Harrisonburg / Shenandoah Valley KOA

12480 Mountain Valley Road

Broadway, VA 22815

Reserve: 800-562-5406

Info: 540-896-8929

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 16, 2013
Glad to have stayed. I will be back again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! We look forward to seeing you again, soon.
Jun 16, 2013
LOVE LOVE!!! Wonderful set up just wish we had been staying more than one night!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 15, 2013
Everything was well maintained and the staff was extremely friendly. The mosquitos were plentful and made it difficult to enjoy the outdoors. Otherwise, we would, and will, return.
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 12, 2013
Very isolated and tough to drive through with a big rig. Had we come in after office hours we would have never found the spot and they do not have trash pick up at the sight you have to bring it to the dumpster. Also GPS did not work finding the location

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry to hear you found our property difficult to navigate. We keep our roads at an average of 14-18 feet wide with 30 degree turns. We do ask trash be left out in the morning for pick up rather than at night. Our print ads, phone reservations & emails give clear directions & mention GPS error.
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay. Loved the sites. Campground clean quiet and visually pleasing. Bathrooms very nice. Highly recommend

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 11, 2013
Great camp ground. Friendly staff. Quiet and relaxing camp ground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words!
Jun 10, 2013
we wil not return to your campground because the road from Rt. 81 to your facility is a horror for big rigs

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you found Route 608 to be a horror. This road is a standard, two lane, secondary road that accommodates 18 wheelers, Big Rigs towing, farm tractors and automobiles on a daily basis. The four turns on this road can cause stress for some drivers after traveling on the wide open interstate.
Jun 09, 2013
this is the cleanest campground and the nicest owners and staff that I have experienced. I have recommended this location to several friends.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 09, 2013
Staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 08, 2013
Jun 07, 2013
Jun 07, 2013
Advertise WiFI but not available. All KOA's should have a working WiFi system

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do our best to keep the WIFI active and available. Unfortunately, we are at the base of a mountain on a heavily treed property. We depend on Hughes Net for our Satellite WIFI server. At times we have heavy use which will trigger HughesNet to choke down the system.I am sorry for any inconvenience.
Jun 06, 2013
We had a very enjoyable stay even though it was brief. The facilities were outstanding and convinced us to sign up for the KOA card program. We look forward to many more stays at your campgrounds.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! We hope you use that card a lot this year! Remember to make your reservation in September for your free night! Check KOA.com for details.
Jun 05, 2013
Very clean and well maintained. Management and staff very friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 04, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
cable ready sites were available and was not offered option even though we paid for full hookup.Also wifi service was spotty at best.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

When you checked in you requested a 30 amp, full hookup, pull through site. Unfortunately, you did not mention your desire for a cable TV hook up. Our cable TV is on select sites and must be requested. I will train my staff to offer the upgrade at check in.
Jun 02, 2013
The owners and family were very personable, and the campground layout was awesome! The showers and restrooms were immaculate, The location was great with no nearby highway noise and the hiking trail was cool going up into the mountain. Their flier needs to give info on hiking trail like how long it is and that it is one way up and back, maybe plants and animals to look for like lizards etc.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! That is a good suggestion. We will work on making a flier with information about the hiking trail and forest. In the meantime, we do have books at the front desk that identifies trees and animals you will find in our forest. Be sure to ask to see them when you return!
Jun 02, 2013
very relaxing and very enjoyable

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
Jun 01, 2013
May 31, 2013
This is a great camp groung to spend time at to relax and kick back. friendly quiet shadded all around GREAT.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words!
May 30, 2013
fast easy check in, still shaded but more open than use to be, like that. one of the best KoA in my eye.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for noticing! We have been busy cutting down the sick, dead and dying trees. We intend to preserve the wooded atmosphere while doing so. See you again, soon!
May 29, 2013
This is one of my favorite campgrounds in the area. I enjoyed my stay and look forward to my next stay. Campground is very clean and staff is terrific.
May 29, 2013
May 29, 2013
The service was great, the staff is very friendly. It is annoying having to wear the wrist bands, I would suggest double checking cars when people enter the campground instead of wrist bands.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The wristband program on holiday weekends help us be sure everyone on the property is a registered guest. This also helps guests remember their site number when ordering wood or checking out equipment. This is for the fairness and security of everyone involved.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
Music entertainment on the weekends would be nice. That is what attracts to other campgrounds. ESPN would be nice but not necessary. We don't watch enough tv to make it a deciding factor.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Many of our regular customers have informed us they enjoy the quiet activities, peace and quiet we offer.
May 28, 2013
The pool is advertised as heated but it was really cold. Also need bath house at top of hill to decrease traffic congestion in other restroom.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes, the pool was cold on Memorial Day Weekend. When the night time temperatures drop to upper 30's we were not able to keep it warm. My apologies.
May 27, 2013
Could not get on wi-FYI. Should not say you have wi-FYI if you can not get it at site. Was very disappointed.
May 27, 2013
The park itself is very nice and easy to access from the interstate. The staff was very friendly.
May 27, 2013
This is definitely our 2nd home - we love the mountain setting and the friendly staff - they treat you like family!
May 27, 2013
May 25, 2013
We have a dog and I loved the trail at the back end of the campground. It was much nicer to walk into the woods than to just walk up and down the rows of campers.
May 25, 2013
Great camp, little ways in from main road. Restrooms were extremely clean. Only back thing was they had us in the very far back of the park and it wasn't busy, would of been better closer to the club house.
May 25, 2013
Enjoyed our stay once again
May 24, 2013
Clean and helpful staff.
May 24, 2013
In driving rain, we were guided to our site and the staff member helped us configure our long fifth wheel for quick and easy departure the next morning.
May 23, 2013
Typical KOA place. Good price and its great for a one night stay
May 23, 2013
Roaming chickens interesting. Bathhouse was in good condition.
May 22, 2013
Enjoyed our stay, even though it rained. Nice campground and nice people!
May 22, 2013
This campground is nice but a lot of work is needed to make the sites more level. The first site we were assigned had a side-to-side slope of 8" from hign to low. It is impossible to safely level an RV under those conditions. A great location and very nice staff but I can't recommend the Kampground because of the uncertainty of people getting a reasonable level site.
May 21, 2013
I love coming to stay here. The atmosphere is relaxed and it is so quiet there. It is a great place for me to get away and unwind!!
May 21, 2013
campground could use some trimming of trees and some landscaping - pretty primitive but bathrooms clean, good for 1 night.
May 20, 2013
Staff was pleasant and easy to deal with. Had issues with cable so no TV available, but reported to front office to address. Overall a nice stay.
May 20, 2013
Clean, nice campground. Nice size site. Friendly personal.
May 20, 2013
Very courteous and helpful staff, and a very nice grounds,
May 20, 2013
No activities for kids. Poison ivy around all the place at the putt putt area around all the trees.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

After inspecting the mini-golf area we found and removed some poison ivy in three areas. We also found quite a bit of wild raspberries and Virginia Creeper which are commonly mistaken for poison ivy. Had you voiced your concerns during your stay we would have been able to identify the plants for you

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.