Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 18, 2016
Our accommodations were definitely not worth the overpriced fee that we were charged. The deluxe cabin itself is extremely small it was dirty upon our arrival my wife had to clean it and the master bed was horrible incredibly uncomfortable told the staff they didn't seem to care
Aug 18, 2016
Superbly clean and beautiful.
Aug 16, 2016
Very nice Park everyone friendly. Could use a few more doggie bag stations thru out the park.
Aug 16, 2016
We had a wonderful time there with our grandson and his friend. The best compliment is that he wants to go back!!
Aug 15, 2016
Family friendly campground. Plenty of fun things to do for the whole family. Tubing down the water is the best. Friendly staff. There is also a pool to cool off in if you don't like the river.
Aug 15, 2016
With such a large campground and all of the upgrades they do regularly it seems like they should focus on their Wi-Fi as it is horrible! Also all of the trash dumpsters and garbage cans should be moved to a field away from campers so the flies aren't so horrible. We have stayed at many other KOA's where this is the practice and there are never flues.
Aug 15, 2016
The lodge was very clean. There were cigarette butts in our campfire ring when we arrived and requested that the office send someone to clean it. The staff responded within 10 min, which was very impressive. Your staff is friendly and responsive. My only negative feedback is that nearly all the firewood in your store looked to be wet and moldy. We absolutely loved our stay and will return.
Aug 15, 2016
I loved everything about our stay here!
Aug 15, 2016
Enjoyed and appreciated the cleanliness and amenities of the camping cabin. My only concern was taking my grandchildren to the pool which was occupied by a large group that was rather unruly and not following rules. It was intimidating to speak up and would have appreciated staff intervention.
Aug 15, 2016
Actual location is beautiful with river and diamond minds. However, our Deluxe cabin experience was terrible. We arrived to find refrigerator unplugged, water all over floors from defrost, wet towels laying and bathroom not cleaned as evidenced by garbage and old soap and toiletries still on sink. Missing supplies too. Although KOA staff responded we lost time and cabin not worth price of stay
Aug 15, 2016
Was a great experience for our firat time. The only thing that was not up to par was the cleanliness of the bathrooms, especially the showers.
Aug 14, 2016
The staff was always there and extremely helpful!!
Aug 13, 2016
I believe for the money that is paid for the cabins they should be a delivery of fresh towels brought there daily and toilet paper replenished etc... It states on your site linens included so you assume that they will also be replaced daily! The bbq was disgusting it was not cleaned at all! I just feel that the cabins should have been cared for more ..we are paying the money for the accomodations
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 13, 2016
We paid for a cabin for 6, but only had 5 plates. There were no pillows or sheets for the second bed. We realized that later that night and had to do without for a night. Someone should be going through a checklist to make sure everything is done. The grill was extremely dirty and had very little propane, so bbq was difficult. Place was clean and nice inside otherwise.
Aug 13, 2016
This KOA is a great one. The staff are very helpful. However do NOT go to their "sister property" the waterfront grille. Nothing but rude and inconsiderate employees.
Aug 13, 2016
We had a great stay at the campground. The staff were very helpful.
Aug 13, 2016
Never having stayed in a campgrounds before, I envisioned very rough and basic amenities. I was very surprised and pleased to find the complete opposite. We stayed in one of the diamond cabins and couldn't have been more pleased with it. The help was pleasant and the food at the Miner's Table was fantastic. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Aug 12, 2016
We loved our stay at this KOA. The facility was well kept up and the bathrooms/showers were clean. There was so much to do for the kids, and the creek was a blast to ride down!!! We will hopefully be returning in the next two years ;)
Aug 11, 2016
We had a great time! Staff was helpful and friendly. We had a grill that was not working properly 15 minutes later a new one arrived. Kids had so much fun in the creek, pool, and the mine. Robotics cabin was perfect fun for the kids! Next time we will stay a full week 2 days were not enough!
Aug 10, 2016
We stayed in cabin k10 & were attacked by bed bugs. My husband was bit hundreds of times leaving itchy bumps & blisters all over his body. They exterminated on Tues. 8/2 & replaced the mattress & did not bother to mention it. This also happened the yr. before in the same cabin. Our family reunion was ruined with sleepless nights & painful bites. We had to wash & dry our items at a laundry mat.
Aug 09, 2016
We were very pleased with everything about our stay. It was more than I expected. We were happy with all the amenities and special events for children, the cleanliness and attention to detail. We were also impressed with all the staff who were very polite and accommodating.
Aug 09, 2016
Nice place but the bathrooms were filthy and out of toilet paper from 6 pm until morning
Aug 08, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at KOA. Only one thing could be improved upon. It would be great if you could build a few larger cabins behind Kabins 1 thru 10. Our larger (and growing) families really need them. It's hard to get together when we're spread over the entire campground. This year we used all 10 kabins, one kottage and 5 larger houses. Please think about it. Thank you.
Aug 08, 2016
SECOND TIME STAYING HERE AND NOT AS GOOD AN EXPERIENCE AS THE FIRST. STAYED IN ONE OF THE CREEKSIDE CABINS WHICH SMELLED SO FOUL (SMELLED LIKE DIRTY OLD LADY UNDERWEAR AND BODY ODOR)I COULDN'T STAND TO BE IN THE CABIN. AND IT WAS DIRTY, WITH A STICKY DIRTY FLOOR THAT SMELLED LIKE AN OLD DIRTY MOP. THEN THE NOISE CURFEW WASN'T ENFORCED - 2 SITES DOWN LOUD AFTER MIDNIGHT W TOO MANY PEOPLE
Aug 08, 2016
Herkimer KOA and Mines r the best. The staff is helpful and friendly. And the KOA is clean and efficient. Thank you The Sullivan's and Compagni
Aug 07, 2016
I loved the camp site this is my second year!! The beautiful creek that adds as a bonus for the kids as you go tubing down stream. The friendly staff and cleanliness of the site is well noticed. My only disappointment this year is my mistake in having a cabin near an RV, which is not regulated by staff. Meaning 20 people on two neighboring sites made it a very loud three days. And all their stuff
Aug 07, 2016
the Kabin had not been cleaned - they moved us, which was good, cuz next door was a large group of 'celebrants'....the 2nd Kabin was clean, with absolutely DUMB parking, back near the partyers; we improvised - staff came and sprayed the zillion ants on the porch, and we did try the pool, which was was too cold...not sure how this place rates a "resort" description. Ho hum at best. Staff Nice.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
The Cabin we stayed in was very clean and very comfortable for our family. Definitively look forward to staying again in the future.
Aug 05, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. All the employees were very nice and helpful. The other guests were very nice. It was a quiet and pleasant trip. We 'll be back again.
Aug 04, 2016
We've been coming to this KOA almost every year for the last 20 years. It has grown and become better and better, yet still keeps the little things like complimentary coffee. The owner is approachable and friendly, and takes a moment to listen. The new "Resort" staus has upped their game and they're ready for it. Can't wait to come back next year.
Aug 03, 2016
We had a great stay. The campground is beautiful. All staff were wonderful- friendly, helpful and pleasant at all times. Looking forward to coming back again next year. Thank you.
Aug 02, 2016
Had a great time love the koa we'll be back !
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
It was beautiful get away and being with great friends
Aug 02, 2016
It was awesome! Very clean, accommodating and special! :)
Aug 01, 2016
big family reunion every year. I stay in a lodge,herkimer ny. The lodge needed supplies. ( cookware) and large bowls. They need to check prior to someone using them. Mine was poor to fair. Too small garbage can too. Bathroom size:(. Need new matresses on bunks also. Go every year, this year wasn't great, but had fun. People working are awesome.
Aug 01, 2016
Can't say enough about herkimer Koa, the staff is pleasant,helpful and always accommodating . There is so much to do for all ages, love it
Aug 01, 2016
This is probably the nicest KOA you will have visited! We come back every year for our family reunion and always have a blast. There are 2 reasons that I am giving this a 4 instead of a 5 this year. First I had a maintenance issue that was not addressed. 2nd the Kabin we stayed in was clean but the outdoors portion was not as cleaned up as it usually is with trash in the fire pit and patio messy
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
The cabin was very nice and the staff was friendly as well as accommodating. The only dilemma we encountered was the pizza order system. They promised delivery to the campsite by a designated time and ours came an hour late. I had to investigate why we were sitting around waiting and felt their excuse for the delay was lacking.
Jul 30, 2016
Very well run campground, great location, and activities. Only negative is the cost. Felt the cabin was very overpriced at $200 a night for size and amentities. Nice cabin but expected more. Could get a 5 star hotel in downtown Boston for the same price. Our family is 2 adults 2 kids. Cabin had a queen and bunkbeds but we had to pay an additional fee per night for the "extra child". Nickel/dime.
Jul 30, 2016
This was our second year at the campgrounds with our 2 kids. last year they truly enjoyed the mining experience which is conveniently located directly across the street from the campgrounds however, this year they did not show much interest. It was very hot and there is little shade at the mines. If you go, go early. Rocks in river when tubing..ouch! Beds in cabins uncomfortable. Pool crowded.
Jul 29, 2016
This is our third or fourth visit to the Herkimer KOA and we love it. We've stayed in the Robotics, Solar and new Treehouse lodges and all are fantastic - clean and very comfortable. The KOA site has so many great things to do - a creek for the kids to play in, pool, Frisbee golf, oversized chess & checkers, a great activity schedule. We stay longer each time and still wish we had more days!
Jul 29, 2016
Loved the fact that our dog was able to come with us and had her own play yard. The cabin had every detail covered. Right down to the can opener - luckily since I didn't bring one! The creek was perfect for our 12 and 15 year old boys. They also loved shuffle board. Everything was clean and close by. The staff was great and even gave us a jump when it was time to leave and our battery was dead.
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 28, 2016
Great
Jul 28, 2016
I can overlook the dirty (yes even dirty immediately after it was cleaned restrooms) but 5 toilets for women in an area with 5 non bathroom cabins,10+ tent spaces, 20+ RV spots is way too few. Positives: had sheets and pillows, fridge and TV in cabin (luxury compared to most KOAs). Staff was lacking any real knowledge. I think the KOA was just too big for its britches. Not the best experience.
Jul 28, 2016
One of the better KOAs we've visited, with lots of family friendly activities, and great amenities.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award