Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2015
We had a great time. The campground is very nice and staff very friendly. Our cabin was clean and comfortable. The pool and stream were a big hit with the kids as well as the diamond mining (just across the street). We will definitely return here.
Aug 18, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The park was very clean and well appointed. The location was close to other good attractions. The staff was friendly and courteous. I was a pleasurable experience.
Aug 18, 2015
One of the nicest KOAs! There are so many family oriented things to do there.
Aug 18, 2015
Our cabin was clean, creek-side and we loved it.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
This was one of the best camping weekends our family and friends have had. Great campground and plenty of activities. West Canada Creek is definitely an added bonus. We will be back next year for sure and for more days!!
Aug 18, 2015
Pleasantly surprised. Great campground. Excellent from check in to the moment we left. Nice location, lots of amenities and pleasant staff
Aug 18, 2015
Pool was dirty & ice cold. Creek was warmer. Store was virtually empty of souvenirs & other things.
Aug 18, 2015
This was our first time staying here and it was very enjoyable. Staff was friendly, there were many activities for my children to participate in and the grounds were very clean. My kids favorite part of our stay was diamond mining across the street and tubing down the creek bed. They are already asking when we can go back.
Aug 18, 2015
Nice facilities, well kept up and clean.
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in a cabin across from the campground our family was tenting so that was inconvenient. The cabin was nice but smelled of moth balls and was a little pricey for the accommodations.
Aug 18, 2015
The diamond mine provides a very unique experience that my kids enjoyed.
Aug 18, 2015
Love the campground very nice workers. Need more bathrooms.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Herkimer was a fantastic KOA, the staff were professional and went above and beyond in every possible way. June, one of the staff, even helped us to figure out why our electric was not working. The grounds were very nice, the bathrooms were immaculate and my family had a great time! Thank you for that!
Aug 18, 2015
I was very disappointed to learn that my site on the creek had been replaced with a cabin. Staff was accommodating but I had to find another place to stay because there were no sites available. Not sure if I will return.
Aug 18, 2015
Would have been 5 stars if there were closer bathrooms and showers available for tenting sites. Plenty of family activities to do.
Aug 18, 2015
We had site 71. The location of the sewer was not located close enough to the back of the trailer to allow us to hook up. Even with 20' of Hose. Drainage is poor.
Aug 18, 2015
It was our first time and we really enjoyed. The only thing is we wish there were more bathrooms and showers
Aug 18, 2015
Location next to creek awesome ..... Until group arrived next to us after supper and set up for the drinking party they had come for. Adults, well planned, well equipped for their good time. We had to shut door, vents to try to block noise levels. Did not utilize our site other than to sleep.
Aug 17, 2015
It would be helpful to know in advance where your camp ground is or have the ability to reserve a cabin along the river.
Aug 17, 2015
An outstanding KOA that is very well maintained--we will return when in the area again. The restaurant was fantastic. I had a very thick cut pork chop that was covered with caramelized apples and onions in a brandy sauce with a side of sautéed squash, baked potato, fresh salad, and fresh baked Italian bread. This was probably the best pork chop I have ever eaten (sorry mom).
Aug 17, 2015
This campground was great! We had a bit more room than other campgrounds that we have stayed at in the past. The best part was the activities! There was always something going on and even my teens stayed busy.
Aug 17, 2015
It was great. I few things were hard for us. I think having one pool for all those campsites is a bit much...I think u could use another pool. I understand that u have the creek but not everyone likes the creek. For our first experience as a family weekend, over all it was a great weekend. We enjoyed ourselves...
Aug 16, 2015
Our favorite KOA. Well maintained, lots of activities and tubing was a blast. We will definitely be back next year.
Aug 15, 2015
We stayed in the robotics cabin we were so excited we had been waiting for a year to stay in it but everything was broken all of the robotic things were broken the only thing that worked a little bit was a little robot with a remote control and I don't think that worked appropriately my four grandchildren two of which traveled from Hawaii to be. there we're so disappointed.
Aug 15, 2015
We had a great time at Herkimer KOA. When we arived our site was littered with cigarette butts and the fire pit full of hot trash ash. The staff was friendly and quick to clean up our site. :) It was worth the 5 hour drive from PA and I am certain we will revisit.
Aug 14, 2015
had a lot of fun, will visit again! love the location and the river and the diamond mining. Great KOA!
Aug 14, 2015
Astronomy Lodge telescope didn't work. No one was available at night to help.
Aug 14, 2015
Our first time with KOA ,we loved it. It was clean convenient beautiful setting. The staff were all so friendly and accomodating. We haven't stopped talking about when we can get back there to try out another cabin and explore the river.Thank you for making our visit to Herkimer so memorable.
Aug 14, 2015
Very nice campground! Will come back again and request a site along river!
Aug 13, 2015
My family had another awesome time camping again this year! We've already booked our trip for next summer.
Aug 13, 2015
We are here every year because we love this camp ground. One thing they really need to work on is the dust kicked up by the road.
Aug 13, 2015
Very nice campground situated on the West Canada Creek. The only thing I was not really happy with is the fact that people camping think it is "OK" to cut through your campsite. When people have animals on their campsite and have them tied out, this is very upsetting. It should be in their rules letting people know it is NOT ok to do this.
Aug 13, 2015
We really like the way the campground is set up along the creek. The sites seem a little close and there seems to be no clear rules for campers coming out of the creek and walking through your site. The road dust is really bad. Also, this year there as goose poop EVERYWHERE! There are very nice events held daily. Lots to do for kids.
Aug 13, 2015
Great park with lots of wonderful activities! We especially loved tubing and the diamond mining!!
Aug 13, 2015
We rented the Robotics (or should I say non-Robotics lodge) The fact that almost everything in the lodge was broken was a huge disappointment to us, and definitely to our grandchildren. They had looked forward for weeks to experiencing the advertised robotics in this cabin. All that worked was the robot and the vacuum (that was exciting for about thirty seconds We should have been notified of this
Aug 13, 2015
Overall a pleasant stay. Site's were small, and the store was not stocked well. But spending time with my family was great
Aug 13, 2015
Bathrooms were very dirty...store had very limited selection, otherwise nice stay
Aug 13, 2015
Had a great time staff was friendly, bathrooms are OK but the one we frequented was by the pool. Excellent pulled pork dinner and sunday breakfast. Enjoyed tye dying the shirts
Aug 13, 2015
Too much dust from the roads. Dog policy not inforced. Dogs were running around. Free WiFi is limited, slow and non-existant at times.
Aug 13, 2015
We camped at the KOA many times when our children were young, always enjoyed ourselves. Now that we are older we find the cabins a nice alternative. We discovered the on creek cabins while attending a party at the park and knew we would love it. We have already reserved a cabin for a week next summer.
Aug 13, 2015
Everything was great except the terrible couch. Covered with an awful, thin, cushion and the support underneath eas practically non existent. Fitted sheets would have been better also so that we wouldn't end up sleeping on a bare mattress inadvertently.
Aug 13, 2015
I love this place! The staff is friendly, and there is plenty to do. I am a single mom and take my young children here by myself a few times a year. I always feel safe. I love it!
Aug 13, 2015
Nice people and great food.
Aug 13, 2015
Very nice staff. Picnic table burned. Site sewer connection needs repair.
Aug 13, 2015
Excellent campground with so many amenities! Grounds are great and well maintained. Pavilion breakfast great idea. Nice to Have on the day we left. Definitely a 5 star!
Aug 13, 2015
Herkimer is my best night yet! I was parked on West Canada Creek next to some of the nicest people!
Aug 12, 2015
Pros:We love this place! The staff has been great and the facilities are fantastic. Cons:we had a minor issues with the power and water that was corrected within minutes. There isn't cable on the Deluxe sites yet.
Aug 12, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.