Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
So nice and kid friendly, clean, and employees were polite and helpful. Relaxing and quiet. Meager deluxe cabin had so many things alreadyn place....made it all simple to do.
Jul 26, 2015
Beautiful little campground in the woods with very active owners
Jul 25, 2015
The first moment we were there the men's bathroom was terrible. The staff worked well into the night to bring it to an exceptionL standard. We loved the entire campground and will certainly be back. Our whole group has already made that decision.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Best campground we ever stayed. Lots of activities. A snack bar in the campground along the river would be an improvement, You may also want to consider letting campers charge merchandise to their site (with an appropriate credit card left for security reasons). Other campgrounds do this and it is really convenient, and I always spend more,too! Thanks for the great campground.
Jul 25, 2015
Clean and well kept. A beautiful setting near the River. My family loved it.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
We came with family, and used two trailer sites, two tent sites and a cabin. We had been told NO tents on trailer sites, but saw many...by other groups. We were excited about Pirate weekend...which turned out to be Pirate day, with a few themes, or "renamed" activities. The paper pirate hat and eye patch were really lame, and the Treasure hunt never happened. We even waited for over 40 minutes
Jul 24, 2015
Sites are too close together and too few bathrooms with showers. Sites were fairly clean.
Jul 23, 2015
We traveled from California with daughter to visit family in the general area. We rented the deluxe creekside cabin in which my expectations were blown away from the cleanliness of the cabin to the friendly employees to the fun opportunities for the kids. The mine across the road was awesome for adults and kidsas well was the tubing down the creek! Definitely coming back!
Jul 23, 2015
We had a wonderful visit...impressed with how clean the restrooms were. You did a great job on putting our family all together next to each other...thank you. The kids loved it...we plan on coming back next year for a longer stay!! Was also very quiet. Dog owners need to clean up after their pets. We brought "doggie bags" and a pooper scooper for our small dogs!
Jul 23, 2015
The setting was lovely and the accomodations were clean and very quaintly decorated. We enjoyed it and hope to come back again!
Jul 23, 2015
Beautiful, well maintained campground with helpful staff. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would love to return.
Jul 23, 2015
Friendly staff. Fun location for tubing and mining, and lots of green space for the kids to play. Frisbee golf set-up was great also. And by far the fastest internet I have had at any KOA to date...
Jul 23, 2015
It was our first stay and we loved the campgropund...but the bathroom needed serious help all day everyday it was absolutely disgusting. When i saw the cleaning lady wash the bathmat in the dishwashing sink I felt sick. Update the cleaning and its an awesome place.
Jul 23, 2015
Just got back from our vacation. The mine was great and the camping facility was well accomodating. The kids loved tubing in the creek and swimming in the pool. My son had an emergency that required an ambulance trip to the hospital. The camp's owner (Rene) went out of her way to comfort the other members of our party. She is a very kind and humble host. Great time......thanks Herkimer KOA
Jul 23, 2015
There is SO MUCH to do here, between the KOA activities, two diamond mines nearby (one right across the street!) and tubing down the river. This place is great!
Jul 23, 2015
Had a great time deff will be back
Jul 23, 2015
Lots of investment made with new cabins, and the grounds are mostly clean. The bathrooms are often filthy and not all the toilets and showers function. Telling staff about maintenance needs elicits yawns or disrespect. This was our fourth visit in five years. Owners seem to be coasting on past successes, missing key necessities like working, clean bathrooms.
Jul 23, 2015
very pleasant stay
Jul 22, 2015
This park is located in a beautiful setting and is spacious. The pull through sites have plenty of room between them. The back in sites line the river. The grounds are well groomed and the bathrooms are clean. The staff is helpful and friendly.
Jul 22, 2015
The bathroom are clean the grounds are well taken care of and the staff is always very helpful.A great place to stay at. Jackie & Bob
Jul 22, 2015
Our first time there. Great place to bring kids (or Grandkids). Lots of activities and rafting. Very nice store and "Diamond" gift shop. Lets not forget about the mining for diamonds also.
Jul 22, 2015
Nice campground-only negative thing would be sites are close together
Jul 22, 2015
The campground was nice & had many things to do. The bathroom floors were muddy all the time.one of the 3 showers were broken in the mens & womens bathroom the entire time.
Jul 22, 2015
Truly beautiful location, tubing on the river is fun for entire family, one of the best koa's on the east coast.
Jul 22, 2015
The staff was so helpful during my stay. The deluxe cabins they built on the Canada Creek are beautifully maintained and in an ideal setting. Sitting on the porch, listening to the water, watching fireflies, tubers and chipmunks was a perfect way to relax and let go of the hustle and bustle cares of our big city lives. Thank you.
Jul 22, 2015
this is a location on and from our trip to Maine and enjoy being there.
Jul 21, 2015
Was our second time at your campground,enjoyed our stay!The three hour drive from Holyoke Ma. was worth the trip!
Jul 21, 2015
Campground is clean with nice facilities & nice staff. Site 62 = not suitable for trailer w slide-outs due-too close to cabin on driver side.Site 10 needs improved&wider grading and needed extensions to reach the e/w hook-ups provided on door side of the site. (website does not mention this problem). Low hanging branches in driveway impede tall rigs.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We enjoyed the activities (sluicing, swimming, tie-dye t-shirts.) Our cabin and tent site were nice. More bathroom facilities would be nice.
Jul 21, 2015
I loved the park!!! Very clean and plenty of room for big rigs. Would have given a 10 and 5 stars but staff during check in and during check out need some customer service skills...very abrupt. Also please put a drop box container for keys to cabins by the door or central location near each set of cabins so that guests don't need to come to the office for check out.
Jul 20, 2015
We always enjoy ourselves there. I was disappointed that I couldn't' book out sites for the same time next year. We have been coming there for almost 10 years and I always book the same sites. I went to book as I left and wanted to add a couple of site and some of ours were already booked. I would have thought as I was a loyal customer I would have had first chance to book.
Jul 20, 2015
Our stay was very much wonderful. We were very comfortable in our Cabin. My Granddaughter said she she wants to go back again.
Jul 20, 2015
our first stay at KOA Herkimer. super great, super fun and booked for Columbus Day this year :) plenty of activities for the kids on site, creek was added bonus, clean park, friendly and not bothered by anyone! bringing new campers w/ us in October. Thank u
Jul 20, 2015
I tried to ck into my cabin early. The cleaning lady happened to be in the office & I was informed by her in a very abrupt manner that ck in was 3pm & she hadn't even been to that cabin yet!!
Jul 20, 2015
I really liked the campground my only complain is there was suppose to be a treasure hunt for the kids and no one ever showed up to do it. I saw the owner go by in a golf cart and she never took the time to even explain to us what was going, she should have taken responsibility for the situation , also website said walk the plank and sword fights,didn't happen don't advertise it if not gonna do
Jul 20, 2015
Tubing and meeting great people were the theme of the weekend. All the employees were friendly and helpful as well. Sure has grown since my first stay in 1984! I believe there were 4 or 6 little cabins way back then.
Jul 20, 2015
Having never visited this campground before, it wasn't clear to me that the cabin we stayed in (DK3) was across the street (a busy road) from the main campground. Disappointing. The campground provides a lot of activities for the kids which is nice. The pool is not heated. The river is great for fishing & tubing. The river is rocky so bring or buy a large tube for more fun & safety.
Jul 20, 2015
Beautiful location with lots of activities for the whole family and friendly staff. Diamond mine attraction is fantastic fun
Jul 20, 2015
There was a large amount of geese poo in the tent sites, making movement difficult without stepping on a some.It was nice having KOA programs available to children through-out our stay to fill the gaps between mining,meals,and bedtime.Thanks for having the dish-washing sinks available for clean up after meals.Though we were stood up by the KOA person running the Pirate treasure hunt Saturday night
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
My son and I had a fantastic stay at the Herkimer Diamond KOA. We were quickly involved with other campers and their children and my son was so happy to have playmates after several days of too quiet camping at a NY state park. He was able to participate in an evening flashlight candy hunt, evening movies, and a pirate themed treaure hunt. And we had fun at the Herkimer mines across the street.
Jul 20, 2015
The grounds and buildings are well kept. The sites are on the small side. The staff was younger persons and were not as helpful as most KOA staff. I would go back if in the area.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great stay at KOA this past weekend. Clean, friendly, and the kids loved the pool. We'll definately be back!
Jul 20, 2015
camp ground was full the sites don't have much room camp fires make a lot of smoke the people make a lot of noise some use vulgar nice language, nice person at checkin
Jul 19, 2015
Seemed a little run down this trip. Activities weren't same as on schedule, numerous times there was no toilet paper, bathrooms seemed to be on the dirty side, door on cabin wouldn't lock, a little kaotic when it was pool time for summer campers, thank goodness it was nice weather so our stay was saved.
Jul 19, 2015
Love Herkimer KOA!
Jul 19, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.