Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
negative:women's bathrooms-toilets were not working appropriately(not flushing). shower stall walls(between showers) should be closed in. we pack for the family and lose our supplies when passing to person in next shower. positive: we were there during thunderstorms and high winds..your staff was excellent in checking in and giving evacuation plans and making sure no one was hurt. appreciated!
Aug 13, 2017
Excellent!! Quite, clean, lots of things for kids, great place to get in walks. Just really enjoyed staying there. We even had shade. Very impressive.
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice facility, just not used to spending $48 for a tent site.
Aug 13, 2017
The staff we worked with went out of their way to make our stay was enjoyable and stress-less. We stayed an extra day and were very impressed with the campground as a whole. It was very clean, and well thought out. I hope I will be able to return some day.
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice manager who was accommodating and friendly.
Aug 12, 2017
Wonderful site right on the river for camping and all the speciality cabins were very interesting.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
This is our second year at this wonderful camp. The owner and workers are kind and very helpful. The setting and cabins are beautiful. MIning was so much fun! Everyone is on top of everything. I'm sure you'll replace mattress in deluxe cabin 3 now that you know it lost its support while we were there. Excellent camp-thank you for everything, can't wait till next year.
Aug 11, 2017
Great campground. Would be nice to have a shuttle once or twice a day to tube the river. So an entire family could go. Safety in numbers. We had a great time. One site we reserved last year was converted to a seasonal site and our inlaws were moved to the other side of us. The layout wasn't as friendly & my inlaws were charged more for the patio site they didn't reserve. Refund the difference?
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Was a nice stay. Well staffed and clean. Only suggestion add to customer hand outs "please do not cut though sites of other campers". We had several people cut though our site with their dogs and kids even when we were having dinner and/or while our dog was put on his leash. Very inconsiderate. Your fence infront of each site yard was a good idea. But some people went around it anyways.
Aug 11, 2017
We were only there for one night. We had a lovely pull thru site with lots of green space....very clean and well kept campground.
Aug 11, 2017
This KOA was the best. Our rig faced the river, we had shade to sit outside to drink our coffee in the morning and dinner in the evening. We really didn't want to spend time sightseeing because we liked sitting outside by our rig.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
We had a great "family reunion" - 19 of us all together. It was nice that there were cabins, RV, camper and tent sites. There was a little issue checking in - I asked for two tent sites next to each other in the 97-100 area and was told I had to wait and talk to the people who requested 98 to see if they would move to 100. It worked out, but it would be nice if we could reserve a specific site.
Aug 10, 2017
I've never stayed in a better campground! The cabins were amazing!
Aug 10, 2017
We had an amazing stay. Super clean and fun events each day. Loved the Diamond mining. Our only complaint is we wished we booked a longer stay. Already have plans to return next year...with tubes of course! Darc & the Harringtons
Aug 10, 2017
Only a one night stay but looked like a nice campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The river looked like it would have been fun to tube on. Would stay again if in the area.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
it was relaxing, the cabin was nice and we went to the mine and left no richer than we went in.
Aug 10, 2017
Very enjoyable. Really nice park! Beautiful landscape!
Aug 10, 2017
We brought our grand kids for a quick get away, great location and they loved the museum and rock shop! Mining was fun, we got a few small diamonds and the kids enjoyed the pool, as well as exploring the creek!
Aug 10, 2017
Great RV park--very scenic and relaxing
Aug 10, 2017
It was a beautiful campground and loved that you could float down the river without even leaving! The pool was nice too! It was great to see all the activities!
Aug 09, 2017
Great activities for kids, Matt was especially good with them. Someone needs to check more on amenities as big dome telescope did not work, one of the inside telescopes had broken tripod leg, had to make my own bunk beds which I was not happy about especially at my age and NO fitted sheets (??). No shampoo in either cabin, charged $12 xtra for kids in treehouse? High prices for do many issues!
Aug 09, 2017
The stay was short It would have been nicer if the family was next to each other and we didn't get so much rain. Hard to enjoy the evening with the rain. The kids enjoyed the river. The sites were a little small compared to some KOA's we have stayed at but sufficient.
Aug 09, 2017
Beautiful campground and the employees were wonderful. They were very accommodating with getting our campsite next to another couple and even gave us a new extension cord to use for free!!! I would definitely recommend this campground and look forward to visiting here again!!!
Aug 09, 2017
Would be beneficial to have an additional bathroom near sites 95 to 100 area of the campground
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We love staying here! This is our third year staying at the Herkimer KOA. Great for the kids and just as fun as the adults. Diamond mining is addictive and keeps everyone entertained. Grounds were well kept with lots of activities. There were some minor issues which is why I gave 4/5 stars. Can't wait to come back next year!
Aug 09, 2017
The first night we were at the spot on the stream near the tents and there was so much geese poop we couldn't avoid the dogs or ourselves stepping in it ð© I called them and told them it was just our over night stay which was the half way point to our destination but was reluctant to use there campground on our return trip. They gave us a pull through for the same price as our other spot. Aweso
Aug 09, 2017
Speeds by employees need to abide by 4 mile an hour rule. Fire pits were difficult to figure out. Rocks or metal tire rim. Too close together with other camper. Trivia game has to me updated and revised for children and adults. MC needs to be able to pronunciate properly. Questions were confusing since they referred to choices that were not on the page.
Aug 09, 2017
I stayed for a week at site #98 .. Full tenters and I enjoyed every minute of it. I did stay at the same sight last year and fell in love. I have found my campgrounds. There is just one thing that is needed around the tent campsites. Is "RESTROOMS"... there is an open area that would be perfect to put a small facility Right behind the dumpster area. More appreciative and pleasant to have one close
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Family and i enjoyed the mine site was a little small but still very nice cant wait to go back
Aug 09, 2017
When we got there a charcoal grill was missing from our site. Went to the office to tell them and they took care of it right away. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely be staying again.
Aug 09, 2017
Great camping experience. Wonderful friendly staff.
Aug 09, 2017
Just intransit to RI
Aug 09, 2017
We unfortunately didn't get to be able to enjoy our stay. 3 hours after we checked in, a massive storm came through and wiped out our tent, canopy and grill. Branches broke from nearby trees and landed on our tent and blew over the rest of our stuff. Tent poles broken, all of our gear soaked...we were told they were booked and didn't have a place for us to stay. That ended our weekend.
Aug 09, 2017
Great place to stay. Clean bathrooms and showers. Spacious campsites. Very welcoming to pets. Loves staying there.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Our time there was great. 7 years now and this was the best
Aug 09, 2017
It was a last minute idea to go to Herkimer and every thing worked out great. Everyone was very accommodating. Thank you, Bev Harper
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
There were some beautiful sites at this KOA but not the one we were on. Although it was right on the river it did not have one blade of grass on it. It was packed dirt and it had just rained. Gravel would have made a big difference. Also the garbage dumpster was open and overflowing.
Aug 08, 2017
we visit herkimer diamond mines koa yearly. Always enjoy it there. The bathroom was not the cleanest and only one stall was in working order. We did notify the office and he got right on the radio to call maintenance. They don't seem to patrol like they used to. Several sites had more than two cars, and many people. They could use another bathroom down by the tenting area.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. I still have concerns about the dead tree limbs that were in the trees overhead and the damage or injury to people that could and did happen.
Aug 08, 2017
Everything was great except for the pool not being heated. You spend so much time and money on everything else and the Achilles heel of the resort never gets addressed. That is the only thing that would keep me from coming back.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award