Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2013
It is the first time I stayed at a KOA and I was very impressed....Our campsite was missing a grill went to the office to report it and they had someone put one up for us... THANK YOU!!!!:) Denise
Jul 27, 2013
We came for the children's rock and gem camp. Both were fantastic!
Jul 27, 2013
We had a great time considering we were in the middle of a heat wave. Loved tubing in the stream, diamond mines and staff friendly. A little disappointed in the size of sight, our awning was within inches of our neighbor. But and all, we had fun.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Lights out in ladies bathroom,1 faucet not working shower door would not close in men's room, not as clean as we are accustomed to at a KOA. Children activities were great. Shower water stayed at set temperature regardless of activity in rest room which is good. Layout of sewer hookups to center of sites is not great should be at the rear end to not impose on neighboring campsite.
Jul 27, 2013
Great. Lots to do. Most of the staff were friendly and courteous. Wouldn't recommend getting food at the Diamond Mines Café, but otherwise everything was great. Lots of activities and the creek is wonderful.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Awesome campground just stopped for a night on our way home from maine but will definitely be back
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
This is an excellent campground with nice sites and great facilities. The only complaint is that the swimming pool is too small for the number of people that use it. The pool gets extremely crowded which diminishes the experience.
Jul 25, 2013
Great facilities, activities and staff
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Clean, reasonable. Beautiful (large) tent site.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
It has seen better days. Lots to do for families but camp sites need care.
Jul 25, 2013
Great kampground great staff
Jul 24, 2013
Very clean, friendly people
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
We are seniors and probably are better off in a park that has fewer youngsters. Very convenient park and we were pleased with our stay. We did have a problem with low water pressure for all three days.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
We loved this campground. Our boys 14, 12 had fun at the mine and especially tubing in the river. This campground was clean considering all of the river dirt. Workers very nice!
Jul 23, 2013
There were 30 family members and friends and everyone had a wonderful time.
Jul 23, 2013
We had a great and relaxing stay. Lots of activities during the day, but quite later in the evening when its time for bed. A beautiful KOA! See you again next year for the 2014 Boilermaker.
Jul 23, 2013
We have camped here for several years and have always enjoyed ourselves. We love to tube on the creek and some enjoy going to the pool. We have pets and enjoy having the Pet area to let them loose. As a suggestion it would be nice to have a better access point into the water from above the cabins.
Jul 23, 2013
Beautiful campground, very nice employees. June in particular was very helpful. The days were very hot, and the pool was where my kids wanted to be. Can't wait to go back when my son is old enough to tube the river, and stay in the Astronomy cabin!
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The sites are very close. Our neighbors had 4 cars and 17 people on their site. They were parting about 2 feet from our trailer. Very loud weekend.
Jul 22, 2013
Our stay was great,never had a bad one.
Jul 22, 2013
We have stayed at the Herkimer KOA numerous times. It seemed different this time in that the staff seemed somewhat preoccupied. In the past you would see staff ride around and greet guests but that did not happen.The bathroom near the pool was not as clean as in the past.
Jul 22, 2013
We would have preferred not facing strangers while camping. We camp to get away from the company of others. I know the weather had been horrific but apparently sites aren't check after someone leaves as it was obvious the site next to use had been occupied by someone with children because things weren't picked up. The site on the other side of us was way to small & probably should not be occupied.
Jul 22, 2013
We came twice this year. We love the campground and the mine. We have been coming for about 6 years!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
bad restrooms and cleaning times
Jul 21, 2013
It is on the river. The river is high due to rains and flooding was a concern to us.
Jul 21, 2013
Our stay itself was okay, but unfortunately, when we arrived we were told that we could not camp in the site we reserved because of the type of camping equipment we had. I booked a tent site and called ahead to make sure that was okay since we had a travel trailer, the woman I spoke with stated that was no problem. However, when we arrived we were told we couldn't put the camper there. Sad.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
The campground was very nice and the person who checked us in very helpful. I was a bit surprised that someone in a golf cart did not lead us to our site, especially since it required backing in.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
We used this KOA for a rest while travelling thru. The sites and staff were great! Our children enjoyed the pool and play structure.
Jul 20, 2013
stay was wonderfull.your dog policy is not I was told icould not keepmy dog in your cabins I saw people walking there dog thru your store also no pitbulls where allowed anywhere I saw two pitbulls at campsites while walking around the property my dog weighs 12lbs I was told I could not keep her in the cabin so I did not bring her so your rules do not apply to every one other than that we had enjoy
Jul 20, 2013
Clean, friendly. Only stayed for a night and it was hot (94 degrees) but the hydro was good and we were able to cool down the camper which was great! My daughter stayed there last year and enjoyed it.
Jul 19, 2013
Loved the cabin, mattress a little less then desirable, but the folks were absolutely wonderful, it was clean and neat and my daughter and I enjoyed our stay. We hope to come back someday with the rest of the family.
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
I have a great time every time I come!!
Jul 18, 2013
This is our fourth year at this KOA. In the past, our stay has been very enjoyable, especially for our 8 year old son. This year, we were extremely disappointed with many of the activities - hayride (no hay, VERY fast driving)tie dye(son not allowed to do himself) candy hunt (VERY little candy and not spread out lots of disappointed kids). Very disorganized and staff NOT up to the past standards.
Jul 18, 2013
Had good experience at campground. Flexible staff allowed us to pick our site. Granddaughter had fun prospecting for diamonds. Stayed two nights on our way East and decided to return for two nights on our way back home. Nice that river is so close, but that it was too big and fast to go tubing because of recent rains.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.