Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2014
Staff is always friendly and helpful, love all the activities the campground has.
Sep 02, 2014
Nice campground just our site was a little small and had only 3ft between my awning and neighbors campers
Sep 02, 2014
We enjoyed the our stay, the only part was the one worker that stayed in the camper behind us was rude. The amount of people that don't obey the 5 mph especially near the playground.
Sep 02, 2014
The staff is super nice, clean bathrooms and showers, lots of activities, loved being able to order food and it's delivered! It was a great weekend.
Sep 02, 2014
The staff were all insanely friendly and welcoming, loved all of the activities...so much to do all weekend! Only reason I didn't rate it a 5 star was due to the bathrooms; the showers were quite grimey, and the water was either boiling hot or freezing cold- no happy medium. Otherwise the camp sites were wonderful!!!
Sep 02, 2014
We loved the Kampground and Staff, we just didn't love that anything was on the schedule didn't happen for the kids due to employees calling out and no one to replace them or the activities.
Sep 02, 2014
Great KOA. My only complaint is that speed limits on campground roads are not enforced enough.
Sep 02, 2014
Second time, as good as the first!
Sep 02, 2014
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially Megan - who helped make our stay so great! !
Sep 02, 2014
Great place! Right by the river, enjoyable !
Sep 02, 2014
Regular tent sites are very small and too close together. Deluxe site was better, however the bath house (which was well maintained)was too far away, and there was a lot of goose droppings. No privacy. There are very little trees and nothing separating you and your neighbor. The fire wood was priced too high for what was offered in the bundle. Proximity to the Mines and other attractions was ideal
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
Setting was beautiful. Staff was great! Enjoyed the ice cream social. Looking forward to coming back.
Sep 01, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
We were most grateful that your campground found a site for us as we travelled home to Ontario.Also, thank - you for the free corn on the cob- it was delicious. If I can make a suggestion Billings, Montana. Not everyone stays in a campground for 3 days on a long weekend, would it be possible for the organization to keep a few sites open for transients as we often use KOAS more that weekenders
Sep 01, 2014
Too crowded.
Aug 31, 2014
We always like to come to Herkimer Koa. I was a little disappointed about the bathrooms. They are starting to look like they need repair. Hopefully they will get fixed.
Aug 31, 2014
Very relaxing and enjoyable. Friendly staff. Great people!!
Aug 31, 2014
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and had a great stay. The campground was clean, staff was friendly! Our site and view of the water was great!!Our only suggestion would be to have the cleaning staff vacuum the entry rug in cottages every morning, or have a small vacuum available for guests to use ~
Aug 31, 2014
clean,organized and friendly.
Aug 31, 2014
We Go every year always clean and fun for all of us
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
We had a great time. Loved the cabin by the water.
Aug 30, 2014
All telescopes in lodge were broken, and found very few crystals over the coarse of 3 days. The lodge was also very very dusty, and the service was very poor on the 2nd and 3rd day at the mines. I took pictures of all. Rec'd discount but still totally not worth the loss of time and money.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
Very clean cabins. Very quite camp grounds. Enjoyable night stay.
Aug 29, 2014
Clean, courteous, we had an awesome time will be back next year!
Aug 28, 2014
All 5 of us enjoyed the experience. Stream, pool, movies, playground, diamond hunting. Only drawback was the distance for the deluxe campsites to the restrooms for my 3 grandsons. Maybe even a port-a-potty for kid's convenience.
Aug 28, 2014
As always we had a wonderful time at the Herkimer KOA. The staff is very friendly and quick to respond to your needs. Thanks for a great stay and we look forward to seeing you in October.
Aug 28, 2014
Very clean, kid friendly and the staff was great. Our site was along the creek so it made it a beautiful site too look at every time I stepped out of my trailer. Only note to mention is if you book a pull in make sure your septic hook up is on the right side of your trailer. Definitely would go back and stay longer. Missed out on tubing down the creek as we only stayed 2 days.
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
we had the best time. 2nd time in our new small rv. the campground was extremely clean. being across the street from the Herkimer diamond mine was a plus. all in all a great time.
Aug 27, 2014
Very friendly staff. Awesome as always!
Aug 27, 2014
Facilities were clean and everyone was helpful and friendly, especially since this was our first time with our new travel trailer.
Aug 27, 2014
One our favorite campgrounds! See you next year!
Aug 27, 2014
Fantastic, very clean and quiet.
Aug 26, 2014
Campgrounds were very well kept and the staff was friendly and helpful. The children enjoyed the pool and the rafting. Activities were good the only thing lacking that I saw was they need to enhance their playground.
Aug 26, 2014
We are not campers, but really enjoyed the deluxe cabin and the whole camping atmosphere. We found everyone to be very friendly and helpful. The campgrounds were kept very clean and well groomed. Your employee Holly was very attentive, especially to our son. She made a special effort to make sure things were working at the Robotics Cabin. We enjoyed the campfire. We plan to visit KOA again.
Aug 26, 2014
Great 4 nights
Aug 26, 2014
Unfortunately it was only an overnight stay for us and the weather did not allow us to explore much, but my wife and I agreed that Herkimer KOA is on our list for a return visit for a longer period.
Aug 26, 2014
My granddaughter had her first camping experience with us. We loved the grounds. Kept well maintained, pool was very nice, and she also enjoyed the play ground. Hope to come back next year and tube down the creek as well as dig for a Herkimer Diamond. It was also nice to be able to purchase items at the store that were less than the local chain stores charged, and did not have to drive to them.
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
NIce spot and friendly/helpful staff. Wish we had time to stay longer as there were plenty of fun things to do in the area.
Aug 26, 2014
We had an absolutely great time. It was nice that lemonade and corn were offered to the campers. I do like the chance to donate to a great organization while having fun! The vegetable growing has inspired one of our Girl Scouts to do something similar in one of our local campgrounds. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Our site was not very level. No doggy doo doo bags in the dog park. The neighbor's campfire was within 5 feet of my bedroom window. Not our best KOA experience! But, we will try it again.
Aug 26, 2014
Feels like a gypsy camp. Sites are poorly marked. There is no paving or gravel. Also there is absolutely no security lighting.
Aug 25, 2014
We have been coming for 20 years and are never let down. We have turned several families into Herkimer KOA lovers!!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.