Hayward KOA

11544 North US Highway 63

Hayward, WI 54843

Reserve: 800-562-7631

Info: 715-634-2331

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 17, 2014
Nice clean cabins, and a free breakfast on Fathers Day to all the Dads! Great job, Hayward KOA!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks! We appreciate your comments. Glad to hear you all enjoyed yourselves despite all the rain and cool weather! Check out our website at haywardcamping.com for weekly scheduled events for the whole family! Come again. Thanks
Jun 17, 2014
Wonderfull place to take kids camping! So many activities the children didn't want to leave.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It's usually hard to go home from the Hayward KOA. We try to make our park your home away from home and we're glad you enjoyed your time. Remember to like us on facebook for up to date info! Thanks again!
Jun 16, 2014
There are numerous activities for kids. Staff was friendly and helpful. A few more grassy tent sites would be nice. The bundle of wood we purchased was the only bad part of our stay. The wood was not worth $5 and didn't burn well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your thoughts and we're glad you enjoyed your stay....we'll look into the wood situation. Next time you're in, ask to meet us, we would like to meet you! Come back soon.
Jun 15, 2014
We stayed in one of the new Deluxe Kabins. It was perfect for our family! It was very clean and had EVERYTHING we could possibly need! I have a very bad back and was impressed with the comfort of the mattresses! The grounds were very well cared for and cute! It was very family friendly and had lots to keep our kids busy! The only thing we question was the website said "heated pool"-it was N

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your thoughts. We're glad you enjoyed the new lodge and you'll be glad to know we've purchased a new propane pool heater and am using it as well as the original heating system. It has helped out huge, with the warmer water. Come visit us again. You're why we do what we do! Thanks
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
We have stayed here several years. Same weekend every year. This year we noticed several issues with how clean things are. Bathrooms were very bad at some points. Garbages were overflowing. One cabin had 17 kids at it at one time. Crazy. We may not be back. Prices went up kitchen was dirty.
Jun 03, 2014
Very nice and clean campgrounds. Employee's were very friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Check out our web site at haywardcamping.com for future planned activities.
Jun 02, 2014
Great stay, but I do have to say that the place was not as clean as usual. Bathrooms and showers were not cleaned routinely and garbages were not emptied. Toilets were backed up some of the doors on the stalls did not lock. Younger staff didn't seems to care about things.
Jun 02, 2014
Other than the horrible thickness of the skeeters, we had fun and we were quite sad that we had to leave early due to a family emergency.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to hear about the family emergency and hope all is well. Thanks for staying with us. We'll look for your next visit. Thanks for your words.
Jun 02, 2014
We stayed in a brand new cabin that wasn't broke in yet. One small water leak from rain. And it also was infested with ants, probably from the new wood & dirt while building. They did come and spray the first day, but that did NOT help. Dumpster was full when we got there. Everything else was GREAT!!! Workers couldn't have been better... so friendly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your thoughts. You were the first guest in one of our three new lodges and we're glad you enjoyed the visit. I believe this must be the year of the Ant and we have had to do a lot of spraying, but we seem to be winning the battle! Come join in on the summer fun, at the Hayward KOA.
Jun 02, 2014
We had a great time! You have outdone yourself with all of the activities for the kids. We appreciate the cleanliness and the obvious care that you put into this campground! Thank you for helping us make some great memories!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

That's exactly why we do what we do! We want our guests to have an outstanding vacation experience and so glad your time was great! Visit us again! Thanks
May 30, 2014
I love coming to this KOA and to Hayward so much to do. I tell people about it all the time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciate your visiting us and look forward to the next time....there is a ton scheduled for this year and we're expecting a great season!
May 27, 2014
We wanted to stay over check out time a little and were told we would have to reregister, ie pay again. The check out time we were told was 11:30am and our reservation information said 12:30 PM was check out time. When we asked they were very quick/snapped back with the above statement. Do not put one time on reservation confirmation and do another. They need to put in toilets that flush.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
The campground is very clean and quiet. All employees I spoke to were very friendly. We splurged and rented a deluxe cabin for Memorial Day weekend. It was great! We will be going deluxe from here on out. I was very surprised to find it came with a propane BBQ and provided dishes. I wish I would have known to bring a bath/shower mat for the bathroom. It didn't occur to me to bring one. FYI! ;-)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad to hear all was great. We appreciate your thoughts. We'll install the shower mats today! We installed three new lodges this season and the units seemed to be very popular. Happy Kamping!
May 27, 2014
We stayed in one of the deluxe camping cabins and it was VERY nice. My family/kids always have a great time at the KOA with the fun activities there are to do!! Thanks!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Great! We're glad you all enjoyed the time you spent here at the Hayward KOA....That's what it's all about! Check out our website for future planned activities! haywardcamping.com
May 27, 2014
Kids had a blast! When kids are happy everyone is happy :)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Everyone enjoying themselves is what it's all about and our staff works hard for that goal. Glad you had a great time. Come visit us again!
May 27, 2014
Cabin was very nice and clean. Lots of fun activities for the kids. Lots of fun stuff to do in the area. We come to ride motorcycles there are some awesome roads and scenery around Hayward.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your thoughts. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We're now on the Harley Davidson website and we'll be donating some free camper nights for an up-coming sweepstakes as well. The Northwoods is a fun place to spend some time and we're glad you stayed with us. Come back soon.
May 14, 2014
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Friendly and wonderful staff. There was a mechanical problem with the cabins furnace on a very cold night and the guys were great at getting the problem solved.Thanks KOA!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Sorry to hear about the heater problems. Let us know anytime there is an issue that needs attention. WE'RE HERE FOR YOU! That's why we put in all the labor. We wish for our guests to have a great camping experience! Thanks again and come back soon.
Oct 03, 2013
It's been several years since we were first @ this KOA and we're so glad we could come back. We came w/another couple & they upgraded us @ no charge to a 2 rm Kabin because they had moved our kabin. Staff put a table & chairs in game room so we could play cards during the rainstorm. Great hospitality.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're so glad you returned to our campground and that you enjoyed your time there. We hope to see you again in the 2014 season.
Oct 02, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
We reserved a one room cabin for three nights. KOA was in the process of moving some of those cabins, so they gave us a two room cabin for the same cost. This was a very nice gesture and greatly appreciated. We had a wonderful time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad you enjoyed the extra room. As available, we're planning on continuing the practice of upgrading, as able. Come back next year and check out the new deluxe lodges we put in, in place of the cabins!
Sep 24, 2013
Very clean and comfortable Kabin, loved the Kamping Kitchen and its proximity, loved the proximity of bathrooms and their cleanliness. Super friendly staff. Looking forward to my next stay!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the comments. It actually is an unbelievable amount of labor running a campground and when our efforts are recognized it is appreciated. We'll pass this along to our staff.
Sep 18, 2013
The people were friendly. I feel the sites were too close together.The bathrooms/showers could use more heat when it's cold out.They should have some full hook-up pull thru sites away from play area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your thoughts. We're in the process of seeing what we can do to create better/larger sites. Remodeled shower house in 2014! Check out our web sites for new things to come! See you in 2014.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
The cabin should have been aired out. It smelled musty.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Our cabin was very clean. The campgrounds were also clean. Kids had a great time riding around the campgrounds. Reserved my cabin for same weekend next year.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We look forward to seeing you again! Check out our new deluxe lodges as well! See you in 2014.
Sep 16, 2013
We have stayed here for years, and will do so for years to come. The staff is incredible. They clearly enjoy their work, and are great hosts! Thank you Hayward KOA staff!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your continued support. We work hard to make your stay great and we'll be glad when the 2014 season starts. Ask for us when you return, we would like to meet you in person. Tony/Rosie
Sep 13, 2013
The ONLY thing that I didn't like was in the kabin having the bunk beds in the 1st room. The reason we love the kabins is because of the two rooms and being able to have the kids to bed and close the door and still be up and able to go in and out of the kabin. Other than that EVERY thing else was PERFECT!! We already made our reservations for next year. Great planned activities for the kids.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We'll look into the bunk bed situation. New lodges are coming 2014! Come visit us again.
Sep 09, 2013
This was a birthday weekend for my young son. He and his friends were very excited to be camping and most excited to swim in the pool, play on the slide, and night glow-in-the-dark golf as outlined on both the KOA website and the Hayward camping website, which state these activities are available through October. On arrival we discovered the pool and slide were closed for the season. No golf also.
Sep 09, 2013
The campground had drained the pool, didn't tell any campers ahead of time. Propane grill was out of gas. Deluxe cabin was very clean and nice.
Sep 04, 2013
We had a wondeful time! Love the campground and all the activities/things to do. Only suggestion is to move the smokers away from the office doorway/swimming pool entrance. We have allergies and had to wait several times to pass by that area! Also, we "escape" to camping for the fresh air!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Smoking in that area is constant work. We have placed "no Smoking" signage and created a smoking area away from the pool etc. Thanks for the thoughts. We're looking forward to 2014!
Sep 03, 2013
We have stayed at the KOA in Hayward, WI for several years over Labor Day weekend (about 10 sites booked for our family). This was by far the worst Customer Service we have ever received there. We did book again for next year but we did have a discussion if we should, we are going to try it one more year to see if we get the same experience.
Sep 03, 2013
The only problem I have is there is not enough parking for the Cabins. I had one for the weekend and there was barely any room for one vehicle to park and not block any part of the road.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are aware of the parking and we're working hard to limit the amount of guests staying per site, in order to allow our regular paying guests enough room for their vehicles. Glad you had a nice visit.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We stayed in a clean, comfortable cabin. The pool was refreshing and fun. Tubing was a blast and afordable. The fire ring was not up to par and we didn't like being next to the dumpsters due to the smell but the employee's were willing to bring us a fire ring that worked great. The staff was friendly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the comments. ALL new fire rings are on our list of improvements. Glad the staff helped you out. See us in 2014
Aug 31, 2013
Disappointed. Water slide not open during week, no special activities for kids during week, Not the friendly feeling like the staff that use to be there. Our cabin was great except the bunk room door was out of adjustment, and the floor was swept but not mopped. The jumping pillow is too expensive and should be included with the cost of staying especially when there are no other activities.
Aug 29, 2013
We loved all of the fun activities for kids- bike rentals, waterslide, bouncy pillow, movie night,minigolf, etc. We stayed in one of the 4 passenger camper cabins and would definitely stay in one again. My only complaint is that there was barely any grass throughout the whole complex. I understand grass is hard to maintain with so many vehicles/tents coming in/out, but some would've been nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We attempted grass....all the trees rejected the idea! We are installing new tent areas with graveled pads for the tents. Thanks
Aug 29, 2013
Loved our stay , our 6 and 3 year old never ran out of fun things to do. The kids asked why we couldn't live there. We'll be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks. We look forward to seeing you in 2014! There will be additional activities next season.
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
We really like this KOA as it is right next to ATV trails. Please fix the AC though

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You're not kidding about the AC! lol. New units have already been purchased! See you in 2014
Aug 27, 2013
Wonderful time. Booked the same cabins and lodge for next year extending our stay to 4 nights. Love the lodge but would like to see a full size refrigerator/freezer like the new lodges have. It's more convenient for a longer stay. The stiff mattress cover was the noisiest I've ever tried to sleep on. Something softer and quieter would be a kudo. Otherwise, looking forward to next year!! Thank you!
Aug 27, 2013
It was wonderful! Not one single thing to complain about!
Aug 27, 2013
Excellent stay as usual! Firewood bundles seem to be getting a little small though and some of the younger staff memebers seem like they don't want to be there. Maybe they need a pep talk, lol.
Aug 27, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.