Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 04, 2013
We enjoyed our stay very much.The tubing on the river is a great plus. The staff is friendly and accommodating.We have recommended this KoA to all our fiends. We will be back.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Our stay was great! Staff was pleasant, grounds were well kept. If there was a complaint, the only one I can think is after hours. Had a wild bunch drinking, swearing (f bombing) and partying after hours and driving drunk. One vehicle almost hit another camper on their way out. Otherwise, a nice stay. I'd put some money to having some security or someone driving through during after hours.
Sep 03, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Mens bathrooms needed to be cleaned tho towards the end of our stay, other than that, we loved it.
Sep 03, 2013
We had a great time at the mine and tubing One member of the staff stood out as excellent -Woddy- was great The activities could be better organized
Sep 03, 2013
It is always a good time in Herkimer. the only down fall this past weekend was that the campers next to us extended themselves into our camp site. Looking forward to Memorial Weekend next year. Thanks
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We loved our stay so much that we made a reservation for Columbus day and plan to make reservations with our family for Memorial day. What a great place to camp!
Sep 03, 2013
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. Being able to set up right along the creek, and having two firepits was great!
Sep 03, 2013
We had a lot of rain our first day and were ready to pack it in. We have an autistic son and he was not have a good day with rain and then flooded out campsite. Cliff and Daniel stepped up and changed our site (let our son pick) and gave him a smores pack! We will be back next summer!
Sep 03, 2013
The hook-ups for this site were not convenient. When I booked the site they said it was a pull-in. I asked if a 30' Trailer would fit and they said it definitely would. When I arrived, I quickly found out that there was no possible way to pull in and still get it disconnected while completely in the space provided. I had to park extremely close to the camper next to me to get connected.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Very clean. Very close to diamond mines and local towns. Cabin was very small; mattresses were hard. Arrived before check in time, so visited the mines first. At the mines we were asked if we were staying at the KOA, I explained yes but hadn't checked in yet due to time. When we did check in, we were told that we could get a discount at mines. We should have been given the discount initially!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Our kabin was clean and ready by the time we arrived. The pizza delivery and pancake breakfast made our one night stay very easy and relaxed. We loved the pool. I am only giving three stars because the cabins and camp sites are on top of one another. I personally would have prefered more space/ privacy. The mattresses provided were also on the thin side.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Unclean. Planned activities were not followed through with (cancelled without notice). Unfriendly staff. False advertisement of what the weeks activities were and what the campground had to offer.
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Came in late ,office people were just leaving ,told us where to park ,asked about staying another night and they would find us a spot (sept long weekend) will come back
Aug 31, 2013
we'll be back!
Aug 31, 2013
Got a site by stream but it was bare earth. Most other sites were grassy and nice.
Aug 31, 2013
We love the campgrounds. It is nice an clean.
Aug 30, 2013
we had a great stay and enjoyed looking for diamonds. When we left we had your breakfast it was hot and filling and was great that all the money was giving to the koa cancer camp.
Aug 29, 2013
We had a camp site right on the water and it was beautiful. The bathrooms were kept clean throughout the day, which is a must for us. The people were very friendly and helpful. Our children had a great time in the pool. We had a fantastic time.
Aug 29, 2013
We absolutely loved it. The campground was so nice and clean, well kept, as was our cabin. The staff was great too, went above & beyond. The only disappointment was that we had rented the astronomy cabin, which was wonderful, but... the staff seemed unable to get the telescope going. They came back several times and they really tried, but in the end, we never got to use it. Otherwise - flawless!
Aug 29, 2013
The people at the front desk were extremely helpful! The solar cabin we stayed in was clean and spacious. There were many things for the kids to do. We will definitely be back and will recommend to friends!
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Wonderful place and wonderful people that works there. My family and I had a wonderful time. The kids are already planning on next year's trip back.
Aug 28, 2013
Diamond mines across the street had rude workers. I asked for 2 kabins in the middle (5or6) next to each other in way back in April and were booked 5 and 7. Fire grates are a must and the site accommodated. My brother busted his leg behind the Kabins on Thursday and not a single employee asked if he was ok and when we called the overnight phone# to explain they did not care
Aug 28, 2013
We camped with 2 other families for 3 nights. We each had our own camp site. Not every campsite had a fire pit. The bathrooms were not very clean and could use some updating. There didn't seem to be any hot or even warm water for a shower. We tried at different times of the day for that. There does not seem to be a quiet time policy in place. People were quite loud into the middle of the night.
Aug 28, 2013
We had a great time at the Herkimer Dimond KOA. Your camp gound is very nice and clean. The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much. Even though our grandson brought the bug with him and was sick for one night. Of course Grand Pa caught the bug for another night. We still had a great time. We will be back for some tubing, mining, and a more good times. For sure. Thank You, Ken Der
Aug 28, 2013
I love staying at this campground. There are so many things to do for the whole family. There's tubing down the river, swimming in the pool, mining for diamonds of course, and many activities set out by the KOA itself to partake in. We've met people that have become lifelong friends from other states that have vowed to come back next year with us. And let's not forget the staff...great!
Aug 28, 2013
We had a great time. What a wonderful camping experience. Have already recommended you to friends.
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
the only improvement I can think of is the need for a better selection of products at store otherwise excellent.
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Very friendly, flexible and accommodating staff. Lots of activities and river sites are awesome!
Aug 27, 2013
live close by and this site is perfect for me as an easy reach for camping. the facility is always clean and the people are very friendly. I will continue to return many times.
Aug 27, 2013
Our stay at Herkimer KOA was great...we loved it there...we camp all the time and our whole group said that this was one of the best campgrounds we've stayed at. My only recommendation is to upgrade the playground and include slides. The wooden one is falling apart and is a risk.
Aug 27, 2013
We enjoyed our stay but would have preferred to be along the water. Our daughter really enjoyed the panning! Did want to suggest having the DJ later than 3pm. Surely there would be more participation if they had played later in the day, early evening? Thanks Deidre Scutt
Aug 26, 2013
Packed too tightly for our taste. Facillities are good, clean. Just to crowded for us.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff was very friendly. Only drawback the toilet in the mens room wouldn't flush properly.. I'd come back for sure.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Awesome activities for the the kids and the family! Gorgeous view! The staff was fantastic!
Aug 26, 2013
This was a very nice campground, amenities were nice and staff was pleasant. The weekend we were there there were a lot of people and bathrooms kept getting really messy - they tried hard to keep up with the restrooms.
Aug 26, 2013
We liked our cabin and the activities - tubing, flashlight candy hunt, bingo. Our cabin did not have a bathroom. We liked the idea of having access to private bathrooms with a key - however, we did not like that so many other campers (not in cabins) were using the bathrooms as the doors were often left unlocked.
Aug 26, 2013
Best Campground ever!!!!!
Aug 26, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.