Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2013
Our family had a good time.The deluxe cabin was great except the hot water ran out. We had an issue with an adult being found by my 12y/o daughter n myself naked in the laundry room. I spoke to the office staff. Maybe some songs need to be posted addressing this.
Aug 16, 2013
We met up with friends at the campground. They had the site 2 down from us. We had a fantastic time. We went tubing for the first time. What a blast that was !!! Great bathrooms, loved the veggies for sharing (the tomatoes were delish). We also had fun playing bingo and then eating ice cream afterwards. We look forward to coming back next summer!!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
The beds are very uncomfortable. I would rather have money spent a comfortable mattress rather than the themed cabins.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 14, 2013
We would have "completely" enjoyed the stay if WiFi had worked any of the time. For it to be down from Thursday all the way through Tuesday seem extreme. Check in and store delays need to be addressed still.
Aug 14, 2013
please do something about the dusty roads. it is terrible when it dries out!slow the cars down and the help on the carts. sites need work where we put the rugs down.other than thateverything is fine. thanks.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
A great time for all ages! Very clean and comfortable cabins!
Aug 14, 2013
It was great. We utilized the pool, went tubing in the creek, went to the diamond mines and the kids made pinatas with the staff. I thought the sites would not be as close. That was the only thing I was slightly disappointed with. We really enjoyed it and hope to come back again.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Great location. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint was that the wood bundles should be a bit larger for the price.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
While we were only there one night as a stop-over, I can easily see why so many people visit this campground. Possible we will visit some other time for a few nights. Neighbors on both sides were extremely friendly. Overall, jut a great, albeit a short experience.
Aug 13, 2013
The deluxe cabin was nice and clean. It had everything we needed except for a few more blankets. But the heater's and A/C helped with that. We had a great time mining for diamonds as well. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful.
Aug 13, 2013
Love the riverside campsites
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
We are a Dutch family on a road trip in the USA. We stayed two enjoyable nights at Herkimer. Especially the sites at the river are pretty. Overall good place to stay.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
I love coming to Herkimer KOA! Amazing staff, amazing activities, and always an amazing time! Can't wait to spend my next week there next year!
Aug 12, 2013
Creek was great! Grass at campgrounds need to be cut and bathrooms needed attention(cleaning and maintenance). Staff friendly and helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Well, to answer your first question, I already have suggested your location to a friend. This is our second stay and we had a great time. Between hunting for diamonds, the activities at camp for kids, tubing and being there in the dark wide open space to see the persiod meteor shower, it was great. I would suggest this KOA to anyone looking to explore central NY.
Aug 12, 2013
I love staying at KOA Campgrounds and Herkimer KOA is my favorite. Everything is always so CLEAN, especially the bathrooms. The staff is always pleasant and extremely helpful. We had the best time tubing down the river (creek). We will be back next year. Thank you
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Sites are very very close together. They show a putt putt course on the map but too old to play on. Playground was very old and should be torn down, safety. Overall disappointed.
Aug 12, 2013
The best KOA in American in my opinion. Clean, relaxing, great location, quiet and peaceful, plenty of room, plenty to do. I'll be back again for sure.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
I would highly recommend this KOA campsite. It is right across the street from the Herkimer diamond mines, which is an amazing family day. You may even walk away with a little change in your pocket if you sell your "diamonds" back to Herkimer. The KOA has a great staff, very clean, and great amenities.
Aug 12, 2013
Wish we had more time to enjoy this campground!
Aug 12, 2013
Great family oriented campsite! Plenty of activities for kids and families. Large, comfortable tent sites in Treasure Cove, but the camp map needs updating...does not reflect the actual layout of sites, which made finding the right site a bit confusing. Overall great experience.
Aug 12, 2013
There were a lot of different activities for our girls to do, it was a nice change. We did visit the mines for the majority of our stay but it was nice to have the river so close and the meals options at the pavilon was a nice alternative to cooking on short notice. We will definitely come back again.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
It was OK, little road noise, and golf carts that race around.
Aug 11, 2013
The park and staff were wonderful. Great time was had by all. Will be staying again !!
Aug 11, 2013
We have stayed in better KOA's in various states. Lack of adequate bathrooms for the amount of people, not cleaned well, both woman's bathrooms were filthy. The smaller Men's was trashed. Roads and campsites could us more gravel. They were a muddy mess! A number of guests vandalized the premises. The staff was very helpful.
Aug 11, 2013
The camp was very clean and safe for kids. The river tubing is a super activity for the family.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Campsites are too close together Need to put stone where grass is not growing
Aug 10, 2013
The camping trip in general was good. Kids and parents enjoyed breaking big rocks into small rocks, collecting diamonds in the process. Down sides were wifi only worked at the store/ pool area, pool was ice cold and the full dumpster brought in the skunks at night.
Aug 10, 2013
Nice place, but not very wooded. The Diamond mind should be included in your stay. No change machine for laundry and they did not have many quarters in the register.
Aug 10, 2013
As we live in Cooperstown this is a close stay for us. Since we've stayed 3 times now, it remains our favorite. great staff, nice sites.
Aug 10, 2013
Had a great time at your campground. Staff were fiendly amd helpful. Ellie, Dee and Russ were very helpful.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
The delux cabin was very clean and the perfect size for an extended family stay. The grounds were nicely maintained with lots to do for families. The actual campsites were extremely close together and best suited for trailers, not tents, as there was little privacy. All staff seemed to be pleasant and accommodating.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.