Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 26, 2016
Pleasant prompt friendly assistance from checking to departure. Great time.
Sep 26, 2016
Excellent facility, great staff. We stayed in the Treehouse and had an excellent two night stay. Only one small concern, lighting on the stairs was poor. More light on the stairs to reduce risk of falls and trips.
Sep 26, 2016
Your staff is wonderful. Our troop has girls with special needs and they were so accommodating.
Sep 26, 2016
Great campground with lots of activites. We were there for a Girl Scout weekend and the girls learned so much. My only complaint was that the cabin we stayed in smelled of wet dog, even though there was clearly a sign for no pets inside the cabin. Also there was no outlet in the bathroom near the dressing mirror.
Sep 26, 2016
First time at a KOA. Wasn't sure what to expect, not an avid camper, had only been one time before with a Girl Scout troop. Thought it was great! A lot of amenities, including clean bathrooms and showers. My family wants to go camping again!
Sep 26, 2016
We had a great stay at your KOA and hope to return in the future but we had a very disappointing check in process. I reserved an electric tent spot months before our arrival and was even given a space number when I reserved via phone. I received my email confirmation. Upon arrival we were told that you overbooked and we could have an RV space with electric/water but at the higher rental rate.
Sep 26, 2016
Astro Lodge was amazing, we saw Saturn!! Lovely lodge with excellence to detail. The A/C was on when we arrived which was lovely. Stayed in Blue Bird Cabin which was nice too beside the creek! Thank you for making it an excellent holiday.
Sep 26, 2016
OUR CABIN DK4 WAS GREAT BUT WHEN WE WENT TO VISIT MY FAMILY IN 70 & 71 THE BATHROOM ACROSS FROM THERE, THE TOILETS GOT ALL PLUGGED UP AND WE HAD TO USE THIER CAMPERS TO GO TO THE BATHROOM, THEY HAD FULL HOOK UPS AND THEY HAD TO USE THEIR OWN WATER IN THEIR CAMPERS. OTHER THAN THAT I THINK THERE SHOULD BE MORE LIGHTING SO YOU CAN SEE WHERE YOU ARE WALKING IN THE DARK. HAD A GREAT TIME OTHER THAN TH
Sep 26, 2016
It was a great site were I stayed and clean
Sep 24, 2016
Had a great time, the KOA has changed a lot since our last visit in 2014. The cabins were neat and clean, had fun at Bingo and Ice Cream Social. New buildings all around. Very impressed.
Sep 23, 2016
We had am amazing stay and trip the Diamond Mines. I brought 4 Girl Scouts and we searched for diamonds in the mines, went sluicing, stayed in the beautiful solar cabin, used the pool, had dinner at the Miners Table (food was excellent), and ended the trip with a boat ride on the Erie Canal. The staff were all so friendly. These girls will always remember this trip!
Sep 20, 2016
We were a bit disappointed in the floor plan of the cabin. I was very crowded and the bunk bed room was tiny. The cleanliness of the cabin was not up to other KOA sites that we stayed at. We had to wash the dishes before we used them and everything in the cabin was gritty. We had to sweep the floor when we got there. The propane grill had one element that did not work so using it was tough.
Sep 20, 2016
Loved all the little touches that made our stay enjoyable. Great staff, clean cabins and bathrooms, special decorations for the themed cabins. Will definitely be back next summer!!
Sep 20, 2016
Most (if not all) sites are too close to each other. No privacy at all. They have plenty of open fields; not sure why they didn't expand some of the sites into these areas and give some privacy. It was impossible to have a private conversation with anyone without the next site over hearing everything you say. Don't fart at your site; not only will others hear it, they will probably smell it too
Sep 20, 2016
We are so impressed with everything there.
Sep 20, 2016
Well maintained, clean accommodations. Pleasant helpful staff. All round enjoyable experience!!
Sep 19, 2016
ok
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you once again for the great hospitality. We made wonderful memories that I hope one day my children will pass down. Great staff, fun events, and we had great luck in the mines.
Sep 19, 2016
Fantastic stay in creek side cabin, love the amenities and design! Diamond hunting was hard work but a fantastic experience for young and old alike. Staff was very friendly and helpful at the campgrounds, mine and restaurant. We have found a new yearly destination for sure!
Sep 19, 2016
Excellent stay and loved the cabin, but you need to add refrigerators like the other cabins (14-19). That would make it perfect and is all that's missing. $50 fridge is all it would take.
Sep 19, 2016
Our first time @ a KOA resort, and we loved it! Wish we had planned more than one night!
Sep 16, 2016
Had a fantastic time and will be back next summer. Only issue was the mattress. It was the absolute worst thing that I have ever slept on.
Sep 16, 2016
So clean and quiet. Will be back soon to tube the river !
Sep 14, 2016
My air-conditioner did not work and it was 90 degrees. I also paid for a solar cottage and it was not solar.
Sep 13, 2016
Loved our stay! Clean and everyone was so wonderful!
Sep 12, 2016
Sep 12, 2016
We had a great time it was relaxing and plenty to do if we wanted to do it you're going to go out to eat food in the area was real good
Sep 12, 2016
Great time glad they kept the pool open kids had such a blast! Loved the ice cream social. Only recommendation is to encourage more resturants in the area. We ordered pizza :)
Sep 12, 2016
We have stayed with you before and the new bath facilities is really nice and convenient. Getting breakfast in the morning is a great idea but, we were not able to get any as there was just one guy working and he wouldn't take care of anyone until he was finished with pre orders. That meant he closed when he was done with them. We left a little upset after we sat for a half hour and he said not
Sep 12, 2016
great time!!!! super friendly and helpful staff. clean & professional.
Sep 07, 2016
We had a great time as usual,this is are 4th year. I love the very kid friendly atmosphere, we come with a group of friends, 20 plus families with 2-4 children. The activities for the kids go on all day. We rent a cabin on the water, it has a lot of amenities,the housekeeping needs to step up their game, I shouldn't have to clean the first hour that I'm there. Looking forward to 2017😃
Sep 06, 2016
We had a blast!! I cannot think of a single criticism at all. Staff are friendly and super helpful. We weren't gouged on prices the camp store like I expected we would be based on other camping experiences elsewhere.Loved the outdoor dishwashing area and the showers never ran out of hot water. Clean and fun!! We will be back in a heartbeat!
Sep 03, 2016
As always we really enjoyed our stay, but you must do something about the mattresses in the creekside cabins. They are terrible.
Sep 02, 2016
The weather was perfect and we enjoyed being able to spend time just relaxing (of course we did some mining as well).
Sep 02, 2016
Sep 02, 2016
Awesome...loved the treehouse cabin! Just a note...the TV remote didn't work...and the tub...which was a bigger deal, as I really wanted to take a bath...! Other than that, all good!
Sep 01, 2016
It was fun! I think the Astronomy Lab is a little misleading, you need to actually rent that cabin to use the facility. It wasn't an activity available to us while we were there and that was a little disappointing. The grounds were lovely. Activities were geared to younger children and not teenagers or pre teens. There were a lot of flies. I don't know if it was just the time of year.
Sep 01, 2016
Everything was great. Loved the planned activities for kids, cabin was great, mattress was better than expected. A little expensive. Glad I wasn't there for a busy weekend, sites too close.
Aug 31, 2016
Aug 31, 2016
We stayed in the DK5 cabin. It was nice and clean. The activities were great for the kids. If you are staying in this cabin I would bring your own grill. The grill that is there doesn't have a stop on the lid anymore so it just slams down if you don't have a hold of it. Also the grill rack is so rusted that if you grill food on it you are going to be eating rust too. The kids want to come back.
Aug 31, 2016
the only thing wrong was the incredible heat inside the cabin . I brought a fan with me and it was still unbearable. was told that i could bring an A/C unit with me, glad i did not waste my time as there is no window to place it in. otherwise place and should stay again Also i was told it was a minimum 2 night stay but saw people come in and only stay one night in cabins whats the deal?
Aug 30, 2016
We stayed in the tree house, it was great, we had a ton of fun!
Aug 30, 2016
we stayed in the deluxe cabin. very nice and clean...the staff is very friendly..can't wait to come back.
Aug 30, 2016
I was not too happy with the customer service at the check in desk . I also got injured in the shower stall due to a chipped tile . The best part was the water . I also was told I would be in One cabin I called to see if I could upgrade and was told every cabin was booked and when I checked in was placed into a different one next to dogs mind you I have a small child . Not sure if I plan to return
Aug 30, 2016
Great trip - clean site Lots of flies was only complaint!
Aug 30, 2016
The staff was very nice and accommodating and the cabin was great!
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
We had a fantastic time with our 7 year old. The activities such as crafts, dj Dance and candy scavenger hunt made our weekend! I was worried because she didn't like mining much but because of your campground there was plenty to keep her busy!
Aug 29, 2016
Very well maintained campground. Fun activities. Loved the solar cabin we stayed in.
Aug 29, 2016
Stay overall was great. Love the activities throughout the day- 7 year old was never bored! Staff friendly. Jeff was especially helpful, explaining many facts about the diamonds and mines. I could only think of a couple things that could use improvement...pool water somewhat cloudy and mattress in K10 needs replacement. Definitely recommend this KOA to family and friends!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award