Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 20, 2016
Most (if not all) sites are too close to each other. No privacy at all. They have plenty of open fields; not sure why they didn't expand some of the sites into these areas and give some privacy. It was impossible to have a private conversation with anyone without the next site over hearing everything you say. Don't fart at your site; not only will others hear it, they will probably smell it too
Sep 20, 2016
We are so impressed with everything there.
Sep 20, 2016
Well maintained, clean accommodations. Pleasant helpful staff. All round enjoyable experience!!
Sep 19, 2016
ok
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you once again for the great hospitality. We made wonderful memories that I hope one day my children will pass down. Great staff, fun events, and we had great luck in the mines.
Sep 19, 2016
Fantastic stay in creek side cabin, love the amenities and design! Diamond hunting was hard work but a fantastic experience for young and old alike. Staff was very friendly and helpful at the campgrounds, mine and restaurant. We have found a new yearly destination for sure!
Sep 19, 2016
Excellent stay and loved the cabin, but you need to add refrigerators like the other cabins (14-19). That would make it perfect and is all that's missing. $50 fridge is all it would take.
Sep 19, 2016
Our first time @ a KOA resort, and we loved it! Wish we had planned more than one night!
Sep 16, 2016
Had a fantastic time and will be back next summer. Only issue was the mattress. It was the absolute worst thing that I have ever slept on.
Sep 16, 2016
So clean and quiet. Will be back soon to tube the river !
Sep 14, 2016
My air-conditioner did not work and it was 90 degrees. I also paid for a solar cottage and it was not solar.
Sep 13, 2016
Loved our stay! Clean and everyone was so wonderful!
Sep 12, 2016
Sep 12, 2016
We had a great time it was relaxing and plenty to do if we wanted to do it you're going to go out to eat food in the area was real good
Sep 12, 2016
Great time glad they kept the pool open kids had such a blast! Loved the ice cream social. Only recommendation is to encourage more resturants in the area. We ordered pizza :)
Sep 12, 2016
We have stayed with you before and the new bath facilities is really nice and convenient. Getting breakfast in the morning is a great idea but, we were not able to get any as there was just one guy working and he wouldn't take care of anyone until he was finished with pre orders. That meant he closed when he was done with them. We left a little upset after we sat for a half hour and he said not
Sep 12, 2016
great time!!!! super friendly and helpful staff. clean & professional.
Sep 07, 2016
We had a great time as usual,this is are 4th year. I love the very kid friendly atmosphere, we come with a group of friends, 20 plus families with 2-4 children. The activities for the kids go on all day. We rent a cabin on the water, it has a lot of amenities,the housekeeping needs to step up their game, I shouldn't have to clean the first hour that I'm there. Looking forward to 2017😃
Sep 06, 2016
We had a blast!! I cannot think of a single criticism at all. Staff are friendly and super helpful. We weren't gouged on prices the camp store like I expected we would be based on other camping experiences elsewhere.Loved the outdoor dishwashing area and the showers never ran out of hot water. Clean and fun!! We will be back in a heartbeat!
Sep 03, 2016
As always we really enjoyed our stay, but you must do something about the mattresses in the creekside cabins. They are terrible.
Sep 02, 2016
The weather was perfect and we enjoyed being able to spend time just relaxing (of course we did some mining as well).
Sep 02, 2016
Sep 02, 2016
Awesome...loved the treehouse cabin! Just a note...the TV remote didn't work...and the tub...which was a bigger deal, as I really wanted to take a bath...! Other than that, all good!
Sep 01, 2016
It was fun! I think the Astronomy Lab is a little misleading, you need to actually rent that cabin to use the facility. It wasn't an activity available to us while we were there and that was a little disappointing. The grounds were lovely. Activities were geared to younger children and not teenagers or pre teens. There were a lot of flies. I don't know if it was just the time of year.
Sep 01, 2016
Everything was great. Loved the planned activities for kids, cabin was great, mattress was better than expected. A little expensive. Glad I wasn't there for a busy weekend, sites too close.
Aug 31, 2016
Aug 31, 2016
We stayed in the DK5 cabin. It was nice and clean. The activities were great for the kids. If you are staying in this cabin I would bring your own grill. The grill that is there doesn't have a stop on the lid anymore so it just slams down if you don't have a hold of it. Also the grill rack is so rusted that if you grill food on it you are going to be eating rust too. The kids want to come back.
Aug 31, 2016
the only thing wrong was the incredible heat inside the cabin . I brought a fan with me and it was still unbearable. was told that i could bring an A/C unit with me, glad i did not waste my time as there is no window to place it in. otherwise place and should stay again Also i was told it was a minimum 2 night stay but saw people come in and only stay one night in cabins whats the deal?
Aug 30, 2016
We stayed in the tree house, it was great, we had a ton of fun!
Aug 30, 2016
we stayed in the deluxe cabin. very nice and clean...the staff is very friendly..can't wait to come back.
Aug 30, 2016
I was not too happy with the customer service at the check in desk . I also got injured in the shower stall due to a chipped tile . The best part was the water . I also was told I would be in One cabin I called to see if I could upgrade and was told every cabin was booked and when I checked in was placed into a different one next to dogs mind you I have a small child . Not sure if I plan to return
Aug 30, 2016
Great trip - clean site Lots of flies was only complaint!
Aug 30, 2016
The staff was very nice and accommodating and the cabin was great!
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
We had a fantastic time with our 7 year old. The activities such as crafts, dj Dance and candy scavenger hunt made our weekend! I was worried because she didn't like mining much but because of your campground there was plenty to keep her busy!
Aug 29, 2016
Very well maintained campground. Fun activities. Loved the solar cabin we stayed in.
Aug 29, 2016
Stay overall was great. Love the activities throughout the day- 7 year old was never bored! Staff friendly. Jeff was especially helpful, explaining many facts about the diamonds and mines. I could only think of a couple things that could use improvement...pool water somewhat cloudy and mattress in K10 needs replacement. Definitely recommend this KOA to family and friends!
Aug 28, 2016
The check-in, and the staff were very attentive. Always providing towels. However, on my last day our water shoes were stolen from the washer room while drying. There are no cameras anywhere. When we reported to front desk, the person in charged said "I have nothing to do with back there". Sad as we now have to go and buy shoes...not cheap. Would not recommend as items got stolen.
Aug 27, 2016
The stay was great. Clean, friendly. The deluxe cabin was also wonderful. The only thing I would suggest to the owner is changing out the beds to a better grade. Otherwise that our stay was great.
Aug 27, 2016
This was a great vacation. Only problem we found was bathrooms were limited and really campground not handicap friendly. BUT very clean,, and amenities were wonderful!! We had a cabin with so many extras for the price. A little close together but it was fairly quiet. Thanks for the great vacation.
Aug 27, 2016
I booked a deluxe cabin at the campground. I was EXTREMELY disappointed when I arrived and discovered that my cabin was NOT in the campground, but across the highway, right next to the parking lot for the Herkimer Diamond mine. I did not have the convenience of letting my children out to go play at the campground. I had to go with them to safely cross the highway or drive over.
Aug 27, 2016
Great place to take the family for a camping trip. Stayed in the coolest little cabin.
Aug 27, 2016
perfect trip. koa is the best.
Aug 26, 2016
Very enjoyable. Cabins are great. Disappointed in the coffee pot. Did not brew.
Aug 26, 2016
This was the nicest campground we have ever experienced. I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Aug 26, 2016
Had a great time mining, swimming in the pool, tubing in the stream & playing volleyball on the sand court. Stayed in a one room cabin which worked out great for a quick getaway & was a more affordable than others I have stayed in at other parks. The layout of the campgrounds is great. U can walk to the store, the mines or to grab a bite to eat.
Aug 25, 2016
had a great stay. really enjoyable. recommend highly!!!
Aug 25, 2016
We will be back every year! Magnificent all around accommodations.
Aug 24, 2016
This was 2nd time here. We liked the overall experience. It was fun. But this yr we stayed in Solar 2. It was visually nice. But specfics that were not. The sofa bed was unusable ... It's was broken. The kitchen sink water sprayed all over the place. The grill was in rough shape. We will come again as it is a family trip. Maybe we will try a different cabin.
Aug 24, 2016
Lots of fun! Our kids loved looking for "diamonds" on a very hot day. I expected they would be bored after a couple hours. Not the case. The campground had more activities than we could possibly do in one weekend. If you get bored, it's your own fault.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award