Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 27, 2015
Wonderful deluxe cabin, clean and nice inside. Grill was wonderful to have for the weekend. The only complaint was not enough hot water, I realize it's a small water tank, but we had 5 people and only 1 or 2 showers were possible. Not a problem at this time of year, but possibly an issue in the summer. Had a wonderful time, planning to come back next year!
Apr 27, 2015
friendly staff. well maintained campground sites,and restrooms.will come back again.
Apr 27, 2015
Apr 27, 2015
Great cabin. Clean and had every thing we needed. well worth the cost. Would do it again in a minute!!
Apr 27, 2015
Hot water, clean restrooms, wonderful views and check in personal went out of thier way to accomidate our large Boy Scout Troop
Apr 27, 2015
Apr 27, 2015
Apr 27, 2015
We had a great time
Apr 27, 2015
a A y.couple issues broken board on front porch which was replaced heater quit working which we were given another ok heater window was broken which i fixed for you other than that It a was pretty good st
Apr 26, 2015
Too bad our experience was not very good - nice place but not ready to be opened with many problems with cabins and bathrooms. The supervisor, Cliff, did what he could to minimize the impact on us and that was appreciated. However, we had family coming in from several states and the experience was not totally what we had hoped for.
Apr 24, 2015
We were there opening week. the staff was great taking care of opening the campground and making sure we were ok. Two members of the staff stand out. Kyle was the maintance man trying to fix the cabins so there were perfect for the customers. Always a smile and a kind word did a great job of fixing everything. James is another great worker he is nice kind sweet outgoing does an excellent job.
Apr 24, 2015
We loved it. It was opening weekend so the cabin smelled like mothballs! But other than that, it was great!!
Apr 23, 2015
Great KOA. Long distance from I-90.
Apr 23, 2015
I love how each cabin has a different decorating theme. Our stay was perfect! Lots of amenities, we enjoyed everything!
Apr 22, 2015
Staff was very nice and helpful, our cabin was clean. They were very accommodative given the fact that they lost power to a significant portion of the camp. They found an alternative cabin for us and provided us with an hour of mining. In all we were happy. However, it would have been nice to receive a call prior to our arrival to let us know of the situation.
Apr 21, 2015
I have stayed here before and was very satisfied. I was a little disapntd on this visit. We stayed in solar one and from 3:00- 6:15 pm we had no electricity which effects hot water. I took a cold shower as power went out in the middle.My husband ended up at the community shower. Had to call for TVs as they didn't work as well as the heat. Will still come back hoping not to have those issue again
Apr 21, 2015
Service was bad, bathroom without heating and dirty. Not a good experience and not what we expect from a KOA at that kind of pricing in a low season.
Apr 21, 2015
We had initially booked the Robotics lodge, but it was not ready so we stayed in the Solar lodge. We loved the quaintness and the beauty that surrounded us. We would LOVE to try another KOA location and have another experience!! :)
Apr 20, 2015
Have been there 3 times before. Extremely unhappy with this visit. Unlikely we will ever be back and I will never recommend to a friend.
Apr 20, 2015
Great experience. The cabin we stayed very clean and you find everything you need.kids have a lot of fun.we'll comback!
Jan 11, 2015
Nov 28, 2014
The candy hunt was better then the prior year but still needs some work. It is a very popular event with the kids and there are usually more kids then candy. Maybe the candy hunt should be broken in to two groups based on age. By the time some of the kids get to the candy search area, the candy is gone. The tie-dye event was better this year because the kids did their on dying.
Nov 04, 2014
Late season stay, had to change site due to size. No problem.
Nov 02, 2014
I came for the Scout geology campout with about 20 other scouts and adults.Some were new to the area and others have been here before. We all had a great time.
Oct 31, 2014
Nice place, scenic. Pretty clean. Friendly staff. Will be back.
Oct 30, 2014
Enjoyed our stay, the cabin was clean and the bed comfortable.
Oct 30, 2014
Facilities are very clean, staff is friendly and helpful, really a great campground!
Oct 28, 2014
Loved the wi-fi access for checking radar for approaching thunderstorms! One more restrrom/shower facility would help, but the facilites were excellent.
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Daughter and I had the best time with the Boy Scouts. What a great bunch of boys! We were nervous about staying when we heard it was that weekend, but now we are thinking about being there with the Boy Scouts next year! Great time and beautiful and clean Kozy Kottage. Thanks, KOA!
Oct 27, 2014
I am the Assistant Scoutmaster to BSA Troop #166 of Nassau, N.Y. 12123. We came out for the Scouts to work on and get their Geology Merit Badge. Your staff was very good with all Scouts. The information stations for the merit badge were very well put together and the staff kept all Scout attention up front. This is the second time we have brought the troop to this event, and it won't be the last.
Oct 27, 2014
The cabin was wonderful. It was not only educational but also tastefully decorated. We had everything we needed and more. We will definitely come back and stay at the Robotics themed lodge next time.
Oct 27, 2014
Great family experience with the mines right across the street
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Each time we stay we are very satisfied with the staff, services and campground. We look forward to our stay every year.
Oct 26, 2014
Clean,comfortable and nice location -wished I had booked a second night.
Oct 26, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
I was very happy with my stay. The heater worked well as it was a cold night.
Oct 24, 2014
Thank you Russ and thanks for being open late in the day and in the month.
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Stayed at the very end of the season, almost nobody around. We just needed a quiet place to spend the night while on the road. I get the feeling it's a nice place when it's active. Very nice, clean bathrooms and showers. Tent lots are very close together with a lot of rocks, but we were the only occupants and so we could spread out. Might have been problem in the busy season.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 19, 2014
Great staff, accommodated all of our last minute requests. Close to diamond mine and town.
Oct 18, 2014
Friendly, clean very enjoyable!
Oct 18, 2014
Very nice, quiet, and clean campground!
Oct 17, 2014
fall is such a beautiful time to visit the herkimer koa. Even though I did not go diamond mining, it was still a relaxing 4 nights. and the oct weather cooperated wonderfully! As usual the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. nice clean kabin (lodge). I've already made my reservations for next june and july!
Oct 17, 2014
Our site was very nice in size, but my families sites were on the small side. Our stay was very enjoyable.
Oct 16, 2014
What a relaxing place. Loved sitting by the river. Will definitely return.
Oct 16, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
I actually liked the setting for this campground, and the family enjoyed going to the Diamond Mine. Bathrooms were very clean, the park well maintained and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The only think we did not like was the lack of privacy and the closeness between campsites. Felt like you were on top of one another.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.