Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 13, 2016
We had a great stay at the campground. The staff were very helpful.
Aug 13, 2016
Never having stayed in a campgrounds before, I envisioned very rough and basic amenities. I was very surprised and pleased to find the complete opposite. We stayed in one of the diamond cabins and couldn't have been more pleased with it. The help was pleasant and the food at the Miner's Table was fantastic. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Aug 12, 2016
We loved our stay at this KOA. The facility was well kept up and the bathrooms/showers were clean. There was so much to do for the kids, and the creek was a blast to ride down!!! We will hopefully be returning in the next two years ;)
Aug 11, 2016
We had a great time! Staff was helpful and friendly. We had a grill that was not working properly 15 minutes later a new one arrived. Kids had so much fun in the creek, pool, and the mine. Robotics cabin was perfect fun for the kids! Next time we will stay a full week 2 days were not enough!
Aug 10, 2016
We stayed in cabin k10 & were attacked by bed bugs. My husband was bit hundreds of times leaving itchy bumps & blisters all over his body. They exterminated on Tues. 8/2 & replaced the mattress & did not bother to mention it. This also happened the yr. before in the same cabin. Our family reunion was ruined with sleepless nights & painful bites. We had to wash & dry our items at a laundry mat.
Aug 09, 2016
We were very pleased with everything about our stay. It was more than I expected. We were happy with all the amenities and special events for children, the cleanliness and attention to detail. We were also impressed with all the staff who were very polite and accommodating.
Aug 09, 2016
Nice place but the bathrooms were filthy and out of toilet paper from 6 pm until morning
Aug 08, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at KOA. Only one thing could be improved upon. It would be great if you could build a few larger cabins behind Kabins 1 thru 10. Our larger (and growing) families really need them. It's hard to get together when we're spread over the entire campground. This year we used all 10 kabins, one kottage and 5 larger houses. Please think about it. Thank you.
Aug 08, 2016
SECOND TIME STAYING HERE AND NOT AS GOOD AN EXPERIENCE AS THE FIRST. STAYED IN ONE OF THE CREEKSIDE CABINS WHICH SMELLED SO FOUL (SMELLED LIKE DIRTY OLD LADY UNDERWEAR AND BODY ODOR)I COULDN'T STAND TO BE IN THE CABIN. AND IT WAS DIRTY, WITH A STICKY DIRTY FLOOR THAT SMELLED LIKE AN OLD DIRTY MOP. THEN THE NOISE CURFEW WASN'T ENFORCED - 2 SITES DOWN LOUD AFTER MIDNIGHT W TOO MANY PEOPLE
Aug 08, 2016
Herkimer KOA and Mines r the best. The staff is helpful and friendly. And the KOA is clean and efficient. Thank you The Sullivan's and Compagni
Aug 07, 2016
I loved the camp site this is my second year!! The beautiful creek that adds as a bonus for the kids as you go tubing down stream. The friendly staff and cleanliness of the site is well noticed. My only disappointment this year is my mistake in having a cabin near an RV, which is not regulated by staff. Meaning 20 people on two neighboring sites made it a very loud three days. And all their stuff
Aug 07, 2016
the Kabin had not been cleaned - they moved us, which was good, cuz next door was a large group of 'celebrants'....the 2nd Kabin was clean, with absolutely DUMB parking, back near the partyers; we improvised - staff came and sprayed the zillion ants on the porch, and we did try the pool, which was was too cold...not sure how this place rates a "resort" description. Ho hum at best. Staff Nice.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
The Cabin we stayed in was very clean and very comfortable for our family. Definitively look forward to staying again in the future.
Aug 05, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. All the employees were very nice and helpful. The other guests were very nice. It was a quiet and pleasant trip. We 'll be back again.
Aug 04, 2016
We've been coming to this KOA almost every year for the last 20 years. It has grown and become better and better, yet still keeps the little things like complimentary coffee. The owner is approachable and friendly, and takes a moment to listen. The new "Resort" staus has upped their game and they're ready for it. Can't wait to come back next year.
Aug 03, 2016
We had a great stay. The campground is beautiful. All staff were wonderful- friendly, helpful and pleasant at all times. Looking forward to coming back again next year. Thank you.
Aug 02, 2016
Had a great time love the koa we'll be back !
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
It was beautiful get away and being with great friends
Aug 02, 2016
It was awesome! Very clean, accommodating and special! :)
Aug 01, 2016
big family reunion every year. I stay in a lodge,herkimer ny. The lodge needed supplies. ( cookware) and large bowls. They need to check prior to someone using them. Mine was poor to fair. Too small garbage can too. Bathroom size:(. Need new matresses on bunks also. Go every year, this year wasn't great, but had fun. People working are awesome.
Aug 01, 2016
Can't say enough about herkimer Koa, the staff is pleasant,helpful and always accommodating . There is so much to do for all ages, love it
Aug 01, 2016
This is probably the nicest KOA you will have visited! We come back every year for our family reunion and always have a blast. There are 2 reasons that I am giving this a 4 instead of a 5 this year. First I had a maintenance issue that was not addressed. 2nd the Kabin we stayed in was clean but the outdoors portion was not as cleaned up as it usually is with trash in the fire pit and patio messy
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
The cabin was very nice and the staff was friendly as well as accommodating. The only dilemma we encountered was the pizza order system. They promised delivery to the campsite by a designated time and ours came an hour late. I had to investigate why we were sitting around waiting and felt their excuse for the delay was lacking.
Jul 30, 2016
Very well run campground, great location, and activities. Only negative is the cost. Felt the cabin was very overpriced at $200 a night for size and amentities. Nice cabin but expected more. Could get a 5 star hotel in downtown Boston for the same price. Our family is 2 adults 2 kids. Cabin had a queen and bunkbeds but we had to pay an additional fee per night for the "extra child". Nickel/dime.
Jul 30, 2016
This was our second year at the campgrounds with our 2 kids. last year they truly enjoyed the mining experience which is conveniently located directly across the street from the campgrounds however, this year they did not show much interest. It was very hot and there is little shade at the mines. If you go, go early. Rocks in river when tubing..ouch! Beds in cabins uncomfortable. Pool crowded.
Jul 29, 2016
This is our third or fourth visit to the Herkimer KOA and we love it. We've stayed in the Robotics, Solar and new Treehouse lodges and all are fantastic - clean and very comfortable. The KOA site has so many great things to do - a creek for the kids to play in, pool, Frisbee golf, oversized chess & checkers, a great activity schedule. We stay longer each time and still wish we had more days!
Jul 29, 2016
Loved the fact that our dog was able to come with us and had her own play yard. The cabin had every detail covered. Right down to the can opener - luckily since I didn't bring one! The creek was perfect for our 12 and 15 year old boys. They also loved shuffle board. Everything was clean and close by. The staff was great and even gave us a jump when it was time to leave and our battery was dead.
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 28, 2016
Great
Jul 28, 2016
I can overlook the dirty (yes even dirty immediately after it was cleaned restrooms) but 5 toilets for women in an area with 5 non bathroom cabins,10+ tent spaces, 20+ RV spots is way too few. Positives: had sheets and pillows, fridge and TV in cabin (luxury compared to most KOAs). Staff was lacking any real knowledge. I think the KOA was just too big for its britches. Not the best experience.
Jul 28, 2016
One of the better KOAs we've visited, with lots of family friendly activities, and great amenities.
Jul 27, 2016
Off hours check-out process is poorly communicated (not really described at all). I found a flap that went into office and blindly chucked keys in.
Jul 27, 2016
Most amazing yet simple vacation ever..an absolute must!!
Jul 27, 2016
We were impressed with the cabin and all the items such as pots and pans etc being there. No need to bring anything but personal belongings and groceries! Wonderful place to stay!
Jul 27, 2016
Excellent service, clean accommodations and inexpensive! I was impressed. We will visit KOA again.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
A great place for a family reunion.
Jul 25, 2016
We checked in about 3:45ish and when we went to our cabin it wasn't clean there was dirty sheets on the floor of the cabin and there was beach towels egg cartons and socks on the cabin porch when I saw it I went and told the office they had someone clean it they gave us clean sheets took away the dirty sheets and left us clean ones but didn't remove all the trash from the porch
Jul 24, 2016
3rd year at KOA. One of the remotes for the tv was missing from the deluxe cabin 5. Could not change the channel - staff was professional but were unable to fix the problem. Not able to watch the news in the morning. Really felt something should of been done to remedy the situation - also, the heat lamp in bathroom and toaster did not work.
Jul 24, 2016
we had a great time and the cabin was fun once we got in, there was a problem and it was not ready, and they then had to move us to another. we did not get into our cabin till 5pm. The kids took advantage of the pool while we waited.
Jul 24, 2016
The campground was fantastic! Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, great amenities. A perfect family vacation!
Jul 23, 2016
Everything was great, I loved the dishwashing station at the bathroom, all KOA's should have one!
Jul 23, 2016
Rating would been a 10 except WiFi was horrible.
Jul 21, 2016
This was our 7th year at Herkimer KOA! We love our time there and look forward to returning every July! The staff are so pleasant and helpful.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
A tree care crew began cutting down a large tree that was 12 feet in front of my cabin at 7:15am on the last day of my stay. Besides being dangerous to customers this was very disruptive and we couldn't make breakfast or enjoy sitting outside. This kind of thing should have been done between checkin/out hours. Took the staff a long time to respond to this problem. Also terrible water pressure.
Jul 20, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award