Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2014
What a great KOA. Friendly, clean and great activities. I also LOVED the green space and gardens. What a nice job. Hope they do not add too many more sites as it will cut down on green space. Bring inner tubes for lazy river and safety glasses for mining.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We stayed in a Kamping Kabin. The mattress on the double bed was horrible - too soft and lumpy and stained with who knows what. The bathrooms were clean and convenient although could use more hooks near the sinks.
Aug 03, 2014
Facilities were dirty. WiFi was dissappointing (even for email). I expect more from a KOA.
Aug 02, 2014
The deluxe cabin was comfortable and provided more amenities than we expected. The cabin was clean and pet friendly. We actually booked an extra night while we were there - the kid were having a great time!
Aug 02, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA. I hope to return and do it again.
Aug 02, 2014
We (3 adults) arrived very late, got settled into the cabin even later. The wilderness showed it's nocturnal side under our cabin. By 8:30 a m, we were changing cabins and sleeping better. Staff is EXCELLENT, as is the campground! BRB!
Aug 02, 2014
The campground is great and very family oriented. The garden area was nice. We had a nice time. The only negative would be that the cabins chould be cleaned just a little bit better. The cabin wasn't filthy where we didn't want to stay in it, but it could have been dusted a little bit more. Crumbs where left from the toaster in the cabinet,and a few small things leftover from the previous ppl.
Aug 02, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely helpful. We will definitely recommend this campground to family and friends.
Aug 02, 2014
stay on the river. nice
Aug 02, 2014
Nice clean CG. Friendly staff. A little pricey for a CG. Site became a muddy mess in rain storm all the water ran under rug and awning. A built up pad would have helped this. The river in back was very nice. Found more Diamond's along the river than in the mine, maybe we came at the wrong time of year. Some one at the mine told me they only blast once a year in the spring.
Aug 02, 2014
Muddy campsites could use gravel bed. Hard to determine where your site is and no staff to lead you to the site. Sites along creek are VERY narrow, more so then any other KOA that we have stayed at.
Aug 01, 2014
I wish we were able to stay for more than the one night we had booked. The grounds were beautiful - a little slice of heaven tucked into New York state.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Great loved it
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
The whole campground was clean and well kept. We particularly enjoyed visiting the diamond mines across the road...several times!
Aug 01, 2014
Nice facility and friendly staff.
Jul 31, 2014
Nice camp ground. Great people. Wish the camp sites were a little bigger. Two things to improve: 1. The geese need to be controlled more; they leave a mess. 2. it would be nice if the bathrooms were cleaned more than once a day. They are really dirty by 6 PM.
Jul 31, 2014
It's a great family camping site. The fresh mountain air and child friendly river is a great way to ease kids into camping. The cabins are nice if your not into tents. Definitely will go back next summer!
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
you have a very clean friendly area, also very quiet at night time. easy pull through camp sites. wonderful.
Jul 31, 2014
Love the location along the river, but sites are extremely close together. We were there on a weekday- bathrooms definitely could have used more attention.
Jul 30, 2014
Great place to stay if you are going to go to the Herkimer Diamond mine! Lots of choices for accommodations. The cabins are adorable. The soil is very sandy so be prepared to sweep your camper's floor every day.
Jul 30, 2014
I rented a "Deluxe Cabin". Disgusted by cleanliness of unit.Bathroom-black mold in shower stall&curtain & sink stopper so coated with waste that it"couldn't" fit into drain.Freezer so frosted door could not shut- bottom 2 shelves of refrigerator were not cold.Floors-dirt & debris from previous tenants under bed & couch.Dangerous conditions @ pool-no monitoring/enforcement of posted rules.
Jul 30, 2014
Nice creek site. Although too many geese and their droppings throughout camping area. On the positive aspect, great activities for kids. Diamond mine was awesome, found nice diamonds that we had made into necklace and earrings! Loved browsing in the Diamond mine store, many reasonable souvenirs.the spin art t- shirt a big hit with granddaughter! She's already talking about next year!😸
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Disappointed with attitude of staff at check-in and overall staff's lack of friendliness. Campground was nice.
Jul 29, 2014
The kampground itself was good, but our deluxe cabin was quite dark, old and musty.
Jul 29, 2014
I have stayed at this KOA four years in a row, it gets better everytime, such a beautiful location. The facilities are clean the property is so well kept. Congrats on all the hard work that is put in for others to enjoy. It takes us 5 hours to get there and it is worth every minute of the trip. Can't wait for next year!
Jul 29, 2014
Excellent. Fun. Friendly. Clean.
Jul 29, 2014
We loved the site with the patio with a swing and table with umbrella. It was great not to have to bring our gas grill. It made packing up much easier.
Jul 29, 2014
This is the 2nd time that we have stayed at Herkimer KOA. As we found the 1st time, the kampground is excellent.RV park.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Great park, great staff, tons of activities, perfect location. We have our family reunion there every year!
Jul 28, 2014
we enjoyed the tube rafting,accomadition and clean and freindly service.
Jul 28, 2014
Peak season cabin rentals are a bit pricey
Jul 28, 2014
nice site very friendly staff, if you have kids there is something for them to do every minute of the day. if you try mining, it is very hard work with little reward.
Jul 28, 2014
the robotics cabin already needs some attention. Half of the electronic extras don't work including the big display in glass out front. Only 1 television remote for 2 televisions. The cabin was clean though.
Jul 28, 2014
Campground was clean. Workers were friendly, courteous and helpful. West Canada creek was beautiful and fun. The mining was hard work but was fun and rewarding. It is an affordable day of family fun. Kids say the trip is a must do again. We'll be back. The only down side I saw was that some of the sights along the creek and across from the playground looked a little tight to get into.
Jul 28, 2014
This campground has so much to offer! From floating down the creek to diamond mining to all the activities they plan everyday for the entire family. We have stayed here twice and have enjoyed it very much both times. We are planning another trip for next year!
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Wonderful stay with grand children attending GEM camp.. Delux Site # 8/9 w/extras: perfect! Enjoyed the swing,grill,table/chairs on the new patio. Only negative,e sewer line,site 7, too close to our site. Needs a small divider,tree or panel.Pool was wonderful, staff were all great & very helpful,grounds are exceptional, fresh growing veggies ..great! Don't miss the beach area, down by tent area.
Jul 28, 2014
It was crowded on a Friday night but it is a very nice campground. A good example of what a KOA should be.
Jul 28, 2014
The activities for the kids were fantastic, and the staff was friendly. The complaint would be with the campers being too noisy. Adults drinking and carrying on after midnight loud enough to be heard from across the field and campers littering in the creek and among the grounds. Movies shown weren't totally family friendly. The staff was great!
Jul 28, 2014
We just stayed one night while on the road, but it was very nice--clean, friendly staff, and sites along a lovely river. Looked like lots for kids to do.
Jul 28, 2014
Great property and friendly people!
Jul 27, 2014
We stayed in a deluxe cabin with 2 bunk beds and a futon. It was very comfortable, air conditioned, and everything we needed. Very nice campground for cabins, tents, and trailers.
Jul 27, 2014
Awesome!!! I had heard about KOA through a friend and thought I'd take a chance for my 3 young boys and I to try camping on our own for the first time. The first night in a cabin (loved it). The second night in a tent (loved that too). It was beyond what we expected. It was clean. There was so much to do. A lot of activities. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as well. Great place!!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.