Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Clean, comfortably sized grassy site. Clean bathrooms, showers, and pool. Great playground for the kids!
Aug 19, 2013
Unfortunately we only stayed here one night and it was just for passing through, we would definitely make another trip back for a longer period of time so we could enjoy it more. The sites by the river were nice and peaceful, people were friendly.
Aug 19, 2013
This was our first time to the Herkimer Diamond Mines and our stay was wonderful. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The mattress on the bed was difficult for two people to sleep to sleep as I was tilted toward the center. We loved our cabin, had fun mining and enjoyed tubing and frisbee golf. We're coming back next year for sure!
Aug 19, 2013
We have stayed at thie KOA in the past and always enjoy our stay. There is a large campground within 20 min of our home and we prefer to travel 90 min to spend weekends at the Herkimer KOA.
Aug 19, 2013
The one thing that needs to be addressed is that there is always garbage along the banks of the creekside sites. I wouldn't think it would be to hard of a job to monitor this regularly. There seems to be plenty of staff around, and it wouldn't take that long to walk the banks and pick up garbage once or twice a day. other than that, we love this campground , and stay here several times a year.
Aug 19, 2013
It was a lot of fun. The site we had did not have afternoon shade which is when you really need it. The main bathroom by the pool smelled of urine however I did see them cleaning it several times a day. Possibly it needs a deep clean. The activities for kids are great they loved the crayfishing. I wish the diamond minning was free to campers since staying at a Koa is not cheap. Great stay otherwis
Aug 18, 2013
We had a great time and the people that work there was always very pleasant and very helpful. We can't wait to come and stay with you all again.
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
great place stayed on the river-front good power, grear reception on cable, nice folks
Aug 17, 2013
Bathrooms need to be better maintained, sinks broken, not clean and very messy. Pull through grass site was unlevel.
Aug 17, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. I like the facility as a whole. Water was fun. Activities were well done. Bathrooms need more attention, more often. (out of toilet paper/ paper towels/ floors need to be swept.)
Aug 17, 2013
We enjoyed our stay and we plan to come again next year with friends. We loved being near the river and the road really was not loud. Mary
Aug 16, 2013
Our family had a good time.The deluxe cabin was great except the hot water ran out. We had an issue with an adult being found by my 12y/o daughter n myself naked in the laundry room. I spoke to the office staff. Maybe some songs need to be posted addressing this.
Aug 16, 2013
We met up with friends at the campground. They had the site 2 down from us. We had a fantastic time. We went tubing for the first time. What a blast that was !!! Great bathrooms, loved the veggies for sharing (the tomatoes were delish). We also had fun playing bingo and then eating ice cream afterwards. We look forward to coming back next summer!!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
The beds are very uncomfortable. I would rather have money spent a comfortable mattress rather than the themed cabins.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 14, 2013
We would have "completely" enjoyed the stay if WiFi had worked any of the time. For it to be down from Thursday all the way through Tuesday seem extreme. Check in and store delays need to be addressed still.
Aug 14, 2013
please do something about the dusty roads. it is terrible when it dries out!slow the cars down and the help on the carts. sites need work where we put the rugs down.other than thateverything is fine. thanks.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
A great time for all ages! Very clean and comfortable cabins!
Aug 14, 2013
It was great. We utilized the pool, went tubing in the creek, went to the diamond mines and the kids made pinatas with the staff. I thought the sites would not be as close. That was the only thing I was slightly disappointed with. We really enjoyed it and hope to come back again.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Great location. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint was that the wood bundles should be a bit larger for the price.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
While we were only there one night as a stop-over, I can easily see why so many people visit this campground. Possible we will visit some other time for a few nights. Neighbors on both sides were extremely friendly. Overall, jut a great, albeit a short experience.
Aug 13, 2013
The deluxe cabin was nice and clean. It had everything we needed except for a few more blankets. But the heater's and A/C helped with that. We had a great time mining for diamonds as well. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful.
Aug 13, 2013
Love the riverside campsites
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
We are a Dutch family on a road trip in the USA. We stayed two enjoyable nights at Herkimer. Especially the sites at the river are pretty. Overall good place to stay.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
I love coming to Herkimer KOA! Amazing staff, amazing activities, and always an amazing time! Can't wait to spend my next week there next year!
Aug 12, 2013
Creek was great! Grass at campgrounds need to be cut and bathrooms needed attention(cleaning and maintenance). Staff friendly and helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Well, to answer your first question, I already have suggested your location to a friend. This is our second stay and we had a great time. Between hunting for diamonds, the activities at camp for kids, tubing and being there in the dark wide open space to see the persiod meteor shower, it was great. I would suggest this KOA to anyone looking to explore central NY.
Aug 12, 2013
I love staying at KOA Campgrounds and Herkimer KOA is my favorite. Everything is always so CLEAN, especially the bathrooms. The staff is always pleasant and extremely helpful. We had the best time tubing down the river (creek). We will be back next year. Thank you
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Sites are very very close together. They show a putt putt course on the map but too old to play on. Playground was very old and should be torn down, safety. Overall disappointed.
Aug 12, 2013
The best KOA in American in my opinion. Clean, relaxing, great location, quiet and peaceful, plenty of room, plenty to do. I'll be back again for sure.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
I would highly recommend this KOA campsite. It is right across the street from the Herkimer diamond mines, which is an amazing family day. You may even walk away with a little change in your pocket if you sell your "diamonds" back to Herkimer. The KOA has a great staff, very clean, and great amenities.
Aug 12, 2013
Wish we had more time to enjoy this campground!
Aug 12, 2013
Great family oriented campsite! Plenty of activities for kids and families. Large, comfortable tent sites in Treasure Cove, but the camp map needs updating...does not reflect the actual layout of sites, which made finding the right site a bit confusing. Overall great experience.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.