Harrisonburg / Shenandoah Valley KOA

12480 Mountain Valley Road

Broadway, VA 22815

Reserve: 800-562-5406

Info: 540-896-8929

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 17, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
Person I dealt with when I checked in was very nice, helpful and knowledgeable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I will let Betsy know she made a good impression on you. She is a great person! Thanks for choosing our campground!
Sep 16, 2013
The campground is very quiet and very clean bathrooms. I will return in the future.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Stayed on a back site(31), was very peaceful and quite. We will return next camping season.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
The site was beautiful and the chickens were a nice touch but the bugs were terrible, we could not stay outside or even in the tiny, poorly equipped dog park because of the bugs.
Sep 16, 2013
We had a great weekend at this KOA. The staff, owners and campground was wonderful. We look forward to seeing you all again in November
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Had a great time! Nice campground!,
Sep 12, 2013
Great place!
Sep 11, 2013
Overall good experience, but one or two things annoyed me. I was placed in the middle of an entire church group with noisy kids and I barely got any peace and quiet. Some sort of water pipe broke, which is understandable, but it left the water system oily, leaving a slick film after my shower. And this is the first time I ever stayed at a KOA where wifi service was limited to 2hrs daily.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sadly, the church group rented all but one cabin leaving you in the middle of their activities. We apologize for that. The 'slick feeling' after your shower is the result of very soft water we offer to prevent damage to our on/demand hot water system from our very hard well water.
Sep 11, 2013
Wifi spotty & very slow. Paid extra for cable TV but there was no NBC (though it was on the list) and there was no PBS. Not worth the high price. Shower head faces vestibule and stream was so forceful it sprayed out of the shower and got my shoes wet. Nice sites and all was very clean but overpriced for what I got.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you had such trouble at our campground. Had you informed someone in the office about the missing NBC channel, it would have been reprogrammed to function. The incoming box had gone on standby. Water pressure in the shower house is easily adjusted with the knobs on the wall.
Sep 10, 2013
Nice facility and a great staff, have been there a couple of times and will continue to go stay there.
Sep 10, 2013
Very pricey and far from the highway for an overnight stop. Staff was very nice -- might be a better place for a longer stay.
Sep 10, 2013
fantastic....extremely pleasurable...peaceful and quite...thanks for having us !

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Nice campground and a nice level sight for my pull through lot. I am glad we came and will be back soon
Sep 09, 2013
It was nice, the water was shut down due to a water problem, which I understand, however the Internet did not work at all on our site, the signal was not strong enough. I run my business by the Internet so that caused a problem. That should be fixed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our internet service is provided to our customers for web browsing and email. Attempting to run your business using our internet is not advisable.
Sep 09, 2013
The facilities were excellent. My only complaint is that there was not a good place to put our tent in our site. The site was covered in boulders and tree roots. Sleeping on the ground of a tent on top of tree roots and large rocks is NOT comfortable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am really sorry about the roots and stones on your site. We could have moved you to another site had you requested. In the future, please do not hesitate to request a site that better fits your needs. The site you were on is on the list for renovation.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Except for losing water service it was ok

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We had a line break and fixed it as fast and as safely as possible. Our wonderful staff worked overtime and had the repair completed in record time. The water was back on in the park in about an hour. We do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you.
Sep 08, 2013
The problems with the wifi are being addressed. Great quiet location and we will be back

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Indeed! We found two of our repeaters had failed. Check box WIFI systems has been very helpful finding the problem and replaced them. We are now testing out the system and its limits. It is truly a work in progress. Thanks for your patience!
Sep 08, 2013
It's a very nice campground. The pull through site was convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were kept up well. The bathroom was clean and appeared newly updated. They offered many activities at camp. It's really convenient location if you want to explore historical sites, especially related to the Civil War. There are many beautiful natural areas nearby as well.Thanx

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words. There are lots of things to do and see in our beautiful area. Come back when you can stay a while!
Sep 07, 2013
One of my favorite campgrounds. Staff is very acommodating and goes out of their way to be helpful. Campground is squeaky clean and fireworks were great. Already made reservations for next year. This is a very peaceful place to stay and enjoy a lovely view of the mountains.
Sep 06, 2013
Very relaxing weekend
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
This is my first stay at the KOA at Harrisonburg/Shenandoah Valley. Visiting the campground with my daughter and three-year old grandson was a wonderful experience. The staff at the campground were so very helpful!! The pool and playground were a hit. However, I do believe that chasing the chickens, climbing the rocks and nightly campfires were the highlights of the 3 year olds vacation!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so happy to be a part of your childs happy memories camping in the woods! That is why we are here! We strive to provide a safe, comfortable, clean place for families to enjoy a natural environment. Thank you very much for the kind words!
Sep 05, 2013
The entire facility was clean, well organized, and controlled despite being filled to capacity. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Overall this KOA exceeded my expectations.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words. Holidays truly do fill our place to capacity. We strive to maintain the same friendly, clean relaxed atmosphere whether filled or sparsely populated. Thanks for noticing and for the kind words.
Sep 05, 2013
The staff was very friendly. There were plenty of activities for the kids and the campground was well maintained.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words. And, thanks for noticing the grounds. We work hard keeping the area clean and well maintained to provide a peaceful and comfortable place for you to enjoy.
Sep 04, 2013
very relaxing and enjoyable
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
The pool was not heated as advertised and the pond was not stocked. The park overall did not seem kid friendly and you were made to feel like your every move was being watched. The sites were not level side to side or front to back and there were a lot of stumps cutoff six inches from the ground that we were constantly tripping over at our site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The pool is kept at 80 degrees. Our pond has Blue Gill, Crappie, Catfish, Bass, Sunnies, Minnows, and one very large Carp. During your stay: free minigolf, pingpong, pool table, airhockey, juggling class, facepaint, tiedye, movie & fireworks. Also, for a small fee: crafts, pancakes & ice cream.
Sep 04, 2013
I had a great time!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You looked like you were having a great time! Glad we had a site for you! Come back soon. Monica
Sep 04, 2013
There was a barking dog that woke me up when it was still dark Saturday morning. The barking continued for what seemed like an hour or so. The campsites were VERY close together. There was very little privacy. We heard every conversation of the family next door and their two small children. Perhaps it would be a good idea to group similar guests together, so young children who rise early do

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

During holiday weekends we do fill every site on the campground and privacy can be at a premium when your neighbors speak loudly or have active children. Our tent sites are tucked into the woods and have lots of trees. Had we been made aware of the barking dog we would have spoken to the owners.
Sep 04, 2013
Loved this campground! We had a great site and the staff were excellent. Thanks for an wonderful weekend!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the kind words. I hope the dogs enjoyed their stay, also!
Sep 04, 2013
The staff at Shenandoah KOA were especially nice, superior, helpful and generous with our specific needs. They were willing to go that extra mile to please us. I HIGHLY recommend this campground to any and all that ask.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your family is so nice. Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sep 04, 2013
The staff were all very friendly and helpful! There were tons of activities to keep the kids busy. Bathrooms were always clean and the fishing pond and mini golf were a great addition to our weekend! Will definitely be staying here again very soon! Wifi is not great, but hey you are camping!!! Put your phone down!! LOL

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

LOL! Thank you!
Sep 03, 2013
very nice and peaceful
Sep 03, 2013
This was the first time we have stayed at a commercial campground. I was a little apprehensive about how the campsites would be. This campground blew away all my fears. The sites were a good size and very wooded. There was plenty of room, the staff was extremely helpful and cheerful. We loved our stay and will be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you came out to see us. Thank you for the kind comments!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We had a good camping experience. Our biggest disappointment was the firewood we were required to buy was wet making it very difficult to burn and 18 small pieces for $10 caused us to change our menu plans to fit in our vacation budget. The staff was pleasant and accommodating.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I hope you informed the staff of the wet wood. It is our policy to swap out wet wood for twice the amount of dry. Sadly, we have had an unbelievably wet summer. The firewood is stored outside under cover but still seems to soak up moisture.
Sep 03, 2013
Wet firewood at an unreasonable high price

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have had an unbelievably wet summer. I hope you informed the staff of the wet wood and they should have swapped it out for dry!
Sep 03, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.