Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 12, 2016
great time!!!! super friendly and helpful staff. clean & professional.
Sep 11, 2016
Very disappointed Herk Diam KOA - paid for deluxe sites, gas for the grills was empty, the site was advertised as a 50 ft site but due to vegetable gardens at the end of the site we had to pull way up on the lawn to get our 37 ft Fifth Wheel to fit on the site so we could open our slides, No Cable as advertised. Sewer coming out of ground all weekend. No offer to move to a better site.
Sep 11, 2016
The 2 complaints i have are; site #105 the site we had was not level, it sloped towards the creek. Not so much as to make it a problem but was quite noticable. Secondly, people were letting their dogs off the leash playing with them. We were affraid to take our dogs out as what might have happened (our dogs being on their leashes). There complaints are not major,just wanted to inform you.
Sep 11, 2016
What a great campground, the workers are friendly, beautiful grounds, lots to do and very peaceful. Looking forward to going back sometime.
Sep 10, 2016
I was not happy with Labor Day weekend. New site #16 presented us with a four hour delay for setup because of a water leak in the site driveway that we noticed that had to be repaired. The sewers were not working which caused another inconvenience. At $70 a night I EXPECTED much more. Also, no cable. If I were to base my answers on this stay only I would have answered "Not at all likely" and "Poor
Sep 09, 2016
We always enjoy this campground.
Sep 09, 2016
WIFI is slow, poor layout of campground guests cut through campsites to get to pool. Had reserved a premium site w/furniture, patio & grill-did not have it available, very disappointed, don't know why it's considered a "Holiday"
Sep 08, 2016
Everything and everybody was wonderful in Herkimer! We have about 20 sites filled with friends from our area. We all book the following year upon check in!!
Sep 08, 2016
we enjoy staying at Herkimer diamond. We have been staying at Herkimer diamond three years in a row. Lots of things to do.
Sep 08, 2016
We love coming here and do so every year the only thing I would like changed would be stricter leash laws on the campground not once but numerous times we had big dogs running around our sites irritating our leashed dogs and going to the bathroom on our sites.
Sep 08, 2016
Had a good time. Good volleyball games, just need a new net. 😉
Sep 08, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
We had a great time as usual,this is are 4th year. I love the very kid friendly atmosphere, we come with a group of friends, 20 plus families with 2-4 children. The activities for the kids go on all day. We rent a cabin on the water, it has a lot of amenities,the housekeeping needs to step up their game, I shouldn't have to clean the first hour that I'm there. Looking forward to 2017😃
Sep 07, 2016
I go here a couple times per year and was glad not to see so many geese around as the geese poop always comes along with them. I suggest that the policy be that if a family is on a site, they should have first priority on the same site the next year.
Sep 07, 2016
Had a great time was very accommodating when we wanted to switch sites.
Sep 07, 2016
Nice location. The site was nice. Good activities for the kids. They enjoyed finding gems at the mine. The kids really wish there were swings at the playground. The so called strictly enforced 4 mph speed limit was largely ignored and not at all enforced, which really concerned me for the safety of our children. We also had a problem with rude campers just walking through our site quite often.
Sep 07, 2016
Great place ,clean,friendly, love it !!
Sep 07, 2016
Way too crowded on Labor Day weekend, RV's packed like sardines. This is to be expected of course. (Luckily we tent) But we do like to come when less busy. Beautiful setting, attentive staff.
Sep 07, 2016
It was a bit pricey, but a great stay if you have kids due to the amount of activities they plan
Sep 07, 2016
Campground was beautiful, highly recommend for a family trip. However, we had a really hard time finding Herkimer diamonds at the KOA mine. As a semi experienced rock hound, there wasn't much to offer seeing that the mine has been picked through over and over without any new blasting, or excavating.
Sep 07, 2016
Great facilities. Great staff
Sep 07, 2016
One of the best KOAs we've stayed at. We'll be back for a longer stay.
Sep 06, 2016
We really enjoyed ourselves, nice people and very clean, well maintained.
Sep 06, 2016
Great interaction with ALL staff. Great time! Awesome variety of activities...
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Nice campground with lots of space. Helpful staff although we prefer a staff member to lead us to our site. Stayed one night on our way to Maine.
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great stay
Sep 06, 2016
We had a blast!! I cannot think of a single criticism at all. Staff are friendly and super helpful. We weren't gouged on prices the camp store like I expected we would be based on other camping experiences elsewhere.Loved the outdoor dishwashing area and the showers never ran out of hot water. Clean and fun!! We will be back in a heartbeat!
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
On our travels home to Ontario, and u people made a great effort in finding us a site to stay 1 one on the Labour Day long week-end,thanks so much for your kidness
Sep 05, 2016
It was nice to be able to stay by the water but the camp site was very small and mostly dirt. Also we were extremely close to the neighbours and, being in a tent, made it seem even closer.
Sep 05, 2016
Our stay was wonderful! The staff was helpful. THe bathrooms were kept clean. The grounds were immaculate and little pockets of fun were all around. The tubing was a blast!!!!
Sep 05, 2016
This, most recent stay at Herkimer Diamond KOA was much better that the previous weekend even on a holiday weekend. The location was much better and there was a lot more space. We did not feel like we were sleeping with the neighbours. The ratings would be higher if not for the previous weekend being so poor.
Sep 04, 2016
wish ewe had a longer stay and the diamond mines are a great family adventure for the kids if they have a sense of adventure to mine
Sep 04, 2016
The Herkimer KOA is a "gem" of a find. The sites along the West Canada creek are just magical, where grown ups can enjoy they beauty and the babbling water, and kids can enjoy tubing and play.
Sep 03, 2016
Sep 03, 2016
As always we really enjoyed our stay, but you must do something about the mattresses in the creekside cabins. They are terrible.
Sep 03, 2016
Sep 02, 2016
Such a great campground. So clean and neat. Plenty to do. We loved our visit.
Sep 02, 2016
This was the second time I was there this summer, I'm 2 hours away, well worth the trip every time. Absolutely love this place.
Sep 02, 2016
The weather was perfect and we enjoyed being able to spend time just relaxing (of course we did some mining as well).
Sep 02, 2016
Loved the Campground loved the staff very friendly staff. Security Guard man named Bill was so helpful to us and was always watching out felt safe because of him as well. Our only complaint was the sand on the site , it was all over in our camper even with the outside rug and taking our shoes off outside our kids couldn't play on our site beacuse of the sand . Please plant grass on these sandy si
Sep 02, 2016
Sep 02, 2016
Sep 02, 2016
The people are very quiet at night and it's a very peaceful place to go camping
Sep 02, 2016
Very disappointed. Bkd 2 deluxe pull thrus online, given backin and pullin, realized no cable after we hooked up. Office put 35 ft trailer w/slideouts next to us, could not open our window they open out,too close. went to office all they said was we can downgrade. Later saw pull thrus open never used. tons of flies could not eat outside kids running office Poor(no) mgmt other custs complaining too
Sep 02, 2016
Awesome...loved the treehouse cabin! Just a note...the TV remote didn't work...and the tub...which was a bigger deal, as I really wanted to take a bath...! Other than that, all good!
Sep 01, 2016
It was fun! I think the Astronomy Lab is a little misleading, you need to actually rent that cabin to use the facility. It wasn't an activity available to us while we were there and that was a little disappointing. The grounds were lovely. Activities were geared to younger children and not teenagers or pre teens. There were a lot of flies. I don't know if it was just the time of year.
Sep 01, 2016
We had a great time during our stay. The staff was friendly and everything was clean. This was our first time staying at a KOA campground and we were very impressed! We spent the day at the Herkimer Diamond Mine on Saturday and walked back across the street to the campground.
Sep 01, 2016
place was clean, staff friendly, river was great.The drawbacks were : There is no WiFi as advertised. I could barely get a signal on my phone & then only outside the trailer.The idea of having pull-ins next to back-ins may give you more river sites but it make the site long but very narrow. My back-in's canopy almost extended to the edge of my site & the pull-in's were right on top of us.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award