Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 28, 2016
We received a friendly welcome when we arrived. All the facilities were spotless. The Diamond Mines were very educational. The food at the Miners Table was exceptional and we enjoyed the leftovers the following night. The owner of the KOA/Restaurant introduced herself and inquired as to how we enjoyed our meal. She was very gracious.
Sep 28, 2016
We came to check out the mine, and it did not let us down. We had a blast. We definitely will be back to enjoy the campgrounds more next year, looked like fun. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.
Sep 28, 2016
We only stayed for one night but it was a nice experience,the staff friendly and helpful a very peaceful setting this was our 4 th time we have stayed there and would not hesitate to stay again
Sep 27, 2016
Friendly Staff and clean campsites. Bathroom & showers very clean and modern.
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
We were very impressed with the size of the cabin we stayed in. It was cute and the perfect size for two adults and two kids. The campground was very well maintained. Our only suggestion is that they upgrade their linens. They are so thin and need to be replaced-- I'd recommend packing your own sleeping bags though sheets and blankets are included. Overall, a great stay!
Sep 27, 2016
Always impeccably clean. We lover seeing the changes since our last visit. Innovations like solar panels, garden boxes and the new tree house make this campground one of our favorites.
Sep 27, 2016
Everyone was friendly, helpful, and this trip was filled with memories. I recommend a trip for all who enjoy the outdoors.
Sep 27, 2016
All around great experience!!!
Sep 27, 2016
Nice, but very crowded. Smokey, and had a water supply problem. Turned on our oend pump.
Sep 27, 2016
Did laundry and they had plenty of quarters & a young gentleman gave me a ride in the golf cart so I didn't have to carry it all back to RV, thank you
Sep 27, 2016
Breautiful campsite along river. Very quiet On of the best loss we stayed at on our 6 week trip
Sep 26, 2016
Pleasant prompt friendly assistance from checking to departure. Great time.
Sep 26, 2016
Excellent facility, great staff. We stayed in the Treehouse and had an excellent two night stay. Only one small concern, lighting on the stairs was poor. More light on the stairs to reduce risk of falls and trips.
Sep 26, 2016
Your staff is wonderful. Our troop has girls with special needs and they were so accommodating.
Sep 26, 2016
Great campground with lots of activites. We were there for a Girl Scout weekend and the girls learned so much. My only complaint was that the cabin we stayed in smelled of wet dog, even though there was clearly a sign for no pets inside the cabin. Also there was no outlet in the bathroom near the dressing mirror.
Sep 26, 2016
First time at a KOA. Wasn't sure what to expect, not an avid camper, had only been one time before with a Girl Scout troop. Thought it was great! A lot of amenities, including clean bathrooms and showers. My family wants to go camping again!
Sep 26, 2016
We had a great stay at your KOA and hope to return in the future but we had a very disappointing check in process. I reserved an electric tent spot months before our arrival and was even given a space number when I reserved via phone. I received my email confirmation. Upon arrival we were told that you overbooked and we could have an RV space with electric/water but at the higher rental rate.
Sep 26, 2016
Astro Lodge was amazing, we saw Saturn!! Lovely lodge with excellence to detail. The A/C was on when we arrived which was lovely. Stayed in Blue Bird Cabin which was nice too beside the creek! Thank you for making it an excellent holiday.
Sep 26, 2016
OUR CABIN DK4 WAS GREAT BUT WHEN WE WENT TO VISIT MY FAMILY IN 70 & 71 THE BATHROOM ACROSS FROM THERE, THE TOILETS GOT ALL PLUGGED UP AND WE HAD TO USE THIER CAMPERS TO GO TO THE BATHROOM, THEY HAD FULL HOOK UPS AND THEY HAD TO USE THEIR OWN WATER IN THEIR CAMPERS. OTHER THAN THAT I THINK THERE SHOULD BE MORE LIGHTING SO YOU CAN SEE WHERE YOU ARE WALKING IN THE DARK. HAD A GREAT TIME OTHER THAN TH
Sep 26, 2016
Your best sites were way to short/small for our camper!I tried 2 different grills from near by empty sites,none worked very well( uneven flames on both!)We expect alot more being a KOA!Water pressure was not good at all!we did enjoy our stay but just expected a little more! Thank you Jim and Donna!!
Sep 26, 2016
Neat, clean RV park. Staff was friendly and helpful. We used this as a base to explore the surrounding area. Definitely would stay here again.
Sep 26, 2016
It was a great site were I stayed and clean
Sep 26, 2016
Very nice, clean campground. We enjoyed our 2 night stay. The mine and gift shop was quite interesting and the restaurant was so good! Would love to come back and stay in one of your cabins.
Sep 24, 2016
Had a great time, the KOA has changed a lot since our last visit in 2014. The cabins were neat and clean, had fun at Bingo and Ice Cream Social. New buildings all around. Very impressed.
Sep 23, 2016
We had am amazing stay and trip the Diamond Mines. I brought 4 Girl Scouts and we searched for diamonds in the mines, went sluicing, stayed in the beautiful solar cabin, used the pool, had dinner at the Miners Table (food was excellent), and ended the trip with a boat ride on the Erie Canal. The staff were all so friendly. These girls will always remember this trip!
Sep 23, 2016
Excellent. Love the new restaurant!
Sep 23, 2016
Great large level site! Bathrooms were clean and whole grounds were very well maintained. We have stayed there before in one of the cabins and have enjoyed both stays. We will definitely return.
Sep 22, 2016
We love the campgrounds. Other than the rain on Saturday night, the stay was great. See you next year
Sep 22, 2016
Enjoyed it very much
Sep 22, 2016
Grounds were clean and public restrooms were well maintained and clean. Staff were extremely friendly. Great place for families with children.
Sep 21, 2016
We weren't sure what to expect when we called for a reservation as we have never been in this part of NY before. It turned out the staff was very friendly abd helpful. Also the rest room facilities were always clean. That is important to us.Our stay here was nothing short of tremendous. We look forward to staying here if we are ever in the area again.We highly recommend this camping resort.
Sep 21, 2016
sites level, clean, but did not find the young staff friendly
Sep 20, 2016
We love it here. Great open sights. Always neat and clean park. Friendly staff. Can't wait to stay here again.
Sep 20, 2016
We were a bit disappointed in the floor plan of the cabin. I was very crowded and the bunk bed room was tiny. The cleanliness of the cabin was not up to other KOA sites that we stayed at. We had to wash the dishes before we used them and everything in the cabin was gritty. We had to sweep the floor when we got there. The propane grill had one element that did not work so using it was tough.
Sep 20, 2016
Loved all the little touches that made our stay enjoyable. Great staff, clean cabins and bathrooms, special decorations for the themed cabins. Will definitely be back next summer!!
Sep 20, 2016
Small campground but nice. Would like to go there again during the summer months . . .
Sep 20, 2016
Most (if not all) sites are too close to each other. No privacy at all. They have plenty of open fields; not sure why they didn't expand some of the sites into these areas and give some privacy. It was impossible to have a private conversation with anyone without the next site over hearing everything you say. Don't fart at your site; not only will others hear it, they will probably smell it too
Sep 20, 2016
Love this campground. Everyone does a great job. Love Matt .He does a great job. Hang on to Him.
Sep 20, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA a number of times and have found the accommodations, facilities and staff to be first class.
Sep 20, 2016
Too many dogs and staff did not attempt to clean up after the many poor dog owners.somle.
Sep 20, 2016
Sep 20, 2016
We are so impressed with everything there.
Sep 20, 2016
This campground is wonderful. It is clean and well equipped. The only complaint was the picnic tables were not at all sturdy.
Sep 20, 2016
love the continuedup-keep of the property. wish the cable & wireless signal was expanded in the park more.
Sep 20, 2016
The campsites by the water are so relaxing. Love it!
Sep 20, 2016
Well maintained, clean accommodations. Pleasant helpful staff. All round enjoyable experience!!
Sep 19, 2016
ok
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you once again for the great hospitality. We made wonderful memories that I hope one day my children will pass down. Great staff, fun events, and we had great luck in the mines.
Sep 19, 2016
Fantastic stay in creek side cabin, love the amenities and design! Diamond hunting was hard work but a fantastic experience for young and old alike. Staff was very friendly and helpful at the campgrounds, mine and restaurant. We have found a new yearly destination for sure!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award