Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2013
We have stayed in better KOA's in various states. Lack of adequate bathrooms for the amount of people, not cleaned well, both woman's bathrooms were filthy. The smaller Men's was trashed. Roads and campsites could us more gravel. They were a muddy mess! A number of guests vandalized the premises. The staff was very helpful.
Aug 11, 2013
The camp was very clean and safe for kids. The river tubing is a super activity for the family.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Campsites are too close together Need to put stone where grass is not growing
Aug 10, 2013
The camping trip in general was good. Kids and parents enjoyed breaking big rocks into small rocks, collecting diamonds in the process. Down sides were wifi only worked at the store/ pool area, pool was ice cold and the full dumpster brought in the skunks at night.
Aug 10, 2013
Nice place, but not very wooded. The Diamond mind should be included in your stay. No change machine for laundry and they did not have many quarters in the register.
Aug 10, 2013
As we live in Cooperstown this is a close stay for us. Since we've stayed 3 times now, it remains our favorite. great staff, nice sites.
Aug 10, 2013
Had a great time at your campground. Staff were fiendly amd helpful. Ellie, Dee and Russ were very helpful.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
The delux cabin was very clean and the perfect size for an extended family stay. The grounds were nicely maintained with lots to do for families. The actual campsites were extremely close together and best suited for trailers, not tents, as there was little privacy. All staff seemed to be pleasant and accommodating.
Aug 09, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. The campground was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We had a great site backing up to the river. It was nice to be so close to the Diamond Mine. It is a great family attraction.
Aug 09, 2013
Great spot.Well kept, nice staff, lovely along the river. Good dog yard too.
Aug 09, 2013
We were only there for 2 nights. The site was like a swamp (but you can't help the weather). We went for smores Friday night but no one could start the fire. Went to candy hunt and my kids didn't get anything (you probably should have had an employee there with a bit extra as we weren't the only ones who came away empty handed). Not enough space on here to write how disappointed we were. :(
Aug 09, 2013
Your staff was friendly, the campground was clean. We loved the pool! We will be back next year, and will make this a yearly visit!
Aug 09, 2013
The campgrounds were very clean including the bathrooms & showers. The staff was very helpful & friendly. We enjoyed the experience.
Aug 09, 2013
need to enforce the speed cars drive in the camp
Aug 08, 2013
We always enjoy our stay at the Herkimer KOA--grat staff and beautiful campgrounds. This year we had a couple night adventure with skunks, that has never happened before. Hopefully, the trapper did catch all of them. We left without one of our suitcases and thank you for calling as soon as it was discovered--we were an hour away and came back. Only sugguestion--fix the blinds in the lodge-
Aug 07, 2013
We had a great time except we could have done without the "skunks"..
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
Everything was very good except or the showers. They were cleaned early in the day so by the time the evening came around, they were not very clean. A second afternoon or early evening cleaning would have helped a lot. Site was good, staff was friendly, loved having sinks available to was dishes. We wil be back.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
Liked our site, level - good. Pool however was green in need of attention.
Aug 07, 2013
Really nice cabin accommodations. Beds are not terribly comforable though. Great location with activities.
Aug 06, 2013
I love coming here every year for an annual family reunion! It was great that the fridges were added to the cabins!! My only complaint this year was the bathrooms. They were in need of more frequent cleaning. Other than that...great!!!
Aug 06, 2013
The staff at Herkimer is very courteous, accommodating and flexible which is very appreciated by our group of over 60 cousins. We have returned because of them and the family friendly atmosphere.Thank you for helping us make this a memorable occasion for all year after year.
Aug 06, 2013
We have been coming to Herkimer Koa for the past. 12 years the same weekend for a family reunion we stay at the 10 kabins and are family's are growing so we also stay in the lodges and a across the street in a few kabins there. We have had a great time when we are there. I wish that they would put a lodge or 2 near the 10 kabins. The staff have been very nice and we have made friends over the yea
Aug 06, 2013
Clean! Fun! Friendly staff!! Love this KOA!!!!
Aug 06, 2013
Always a great place to stay while in Herkimer County. Staff is nice and campground is clean and neat. Love the creek for tubing!
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Everything was excellent the staff the cleanliness the whole experience. The only negatives is the lack of supervision of quite time a lot of screaming kids in the playground after 11pm and the pool could be heated it was very cold. Just a couple of helpful observations. Overall another great experience, thanks
Aug 06, 2013
Great facilities, very clean!!! Bring your own food, the breakfast was lame. ;-(
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
I love coming for our 60+ family reunion every year. appreciate the 15% group rate. My experience in lodge # 64 was ok. I rent this lodge every year. a few things disapponited me that i should have complained about, but i am not a complainer.the toilet was dirty, still soiled, hood of stove was dirty, the stovetops didnt work, but i still had a great time. Needed better cleaning.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
we love it there. we go every year.awsome place.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Spent a little over a week at this KOA, not a bad place, but we happened to be there a few weeks after they had heavy rains and flooding. Booked the trip 6 months in advanced and would've expected sites with trees and some shade.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Everything in the camp was great. We like the staf and next time we will come only to the camps of KOA. Thank you for your investments in the camps.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Beautiful campground on a gorgeous river - lots to do for the kids and very relaxing for the adults - Definitely planning on returning!
Aug 05, 2013
We only stayed one night, but over all a very nice campground. We got to be along the rivers edge. Such a pretty site. One complaint we had was the bath houses we used was pretty dirty. Other wise a nice stay.
Aug 05, 2013
We had a wonderful time. My grandson enjoys the activities especially the ones that Jordan runs.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
We had a fantastic time at the Astronomy Lodge!!! It was beautiful. We all loved the campgrounds, so well kept and manicured! Thank you and....see you again next summer!
Aug 03, 2013
Our camp site was very small and crowded with tents from the next site too close to us. The playground is in hneed of repair and upgrading. The slide consisted of wooden boards layed on the slide frame.
Aug 03, 2013
I liked that the campground was more low-key than some others. Growing up in the Mohawk Valley I was happy to once again visit the West Canada Creek. It was as beautiful as I remembered. My grandsons went tubing for the first time and had a great time searching for cray-fish. Also, I was very happy I could have visitors for dinner and a campfire without an additional charge. We will return.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.