Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 12, 2013
The people at the KOA were great and very helpful. I am not sure if the Herkimer Diamond gift shop is part of your camp ground, but I found the people there unfriendly, and rude. Will stay at this KOA again, but will keep away form the mine, and shop.
Sep 12, 2013
everything was great but the shower in our cabin, which didn't work as expected.
Sep 12, 2013
A nice place to stay.
Sep 11, 2013
Really missed not being able to leave letters to be mailed. Most KOA's have an outgoing mail box which makes it easy for those of us on the road . Also wifi on the weekend was only a hotspot. We were in first row from the office and not able to get online until Monday when it was pretty much empty. I had to go to the laundry room on the weekend to be able to use my computer.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Had a site right on the river!! Though the site was a bit small, it was awesome! Hopefully we will be back soon!!
Sep 10, 2013
We loved our cabin across the street. We also like the new theme. Staff pleasant and helpful. Great weekend away indeed. We will see you again next year!
Sep 09, 2013
We had a great time...the amenities such as heat and electric in the camping cabins were a bonus. So much to do, so little time!
Sep 09, 2013
Great stay other than no internet access. Went to the office Wed. night, twice Thursday and twice again Friday with no luck. Your staff was sympathetic but unable to get their vendor to solve the problem. I had some work I wanted to get done but the world did not come to an end. It's a beautiful location.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
The Solar Lodge was beautiful. Our kids had a great time and loved the diamond mining.
Sep 09, 2013
Only problem was that our water hose wouldn't reach the tap which was quite far away..otherwise very nice.
Sep 09, 2013
Beautiful location along the West Canada Creek.
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Great place. All the staff were friendly and courteous. The new Solar Cabins are awesome. All you really need to bring is food. We called it Glamorous Camping or Glamping.
Sep 06, 2013
Always a great place to spend some camping time
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Lots for the kids and family to do!! Clean bathrooms, beautiful site I would highly recommend this campground!!
Sep 04, 2013
we have a young child and this campground offers a great deal of children's activities. For parents that camp it is very important that there are fun things for the children to do right at the campground. Keeping the children busy makes the stay much more fun and relaxing for the family. As a Teacher myself I can't say enough about how wonderful it is when my daughter is having fun!!
Sep 04, 2013
Loved it and can't wait to come back!
Sep 04, 2013
We enjoyed our stay very much.The tubing on the river is a great plus. The staff is friendly and accommodating.We have recommended this KoA to all our fiends. We will be back.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Our stay was great! Staff was pleasant, grounds were well kept. If there was a complaint, the only one I can think is after hours. Had a wild bunch drinking, swearing (f bombing) and partying after hours and driving drunk. One vehicle almost hit another camper on their way out. Otherwise, a nice stay. I'd put some money to having some security or someone driving through during after hours.
Sep 03, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Mens bathrooms needed to be cleaned tho towards the end of our stay, other than that, we loved it.
Sep 03, 2013
We had a great time at the mine and tubing One member of the staff stood out as excellent -Woddy- was great The activities could be better organized
Sep 03, 2013
It is always a good time in Herkimer. the only down fall this past weekend was that the campers next to us extended themselves into our camp site. Looking forward to Memorial Weekend next year. Thanks
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We loved our stay so much that we made a reservation for Columbus day and plan to make reservations with our family for Memorial day. What a great place to camp!
Sep 03, 2013
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. Being able to set up right along the creek, and having two firepits was great!
Sep 03, 2013
We had a lot of rain our first day and were ready to pack it in. We have an autistic son and he was not have a good day with rain and then flooded out campsite. Cliff and Daniel stepped up and changed our site (let our son pick) and gave him a smores pack! We will be back next summer!
Sep 03, 2013
The hook-ups for this site were not convenient. When I booked the site they said it was a pull-in. I asked if a 30' Trailer would fit and they said it definitely would. When I arrived, I quickly found out that there was no possible way to pull in and still get it disconnected while completely in the space provided. I had to park extremely close to the camper next to me to get connected.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Very clean. Very close to diamond mines and local towns. Cabin was very small; mattresses were hard. Arrived before check in time, so visited the mines first. At the mines we were asked if we were staying at the KOA, I explained yes but hadn't checked in yet due to time. When we did check in, we were told that we could get a discount at mines. We should have been given the discount initially!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Our kabin was clean and ready by the time we arrived. The pizza delivery and pancake breakfast made our one night stay very easy and relaxed. We loved the pool. I am only giving three stars because the cabins and camp sites are on top of one another. I personally would have prefered more space/ privacy. The mattresses provided were also on the thin side.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Unclean. Planned activities were not followed through with (cancelled without notice). Unfriendly staff. False advertisement of what the weeks activities were and what the campground had to offer.
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Came in late ,office people were just leaving ,told us where to park ,asked about staying another night and they would find us a spot (sept long weekend) will come back
Aug 31, 2013
we'll be back!
Aug 31, 2013
Got a site by stream but it was bare earth. Most other sites were grassy and nice.
Aug 31, 2013
We love the campgrounds. It is nice an clean.
Aug 30, 2013
we had a great stay and enjoyed looking for diamonds. When we left we had your breakfast it was hot and filling and was great that all the money was giving to the koa cancer camp.
Aug 29, 2013
We had a camp site right on the water and it was beautiful. The bathrooms were kept clean throughout the day, which is a must for us. The people were very friendly and helpful. Our children had a great time in the pool. We had a fantastic time.
Aug 29, 2013
We absolutely loved it. The campground was so nice and clean, well kept, as was our cabin. The staff was great too, went above & beyond. The only disappointment was that we had rented the astronomy cabin, which was wonderful, but... the staff seemed unable to get the telescope going. They came back several times and they really tried, but in the end, we never got to use it. Otherwise - flawless!
Aug 29, 2013
The people at the front desk were extremely helpful! The solar cabin we stayed in was clean and spacious. There were many things for the kids to do. We will definitely be back and will recommend to friends!
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Wonderful place and wonderful people that works there. My family and I had a wonderful time. The kids are already planning on next year's trip back.
Aug 28, 2013
Diamond mines across the street had rude workers. I asked for 2 kabins in the middle (5or6) next to each other in way back in April and were booked 5 and 7. Fire grates are a must and the site accommodated. My brother busted his leg behind the Kabins on Thursday and not a single employee asked if he was ok and when we called the overnight phone# to explain they did not care

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.