Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 31, 2016
Just a few comments, The DJ dance party on Sunday was supposed to go until 10pm, the DJ ended it at 9:30 to the dismay of many children. They appear to be adding fences in between each site along the creek by the primitive cabins. This is a bad idea and hinders your ability to park your camper, especially if camping with a group. Please don't add anymore fences!!
May 31, 2016
Had a good time. I did not know about bringing water shoes or a tube. I did buy them in the store so I am glad they did not cost me an arm and leg. The prices were affordable.
May 31, 2016
The campground was not at all ready for the busy Memorial Day weekend. Grass wasn't mowed, potholes everywhere, concrete patio on our "premium" sight not swept for our arrival, bbq provided for our "premium" sight a grease fire waiting to happen and to cap it all off...blocked sewer line for our departure dump....nothing like the smell of raw sewage in the morning....new owner needs to get it tog
May 31, 2016
LOVE LOVE LOVED OUR FIRST STAY!!
May 31, 2016
Family friendly, but the sites are very close together. Great camp store. Bring an inner tube to float down the river.
May 31, 2016
Very beautiful, relaxing and clean campground. site are alittle to close. my site inparticular fireplace was right next to neighbors campsite so not much privacy felt like we were having a fire with them everynight.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Great weekend.No cable on delux sites seems a bit counter to the word DELUX!!
May 31, 2016
Very enjoyable and relaxing. The cabin was spotless and everything was well organized. Will be back next year.
May 31, 2016
2nd time there. Had a great time. Had fun at the mine. Everyone had a great time tubing the river.It was in the 90's at the mine and had some torrential rains on Sunday but that just adds to the camping experience. The kids rented the 3 wheel bikes,hayride in the rain,and fun at the DJ dance. Love the different theme cabins.
May 31, 2016
Had a great time but you need to get rid f the geese. We always had to watch where we walk.
May 31, 2016
Only area of improvement would be to have better/newer material in the mines. Campground was excellent.
May 31, 2016
I am a local, I was hesitant to stay at this KOA because it was so close to home and I wanted to feel the 'camping' experience. I was pleasantly surprised! It really did feel like a vacation away from home! The staff was friendly. The campground was clean and efficient. I highly recommend staying whether you are local or coming from out of town!
May 31, 2016
We had a great time. Our kids were able to play and had opportunity to participate in many different activities that were scheduled throughout the weekend. The tree house that my friend rented was really cool! We will be going back this season!
May 31, 2016
Awesome time! Cannot wait to come back in a few months! Thanks!
May 30, 2016
The grounds are very nice with plenty to do for the family. The creek is shallow enough for little ones at the edge-deep enough in middle for older children to tube down. The mines make for a fun day as well. We had a difficult stay due to careless camping neighbors but we were happy with the mangers response. Great staff; very caring. We plan to visit again, perhaps midweek when a bit more quiet.
May 27, 2016
Staff seemed very disorganized. The computers were down and it was very chaotic checking in. Site prices were a bit steep considering we traveled the country this past year and got a lot more bang for our buck many times over. Also, the prices to mine were outrageous in my opinion.
May 27, 2016
Love this place. It is nice with the river running in the background it makes very cozy. A bit of an issue with the water pressure on a couple of occasion but not a big deal. Nice and clean and well maintained.
May 27, 2016
We had a really nice time. It was just before the busy season started so it was pretty quiet. Very peaceful staying by the water. Enjoyable stay.
May 26, 2016
Nice family place!
May 26, 2016
We enjoyed our 6 night stay. It is a very well kept park. There are lots of things to see and do in the area.
May 26, 2016
Great campsite, stayed on 68 by the river. Touted as a back in site but in doing so all the facilities, hydro, water, sewer etc were on wrong side quite far from our connections. Had to drive in to be able to hook up. Other than that great stay,
May 26, 2016
I stayed in Deluxe Kabin #5. I had a nice time, but some things could be fixed. The porch floor would give a little bit when you stood on it. I loved having a picnic table, but it needs some TLC. The paint is chipping, and it slightly hurts when it goes in your arm. It would be great if the screen doors had something to prevent them from slamming when closed. All in all I did have a great time.
May 25, 2016
It's nice to see the improvements but it seems cleaning and heat were a downfall. The women's room water was stone cold unless you waited to make sure no one had taken a shower before you and the bathrooms were not cleaned Friday when we came and not till Sunday.
May 25, 2016
Needs some TLC but believe they were getting ready for the season.
May 24, 2016
It's a such beautiful place, got all we need! Love the cabin. kids had so much fun, my son claimed it's his best camping trip ever.I've recommended Herkimer Kampgrpund to whoever asked about my trip. Thank you for making our happy memory!
May 24, 2016
Ecellent customer service made our stay very enjoyable.
May 24, 2016
Awesome!
May 24, 2016
For the entire time that I was there I went to the office three times to tell them about the faucets in the ladies room and nothing was done also I found that the showers had no power to them and they were not hot they were just a little above cold other than that the Camping area was nice
May 23, 2016
The staff was so accommodating and the activities for the kids were wonderful. A clean, beautiful and cozy campground!
May 23, 2016
This is my second time staying here. The first time we rented 5 cabins the second time 3 cabins. Both times everyone was extremely pleased. Wonderful place and staff was very pleasant and helpful.
May 23, 2016
Bathrooms were spotless! Staff was extremely helpful. We had to call maintenance for a minor issue and they not only corrected the problem, they gave us tips as first time camper owners!
May 23, 2016
Just returned from a father daughter KOA adventure that was thoroughly enjoyable. Great cabin and grounds with all the amenities! Great staff. Plenty to do. Thanks!
May 23, 2016
Very responsive and flexible about last minute site change and parking. Wonderful raspberry pancakes and friendly staff
May 23, 2016
Love how there is always activities planned for the kids!
May 23, 2016
We loved the activities and the opportunities to gather with other guests for ice cream on Saturday's and breakfast on Sunday's.
May 23, 2016
good and good camping
May 23, 2016
A lot of effort makes this KOA a pleasure to visit, from a beautiful clean river to an exciting "diamond" mine. Something for everyone.
May 20, 2016
niceand clean
May 19, 2016
Enjoyed camping by the Creek !!!
May 19, 2016
We had a very nice site. View of the creek was beautiful. Nice campground to relax and unwind. Only complaint was that while my husband was unhooking in the morning, the mowing was unnecessary. Blowing debris into my husbands face. Not nice!
May 19, 2016
Very nice,clean,and friendly staff
May 19, 2016
near the river was really nice, having the mine across the street was awesome and the staff was very friendly and makes you feel welcome. The shower needs some work done because the water didn't come out that much and the hot water wasn't very hot. Overall for the price I would recommend this to others.
May 19, 2016
We reserved a DELUXE PATIO SITE. I assumed the site would accommodate our 40 ft Motorhome. When we arrived it was extremely cold, windy and raining. The very young girl at the desk told us to pull into our site, not back in. There was no escort. We pulled into the site. It was extremely narrow and the utilities were on the wrong side. We struggled to get out and choose a different site.
May 19, 2016
Love HD KOA! Only thing needed is more dumpsters or garbage cans!
May 19, 2016
Hookups on wrong side of camper encourage people to pull into sites that should be back in sites so you end up with your front door directly across from your neighbors from door.
May 18, 2016
I'm there a lot. Never diappoints.
May 18, 2016
I love this KOA, however, I doubt that I will be camping there in the future. Your rates are so high and they are redoing sites so people are stuffed in there it is far from relaxing. I am not a resort type of person and just like to go camping for relaxation. The staff is wonderful and very accomodating however the greed of the owners is keeping me and my family away
May 18, 2016
Very friendly front desk staff. If he had a nametag, I could tell you his name. Office was very busy but he never seemed rushed or impatient. Super new bathroom.
May 18, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award