Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2014
Beautiful, clean, well kept great sites
Aug 25, 2014
Great campground. Had everything we needed. Even dinner delivery from nice restaurant. Only thing that would make it even better would be bigger play area for the dog. A place to throw the ball to really get out the energy. Current play area is only good for small dogs. The kids seemed to play more on the agility equipment.
Aug 25, 2014
Everyone was very nice and helpful. Just one suggestion. The showers should be power washed. We had a screen house was damaged. But, the office took care of us. Waiting to hear from corporate about the screen house .We love it We will definitely return. It's a home away from home.
Aug 25, 2014
we haved a great time thank you .
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
we had just stayed at a KOA in Youngstown Ny and then arrived in Herkimer ... the atmosphere was less personal ... not as friendly. Our camp site was underwater.
Aug 25, 2014
sites are to close to each other, pool should be heated. holes need to be filled in on playing field
Aug 25, 2014
we enjoyed staying at this kOA there was a little confusion, but was accommodated.overall 5 star
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Great time!!!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
We only stayed one night but if traveling through the area with more time we would stay there and take in some of the area attractions.
Aug 24, 2014
The campground itself was beautiful, but the staff was very rude and mismanaged, and the equipment was really outdated, old, and broken. In fact,my children rented their trikes, and we showed them one with a broken pedal & the man went back in the store not knowing my husband was in there and said "those kids are gonna get killed on those things, oh well!!". Really rude and mean.
Aug 23, 2014
Hi!! Solar Lodge #1 needs front door repair ... it was extremely difficult to lock the door. Forgot to mention this when checking out. It was an excellent vacation and awesome experience. Thank you!! Suzette Pepin
Aug 23, 2014
Although we have stayed here many times,this was our first time staying in a Solar Cottage and we were delighted with the layout and the beautiful setting. Our kids and grandkids had a fun time at the mine and also enjoyed the pool, playground and shopping at the store. In spite of the rain we found it to be a fun family time together leaving us with wonderful memories and beautiful diamonds.
Aug 23, 2014
We reserved a specific campsite by writing in the notes of our reservation (as directed by the receptionist- who told me to put the # down, which I did 5 minutes after hanging up) but we got a different site than desired. When I brought this up- the person at the desk apologized but the site we wanted remained empty And they didn't offer to move us. Also the site area was covered in goose poop,
Aug 23, 2014
The staff was really friendly. All the facilities were quite clean. One night there was a thunderstorm where it downpoured for about 1 hour and then rained for another few hours. Are there protocols for this when there is extreme weather? Perhaps a posting when extreme weather is expected?
Aug 23, 2014
I cant say much I got to the camping cabin 10:30 pm and left at 8:30am the next morning. sorry
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Staff very helpful and friendly
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
-Mostly clean, bathrooms could have been cleaner -Laundry room frustrating waiting for dryer only to find out that I was waiting for KOA staff to remove their laundry. I spend way too much time in the laundry room just waiting -You need to heat your pool The river running around the camp ground was awesome we had so much fun with that. The games room was nice, location was great for our purp
Aug 22, 2014
relaxing and wonderful as always. Clean,pleasant employees and nice surroundings. Can't wait to go back again!
Aug 22, 2014
We stayed hear in 2008 and loved it so we came back and it's even better now. They have made so many up grades to the park.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
We stayed in a cabin alongside the creek. The scenery was beautiful. I wish we stayed longer in order to take advantage of some of the activities. We loved the fact that the mine was right across the street as well.
Aug 21, 2014
Good campground for families. Bathrooms were filthy because they were not cleaned enough times during the day with the amount of people camping. the dog owners don't pick up the mess from their dogs. management needs to address this problem by riding out in the campground and seeing what's going on.
Aug 21, 2014
this is a top notch campground. plenty to do-movies every nite, very nice pool, the river is great for tubing,diamond mine was fun. very clean great sites, very helpful staff. this is my 2nd time here, we will be back!
Aug 21, 2014
Great location, it rained a lot, there were plenty of things to see and do- covered bridgein salsbury, antiques all around, Herkimer county fair, boat rides. even to just drive around the beautiful countryside. the campground is very clean, run well, staff friendly and accommodating. the river-tubing, and the diamond mines are big fun, we will definitely come again.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Kamper DOG Etiquette is Not followed here  our site was full of poop
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Bathrooms floors should have been cleaner. Cabin was great. Facilities great. Staff super.
Aug 20, 2014
Campsites too close together. Goose poop all over. Staff service was friendly though.
Aug 19, 2014
We were on a full hook up site #71 on the river. The site was very small compared to others but what really bothered us was all we had for a fire was rocks - no fire ring. I asked at the office and was told they didn't think they had any but would check. We didn't hear any more. It was disappointing as part of camping is having a fire and no one got back to us. The sites were not as clean as we ar
Aug 19, 2014
We spent a week here. We enjoyed the pig roast and ice cream social, and bingo. The staff was very friendly. The facilities are very clean. Sites are spacious. We highly recommend this KOA.
Aug 19, 2014
Location is fantastic. We have visited your campground yearly ffor the last 8 years. Now that we have young kids, we'd like to see an ungraded, safer playground and maybe a heated pool. I highly recommend this campground though.
Aug 19, 2014
Camping with the kids and grand-kids was great. Site was perfect for our needs. The rental bikes could use some maintenance as they were banged up kids still had fun with them). Restrooms and showers on a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate an 8.
Aug 19, 2014
We stayed 5 nights in a 5th Wheel RV at a pull through site. Site was a nice size and the grounds were well kept. The playgrounds both at the park and the mining site need a serious overhaul. The staff what few we saw were friendly. The activities and information on them seemed disorganized. Previously only stayed at Jellystone's the children felt there was little to do here. Enjoyed Mining.
Aug 19, 2014
We had a great campsite right by the river! It was very relaxing. There was also a lot going on for the kids and they had so much fun!! We have already booked for next year.
Aug 19, 2014
Great camping grounds. Plenty to do and mishaps are easily rectified. Definitely going back.
Aug 19, 2014
The staff is extremely friendly and goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. This is our fourth year and we will be back!!
Aug 19, 2014
Very disappointing.Restroom & showers are dirty and not maintained well. Not enough toilets to handle the amount of people. . Must have been very dry before I got there as the roads were extremely dusty If vehicles traveled at the 5mph limit it was ok but there was no enforcement or even mention of it at sign in. Even the employees exceeded and left clouds of dust behind. One older clerk worthless
Aug 19, 2014
Site was muddy .2sites over dog barking off and on very aggrevating.should have pets only area close to offic so they can hear ,and do something about it!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.