Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2013
We enjoyed our stay - the bathrooms were clean, the area was well marked, we didn't have a fire ring at our site but that's the only negative there was!
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Stay was good; however we had friends in the kamping kottages and it was very inconvenient going across the road. Besides, in the kamping kabins there weren't enough washrooms/showers to accommodate all the kabins, there were wait times. Thanks,
Aug 01, 2013
The only disappointment was the wi-fi service.
Aug 01, 2013
We did not have a picnic table at our site upon arrival but we were given one once we notified the staff. The sites are very close together and the people next to us were loud and obnoxious. The bathroom facilities were fine.
Aug 01, 2013
Wonderful place, wonderful people. Quiet, clean and comfortable.
Aug 01, 2013
My family has camped there every summer for years now and this year we had tent site 96 at the Diamond Mines KOA Campgrounds. We manage well and are prepared when rain is forecast ed. But this year that camp site flooded and we camped in a pool of water over our whole campsite. I will know for future stays that its a flood zone right there. May i suggest putting in some drainage on some sites
Aug 01, 2013
The cabin that we rented was filthy. The bathroom near the cabins was filthy as well. We stay in KOA campgrounds whenever possible because of the reputation they have for cleanliness and friendliness. This campground was friendly, but was not what I would expect from a KOA in the area of clenliness.
Aug 01, 2013
Our family has continued to return to Herkimer for the last 8 years. The staff make it feel very welcoming, friendly and like we are all one big family.The facilities are taken care of and the pool is wonderful, although very cold. One suggestion is solar panels at the pool for heating, it would help the adults and younger children enjoy it more.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Friendly people. Nice stay. Quiet.
Jul 31, 2013
Love it there. Clean, fun and a great staff!
Jul 31, 2013
When we arrived and checked in we were assigned the same site (#119) that we had reserved. It had just started to rain and I was anxious to get set-up and get to the auto rental agency in the next town before they closed. When we went to our site, there was already an RV on the site, so we drove around the campground and back to the office to let them handle it. The check-in person stated that the
Jul 31, 2013
always, this campground is the best in the KOA system! Every year they haing new and exciting to see. e'll be back again.
Jul 31, 2013
Had a great time. Hope to be back soon.
Jul 31, 2013
The staff was great. They actually remembered us and made an effort.
Jul 31, 2013
We had a wonderful time and look forward to future visits.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Can't wait to go back! Perfect spot for a family vacation!
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
We had a fantastc time! This was our 4th year staying at Herkimer KOA! We plan to make this an annual trip with our family and friends. We look forward to coming back next summer!
Jul 30, 2013
Love the place been coming there for over 15 years! Bathrooms need work.
Jul 30, 2013
very friendly folks, very clean site and wash roon. only thing is partying most of the evening, when we were there only over night. otherwise graet place
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
The site was nice. It was right next to the water. Very nice view. The bathrooms are too far away from the tent sites. They are placed right next to the RV and cabin sites (that all have their own bathrooms) The tent site had no running water and the bathrooms had no water access accept the sink (which did not have hot water and the cold only trickled out). Other than that the site was nice.
Jul 30, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay. The sites along the West Canada Creek were too close together. We didn't have a picnic table when we arrived but decided we didn't have room for it anyway.
Jul 30, 2013
Campground and staff are nice but I have never camped anyplace where other campers were so rude. Other campers repeatedly walked across and parked on our site. KOA should remind campers not to walk or park on other campers sites.
Jul 30, 2013
we have always enjoyed our stay at Herkimer KOA lots to do or just sit and relax...
Jul 30, 2013
Everything is so clean! And lots of things for families with kids to do.
Jul 29, 2013
We booked our cabin a year prior to our stay requesting to be near our friends. We were put at K1.This was possibly the furthest away we could be when there were cabins right across from site 73 and 74. Front screen had tears in it letting mosquito and other bugs in. Spiders in bathrooms and huge webs in showers. While the company was great, the accommodations were less than favorable.
Jul 29, 2013
We had a lot of fun!!
Jul 29, 2013
Deluxe 'Kabin' was nice. A good adaptation of a trailer. Cooking utensils were good quality too. Freezer was full of frost (we defrosted). We did NOT receive our daily newspaper or Friday breakfast, thus only 4 stars. "Kabin' also needs an exterior light at the rear.
Jul 29, 2013
Mining was fun. There was tubing, playgrounds (even for dogs), gardens to get fresh products, a nice pool, & restrooms were clean.
Jul 29, 2013
Beautiful location; loved our spot on the water. Staff person working didn't seem to want to assist. In fact, she was overheard complaining to a coworker, as we were standing outside the facility.
Jul 29, 2013
It is the first time I stayed at a KOA and I was very impressed....Our campsite was missing a grill went to the office to report it and they had someone put one up for us... THANK YOU!!!!:) Denise
Jul 27, 2013
We came for the children's rock and gem camp. Both were fantastic!
Jul 27, 2013
We had a great time considering we were in the middle of a heat wave. Loved tubing in the stream, diamond mines and staff friendly. A little disappointed in the size of sight, our awning was within inches of our neighbor. But and all, we had fun.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Lights out in ladies bathroom,1 faucet not working shower door would not close in men's room, not as clean as we are accustomed to at a KOA. Children activities were great. Shower water stayed at set temperature regardless of activity in rest room which is good. Layout of sewer hookups to center of sites is not great should be at the rear end to not impose on neighboring campsite.
Jul 27, 2013
Great. Lots to do. Most of the staff were friendly and courteous. Wouldn't recommend getting food at the Diamond Mines Café, but otherwise everything was great. Lots of activities and the creek is wonderful.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Awesome campground just stopped for a night on our way home from maine but will definitely be back
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
This is an excellent campground with nice sites and great facilities. The only complaint is that the swimming pool is too small for the number of people that use it. The pool gets extremely crowded which diminishes the experience.
Jul 25, 2013
Great facilities, activities and staff

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.