Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 08, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA and it was great! We enjoyed all the activities that were offered. We will be back again.
Jun 07, 2015
The telescope was brokenin the astrology cabin which I paid a lot of money for. Plus one of the rocking chairs for outside by the fire pit was never there. One other thing is that the hammock hooks were not spaced out properly,I even flipped over and hit my shoulder on the rock.The manager Cliff offered a discount next time I stay there,but did not offer me anything in writing just said ask forhim
Jun 06, 2015
We REALLY liked this campground. Clean, well-kept, family friendly. We had a little cabin and were so happy it included a little heater because it was COLD. We are talking about visiting again in the fall.
Jun 05, 2015
Many water problems. Dog park grass was at least 9 inches high.
Jun 05, 2015
Only stayed one night but we were tempted to cancel our plans and stay longer.
Jun 04, 2015
I love the place is clean, is nice.. everything look good .. love it... I want all my camping to be there from now on
Jun 04, 2015
Upon arrival the employees greeting us at the desk were very pleasant and professional.The site was clean, maintained well and above all it was very relaxing being by the West Canada as it flowed downstream.We had a very enjoyable stay. Thanks to the entire staff.
Jun 04, 2015
Super clean! Great park for bike riding with the family. Loved it!
Jun 04, 2015
Cabin was fine but campground lost water for a day and was inconvenient but staff accommodated by letting us shower at cabin the water was working. Things happen sometimes out of our control. Will be back next year. I do wish they had kid activities during the week when we are there for an event at diamond mine. Like they do have on the weekends to entertain kids
Jun 04, 2015
Jun 04, 2015
There was a bad storm the night before we were scheduled to leave. In the morning the owner was driving around the campground checking in on people. That is why we love KOAs so much, you're not a customer..you're treated like family.
Jun 04, 2015
I have been staying at this KOA about thirty years. Only one complaint, the showers are too small.
Jun 04, 2015
Surprisingly quiet for being so close to Rt.28. Incredibly beautiful being so close to the water. Well equipt store. Only thing that was difficult was telling where one site started and another ended.
Jun 04, 2015
Very friendly staff. Very accommodating. This is a small issue and not a complaint. They used to pick up your garbage if you left it in front of your resume but this has stopped.
Jun 04, 2015
We only stayed one night, but we enjoyed the facility. We are considering another trip this Fall and would not hesitate to camp at KOA again.
Jun 04, 2015
Our stay was amazing Renee and her staff were to notch. We really enjoyed our solar 1 cabin.
Jun 04, 2015
It is a great campground. We are planning to come back very soon.
Jun 04, 2015
Great KOA. This is the 2nd or 3rd time I've stayed in Herkermer.
Jun 04, 2015
We've only been camping a few times and this was our first time at any KOA. We loved the planned activities and were impressed with the facilities. I DO wish the tent facilities were a little more spread out or had more privacy. I set up our tent next to our car just so we'd have some privacy.The only place with developed trees had the rocks creekside.The only grass was further back near the road.
Jun 04, 2015
Great staff
Jun 03, 2015
Jun 03, 2015
The staff was kind and eager to help in any way. Our cabin was very clean upon arrival.
Jun 03, 2015
We arrived on Monday June 1. Water went out Monday nite but no notification given. Tuesday morning employee offered showers across the road -unacceptable. No indication of when problem would be solved. I asked for a partial refund for Monday nite and cancelled Tuesday nite. I was given the refund and was only given 26.70 of Tuesday back. I left number for manager to call - yet to call me back!!!
Jun 02, 2015
Great experience overall. Two things I would have liked different: when checking in and asked if we had been there before, there was a lack of explanation of what this Koa had to offer. Secondly, the cabin smelled excessively of mothballs. We had to keep the windows open even when temperature dropped to 50's. The smell was soo bad
Jun 02, 2015
Fantastic mattress for the Adults! Cottage so cute. Thank you for the fridge and TV! Very clean. Fun filled KOA!
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
Our family has a joke about another camping trip we took that we refer to as our "worst camping experience ever." This will be our "best camping experience ever!" It even rained nearly the whole time we we there, but it didn't matter. All the staff were wonderful, the events planned were entertaining and fun, the mining experience was exciting and our cabin was warm and cozy.
Jun 02, 2015
The staff were very nice & helpful. The site was beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay.
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Very organized, very clean cabin, the staff was extremely friendly and rightfully so. The activities were numerous and fun. Already planning on going back next year.
Jun 01, 2015
Staff were friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were clean. We really enjoyed the diamond mining.
Jun 01, 2015
The Cape Cod Waldorf school had an absolutely fabulous stay. Parents commented on how incredibly clean the cabins were and how efficient the staff are. The children said how nice all the staff were to them and how many facilities there were. They valued how much you trusted them with the loan of basketballs, etc. Thank you for giving them such a wonderful time.
Jun 01, 2015
Very comfortable lodging in our cabin (with all the comforts of home), plenty of family friendly activities to do while there. Excellent service by all your staffers. Will definitely stay again in the near future.
Jun 01, 2015
The unit was to have a/c and it didn't work filter was all torn and broken (have picture) and is not handicap assessable.
May 31, 2015
At first we were disappointed that our trailer site had cabins built on them - but the cabins were very nice.The only minor problem was the door latches did not line up so the door needed to be dead bolted to stay closed(not a big deal).Some suggestions for the cabins - a potato peeler/a flipper for inside(eggs) and outside (grill)/a wire brush to clean off the grill.All in all a great stay,Thanks
May 31, 2015
Great facilities & activities!Kids entertained all weekend. We frequently saw staff cleaning up, just saying hi walking by, and even playing kickball! One small thing that bothered me; the candy in the gift shop was WAY overpriced. If only your customers that are camping come in, why are you trying to make a huge profit? My kids were disappointed I said no,but got more for less down the street.
May 31, 2015
we loved it
May 30, 2015
We stayed for 6 days and found campground and owners very nice.amenities were well above KOA nationwide standards.I would drive the 6 hours just to come back to try the deluxe cabins.They work very hard to make this campground clean and beautifull and you can see it pays off!Congradulations.
May 30, 2015
Nice campground 7 miles from I-90. An improvement would be to place dumpster at exit for improved access when leaving the campgound.
May 30, 2015
Love it there. Always seeing improvements. Nice and clean campsites. Enjoy the Herkimer diamond hunting.
May 29, 2015
We camp at Herkimer Diamond KOA every year. Our grou0p of friends has grown and Herkimer Diamond KOA always accommodates our expanding group.
May 28, 2015
Employees were very helpful and courteous. Area very clean and neat. Planting of new maple trees in trailer locations (areas 8o's) seemed a little questionable to me.
May 28, 2015
May 28, 2015
We had a blast and will be back again this year!! Very well maintained campground!!
May 28, 2015
Everyone was very nice and helpful. the site was great being by the creek.
May 27, 2015
this is one of the best KOA parks that NY has to offer, friendly staff and great sites
May 27, 2015
We liked it as it has water and power hookup. It's quiet at night.
May 27, 2015
May 27, 2015
It was a fantastic place to take our boys. Lots of activities and the staff was awesome. Will defiantly camp here again!
May 27, 2015
the only slight complaint that I had this time is that the cable was not working very well. It was very snowy. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.