Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 06, 2016
We really enjoyed ourselves, nice people and very clean, well maintained.
Sep 06, 2016
Great interaction with ALL staff. Great time! Awesome variety of activities...
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Nice campground with lots of space. Helpful staff although we prefer a staff member to lead us to our site. Stayed one night on our way to Maine.
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great stay
Sep 06, 2016
We had a blast!! I cannot think of a single criticism at all. Staff are friendly and super helpful. We weren't gouged on prices the camp store like I expected we would be based on other camping experiences elsewhere.Loved the outdoor dishwashing area and the showers never ran out of hot water. Clean and fun!! We will be back in a heartbeat!
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
On our travels home to Ontario, and u people made a great effort in finding us a site to stay 1 one on the Labour Day long week-end,thanks so much for your kidness
Sep 05, 2016
It was nice to be able to stay by the water but the camp site was very small and mostly dirt. Also we were extremely close to the neighbours and, being in a tent, made it seem even closer.
Sep 05, 2016
Our stay was wonderful! The staff was helpful. THe bathrooms were kept clean. The grounds were immaculate and little pockets of fun were all around. The tubing was a blast!!!!
Sep 05, 2016
This, most recent stay at Herkimer Diamond KOA was much better that the previous weekend even on a holiday weekend. The location was much better and there was a lot more space. We did not feel like we were sleeping with the neighbours. The ratings would be higher if not for the previous weekend being so poor.
Sep 04, 2016
wish ewe had a longer stay and the diamond mines are a great family adventure for the kids if they have a sense of adventure to mine
Sep 04, 2016
The Herkimer KOA is a "gem" of a find. The sites along the West Canada creek are just magical, where grown ups can enjoy they beauty and the babbling water, and kids can enjoy tubing and play.
Sep 03, 2016
Sep 03, 2016
As always we really enjoyed our stay, but you must do something about the mattresses in the creekside cabins. They are terrible.
Sep 03, 2016
Sep 02, 2016
Such a great campground. So clean and neat. Plenty to do. We loved our visit.
Sep 02, 2016
This was the second time I was there this summer, I'm 2 hours away, well worth the trip every time. Absolutely love this place.
Sep 02, 2016
The weather was perfect and we enjoyed being able to spend time just relaxing (of course we did some mining as well).
Sep 02, 2016
Loved the Campground loved the staff very friendly staff. Security Guard man named Bill was so helpful to us and was always watching out felt safe because of him as well. Our only complaint was the sand on the site , it was all over in our camper even with the outside rug and taking our shoes off outside our kids couldn't play on our site beacuse of the sand . Please plant grass on these sandy si
Sep 02, 2016
Sep 02, 2016
Sep 02, 2016
The people are very quiet at night and it's a very peaceful place to go camping
Sep 02, 2016
Very disappointed. Bkd 2 deluxe pull thrus online, given backin and pullin, realized no cable after we hooked up. Office put 35 ft trailer w/slideouts next to us, could not open our window they open out,too close. went to office all they said was we can downgrade. Later saw pull thrus open never used. tons of flies could not eat outside kids running office Poor(no) mgmt other custs complaining too
Sep 02, 2016
Awesome...loved the treehouse cabin! Just a note...the TV remote didn't work...and the tub...which was a bigger deal, as I really wanted to take a bath...! Other than that, all good!
Sep 01, 2016
It was fun! I think the Astronomy Lab is a little misleading, you need to actually rent that cabin to use the facility. It wasn't an activity available to us while we were there and that was a little disappointing. The grounds were lovely. Activities were geared to younger children and not teenagers or pre teens. There were a lot of flies. I don't know if it was just the time of year.
Sep 01, 2016
We had a great time during our stay. The staff was friendly and everything was clean. This was our first time staying at a KOA campground and we were very impressed! We spent the day at the Herkimer Diamond Mine on Saturday and walked back across the street to the campground.
Sep 01, 2016
place was clean, staff friendly, river was great.The drawbacks were : There is no WiFi as advertised. I could barely get a signal on my phone & then only outside the trailer.The idea of having pull-ins next to back-ins may give you more river sites but it make the site long but very narrow. My back-in's canopy almost extended to the edge of my site & the pull-in's were right on top of us.
Sep 01, 2016
Everything was great. Loved the planned activities for kids, cabin was great, mattress was better than expected. A little expensive. Glad I wasn't there for a busy weekend, sites too close.
Aug 31, 2016
Aug 31, 2016
We stayed in the DK5 cabin. It was nice and clean. The activities were great for the kids. If you are staying in this cabin I would bring your own grill. The grill that is there doesn't have a stop on the lid anymore so it just slams down if you don't have a hold of it. Also the grill rack is so rusted that if you grill food on it you are going to be eating rust too. The kids want to come back.
Aug 31, 2016
the only thing wrong was the incredible heat inside the cabin . I brought a fan with me and it was still unbearable. was told that i could bring an A/C unit with me, glad i did not waste my time as there is no window to place it in. otherwise place and should stay again Also i was told it was a minimum 2 night stay but saw people come in and only stay one night in cabins whats the deal?
Aug 31, 2016
Had a great time. Only thing I did not like is that I am a rewards member and have camped at about 6 KOA's this year and they all allowed my 10yr old Rottweiler except for your campground. When I was camping I saw 2 pit bulls and 1 Rottweiler at your campground and a dozen constant barking dogs. I had a travel trailer which is where my dog would've been unlike the other dogs.
Aug 31, 2016
Enjoyed our stay greatly got a very nice lot. The only thing to recommend is the trees need trimmed lot of low limbs
Aug 30, 2016
Our "Deluxe" patio site did include a long concrete patio but the front corner was broken up and the site to back the trailer on was just dirt and grass. The campground is very nice and does offer many nice features. Camping on the creek was by far the attraction for us.
Aug 30, 2016
Although a beautiful campground. My recommendation is to go as a group,the sites are way to SMALL to not know anyone next to you. It would be very uncomfortable to have your "awnings or slide outs touch" and not know them.
Aug 30, 2016
We stayed in the tree house, it was great, we had a ton of fun!
Aug 30, 2016
we stayed in the deluxe cabin. very nice and clean...the staff is very friendly..can't wait to come back.
Aug 30, 2016
I was not too happy with the customer service at the check in desk . I also got injured in the shower stall due to a chipped tile . The best part was the water . I also was told I would be in One cabin I called to see if I could upgrade and was told every cabin was booked and when I checked in was placed into a different one next to dogs mind you I have a small child . Not sure if I plan to return
Aug 30, 2016
Great park. Brought my three granddaughters ages 15 13 12 they had a great time. They enjoyed the river tubing, dance and evening activities already asking to go next year already.
Aug 30, 2016
My family and I enjoyed ourselves very much here. Campers were super nice. We enjoyed tubing on the creek and at the diamond mine.
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
Great trip - clean site Lots of flies was only complaint!
Aug 30, 2016
The staff was very nice and accommodating and the cabin was great!
Aug 30, 2016
This campground is our new favorite! The tubing, activities, and pool were great! But the staff was the best! Thanks for everything!
Aug 30, 2016
Great site, right on the creek. BEAUTIFUL!!!
Aug 30, 2016
Such an amazing campground! We loved the kids activities and being close to the water.
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
Only complant is that on the websote it seems that you can use the telescope but it is only designated to that cabin
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award