Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aside from the tent sites being too close together, everything was great. People picked up their trash and were quiet at night. Also, the bathrooms were cleaner than I expected. We'll be back.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
We had a wonderful time. The campground is very friendly. Hunting for diamonds was awesome! We are very likely to return next year.
Aug 07, 2014
I enjoy staying at this campgrounds, but during my last stay, I was supposed to have cable TV. I had it when I first set up, but shortly after on the same day, the cable TV went out and we did not get it back until the day before I left at 4:00 pm. I contacted the campgrounds by E-mail regarding a discount on a future stay at a KOA, but have not received a reply yet.
Aug 07, 2014
The campground was great. Like most other comments, I wish the bathrooms were closer to the tent area, but other than that no complaints!
Aug 07, 2014
love this campground. so much to do. sovery clean and friendly staff
Aug 07, 2014
We had a great time. The campground was fun and mostly clean. I would suggest that the bathrooms get cleaned more than once a day. The mines were so much fun for both myself and my son. The campground employees were helpful, and really nice. Everyone was always smiling and very polite.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
We had a great stay. The children in our group loved the pool and night activities. Suggestions: Add showers to the pavilion area,offer garbage bags to tenters, and have a returnable can/bottle bin for boys scouts or other charity. Good job on the shower renovation.
Aug 05, 2014
Our 13th year staying at the Herkimer KOA for our family reunion. Love it.
Aug 05, 2014
Stay was relaxing and fun. The internet access out and cable out which was not easy trying to find spot for cell phone to use and to check internet emmails so put a damper on weekend other than that good
Aug 05, 2014
Been coming here for the past few years and this may have been the last. Had our sites mixed up so had to wait and ended up having to setup in the rain when we shouldnt of had to. No internet so we time warner cable working in our sites for a day interferring with our fun. No offer to make up for the inconvience. Large group of us to this year.
Aug 05, 2014
Vary clean friendly staff, lots of things to do for the kids, water was very nice to relax by.
Aug 05, 2014
Cable wasn't working an wifi didn't work as well. We had 6 sites booked an we informed the staff. Besides all that the staff was great an your KOA was fantastic. We definitely will be back in the future.
Aug 05, 2014
Excellent campground - extremely helpful and friendly staff especially when I had a problem with my trailer prior to departing
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Campgrounds were very nice. However, the bathrooms were very dirty. I do understand with a lot of campers there the bathrooms are used. Maybe during busy times the bathrooms should be cleaned 2x a day. Thanks!
Aug 04, 2014
Nice improvements to the bathhouse! Loved the Kamping Kabin K-14! First time in a cabin.
Aug 04, 2014
Awesome weekend. Great accomodations!!
Aug 04, 2014
We enjoyed everything about our stay. It was our 13th. year for our family reunion. We rent all 10 kabins and 3 larger ones. Love it.
Aug 04, 2014
it was awsome like always
Aug 04, 2014
For last few years we have been using your campgrounds for a family union. We enjoy ourselves very much during our stay. The accommodations are super and clean. We are looking forward to our next year reunion. See you then.
Aug 04, 2014
Great campground, beautiful setting, nice bathrooms - but sites are way too narrow and close together. Having the neighbors inches away really put a damper on our stay.
Aug 04, 2014
I registered in March and they still put my 30ft trailer in a spot that it hung over the bank in the back and the hitch was in the road.
Aug 04, 2014
Loved being by the water. Our site was rather small but can't beat the location.
Aug 04, 2014
as always I am extremely disappointed in the freezing cold pool. w all the solar stuff you have going on at the park you cant figure out how to heat the pool so my children and myself are not freezing??? and for the price I didn't have internet all weekend and I don't feel we should have to pay for watermelon.
Aug 04, 2014
Hello...We enjoyed our time mining through the Herkimer mine, our children, ages 8, 10, 12 all enjoyed the experience...so did Mom and Dad. Our camping experience was ok, there were a few late nighter's blowing off some steam. However, our travelling companions'lot got flooded as a result of backwashing the pool and the sewar unfortunately backed up on their site as well...never a good result.
Aug 04, 2014
All was great at the KOA, except for our site #96 had a large mud pit on the site. it was difficult with a small child, keeping him from walking through all the mud. The site should be regraded. otherwise everything was great.
Aug 04, 2014
We had such an amazing experience. This was by far the BEST camp ground we have ever stayed at. The staff was awesome! The young girl who works there (I cannot remember her name) really seemed like she loved her job. She did the Bingo, served ice cream and did the jewelry making on Sunday (August 1-3 2014). We have already made plans to come next year!! AMAZING!
Aug 04, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff, clean bathrooms and showers,fun activities and facilities for the kids. We highly recommend the Herkimer KOA!
Aug 04, 2014
Nous avons loué une cabine deluxe. Le drain du lavabo ne coulait pas bien et nous n'avions aucune couverture chaude. Comme il a fait froid toute la nuit, nous avons tous gelé. Il me semble que des couvertures chaudes (blankets) devraient être fournies! Mais le site était enchanteur et la cabine très propre.
Aug 04, 2014
This campground was fantastic!
Aug 04, 2014
Bathrooms were dirty. The toliets were full & clogged all day. Other than that very nice family friendly place. All we called for the honeywagon they told us by 10 am then noon then 2pm. finally at 3pm we went up and complained they came right down.
Aug 04, 2014
What a great KOA. Friendly, clean and great activities. I also LOVED the green space and gardens. What a nice job. Hope they do not add too many more sites as it will cut down on green space. Bring inner tubes for lazy river and safety glasses for mining.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We stayed in a Kamping Kabin. The mattress on the double bed was horrible - too soft and lumpy and stained with who knows what. The bathrooms were clean and convenient although could use more hooks near the sinks.
Aug 03, 2014
Facilities were dirty. WiFi was dissappointing (even for email). I expect more from a KOA.
Aug 02, 2014
The deluxe cabin was comfortable and provided more amenities than we expected. The cabin was clean and pet friendly. We actually booked an extra night while we were there - the kid were having a great time!
Aug 02, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA. I hope to return and do it again.
Aug 02, 2014
We (3 adults) arrived very late, got settled into the cabin even later. The wilderness showed it's nocturnal side under our cabin. By 8:30 a m, we were changing cabins and sleeping better. Staff is EXCELLENT, as is the campground! BRB!
Aug 02, 2014
The campground is great and very family oriented. The garden area was nice. We had a nice time. The only negative would be that the cabins chould be cleaned just a little bit better. The cabin wasn't filthy where we didn't want to stay in it, but it could have been dusted a little bit more. Crumbs where left from the toaster in the cabinet,and a few small things leftover from the previous ppl.
Aug 02, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely helpful. We will definitely recommend this campground to family and friends.
Aug 02, 2014
stay on the river. nice
Aug 02, 2014
Nice clean CG. Friendly staff. A little pricey for a CG. Site became a muddy mess in rain storm all the water ran under rug and awning. A built up pad would have helped this. The river in back was very nice. Found more Diamond's along the river than in the mine, maybe we came at the wrong time of year. Some one at the mine told me they only blast once a year in the spring.
Aug 02, 2014
Muddy campsites could use gravel bed. Hard to determine where your site is and no staff to lead you to the site. Sites along creek are VERY narrow, more so then any other KOA that we have stayed at.
Aug 01, 2014
I wish we were able to stay for more than the one night we had booked. The grounds were beautiful - a little slice of heaven tucked into New York state.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Great loved it

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.