Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2016
Very nice campground. Lots of things to do. Will be back.
Jul 24, 2016
Very clean, beautiful with trees for shade on most sites, tubing, digging for diamonds,lots to do. Rock gems week was great for the kids they loved it. Will be back next year!
Jul 24, 2016
3rd year at KOA. One of the remotes for the tv was missing from the deluxe cabin 5. Could not change the channel - staff was professional but were unable to fix the problem. Not able to watch the news in the morning. Really felt something should of been done to remedy the situation - also, the heat lamp in bathroom and toaster did not work.
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
my grandsons attended the rock & gem camp that kept them very busy.counselors were very nice.staying along the creek was so relaxing.all the campers were pleasant too. will return next year with more family.
Jul 24, 2016
we had a great time and the cabin was fun once we got in, there was a problem and it was not ready, and they then had to move us to another. we did not get into our cabin till 5pm. The kids took advantage of the pool while we waited.
Jul 24, 2016
Very enjoyable stay. The young man at the counter has superior customer service skills.
Jul 24, 2016
The campground was fantastic! Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, great amenities. A perfect family vacation!
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Nice but bathrooms need to be kept cleaner Floors always dirty Showers dirty Hair and mud every day. We see people go in but I don't think they are cleaning as same hair and dirt noticed
Jul 23, 2016
Everything was great, I loved the dishwashing station at the bathroom, all KOA's should have one!
Jul 23, 2016
Rating would been a 10 except WiFi was horrible.
Jul 23, 2016
Beautiful grounds, but RV sites way too close together for large motorhomes.. When u open slide outs your in your neighbors campsite.
Jul 23, 2016
Great camp ground, friendly clean, lots of RV sites, playgrounds, pool, pavilion. We are planning a family reunion next year will definitely want to stay at the KOA, need to find out if they have cabins that are disability friendly.
Jul 23, 2016
We loved this place! The staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay so much fun when they recommended that we tube down the creek! It was our favorite stop on a week long RV vacation!
Jul 23, 2016
Need to clean bathrooms more than you are presently doing.
Jul 23, 2016
We were impressed with our riverfront site. The deluxe site was well equipped with patio furniture and a swing. The sound of the creek is very relaxing. The grounds are well kept and I absolutely love the vegetable and herb gardens. Nice touch.
Jul 23, 2016
This KOA is a true gem. The place is beautiful, lots of activities available for all ages. Staff is very friendly. This KOA should be placed on all travels must stay list.
Jul 23, 2016
Nice and clean park.
Jul 21, 2016
This was our 7th year at Herkimer KOA! We love our time there and look forward to returning every July! The staff are so pleasant and helpful.
Jul 21, 2016
Great place! Loved that our tent site was right on the river! Some sites had more grass than others, ours had mostly rocks. Also loved that some sites had a very nice wooden swing too. Will try and get on of those next time! Beautiful place!
Jul 21, 2016
We had a great stay in a cabin when the report was for threatening weather!Thanks for helping us out!
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
I like the sites along the river. 30 amp electric is a bummer. Interior roadways need to be paved. Dumpster overflowed with garbage while we were there. Appears to be lots of cost-cutting going on. Not a bad stay, but I wish that they invested more into the facility.
Jul 20, 2016
Best I've been too
Jul 20, 2016
Campground staff was excellent. My only complaint is the set up of the riverfront sites. Some are pull in but are used as back in. The problem is that there is no designated boundary of the sites. The people next to us backed in to a pull in site and were practically on top of us. This gave them a huge front area to squeeze in tents and tarps. we had practically no space in front of our awning.
Jul 20, 2016
A tree care crew began cutting down a large tree that was 12 feet in front of my cabin at 7:15am on the last day of my stay. Besides being dangerous to customers this was very disruptive and we couldn't make breakfast or enjoy sitting outside. This kind of thing should have been done between checkin/out hours. Took the staff a long time to respond to this problem. Also terrible water pressure.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Reservation not taken correctly. Charged me more than agreed. Facility well maintained and clean. many things for children to do.
Jul 20, 2016
Had to have maintenance man change circuit breaker, but after that all was great. We didn't find any substantial Herkimer diamonds but it was fun looking for them.
Jul 20, 2016
Made reservations for a premium pull through site with all amenities & 50 amp service Upon arrival was advised that we were to go to a pull thru that was not a premium spot. Checked spot and found tree limbs to low. After an hour, was told to go to a premium back in site that did not have cable. Took 30 min to dump due to poor site sewer connection. Not what we expected or paid for.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a great time it had been years since I had been camping and was the first for my 6 year old. The grounds were clean as was the river. General Store and gift shop was reasonable and adequately stocked the bath houses are not disgusting and there were no mosquitoes. They had plenty of activities scheduled. The entire place felt safe secure and relaxed.
Jul 20, 2016
Bathrooms dirty, cabin dusty and minimal supplies, low staff
Jul 20, 2016
Had a little reservation problem when I got in. Someone was in the space I was assigned. I ended up with a lesser spot, but got a discount, of course. Since the park was really full, the water pressure was really low, but we still got showers. It is a nice park, though, the staff really apologized for the mix up and were very nice.
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Awesome staff, clean, and friendly atmosphere. Will return for another week next year!
Jul 19, 2016
All was great !
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Excellent stay! Already booked for next year. KOA staff are plentiful, friendly and very helpful. We have been coming here with a group of friends for several years now & have enjoyed every stay. River tubing is a great time!
Jul 19, 2016
Everything was perfect as usual, except for one item. The inflatable bed had a hole in it and would not inflate. We told the office and they said the would get somebody right on it. Never fixed. My son had to sleep on a deflated bed for three nights.
Jul 19, 2016
Everyone was very pleasant and campgrounds kept up beautifully. Great time had by all!
Jul 19, 2016
Our cabin stay was very nice. The park as full and bathrooms should have been cleaned more often. It had rained and floors were very muddy. The staff was very helpful.
Jul 19, 2016
My son and I had a fantastic time!! The activities offered were a lot of fun - and varied!! All of the staff members we interacted with were friendly, helpful and welcoming! We had never been there before or camping for that matter, but will definitely be back! The deluxe cabin was perfect for the 2 people. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and well appointed it was.
Jul 19, 2016
It was awesome! Great accommodations and plenty for the kids to do!
Jul 19, 2016
we booked this KOA online as we always do. the back in site had a nice view, but I could barely back my 24 ft trailer in without almost bumping into the playground fence, the shower handle in the men's shower was busted so I had to get dressed and change showers, not without the doors opening into each other. my wife said the shower head in the women's stall was clogged with no pressure.
Jul 19, 2016
The pull in/back out site that we were booked for (site 74) would have put our door and awning facing our neighbors door. That would have been awkward for us and them. I've never seen that before. Not sure why it was set up that way. The girl at the office was nice and found us another site. The store needs to stock canned coffee.
Jul 18, 2016
We had a great week in which our grandchildren visited us twice. We all enjoyed the amenities and we have reserved 2 cabins for next year, the second for our son's family.
Jul 18, 2016
Going here 17 years the prices seem to be getting quite high for camping here. Especially $3 additional for more than two on a site. We always have six so our site cost $72 a night. The bathroom floors were filthy it seemed like they just mopped the dirt around not rinsing the mop out. The faucets sprayed water on you. The cable hookup only gave you five channels. Love the tubing/diamond mining
Jul 18, 2016
Very poor campground. Not worth the money. Sites were not level at all, very muddy after a rain storm. Trees were not trimmed and we had to adjust our motorhome so that it did not interfere with the air conditioner. No posted activities. More concerned with the Diamond mine and other business across the street than the campground. Do not understand how this received a KOA "Resort" status.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award