Harrisonburg / Shenandoah Valley KOA

12480 Mountain Valley Road

Broadway, VA 22815

Reserve: 800-562-5406

Info: 540-896-8929

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16

RV Reviews

Aug 31, 2015
We stayed one night but it was clean and quiet after 10pm. Staff was helpful, even delivered wood and help us start a fire (city folks). One bad thing is the fishing pond needs to be cleaned up. It looked overgrown.
Aug 31, 2015
Great campground. Lots of shaded spots. Only complaint is the street light near our site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words. I do believe you have us mixed up with another campground. We do not have lights near site 18. We have safety lights around the main building, the parking lot and bath rooms.
Aug 31, 2015
One complaint: we came off the road at noon. I recognized its earlier than the 2:00 pm check in, BUT, the campground was nearly empty. Almost the entire lane we stayed in was vacant. I was charged a $5 early fee. It's only $5, but it seems a little nit picky. I get a discount for being a KOA member and then you wipe it out with this fee. As a regular customer, it just seems a cheap act.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Check in is at 2pm. Check out is at 12 noon. When an early check in arrives we must pull our morning staff off their jobs and assure the early site has been completed and then escort to the site. Early check in also allows you the privilege of enjoying the amenities earlier than scheduled.
Aug 31, 2015
Too hard to get to...Site not level..very dusty..

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you had trouble getting level on site 61. We have checked it and find it is within 3" in every direction. We can not do anything about the amount of dust as we are in a dry period and this is to be expected.
Aug 30, 2015
We stayed for two nights while on a long trip. We used the camp as a base to visit some area attractions. Nice quiet and wooded location.
Aug 29, 2015
Friendly staff. Came in at night, they helped us find our site. Small sites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes, site 24 has a small recreation area. The site length is 60 feet. This is the site we save for very late arrivals scheduled for a single night stay. The majority of our other sites have exceptionally large recreation areas.
Aug 28, 2015
There were a lot of bugs in the camping area. My wife had quite a few bits. Could not site and enjoy a camp fire because of the bugs.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Aside from the mosquitoes, which are an unfortunate part of being in and enjoying nature, we do hope you enjoyed the rest of our beautiful campground.
Aug 27, 2015
We love this campground. Can't wait to go back.
Aug 27, 2015
park is great! host Catherine was very nice & was able to answer all our questions concerning the area. very pleasant to talk to. park is very clean & quiet with lots of extras. thanks for a great time!
Aug 27, 2015
The cleanest campground ever! However cable quality extremely poor. We had videos so not a biggie for us, but grandkids would have been disappointed. All employees were great

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

When you encounter issues it is always a good idea to contact the management during your stay. When we read this review the staff went to test the cable connection on the site you were in and found it in perfect condition. Perhaps we could have assisted you during your stay.
Aug 26, 2015
What a friendly place. The sites are clean and so are the facilities. There was trouble with the pool but they were obviously working to fix the problem. I will stay again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are correct, the pool pump had burned out. Rest assured, we had a new one in and the pool was back in excellent condition within 48 hours. We look forward to seeing you again, soon!
Aug 24, 2015
I would not recommend site 47 but there are a lot of other nice sites
Aug 24, 2015
Was just passing through on my to Bristol motor speedway

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for stopping by...catch you on the rebound!
Aug 24, 2015
This is our Favorite KOA. Monica and the Staff are wonderful. Property is Spotless. So much to do in the Area. We will be back again in the Fall.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again, soon!
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Well kept facility and grounds. We were just here for the night but could see they had plenty to keep younger kids occupied. Nice shady, forested sites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for stopping by. We hope you can come back and stay a while to explore our beautiful Shenandoah Valley!
Aug 22, 2015
Love where you are located. Stayed there over 10 years ago and have always wanted to go back. Glad we did, will be back again soon. Thanks Your staff is so friendly and very helpful!!!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you did come back. We strive to be the best and love it when happy friendly people come and share out wonderful valley!
Aug 21, 2015
Beautiful location, quiet and natural. Great friendly staff. Would stay there again and plan to return for a longer stay !
Aug 21, 2015
ALWAYS FUN AND ALWAYS RELAXING

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do enjoy seeing your smiling face!
Aug 20, 2015
The campground is very clean and pretty and the staff is great.I would only suggest 2 improvements.Despite our trip being in August, the pool water was too cold to swim. It would be much better if the water were heated. Secondly, the WiFi internet signal was insufficient anywhere we tried to access in the campground. We had to leave to access internet services. Otherwise, we enjoyed very much!
Aug 19, 2015
It was a wonderful first time experience we are already planing another trip to their
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed Wednesday through Saturday. Nice and quiet, campground was not full due to being through the week. Nice clean bathrooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again
Aug 17, 2015
Beautiful campground. Wooded sites. Everyone friendly & helpful.
Aug 17, 2015
We had a great time. One of the nicer KOAs that we have been to.
Aug 17, 2015
This is a nice, quiet campground that we thoroughly enjoyed. All the amenities were very nice, and we liked the fact that it is smaller than many. Great staff as well.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
It was a great campground to visit with kids!
Aug 16, 2015
This is the most family friendly campground we have stayed at. It is just wonderful. From all the activities for the kids to the historical sites there's something for everyone.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We enjoy the beautiful Shenandoah Valley and all it has to offer. We are glad you did, too!
Aug 16, 2015
Very friendly staff Campground exceptionally clean not hard to get to right off Interstate 81 close to Luray Caverns endless caverns and many more tractions in the area. We will definitely be going back .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for spending your time with us! We look forward to seeing you again.
Aug 12, 2015
Only stayed overnight, arrived very late. The campground was nice, very clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Aug 06, 2015
All staff and personnel were extremely friendly and accommodating. Bath and showers very clean. Unfortunately, you were having electrical problems at the time (which happens)and could not provide the cable service. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. We do apologize for the TV being out.
Aug 06, 2015
i got a 2 services site, in the morning, the dump station was locked and nobody at the office to unlock it (7 am). i got to drive the next 800km with half full tanks.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the inconvenience. Our dump station is locked. We have a note on the campground map given to each person upon registration about asking in the office for the key. We could have given you the key in the evening so you could use it the next morning.
Aug 04, 2015
Fine!
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Need to add more rocks. After rain, we were dealing with with mud. Don't say you have WiFi, when you later tell us we didn't get it because of the mountains! Finally, on our second night, our center hub caps from our front two ties were stolen from our new CRV. I've written 3 reviews regarding these problems. Charging to much for no WiFi. Great place, tho, for children and pets

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate being informed of issues. We are not able to verify the hubcaps were taken while you were parked here. We hope if you ever have a good experience anywhere you are just as enthusiastic about sharing that opinion as well!
Aug 03, 2015
the sight we was to small could not open awning tree was in the way the sight are little pricey for gravel not very level picknick table where dirty bath house where nice the electrial plug need replacing broke out top of it not bad needs up dating littles some tlc but for a one night stay its ok

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry we had to put you on such a small site. We will be more careful in the future to let people know the site closest to the bath house is also a bit on the narrow side.
Aug 01, 2015
Campground was okay
Aug 01, 2015
The personnel were very friendly and the Kamp ground was quiet.
Aug 01, 2015
This is a nice campground with a wonderful pool and a pet play area and walk. Clean campground and very pleasant owners!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind remarks
Aug 01, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the sites are great, I would recommend site 32. The location is close to the caverns.
Jul 30, 2015
Very peaceful kampground with large sites.
Jul 30, 2015
Our site was kind of right in the middle of other ones-all facing different directions. Lots of dust and not much grass. Staff young but very nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Site 45 is right in the very center of the campground and a grassy site (when we are not in the middle of a heat wave). Our excellent staff is full of young (and a couple of not so young) people who all work hard to be sure every stay is an excellent one.
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
The sites were really spacious. The only issues we had with the campgroud was the mini golf course was in really bad shape. All the other accommodations were fine.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The mini golf has been rebuilt! We hope you return to enjoy more free games!
Jul 28, 2015
Wonderful site, roomy, clean facilities were nice- wish we could have stayed longer!
Jul 28, 2015
Camp sites could be leveler for RVs, but all in all, it was a great experience! Mgmt and staff were exceptional.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Ah, site 44 is in the group of sites that have been getting reworked this year. I promise it will be much better next time you come in!
Jul 28, 2015
Quiet but plenty of fun activities for all ages. Desk staff friendly and HELPFUL! KOA's are our favorite and it is easy to see why this one has President's Award!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words! Our staff works hard to ensure each stay is an excellent one and we are very proud of our President's and Founder's awards!
Jul 28, 2015
Very Relaxing

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you found our beautiful campground relaxing. We look forward to seeing you again.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.