Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 10, 2017
Sep 10, 2017
Stayed in Solar Lodge 2. Loved it! Is roomy & had everything we needed.
Sep 08, 2017
The stay was good but several items need to be fixed in the Fossil deluxe cabin. 1-the door needs a better door knob it never stayed latched,2-the shower drain needs to be cleaned, during shower had 2 inches of water in the bottom.
Sep 07, 2017
STAY HERE!!! Wonderful people!
Sep 06, 2017
Was an amazing time with the family, pool tubing and the little bike for the kids they loved it. Think after two days would like more for kids to play like maybe a rock climbing, water slide, or maybe activities hosted by crew members would be great. Our stay was good and it has been my second time going, would like to again but would be less days for sure.
Sep 06, 2017
Great well kept campground with professional friendly staff. Loved it and will definitely be back!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Always amazing. Staff are friendly and very helpful.
Sep 05, 2017
Employees were very helpful and courteous,
Sep 05, 2017
We have a great time every Labor Day weekend. We have already reserved cabins for next year, which will be our 6th consecutive year. I noticed some of the improvements made to the area and programming over the last year and think the "resort" has upgraded nicely. What used to be camping and mining has turned into a family tradition! Thank you for all you do!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Campground has changed a lot in the last couple of years. 1st cabin awful, moved to another one. People parking in our space and refused to move. Someone stole items from in front of our cabin. Picnic table bench broke (rotted) when my son went to sit down. People speed through campground at 30+mph right past security. Food from Miners table good but forgot to cut our pizza 1st time, no forks 2nd.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
The cleaning crew needs to be a more attentive to the under side of beds futons etc. Resident skunk was intimidating. Miners Table had awesome food and priced right. The grounds were clean and well mowed and the " diamond mine" fascinating. All personnel great. The rock store is amazing and the local Heidelberg bakery a gem! All in all a great place to rest. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Sep 02, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Diamond mines tapped out from 10 years ago but still charging the same amount, grill covered in rust, 1 broken fry pan, no bike rentals as advertised, no access to fishing as cabin was across a fast highway, NO ONE stopped for pedestrians on that highway very unsafe especially at night, pool not heated so water was way too cold to swim, place was kept up but there was nothing to do for teens.
Aug 31, 2017
Always have a great time at all the KOA'S I stay in,this one was awesome,tubing on the river was awesome,water was just right,moved nice.The campgrounds where clean,people were nice as usual,dinner was good at mining table.I ran into people I knew,and had just a Gr8 4 days,going back next summer.Cabin was very nice,my son loves bunk beds.This was my third camping vacation this year,2 in tents I ca
Aug 31, 2017
We had a great time! Loved the mining, loved the creek and most of all enjoyed the peacefulness!
Aug 30, 2017
Great cabin. Great location. Comfortable. Lots of buttons and switches to turn on lights, fans, heat etc. took me awhile. Needed directions of what did what. Otherwise everything was good.
Aug 30, 2017
We had a great time at your KOA. There were lots of fun activities and your staff was amazing
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Very friendly stuff Nice and clean Lots of fun
Aug 28, 2017
Staff was very unfamiliar with service dog laws. I was confronted by multiple KOA staff about My Pitbull mix service dog, telling me my dog wasn't allowed in the campground. I was so upset about it I didn't got to enjoy all the park had to offer.
Aug 28, 2017
We completely enjoyed our stay. The cabin we had was so clean and was very lovely. We stated in the Solar Colony Apple Orchard Cabin. It was very spacious and attractive. My kids loved the loft area that they slept in. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My kids loved the swimming in the pool and loved the activities at the campground.
Aug 28, 2017
My family and I had a great time at the DK-1 cottage, the camp grounds were clean and well kept, the staff were friendly and helpful. The KOA had many activities available, for kids and adults alike! We had a great time at the diamond mine, found some Herkemer diamonds, the grandkids had fun, the most important thing! We would recommend the KOA to everyone. Thanks again
Aug 28, 2017
Accommodated us very "last minute" that is, without reservations. Interior surfaces were NOT clean,nor dusted. Furnishings more than adequate. Bed very comfortable, but, definitely not a queen. Staff * wonderful * !!
Aug 27, 2017
Nice grounds, beautiful cabins, and great activities for kids.
Aug 26, 2017
It is always a pleasure staying with you!
Aug 25, 2017
When we first got to the site we thought it was clean and well maintained. We had booked the astronomy lodge and were a little upset that none of the telescopes worked, we told front desk about it the next morning, The next day they sent a young man, Jeff, over and he was able to fix one of the telescopes. He was very nice and a true pleasure to speak with. Big reason why we'll be back!
Aug 25, 2017
Was fun
Aug 25, 2017
The Fossil Inn cabin was great!! Clean, comfy, perfect size and the location was amazing! All staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful! This was our second year coming to Herkimer - and we will be back!
Aug 25, 2017
Our cabin and site was not clean. The upper bunk had oreo cookie chunks on it ad the laddar The lower bunk and a wad of pink gum stuck on it. The close proximity of the trash and the dumpster attracted animals to the area ( squirrels, a racoon, skunk) and the path to the creek is not a dumping ground for fire pit debris. The site itself had litter from previous campers on it.
Aug 25, 2017
This is the second time my husband and I stayed there, and the first time for my daughter and her children. They were delighted, kids loved the activities, especially the slime! The cabin was great, such fun. The pool and playground got well used by the grandkids. It was a brief but wonderful stay that was fun and relaxing. I KNOW we will be back.
Aug 25, 2017
We had a nice time. The staff in the store, especially the gentleman that worked on Tuesday the 22nd till 9 pm were fantastic. Wish I remembered his name and hope he gets credit. There was much concern about a tornado warning and he went above and beyond to make people comfortable, even saying they can come in the store with him if concerned. Thank you and we will hopefully be back next year
Aug 24, 2017
Great, as usual! We were pleasantly surprised to find sheets, towels, pillows, toiletries, and a larger fridge in Amethyst Adventures!! We've been coming for over 10 years, starting with a tiny, ratty old pop up, ending with a 24' RV, and now kamping kabin! We'll be back!!
Aug 24, 2017
Total relaxation in the beautiful countryside of Herkimer (near-Utica), NY. We mined, we dined (in Little Falls) and went tubing at the West Canada Tubing center. The treehouse stay was awesome for my two boys! Rustic-looking, but the appeal of a true getaway in the woods with comforts and accommodations of home. Loved the adornments. Movie night was a great touch!
Aug 24, 2017
Staff was excellent, cabin was clean and site was very nice. Looking forward to going back!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
It was ok. Our family rented K18 as well as the astronomy unit. It was disheartening that the observatstory was not functional as that was the focal point of the unit. No discounts for current stay or future were given; just a bundle of fire wood for the inconvenience. I'm not sure how you equate but it certainly doesn't wash with us. Pool was super cloudy & dirty. A bit disappointed this tim
Aug 21, 2017
The cabin we rented for 2 nights at the rate of $241.00 per night was very dirty and full of flies. The floor was gritty ,the shower was dirty,and the flies kept on coming. When I inquired about this at the office the response was "oh sorry" you are camping,really!!! As a previous manager for a big box store I know and understand customer service.
Aug 21, 2017
While I understand the weather has been quite challenging this year, I would have like to have seen some stone where my truck needed to park in order to unhitch and hitch my RV. We were on site 61 a "deluxe". The intention on choosing this upgrade was to stay out of the mud as much as possible. Sadly the very first thing we all stepped in when exiting our truck on arrival was 3" of mud.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Kids loved it. Beautiful location, fun activities. Couldn't ask for a better spot.
Aug 19, 2017
Pleased overall. Garbage cans need to be emptied more often. Bathroom floors need greater attention from muddy conditions.
Aug 18, 2017
I called your customer service department and talked to Skyla. While at the campground I discussed the issues with Cliff. I was told someone would contact me and no one has. I was also told by Cliff to contact the owner Kelly. He left notes with my contact information for whomever was going to contact me. We stayed in the Robotics Lodge. I would like to hear from someone please.
Aug 18, 2017
It was okay but not up to the quality of others we've visited --Gettysburg and Harpers Ferry areas. One of the air conditioners was not working so it was hard to maintain a good temperature. One guest has respiratory issues so that was a concern. The key did not work for deck door. The main door was nearly impossible to unlock and lock the 1st day, but maintenance repaired it.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
my family has been going to Herkimer Diamond,NY KOA for many years now. The campgrounds and staff have consistently been outstanding. We wil be back next July for 4 days. Thank you for the great time we have when there!!
Aug 17, 2017
The setting is beautiful! The staff was very friendly!We rented a cabin on the creek that was not well maintained (stove broken, broken blinds, not very clean, cabin not well equipped). Hot water was minimal which made it difficult to take showers. We were disappointed with the cabin to say the least. Despite this, tubing down the creek was the best!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award