Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2014
One our favorite campgrounds! See you next year!
Aug 27, 2014
Fantastic, very clean and quiet.
Aug 26, 2014
Campgrounds were very well kept and the staff was friendly and helpful. The children enjoyed the pool and the rafting. Activities were good the only thing lacking that I saw was they need to enhance their playground.
Aug 26, 2014
We are not campers, but really enjoyed the deluxe cabin and the whole camping atmosphere. We found everyone to be very friendly and helpful. The campgrounds were kept very clean and well groomed. Your employee Holly was very attentive, especially to our son. She made a special effort to make sure things were working at the Robotics Cabin. We enjoyed the campfire. We plan to visit KOA again.
Aug 26, 2014
Great 4 nights
Aug 26, 2014
Unfortunately it was only an overnight stay for us and the weather did not allow us to explore much, but my wife and I agreed that Herkimer KOA is on our list for a return visit for a longer period.
Aug 26, 2014
My granddaughter had her first camping experience with us. We loved the grounds. Kept well maintained, pool was very nice, and she also enjoyed the play ground. Hope to come back next year and tube down the creek as well as dig for a Herkimer Diamond. It was also nice to be able to purchase items at the store that were less than the local chain stores charged, and did not have to drive to them.
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
NIce spot and friendly/helpful staff. Wish we had time to stay longer as there were plenty of fun things to do in the area.
Aug 26, 2014
We had an absolutely great time. It was nice that lemonade and corn were offered to the campers. I do like the chance to donate to a great organization while having fun! The vegetable growing has inspired one of our Girl Scouts to do something similar in one of our local campgrounds. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Our site was not very level. No doggy doo doo bags in the dog park. The neighbor's campfire was within 5 feet of my bedroom window. Not our best KOA experience! But, we will try it again.
Aug 26, 2014
Feels like a gypsy camp. Sites are poorly marked. There is no paving or gravel. Also there is absolutely no security lighting.
Aug 25, 2014
We have been coming for 20 years and are never let down. We have turned several families into Herkimer KOA lovers!!!!
Aug 25, 2014
Of course the weather could have been nicer ,but none of us can control that! We like Herkimer Diamond Mines because there is so much to do. We like the entertainment but live entertainment would really make it better. The DJ really didn't know how to get people involved and excited! We already brought a group of family with us this year that had never been before and really enjoyed their stay
Aug 25, 2014
THIS WAS OUR FIRST TIME AT HERKIMER KOA. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK NEXT YEAR. WE LOVED ALL THE ACTIVITIES THERE ARE FOR EVERYONE. ONLY IMPROVEMENT I WOULD LIKE TO SEE ARE THE SHOWERS. IT WAS DIFFICULT TO REGULATE THE WATER TEMPERATURE. WAS EITHER COLD OR TOO HOT. ESPECIALLY WHEN THE TOILETS WERE FLUSHED.
Aug 25, 2014
Beautiful, clean, well kept great sites
Aug 25, 2014
Great campground. Had everything we needed. Even dinner delivery from nice restaurant. Only thing that would make it even better would be bigger play area for the dog. A place to throw the ball to really get out the energy. Current play area is only good for small dogs. The kids seemed to play more on the agility equipment.
Aug 25, 2014
Everyone was very nice and helpful. Just one suggestion. The showers should be power washed. We had a screen house was damaged. But, the office took care of us. Waiting to hear from corporate about the screen house .We love it We will definitely return. It's a home away from home.
Aug 25, 2014
we haved a great time thank you .
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
we had just stayed at a KOA in Youngstown Ny and then arrived in Herkimer ... the atmosphere was less personal ... not as friendly. Our camp site was underwater.
Aug 25, 2014
sites are to close to each other, pool should be heated. holes need to be filled in on playing field
Aug 25, 2014
we enjoyed staying at this kOA there was a little confusion, but was accommodated.overall 5 star
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Great time!!!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
We only stayed one night but if traveling through the area with more time we would stay there and take in some of the area attractions.
Aug 24, 2014
The campground itself was beautiful, but the staff was very rude and mismanaged, and the equipment was really outdated, old, and broken. In fact,my children rented their trikes, and we showed them one with a broken pedal & the man went back in the store not knowing my husband was in there and said "those kids are gonna get killed on those things, oh well!!". Really rude and mean.
Aug 23, 2014
Hi!! Solar Lodge #1 needs front door repair ... it was extremely difficult to lock the door. Forgot to mention this when checking out. It was an excellent vacation and awesome experience. Thank you!! Suzette Pepin
Aug 23, 2014
Although we have stayed here many times,this was our first time staying in a Solar Cottage and we were delighted with the layout and the beautiful setting. Our kids and grandkids had a fun time at the mine and also enjoyed the pool, playground and shopping at the store. In spite of the rain we found it to be a fun family time together leaving us with wonderful memories and beautiful diamonds.
Aug 23, 2014
We reserved a specific campsite by writing in the notes of our reservation (as directed by the receptionist- who told me to put the # down, which I did 5 minutes after hanging up) but we got a different site than desired. When I brought this up- the person at the desk apologized but the site we wanted remained empty And they didn't offer to move us. Also the site area was covered in goose poop,
Aug 23, 2014
The staff was really friendly. All the facilities were quite clean. One night there was a thunderstorm where it downpoured for about 1 hour and then rained for another few hours. Are there protocols for this when there is extreme weather? Perhaps a posting when extreme weather is expected?
Aug 23, 2014
I cant say much I got to the camping cabin 10:30 pm and left at 8:30am the next morning. sorry
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Staff very helpful and friendly
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
-Mostly clean, bathrooms could have been cleaner -Laundry room frustrating waiting for dryer only to find out that I was waiting for KOA staff to remove their laundry. I spend way too much time in the laundry room just waiting -You need to heat your pool The river running around the camp ground was awesome we had so much fun with that. The games room was nice, location was great for our purp
Aug 22, 2014
relaxing and wonderful as always. Clean,pleasant employees and nice surroundings. Can't wait to go back again!
Aug 22, 2014
We stayed hear in 2008 and loved it so we came back and it's even better now. They have made so many up grades to the park.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
We stayed in a cabin alongside the creek. The scenery was beautiful. I wish we stayed longer in order to take advantage of some of the activities. We loved the fact that the mine was right across the street as well.
Aug 21, 2014
Good campground for families. Bathrooms were filthy because they were not cleaned enough times during the day with the amount of people camping. the dog owners don't pick up the mess from their dogs. management needs to address this problem by riding out in the campground and seeing what's going on.
Aug 21, 2014
this is a top notch campground. plenty to do-movies every nite, very nice pool, the river is great for tubing,diamond mine was fun. very clean great sites, very helpful staff. this is my 2nd time here, we will be back!
Aug 21, 2014
Great location, it rained a lot, there were plenty of things to see and do- covered bridgein salsbury, antiques all around, Herkimer county fair, boat rides. even to just drive around the beautiful countryside. the campground is very clean, run well, staff friendly and accommodating. the river-tubing, and the diamond mines are big fun, we will definitely come again.
Aug 21, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.