Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 29, 2016
Our first time in a private campground. Very good experience. Power hookup through us a little but everything worked out fine.
Aug 29, 2016
We had a great time. Our only complaint is that there is no supervision for the teens in the pool. I had to ask a few of them to stop swearing and touching each other inappropriately. There were many small kids in the pool area and we ended up leaving.
Aug 29, 2016
We had a fantastic time with our 7 year old. The activities such as crafts, dj Dance and candy scavenger hunt made our weekend! I was worried because she didn't like mining much but because of your campground there was plenty to keep her busy!
Aug 29, 2016
Loved this place. Very clean, and staff so friendly. Lots of activities for the kids. Will be back for sure.
Aug 29, 2016
Very well maintained campground. Fun activities. Loved the solar cabin we stayed in.
Aug 29, 2016
Our campsite was very nice, we were right in the river. The people there, meaning the KOA Staff, on their toes for whatever you needed, all the other campers were as nice as nice can be, BUT! The flies were terrible, I mean TERRIBLE FLIES!!!! Hundreds, you couldn't enjoy any time outside the camper for the flies!!! 1st night I killed 14 flies in our trailer, & made sure door was always close
Aug 29, 2016
Stay overall was great. Love the activities throughout the day- 7 year old was never bored! Staff friendly. Jeff was especially helpful, explaining many facts about the diamonds and mines. I could only think of a couple things that could use improvement...pool water somewhat cloudy and mattress in K10 needs replacement. Definitely recommend this KOA to family and friends!
Aug 29, 2016
Beautiful campground! Very nice and clean, fun for the whole family. My 5 year old son had a blast. So many activities for the kids.
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
Nice campground. We had a site along the river and did not realize that the sites on the river face each other. If looking for privacy do not book these sites. They would be good for two families who want to camp together.
Aug 28, 2016
The place was great place to stay and plenty to do. Staff could be alot more frendly and more attenative. There s alot more but not enough space to type.
Aug 28, 2016
I stayed here last year in a pull-thru site and it was great. This time also in a pull-thru site, but it was very muddy, no gravel at all. And my EMS dropped out many times due to low voltage. Staff nice as always.
Aug 28, 2016
Had a great time, cleanest camp ground, sites could be a little bigger, staff was great, we will be back next year with friends and family. We loved it.
Aug 28, 2016
Wonderful time! The only thing I didn't like about the stay is the firewood. It was wet and we couldn't keep it lit. The Sunday breakfast, other campers, the grounds and the bathrooms were excellent. Thank you for another great memory,
Aug 28, 2016
We stayed here for 2 nights and went mining. The grounds are well maintained, clean bathrooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Pool was nice too. Deluxe sites looked very nice with tables chairs, propane bbq grill and cement patio. Sites are not very room, and Close together. The deluxe sites 61 and 62, were extremely tight.
Aug 28, 2016
Had an awesome time! My 1st time at a KOA, will definitely do it again. The creek was awesome. Kids were very entertained with it. Next time we will bring a tube to go tubing. Loved the fact that we could walk right over to the Diamond mine. I'd highly recommend it for families with kids!
Aug 28, 2016
Real pretty place to stay,
Aug 28, 2016
The check-in, and the staff were very attentive. Always providing towels. However, on my last day our water shoes were stolen from the washer room while drying. There are no cameras anywhere. When we reported to front desk, the person in charged said "I have nothing to do with back there". Sad as we now have to go and buy shoes...not cheap. Would not recommend as items got stolen.
Aug 28, 2016
Nice site if it weren't for the cigarette butts everywhere and a big dirty trench dug (could break your leg in dark) probably floods. Nice by the river, nice pool. The site had a lot of dirt. Both The fire ring and picnic table were next door, WE had to move back ourselves so obviously wasn't checked before we arrived.
Aug 28, 2016
We just had an overnight stay but found the campground to be very clean and well maintained! Will stay again on any trip we take back east!
Aug 27, 2016
The stay was great. Clean, friendly. The deluxe cabin was also wonderful. The only thing I would suggest to the owner is changing out the beds to a better grade. Otherwise that our stay was great.
Aug 27, 2016
Great KOA. One of the best
Aug 27, 2016
Well maintained,friendly staff.
Aug 27, 2016
Nicest KOA in the State. Friendly staff. Beautiful grounds.
Aug 27, 2016
I grew up staying at KOA's with my camping family and this is the best KOA I've ever stayed at!!! The whole package - site by the creek, activities for kids, the Miner's restaurant was so good and great value, plus we had a blast gem mining! Already recommend to three others!
Aug 27, 2016
Loved everything about this campground. Kids loved the creek, grounds were immaculate, such a natural setting, exceptionally helpful staff. We do wish the pool had a basketball hoop or volleyball net and the kids did miss the Jumping Pillow like other KOAs have.
Aug 27, 2016
The deluxe site we were suppose to have was given to someone else so we ended up with a back in 50 which they loaned me an adapter. Me neighbor had to drive in a big bus and our tip outs were 1 foot apart. Had a nice weekend with my grand daughters. Will be back
Aug 27, 2016
This was a great vacation. Only problem we found was bathrooms were limited and really campground not handicap friendly. BUT very clean,, and amenities were wonderful!! We had a cabin with so many extras for the price. A little close together but it was fairly quiet. Thanks for the great vacation.
Aug 27, 2016
This is a beautiful campground but I have stayed 2 times and each site was filthy. The first time there was food left on picnic table and in the grassy area. The second time thete was dog crap all over the site and as a result there was a million flies. This can be avoided by having a staff member rake the site when it is vacated before the next occupant. It would only take 5 minutes.
Aug 27, 2016
I booked a deluxe cabin at the campground. I was EXTREMELY disappointed when I arrived and discovered that my cabin was NOT in the campground, but across the highway, right next to the parking lot for the Herkimer Diamond mine. I did not have the convenience of letting my children out to go play at the campground. I had to go with them to safely cross the highway or drive over.
Aug 27, 2016
Great place to take the family for a camping trip. Stayed in the coolest little cabin.
Aug 27, 2016
WIFF varied from terrible to good -- for $70 per night I expect it to be great all of the time. Huge price increase from last year -- I didn't notice any increased value to campers -- felt like simple greed on the part of the owners. I have been an annual guest, but am now rethinking the relationship.
Aug 27, 2016
The customer service and accommodations were outstanding!! Really!
Aug 27, 2016
perfect trip. koa is the best.
Aug 27, 2016
We were so impressed that we can't wait to go back. We're already making plans with family to go and stay longer to take advantage of all you have to offer!
Aug 26, 2016
Very enjoyable. Cabins are great. Disappointed in the coffee pot. Did not brew.
Aug 26, 2016
This was the nicest campground we have ever experienced. I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Aug 26, 2016
Had a great time mining, swimming in the pool, tubing in the stream & playing volleyball on the sand court. Stayed in a one room cabin which worked out great for a quick getaway & was a more affordable than others I have stayed in at other parks. The layout of the campgrounds is great. U can walk to the store, the mines or to grab a bite to eat.
Aug 25, 2016
This was our second stay at this KOA, both in deluxe tent sites. We come for the diamonds and river tubing which neither dissapointed. The new signage for the river tubing minimized traffic through our site this visit. Our only complaints were the flies and long walk to the restrooms.
Aug 25, 2016
had a great stay. really enjoyable. recommend highly!!!
Aug 25, 2016
Have visited the campground 4 or 5 times over the last 25 years. Love it. Wish we could come more often.
Aug 25, 2016
We will be back every year! Magnificent all around accommodations.
Aug 25, 2016
Nice campground. The staff was very nice and helpful. Enjoyed viewing the river.
Aug 24, 2016
This was 2nd time here. We liked the overall experience. It was fun. But this yr we stayed in Solar 2. It was visually nice. But specfics that were not. The sofa bed was unusable ... It's was broken. The kitchen sink water sprayed all over the place. The grill was in rough shape. We will come again as it is a family trip. Maybe we will try a different cabin.
Aug 24, 2016
I would love to see more teenage oriented crafts and games otherwise it is great
Aug 24, 2016
Very clean and always updating. The Restaurant staff seemed disorganized but food was good. Resort crowded this weekend!
Aug 24, 2016
Lots of fun! Our kids loved looking for "diamonds" on a very hot day. I expected they would be bored after a couple hours. Not the case. The campground had more activities than we could possibly do in one weekend. If you get bored, it's your own fault.
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 24, 2016
The cabin was amazing. It have everything I needed and was very clean. I can't wait to go back.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award