Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 07, 2016
Very friendly staff, clean,will stay there again
Jun 07, 2016
Great staff and great support for my scouts. Very nice facility clean and well keep
Jun 07, 2016
It was really nice and laid back and the crew was so nice and friendly.
Jun 07, 2016
This was the best campground we have stayed at. There is endless activities throughout the week/weekend. There wasn't enough time in the day to do everything available, plus go swimming, or even see the herkimer diamond mines. Everyone from the manager to the cabin cleaning crew were fabulous. We booked our next visit before we even left for the weekend. Thank you to the staff!
Jun 07, 2016
Aroura and Ben from the front desk helped us greatly! They were both very patient and kind and helped us as best as they could. The cable was not working and our dvd player did not work. They tried their hardest to help. The campground is perfect! very clean and well organized. I can not wait to come back. I love the cabin and fire pits. You guys do a great job!
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 07, 2016
Staff was helpful and friendly.
Jun 07, 2016
I love the camping cabins and I plan on bringing my grandchildren up to stay later this Summer!
Jun 06, 2016
Beautiful campground immaculately maintained very helpful and friendly staff beautiful pool one of the nicest campgrounds I've stayed at !
Jun 06, 2016
The treehouse was amazing and there are so many activities for the kids. I would highly recommend staying there we had a great time and will be back to rent a different cabin.
Jun 06, 2016
Great campground. Lots are big and the ones by the creek were great. Small and quiet park which I enjoyed. Several things to do in the area, such as baseball hall of fame or diamond mining. If you want lots of activities in the campground, go elsewhere. If you want nice lots in a quiet park, come here. Only downside was the pool was very cold.
Jun 05, 2016
We liked the new improvement to the campground but needs to have the older campsites updated as they are very muddy after rain where you sit and walk in front of the campers. Something like the new ones down closer to the little cabins and not so close together as now they are more slideouts on RV;s than ever before. Other than that it was great. Thanks alot.
Jun 04, 2016
We loved Herkimer KOA, my only complaint is everyone in our whole party agreed the pool was FREEZING!! Pool should be heated, especially in the beginning of the season
Jun 04, 2016
I would love to have given this camp a perfect 10 and a five start rating, because the camp is beautiful, the river site wonderful and it is a lovely camp. However...the bathrooms were really dirty. The floors around the shower stall hadn't been really cleaned in some time. Also the staff at the desk were not efficient and seemed distracted. Also, they didn't have anyone help us find our site.
Jun 03, 2016
It was amazing!! As awlays we loving comming to Koa
Jun 03, 2016
I enjoyed my stay except a few issues. The sink in the bathroom was clogged, the amenities were very cheaply made, and the ants were out of control. Some utensils were still dirty from past campers and the bed was very loud and uncomfortable. The scenery and fishing made up for the not so great accommodations.
Jun 02, 2016
the dust from the roads was the worst we have ever seen it, people were driving way above the 4mph speed limit, running all the stop signs and the enforcement in the park was non existent. After multiple complaints we gave up. The owners need to do something about the dust and the speeding in the park. This was our 5th season camping there and we have never experienced anything like this before.
Jun 02, 2016
The pool was very cold and not well regulated.A lot of kids running and jumping without a lifeguard.By the late afternoon there were 3 adults drinking many beers and smoking cigarettes, in the fenced in area!Had to grab my toddler and go after one adult pushed another in the pool!The playground is very nice and my daughter really enjoyed it.All the activities at the Pavilion are great!
Jun 01, 2016
Speeding cars and trucks in the park causing dust on everything couldn't enjoy sitting outside for this resons. Made 5 complants to the office nothing was done about it.Been going to this park for the last 8 years and this has been by far the worse time we had.I will blog about this.
Jun 01, 2016
The pool was freezing!
Jun 01, 2016
The friendliest, most accommodating place I've ever stayed!! Go twice a year and am never disappointed
Jun 01, 2016
friendly staff and good place for family's to enjoy camping fun
Jun 01, 2016
We loved our stay and all of the activities. The price is a little too high considering you also have to pay for the mining.
Jun 01, 2016
We stayed at a basic cabin. We had brought our own linens. We were surprised that now these cabins have linens and towels. They fixed up the bathrooms. Great activities. Great staff. We love this place. If Herkimer had a dry docking for trailers we would definitely put ours there. Now, we have it at Deerpark.
Jun 01, 2016
This was my first time staying with this campground and I couldn't be more pleased. Very clean, friendly staff and lots to do for my daughter. Reasonable price too! Will definitely recommend and will be planning more trips. Very pleased
Jun 01, 2016
Well first of all they put us in a dog cabin when we were told upon booking that we were across from the bathrooms and did not mention a thing about the doggie cabin! We have allergies and after talking to the girl at the desk, we were offered allergy medicine from her! In which she has no idea if we were allergic to the medicine she wanted to give us without a doctors license! I never heard of
Jun 01, 2016
It was very enjoyable and wonderful staff
Jun 01, 2016
Took a family of five on a tenting trip over Memorial Day weekend. We had a great time! We especially liked the pool & creek, the tie-dye activity and dance party. The kids favorite activity was the sluice at the mine. Thanks!
Jun 01, 2016
Enjoyable campground
Jun 01, 2016
Great camp grounds. Extremely helpful staff, friendly and accommodating.
May 31, 2016
Our stay was nice and we plan on returning to the campground. One change I highly suggest is heating the pool. Due to the high temperatures, a nice cool down would have been great but in you pool we would turn into popsicles. Your website says there is a heated pool?!
May 31, 2016
I love the KOA Herkimer. The only thing I would suggest is to watch for cars driving too fast including golf carts and talk to the drivers. It is full of kids excited to be there and running around. We all do our best to keep them safe but drivers need to be more aware. Other than that I have always enjoyed the place and will continue to return. See you in July:))
May 31, 2016
Just a few comments, The DJ dance party on Sunday was supposed to go until 10pm, the DJ ended it at 9:30 to the dismay of many children. They appear to be adding fences in between each site along the creek by the primitive cabins. This is a bad idea and hinders your ability to park your camper, especially if camping with a group. Please don't add anymore fences!!
May 31, 2016
Had a good time. I did not know about bringing water shoes or a tube. I did buy them in the store so I am glad they did not cost me an arm and leg. The prices were affordable.
May 31, 2016
The campground was not at all ready for the busy Memorial Day weekend. Grass wasn't mowed, potholes everywhere, concrete patio on our "premium" sight not swept for our arrival, bbq provided for our "premium" sight a grease fire waiting to happen and to cap it all off...blocked sewer line for our departure dump....nothing like the smell of raw sewage in the morning....new owner needs to get it tog
May 31, 2016
LOVE LOVE LOVED OUR FIRST STAY!!
May 31, 2016
Family friendly, but the sites are very close together. Great camp store. Bring an inner tube to float down the river.
May 31, 2016
Very beautiful, relaxing and clean campground. site are alittle to close. my site inparticular fireplace was right next to neighbors campsite so not much privacy felt like we were having a fire with them everynight.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Great weekend.No cable on delux sites seems a bit counter to the word DELUX!!
May 31, 2016
Very enjoyable and relaxing. The cabin was spotless and everything was well organized. Will be back next year.
May 31, 2016
2nd time there. Had a great time. Had fun at the mine. Everyone had a great time tubing the river.It was in the 90's at the mine and had some torrential rains on Sunday but that just adds to the camping experience. The kids rented the 3 wheel bikes,hayride in the rain,and fun at the DJ dance. Love the different theme cabins.
May 31, 2016
Had a great time but you need to get rid f the geese. We always had to watch where we walk.
May 31, 2016
Only area of improvement would be to have better/newer material in the mines. Campground was excellent.
May 31, 2016
I am a local, I was hesitant to stay at this KOA because it was so close to home and I wanted to feel the 'camping' experience. I was pleasantly surprised! It really did feel like a vacation away from home! The staff was friendly. The campground was clean and efficient. I highly recommend staying whether you are local or coming from out of town!
May 31, 2016
We had a great time. Our kids were able to play and had opportunity to participate in many different activities that were scheduled throughout the weekend. The tree house that my friend rented was really cool! We will be going back this season!
May 31, 2016
Awesome time! Cannot wait to come back in a few months! Thanks!
May 30, 2016
The grounds are very nice with plenty to do for the family. The creek is shallow enough for little ones at the edge-deep enough in middle for older children to tube down. The mines make for a fun day as well. We had a difficult stay due to careless camping neighbors but we were happy with the mangers response. Great staff; very caring. We plan to visit again, perhaps midweek when a bit more quiet.
May 27, 2016
Staff seemed very disorganized. The computers were down and it was very chaotic checking in. Site prices were a bit steep considering we traveled the country this past year and got a lot more bang for our buck many times over. Also, the prices to mine were outrageous in my opinion.
May 27, 2016
Love this place. It is nice with the river running in the background it makes very cozy. A bit of an issue with the water pressure on a couple of occasion but not a big deal. Nice and clean and well maintained.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award