Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2016
Loud. Busy. Parties until 2 a.m. (does not seem to have staff at night to control things). Extremely small lots. Overcrowded.
Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful site, lots of activities. You should inform campers that the river dam gets opened daily, we got caught in really rough waters with a 12 & 5 year old- thank God for life jackets. Also, not a lot of adult workers present, which might explain the teens smoking pot in the bathroom :/ .
Jul 17, 2016
The staff really needs to pick up the goose droppings on the sites as well as the volleyball court and field. We spent an hour picking the droppings up ourselves. We also repaired the volleyball net that was broke for 3 days straight. The free wifi works half of the time or not at all. The bathrooms/showers closest to the tent sites (70's and 80's) are always dirty.
Jul 17, 2016
Been staying here for 25 years. Owners put a lot of effort and capital into this resort!
Jul 17, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. No complaints other than we had other campers walking through our site to visit other campers.
Jul 17, 2016
The activities were exciting. This campground now resort is so beautiful. We visit every year multiple times. This year was different, our motor home burnt and we rented the bird house cabin. I was very disappointed with the cleanliness off the cabin. Ants were everywhere. I had to go to the office and ask for a broom, mop, cleaning supplies and ant bait. I was very disappointed with our cabin!!!!
Jul 17, 2016
A really pretty park right on a creek good for tubing. Lots of kid activities.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Unfortunately we were only there for the one night, my daughter informed me "We HAVE to come back here" many times during the stay.
Jul 16, 2016
Need to regrade the new rv site. Much to narrow, and sides drop off to a deep gully. Also hard to get into with the planting boxes to close to parking spot. we were backed into the tree, and door was lined up to that box.
Jul 16, 2016
Always enjoy our stay as this KOA.
Jul 16, 2016
Beautiful setting, close to mine. Peaceful creek behind campground.
Jul 16, 2016
Only issue was length of walk to the restroom. We were in the farthest away tent site with electric. Very nice place.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
The restrooms were bad. The first day so so but as the week went on the restrooms real bad. The staff was good tho. Place was quite and the site we had lots of room.
Jul 15, 2016
We are a family of five and travel with our dog. It is great to be able to stay in a clean and roomy cabin that has all the amenities to fit our needs. There's so much to do and the pool and daily activities for the kids make it a great place for younger children. We will most certainly be back! Thanks Herkimer KOA!!!
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
This campground is very nice. We had a pull they site which was great. Campground very clean and staff are very nice. The one disappointment was that they operate a day camp for local children and they bring those kids 10-15 in a group to the pool in rotating groups till 4-4:30 each day. You can still swim but day camp kids make the pool very crowded. Won't go back for that reason.
Jul 15, 2016
Lots of activities and great sites. River is a big plus, but bathrooms need cleaning, and more than once a day.
Jul 15, 2016
I would have to say this Koa didn't rank very high on my list of koa's that we will return too. Our cabin smelled, wasn't overly clean, dishes in the cupboard were soaked and smelled like puke. Also not overly impressed that there was a day camp going on during our stay and we couldn't even swim in the pool in the afternoon as they were crazy and it wasn't safe for our 3 year old
Jul 15, 2016
Beautiful and clean. Heading back soon.
Jul 15, 2016
Had a really great time. Cabin DK1 had bunk beds which added to our adventure. Next time though, we'll opt for one of the other cabins. Other than the lawn crew outside our window at 7:30 a.m. it was awesome. Ask them to wait until 8 a.m. at least. thank you. Al Belasco
Jul 15, 2016
Needs work. Hard to turn into with big rig, branches rub sides going in and worst going out, unlevel site, water leaking, needs new manager
Jul 14, 2016
The camp is clean, pool is nice, stream is fun, all the workers had smile on their faces. Temp control in shower needs help. Otherwise, we had a great time and would do it again.
Jul 14, 2016
very clean park. except for geese. tubing the river was adventurous. stayed on deluxe tent site right on creek, very nice big site. only real negative was garbage truck pickup at 6:15 am very loud after late night at camp fire.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Enjoyed our stay - wonderful place for children
Jul 13, 2016
Nice staff as usual...staying aside the West Canada creek is always pleasant.
Jul 13, 2016
A little tightly packed for me and was next to cabins that all seemed to be in the party mood together. But otherwise very nice place very well kept up,
Jul 13, 2016
Awesome campground, clean and the staff are very pleasant. It was a shame it rained all weekend but the camping cabin was awesome, just perfect for the weather so we stayed semi dry and had a good sleep. Restrooms clean and neat, I especially liked the area where you could wash your pots and utensils! Can't wait to go again!
Jul 13, 2016
Absolutely loved our stay! Before the end of the first day we had agreed this would be an annual trip for us! Tons of activities for kids and friendly people!
Jul 13, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay. Rained hard all night first night but that was great cause made great rubber rafting which kids enjoyed. Not to forget the diamond mines and great finds
Jul 13, 2016
Stayed on deluxe sites. Had no cable Site 16? Map shows cable. Daughter bought firewood $6. Had three and a half pieces of wood. Could not light fire.
Jul 12, 2016
Despite the extremely large number of people in the campground on the holiday weekend I was there, the restrooms and the entire park were kept clean. It would be nice if there was a bathroom and shower facility in the tent area so those campers did not have to walk so far.
Jul 12, 2016
Had a great time, booked for next year before leaving.
Jul 12, 2016
We had a blast at the Herkimer Koa. There was so much to do at the campground. We had so much fun playing in the river and swimming in the pool to stay cool. There was never a dull moment with the playground, ping pong, checkers & chess. The campground was beautiful. So clean and gorgeously kept up. Our cabin was also beautiful. And the mining experience was a blast! Like none other, we loved it!!
Jul 12, 2016
The staff were outstanding.....
Jul 12, 2016
Staff, while efficient, was not friendly or helpful. Sites need gravel, as they turn to mud in rain. At this price, cable should be provided.
Jul 11, 2016
Bad behavior from woman staffer in site 104. I witnessed bullying from 104 when young mother strolled by with her baby cutting through sites to pool. The bad behavior and browbeating was harsh and not befitting of your wonderful KOA.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Great location and plenty of activities to keep the whole family busy
Jul 11, 2016
The weather was rather poor (lots of rain) so we asked about upgrading our campsite to a cabin. We got lucky and there was one available. It made all the difference. Love the location and the staff are super friendly. Thanks!
Jul 11, 2016
First of all the staff at this KOA was great! Always courteous and helpful at every interaction. The site was good, unfortunately it rained quite a bit and our site flooded pretty bad. Some gravel to raise it up would be helpful. But that is nit-picking. We need to stay longer next time to enjoy more of the activities they offered.
Jul 11, 2016
Easy to find. Friendly office staff. Clean and comfortable campground.
Jul 11, 2016
Beautiful camp site. Bathrooms are a bit too spread out. More direction on tubing.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Perfect location if your going to the diamond mines, kampground was AMAZING, great site, clean facilities, loads of activities for the kids, who ever reads this comment bring a tube raft AMAZING tubing in the river!!
Jul 11, 2016
Beautiful grounds, very well maintained, great REAL restaurant with a lot of extras, river tubing, and diamond mine.
Jul 11, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award