!!!!
May 13, 2014
Everyone very friendly, cabin was GREAT. Gem mining across the street was fantastic fun.
May 13, 2014
Our stay was extremely enjoyable. They have put a lot of money into the campground. It looks better than ever! Quiet and peaceful. Only complaint is some washers were out of order and 2 out of the 3 dryers were broken. Lost some money in there and had to put 3 loads of laundry in one dryer in order to finish up. It worked out ok but I wish they would put some money into the laundry room.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
We loved everything about our stay. The cabin was gorgeous and very clean. I can't wait to go back again.
May 11, 2014
Pleasantly surprised at how nice our basic cabin was. I will use your cabin system at other KOA's in the future.
May 07, 2014
Beds in the deluxe cabin are extremely uncomfortable. Bedding is lightweight, so if the weather is cold, you would do well to bring your own blankets or sleeping bags.
May 06, 2014
Exceeded our expectations! Very clean & perfectly decorated. Great location next to the river & diamond mining right across the street! Gas grill didn't work, but it was too cold for us to grill out anyhow
May 05, 2014
prompt service, clean deluxe cabins, great place to stay with friends. lots to do locally
May 05, 2014
The cabin and grounds were absolutely beautiful! We can't wait to come back for another stay!
May 05, 2014
I stayed in the deluxe cabin my with my wife and 3 daughters. We all cannot stop talking about what a great experience it was. The cabin was beautiful, it had everything we could have possibly needed and more. It comfortably fit a family of five. Situated right on the bank of the Canadian creek, where we had a campfire with the family next to us! The diamond mine was fun too. We will be back!
Apr 30, 2014
This stay was our first stay at the Herkimer KOA and we had a blast. We will be returning for some more fun hopefully in the summer. The staff was wonderful and it was very clear that the owner of the mine and campground is clearly a hands on owner and that is reflected in how everything ran. We can't wait to experience all of the activities that weren't available to us this early in the season
Apr 28, 2014
Fantastic cabin. All the amenities of home. Right on the east canada creek. We'll be back!
Apr 27, 2014
I have stayed at this particular KOA in the past, and loved everything about it. My most recent experience was somewhat different as there were renovations being done to the main showers and facilities which were not divulged when I was making the reservation. Reservation was made online, but I was somewhat surprised that the rate wasn't discounted considering the ongoing renovations.
Apr 26, 2014
Cozy and worth the cost. Right next to Herkimer Mine. Wonderful stay.
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
The best koa ever!! I've been to about 4 different koa/s and this is the one I hold all others up to standard wise. The employees are exceptional and the kottages/lodges/kabins are the best! I tell everyone I know who has kids or likes the outdoors all about this koa and the diamond mines are a bonus!
Apr 21, 2014
The Deluxe Cabin (KL) we stayed in was perfect for me and my three kids (10, 12 & 15). Everything was clean and immaculate. The cabin provided us with everything we needed for cooking and cleaning. Recycling bins and garbage cans were easily accessible. The people who worked there were friendly and helpful. My kids can't wait to come back to visit again.
Apr 20, 2014
This was our first time staying at a KOA and I must say that it exceeded my expectations! The cabin was immaculate and the loft beds were a huge hit with the boys! The staff was friendly and helpful. We chose this particular KOA because my son wanted to go mining for his birthday. Herkimer was a huge hit. Despite the 5 hour drive, we are already talking about our return trip! -Shannon B
Apr 20, 2014
Stayed one night in April to go diamond hunting. Staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly. Grounds are impeccably kept, sites are roomy and the cabin was perfect-well maintained and fully stocked. We've already booked our next trip with them for the astronomy cabin.
Apr 19, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
WE HAD A GREAT TIME.OUR 7 YEAR OLD TWINS LOVED IT AND WE WILL DEFINATELY BE GOING BACK.
Apr 17, 2014
Cabin we reserved was not ready for 1st night so was placed into an alternate cabin, which turned out to have no hot water. Second night we we were moved into the correct cabin, but the water froze overnight so we had no water whatsoever. Cabins were in decent shape otherwise.
Oct 30, 2013
Oct 30, 2013
We had an AWESOME stay the the Herkimer KOA!!! There was an issue with our cabin heater, which we reported to the office, and within a short time maintenance came to our cabin and replaced it! Also want to note that the facilities were very clean! Would DEFINITELY come back here again - and will be sure to invite others to join us as well!
Oct 29, 2013
We had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately for me we had already made our reservations and I ended up in a full right arm cast, such a bummer because I am the most enthusiastic rock finder in the family,lol. SOOO, now we have to come back. :)
Oct 27, 2013
heater in cabin did not take the chill off air first night. we shivered!!! 2nd night got a new heater. Staff helpful to get it replaced. Pile of human poop on side walk in front of men's bathrm (behind K4 where we stayed). really gross!
Oct 21, 2013
More then we expected. We enjoyed our stay.
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Stayed for a long weekend in the Bluebirds Nest cabin. Very nice accomodations, beautiful location on the water. We weren't in the car 5 minutes for the trip home before everyone started talking about "next time". Highly recommend it.
Oct 15, 2013
I was disappointed that no where was it stated in the deluxe cabin description that it was across the street right on top of the diamond mine. So you had the noise and traffic of that on top of being on top of the road. Other than that clean cabin and campground.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
We had a wonderful time! This is a beautiful setting and October is a perfect time to enjoy the quiet beauty of the area. We LOVE this place and will be back.
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Rented the astronomy cabin for the weekend hoping to do some star watching. Unfortunately, it rained or was overcast the whole time. Cabin was nice but disappointed in the weather. Would be nice to get $30 reimbursement for not being able to use the telescopes, since it was the whole reason I rented it. Not to mention booking it 3+ months in advance you are hoping for a nice clear weekend.
Oct 07, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.