Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2014
Absolutely fantastic campground! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful site right on the river, super moon and herkimer diamond mining with our 4 kids. Stayed for 2 nights, will stay for 7 next time.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We always have a wonderful time at Herkimer and look forward to next year!
Aug 11, 2014
We all had an amazing time.....can't wait to come back nect year
Aug 11, 2014
Although the park is great and very clean, the sites are on top of eachother and we were stuck next to some really bad people. I would love a phone call to discuss this in further detail as talking to the people at the camp ground that weekend was worthless. We had a HORRIBLE experience
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
This was the first time my family stayed at a KOA campground. When we arrived, we were more than pleased with the state of the wonderful Solar Cabin we rented. Gorgeous inside and out (we had the Apple Themed site.The staff was wonderful and the grounds were impeccable! If in the area again, we will definitely stay there!! Thank You for a wonderful weekend!
Aug 11, 2014
We had a great time! We stayed in the astronomy lodge and that was amazing! The telescope was awesome!
Aug 11, 2014
On full hookup site 117 and 116 there seems to be a sewer problem. Will not empty pipe for complete dumping of tanks.
Aug 11, 2014
Overall at nice campground. My only comment is that the utilities are at the front of the site and most of the RV connections are at the rear. with extensions, we were able to connect water, electric and cable. I did not have enough extensions for sewer even though I paid for sewer. Not a real problewm since we were there for only one night, we used the dump station on the way out.
Aug 11, 2014
Great staff. Very friendly and informative. W/E pull through site was nice size and grassy. No 120v outlet on hookup pole though, only 30a camper. Pool was clean but cold (not surprising for Upstate NY but the kids didn't last long because of the low temp). Clean and well stocked bathrooms.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Loved the campground, clean and well kept. One note, perhaps the washrooms could be cleaned twice a day. Lots to do and the tubing was awesome.
Aug 11, 2014
We really enjoyed staying with y'all.wThis was our second year. And and I'm sure we will be back next. The first year we stayed n a cabin(sm one) this year we stayed n a tent. Next year we will b going bac to a cabin just for comfort.we enjoy the thing y'all have to offer such as pig roast,ice cream social,arts & crafts & such.my kids r old enough now to tube down the river.thanks again
Aug 11, 2014
Everything was great except the quiet time was not enforced. Kids playing basketball until 11:00 at night and were a bit loud.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
This is an extremely family-friendly park featuring amenities geared to young folks from the hayrides to the abundant playground equipment plus tubing and swimming opportunities for one and all. The sites are adequate in size away from the river, however tight along the river. We would stay here again.
Aug 11, 2014
This was my grandson's first camping experience. We had a ball.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Site was tight. Roads difficult to maneuver. Car parked in road made for an impossible turn. Had to back up the street. Instructions on how to get into site did not work.
Aug 10, 2014
Staff was attentive but not intrusive. Grounds and activities were great. We'll be back.
Aug 10, 2014
Price structure was odd almost manipulative.
Aug 10, 2014
I have to say that I was very disappointed with the robotics lodge. The following items were broken: the rube contraption in front of the cabin was broken(had staff fix 1st night but found it again broken in morning) the wall displays didn't work correctly, the shower did not have an LED shower head, and the automation recliner wasn't working.
Aug 10, 2014
Was not organized. The camper beside us had his camper door facing us leaving us with absolutely no privacy. Should not be allowed.
Aug 10, 2014
Great family fun! Clean, safe and many activities for kids to do. Two days and so much too do...next time we plan to stay for longer. Thanks KOA.
Aug 09, 2014
Our Family has been coming to this KOA for 13 years we have are family reunion there every year. We like coming here and the adults and kids love it. Thanks for making us feel good about coming every year.
Aug 09, 2014
The stay was great except mouse in Solar 3 on August 7th, went through our food,need to close vent by couch, 1st cabin furniture alittle dirty but that was older cabin, mining was good
Aug 09, 2014
We stayed at a deluxe cabin. Only problems were the queen bed was horribly uncomfortable and the gas grill was disgustingly unusable.I just turned it off and covered it. Other than that the kids had fun.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Nice location and staff. Bathrooms need to be monitored for cleanliness and broken faucets repaired
Aug 08, 2014
Beautiful campground, well maintained, and well located for our purposes - including visiting Adirondack Park. Spacious, green sites with trees.
Aug 08, 2014
Clean grounds. Convenient location. Friendly staff. We love the Kabins.
Aug 08, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. Our 4 year old liked the nightly movie. Pool was nice. Proximity to mines was great.Disc golf and fitness path were an unexpected treasure. The kids playground needed slides and some money bars.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aside from the tent sites being too close together, everything was great. People picked up their trash and were quiet at night. Also, the bathrooms were cleaner than I expected. We'll be back.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
We had a wonderful time. The campground is very friendly. Hunting for diamonds was awesome! We are very likely to return next year.
Aug 07, 2014
I enjoy staying at this campgrounds, but during my last stay, I was supposed to have cable TV. I had it when I first set up, but shortly after on the same day, the cable TV went out and we did not get it back until the day before I left at 4:00 pm. I contacted the campgrounds by E-mail regarding a discount on a future stay at a KOA, but have not received a reply yet.
Aug 07, 2014
The campground was great. Like most other comments, I wish the bathrooms were closer to the tent area, but other than that no complaints!
Aug 07, 2014
love this campground. so much to do. sovery clean and friendly staff
Aug 07, 2014
We had a great time. The campground was fun and mostly clean. I would suggest that the bathrooms get cleaned more than once a day. The mines were so much fun for both myself and my son. The campground employees were helpful, and really nice. Everyone was always smiling and very polite.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
We had a great stay. The children in our group loved the pool and night activities. Suggestions: Add showers to the pavilion area,offer garbage bags to tenters, and have a returnable can/bottle bin for boys scouts or other charity. Good job on the shower renovation.
Aug 05, 2014
Our 13th year staying at the Herkimer KOA for our family reunion. Love it.
Aug 05, 2014
Stay was relaxing and fun. The internet access out and cable out which was not easy trying to find spot for cell phone to use and to check internet emmails so put a damper on weekend other than that good

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.