Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 13, 2015
We stayed here before. We were very pleased with the campground and the staff. Jeff checked us in and was very helpful. The campground was very clean and everyone was pleasant. We will definitely be back again.
Jun 12, 2015
We only stayed one night. Wish we would of had more time. Campsite level next to creek. People were friendly . Would like to stay longer next time. One of the best koas we stayed in. Thamks
Jun 12, 2015
My family and extended family recently stayed at your campground. We had a wonderful time, from tubing the river to mining for "diamonds" across the street. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked the deluxe tent sites. Keep up the good work. I would highly recommend your campground to others.
Jun 12, 2015
Well maintained facility. Beautiful grounds. Only complaint was, the area our site was in (#83), the sites seem a little too close.
Jun 12, 2015
The only problem we had was that the water went out for a while and the goose droppings.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
Very helpful and friendly!
Jun 12, 2015
The cabin we stayed at was beautiful! It was a little dusty and smelled a bit like moth balls but otherwise it was awesome! The staff was super friendly! I would definitely go back and have already recommended people to stay there!
Jun 12, 2015
Stayed 3 days. Great location, helpful staff, great facilities. Our Kamping Kabin was in good condition & smelled fine. There was dust & cobwebs under the bed however. Poor cleanliness in the showers, especially the floors & mats. There were only 2 working washers and our clothes didn't get clean. No remotes for the tv so we had to stand on a folding chair to change channels.
Jun 11, 2015
Outside movie was fun, ice cream social was great. Heater for pool would be good investment although the kids don't mind the cold water. Husband complained water/electric post was on the wrong side (we didn't want to be facing our neighbors who were strangers to us). Only complaint I have which is not necessarily concerning the park is the dog 2 sites over and its incessant barking all hours.
Jun 11, 2015
I had a great time mining and the accommodations were pretty good. WiFi was better than last time.
Jun 11, 2015
Very nice, very clean atmosphere and great activities for the whole family!!!
Jun 11, 2015
Really amazed at how beautiful the grounds are. Very special location. Can't wait to stay again. A plus!!
Jun 11, 2015
Very enjoyable stay in a very clean and well maintained campground. Bring digging tools if you go to the mine. The hammer is only a start if you want to enjoy the day.
Jun 10, 2015
Our group comes up every year at the same time. You people are the best. I can not say anything bad. We have told many people about our stay and have also handed out your brochures. Renee, Rudy, and Rudy Jr, are just like family. We think the world of them. My Mom was 94 this year and she looks so forward to our trips every year. Thank you all for anther wonderful year.
Jun 10, 2015
We love this campground but the bathroom toilets were always plugged and this wasn't the busy season.
Jun 10, 2015
Staff was very helpful and courteous.
Jun 09, 2015
we had a lot of fun.
Jun 08, 2015
The cleanest friendliest campground! There was so much to do and it is just beautiful! Between swimming and playing in the creek and the mines we just wanted to stay another day!
Jun 08, 2015
What a wonderful campground. I loved it!!
Jun 08, 2015
Staff very efficient. Cabin clean. Very relaxing. The river, the nature, loved the stay.
Jun 08, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA and it was great! We enjoyed all the activities that were offered. We will be back again.
Jun 07, 2015
The telescope was brokenin the astrology cabin which I paid a lot of money for. Plus one of the rocking chairs for outside by the fire pit was never there. One other thing is that the hammock hooks were not spaced out properly,I even flipped over and hit my shoulder on the rock.The manager Cliff offered a discount next time I stay there,but did not offer me anything in writing just said ask forhim
Jun 06, 2015
We REALLY liked this campground. Clean, well-kept, family friendly. We had a little cabin and were so happy it included a little heater because it was COLD. We are talking about visiting again in the fall.
Jun 05, 2015
Many water problems. Dog park grass was at least 9 inches high.
Jun 05, 2015
Only stayed one night but we were tempted to cancel our plans and stay longer.
Jun 04, 2015
I love the place is clean, is nice.. everything look good .. love it... I want all my camping to be there from now on
Jun 04, 2015
Upon arrival the employees greeting us at the desk were very pleasant and professional.The site was clean, maintained well and above all it was very relaxing being by the West Canada as it flowed downstream.We had a very enjoyable stay. Thanks to the entire staff.
Jun 04, 2015
Super clean! Great park for bike riding with the family. Loved it!
Jun 04, 2015
Cabin was fine but campground lost water for a day and was inconvenient but staff accommodated by letting us shower at cabin the water was working. Things happen sometimes out of our control. Will be back next year. I do wish they had kid activities during the week when we are there for an event at diamond mine. Like they do have on the weekends to entertain kids
Jun 04, 2015
Jun 04, 2015
There was a bad storm the night before we were scheduled to leave. In the morning the owner was driving around the campground checking in on people. That is why we love KOAs so much, you're not a customer..you're treated like family.
Jun 04, 2015
I have been staying at this KOA about thirty years. Only one complaint, the showers are too small.
Jun 04, 2015
Surprisingly quiet for being so close to Rt.28. Incredibly beautiful being so close to the water. Well equipt store. Only thing that was difficult was telling where one site started and another ended.
Jun 04, 2015
Very friendly staff. Very accommodating. This is a small issue and not a complaint. They used to pick up your garbage if you left it in front of your resume but this has stopped.
Jun 04, 2015
We only stayed one night, but we enjoyed the facility. We are considering another trip this Fall and would not hesitate to camp at KOA again.
Jun 04, 2015
Our stay was amazing Renee and her staff were to notch. We really enjoyed our solar 1 cabin.
Jun 04, 2015
It is a great campground. We are planning to come back very soon.
Jun 04, 2015
Great KOA. This is the 2nd or 3rd time I've stayed in Herkermer.
Jun 04, 2015
We've only been camping a few times and this was our first time at any KOA. We loved the planned activities and were impressed with the facilities. I DO wish the tent facilities were a little more spread out or had more privacy. I set up our tent next to our car just so we'd have some privacy.The only place with developed trees had the rocks creekside.The only grass was further back near the road.
Jun 04, 2015
Great staff
Jun 03, 2015
Jun 03, 2015
The staff was kind and eager to help in any way. Our cabin was very clean upon arrival.
Jun 03, 2015
We arrived on Monday June 1. Water went out Monday nite but no notification given. Tuesday morning employee offered showers across the road -unacceptable. No indication of when problem would be solved. I asked for a partial refund for Monday nite and cancelled Tuesday nite. I was given the refund and was only given 26.70 of Tuesday back. I left number for manager to call - yet to call me back!!!
Jun 02, 2015
Great experience overall. Two things I would have liked different: when checking in and asked if we had been there before, there was a lack of explanation of what this Koa had to offer. Secondly, the cabin smelled excessively of mothballs. We had to keep the windows open even when temperature dropped to 50's. The smell was soo bad
Jun 02, 2015
Fantastic mattress for the Adults! Cottage so cute. Thank you for the fridge and TV! Very clean. Fun filled KOA!
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
Our family has a joke about another camping trip we took that we refer to as our "worst camping experience ever." This will be our "best camping experience ever!" It even rained nearly the whole time we we there, but it didn't matter. All the staff were wonderful, the events planned were entertaining and fun, the mining experience was exciting and our cabin was warm and cozy.
Jun 02, 2015
The staff were very nice & helpful. The site was beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay.
Jun 01, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.