Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2016
A tree care crew began cutting down a large tree that was 12 feet in front of my cabin at 7:15am on the last day of my stay. Besides being dangerous to customers this was very disruptive and we couldn't make breakfast or enjoy sitting outside. This kind of thing should have been done between checkin/out hours. Took the staff a long time to respond to this problem. Also terrible water pressure.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Reservation not taken correctly. Charged me more than agreed. Facility well maintained and clean. many things for children to do.
Jul 20, 2016
Had to have maintenance man change circuit breaker, but after that all was great. We didn't find any substantial Herkimer diamonds but it was fun looking for them.
Jul 20, 2016
Made reservations for a premium pull through site with all amenities & 50 amp service Upon arrival was advised that we were to go to a pull thru that was not a premium spot. Checked spot and found tree limbs to low. After an hour, was told to go to a premium back in site that did not have cable. Took 30 min to dump due to poor site sewer connection. Not what we expected or paid for.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a great time it had been years since I had been camping and was the first for my 6 year old. The grounds were clean as was the river. General Store and gift shop was reasonable and adequately stocked the bath houses are not disgusting and there were no mosquitoes. They had plenty of activities scheduled. The entire place felt safe secure and relaxed.
Jul 20, 2016
Bathrooms dirty, cabin dusty and minimal supplies, low staff
Jul 20, 2016
Had a little reservation problem when I got in. Someone was in the space I was assigned. I ended up with a lesser spot, but got a discount, of course. Since the park was really full, the water pressure was really low, but we still got showers. It is a nice park, though, the staff really apologized for the mix up and were very nice.
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Awesome staff, clean, and friendly atmosphere. Will return for another week next year!
Jul 19, 2016
All was great !
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Excellent stay! Already booked for next year. KOA staff are plentiful, friendly and very helpful. We have been coming here with a group of friends for several years now & have enjoyed every stay. River tubing is a great time!
Jul 19, 2016
Everything was perfect as usual, except for one item. The inflatable bed had a hole in it and would not inflate. We told the office and they said the would get somebody right on it. Never fixed. My son had to sleep on a deflated bed for three nights.
Jul 19, 2016
Everyone was very pleasant and campgrounds kept up beautifully. Great time had by all!
Jul 19, 2016
Our cabin stay was very nice. The park as full and bathrooms should have been cleaned more often. It had rained and floors were very muddy. The staff was very helpful.
Jul 19, 2016
My son and I had a fantastic time!! The activities offered were a lot of fun - and varied!! All of the staff members we interacted with were friendly, helpful and welcoming! We had never been there before or camping for that matter, but will definitely be back! The deluxe cabin was perfect for the 2 people. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and well appointed it was.
Jul 19, 2016
It was awesome! Great accommodations and plenty for the kids to do!
Jul 19, 2016
we booked this KOA online as we always do. the back in site had a nice view, but I could barely back my 24 ft trailer in without almost bumping into the playground fence, the shower handle in the men's shower was busted so I had to get dressed and change showers, not without the doors opening into each other. my wife said the shower head in the women's stall was clogged with no pressure.
Jul 19, 2016
The pull in/back out site that we were booked for (site 74) would have put our door and awning facing our neighbors door. That would have been awkward for us and them. I've never seen that before. Not sure why it was set up that way. The girl at the office was nice and found us another site. The store needs to stock canned coffee.
Jul 18, 2016
We had a great week in which our grandchildren visited us twice. We all enjoyed the amenities and we have reserved 2 cabins for next year, the second for our son's family.
Jul 18, 2016
Going here 17 years the prices seem to be getting quite high for camping here. Especially $3 additional for more than two on a site. We always have six so our site cost $72 a night. The bathroom floors were filthy it seemed like they just mopped the dirt around not rinsing the mop out. The faucets sprayed water on you. The cable hookup only gave you five channels. Love the tubing/diamond mining
Jul 18, 2016
Very poor campground. Not worth the money. Sites were not level at all, very muddy after a rain storm. Trees were not trimmed and we had to adjust our motorhome so that it did not interfere with the air conditioner. No posted activities. More concerned with the Diamond mine and other business across the street than the campground. Do not understand how this received a KOA "Resort" status.
Jul 18, 2016
Loud. Busy. Parties until 2 a.m. (does not seem to have staff at night to control things). Extremely small lots. Overcrowded.
Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful site, lots of activities. You should inform campers that the river dam gets opened daily, we got caught in really rough waters with a 12 & 5 year old- thank God for life jackets. Also, not a lot of adult workers present, which might explain the teens smoking pot in the bathroom :/ .
Jul 17, 2016
The staff really needs to pick up the goose droppings on the sites as well as the volleyball court and field. We spent an hour picking the droppings up ourselves. We also repaired the volleyball net that was broke for 3 days straight. The free wifi works half of the time or not at all. The bathrooms/showers closest to the tent sites (70's and 80's) are always dirty.
Jul 17, 2016
Been staying here for 25 years. Owners put a lot of effort and capital into this resort!
Jul 17, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. No complaints other than we had other campers walking through our site to visit other campers.
Jul 17, 2016
The activities were exciting. This campground now resort is so beautiful. We visit every year multiple times. This year was different, our motor home burnt and we rented the bird house cabin. I was very disappointed with the cleanliness off the cabin. Ants were everywhere. I had to go to the office and ask for a broom, mop, cleaning supplies and ant bait. I was very disappointed with our cabin!!!!
Jul 17, 2016
A really pretty park right on a creek good for tubing. Lots of kid activities.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Unfortunately we were only there for the one night, my daughter informed me "We HAVE to come back here" many times during the stay.
Jul 16, 2016
Need to regrade the new rv site. Much to narrow, and sides drop off to a deep gully. Also hard to get into with the planting boxes to close to parking spot. we were backed into the tree, and door was lined up to that box.
Jul 16, 2016
Always enjoy our stay as this KOA.
Jul 16, 2016
Beautiful setting, close to mine. Peaceful creek behind campground.
Jul 16, 2016
Only issue was length of walk to the restroom. We were in the farthest away tent site with electric. Very nice place.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
The restrooms were bad. The first day so so but as the week went on the restrooms real bad. The staff was good tho. Place was quite and the site we had lots of room.
Jul 15, 2016
We are a family of five and travel with our dog. It is great to be able to stay in a clean and roomy cabin that has all the amenities to fit our needs. There's so much to do and the pool and daily activities for the kids make it a great place for younger children. We will most certainly be back! Thanks Herkimer KOA!!!
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
This campground is very nice. We had a pull they site which was great. Campground very clean and staff are very nice. The one disappointment was that they operate a day camp for local children and they bring those kids 10-15 in a group to the pool in rotating groups till 4-4:30 each day. You can still swim but day camp kids make the pool very crowded. Won't go back for that reason.
Jul 15, 2016
Lots of activities and great sites. River is a big plus, but bathrooms need cleaning, and more than once a day.
Jul 15, 2016
I would have to say this Koa didn't rank very high on my list of koa's that we will return too. Our cabin smelled, wasn't overly clean, dishes in the cupboard were soaked and smelled like puke. Also not overly impressed that there was a day camp going on during our stay and we couldn't even swim in the pool in the afternoon as they were crazy and it wasn't safe for our 3 year old
Jul 15, 2016
Beautiful and clean. Heading back soon.
Jul 15, 2016
Had a really great time. Cabin DK1 had bunk beds which added to our adventure. Next time though, we'll opt for one of the other cabins. Other than the lawn crew outside our window at 7:30 a.m. it was awesome. Ask them to wait until 8 a.m. at least. thank you. Al Belasco
Jul 15, 2016
Needs work. Hard to turn into with big rig, branches rub sides going in and worst going out, unlevel site, water leaking, needs new manager
Jul 14, 2016
The camp is clean, pool is nice, stream is fun, all the workers had smile on their faces. Temp control in shower needs help. Otherwise, we had a great time and would do it again.
Jul 14, 2016
very clean park. except for geese. tubing the river was adventurous. stayed on deluxe tent site right on creek, very nice big site. only real negative was garbage truck pickup at 6:15 am very loud after late night at camp fire.
Jul 13, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award