Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 18, 2015
Overcrowded, tight site campground, trashy overall, dirty pool and restrooms, mini-golf is broken, worn out and disgusting, no enforcement of quiet time, no enforcement of encroachment by neighbor's slide out + bad placement of fire rings = no campfire. Will not come again, will strongly recommend to avoid.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our record indicate that you stayed on site 12. This is a very large back-in site with plenty of room for a campfire. This site is requested and guaranteed often. We are sorry it did not accommodate your camping needs.
Aug 18, 2015
We made certain that we chose a site close to the bathhouse, we paid an extra $20 so we could name our site, and on Friday night the hot water wasn't working. The problem was never resolved during our stay. They also seemed to be short staffed since half the time the kids couldn't play on the water slide or bounce pillow. Very disappointed!
Aug 18, 2015
I give this three stars because of the bathroom and the pool. The restroom need to be cleaned several times a day. There were hair everywhere. The pool was cloudy and the pool lining were loose, it was uncomfortable.
Aug 18, 2015
My daughter and I spent two nights here. The staff was extremely friendly. I was impressed with how cean the comfort station was. I would highly recommend Harpers Ferry KOA to my greetings and family.
Aug 18, 2015
We where traveling and needed a place for night our gps brought us to the campground and it was a pleasant stay with a lovely pancake breakfast to get us started our way thank you for a restful night all staff was wonderful
Aug 17, 2015
very nice people and a clean campground. they are always willing to help. a lot of activities to keep everybody happy.
Aug 17, 2015
This is one of my favorite campgrounds. We usually stay here once a season. Little disappointed there was not bingo the weekend we were here.
Aug 17, 2015
We have Camped at the Harpers Ferry KOA for the last 3 years with our family. Each year we have enjoyed relaxing at our camp site and the kids enjoy the many activities offered. We have been disappointed in the upkeep of the campground - mini golf course greens torn and boards rotten, roads and some sites washed out. Please take pride in your campground and make some necessary repairs.
Aug 17, 2015
We were very pleased with the site and amenities; however the site was a little too close for comfort to other RVs. The Store was awesome, one of the best we've seen!
Aug 17, 2015
We did NOT like being packed into our camping space like sardines. This KOA is way TOO crowded. We did not enjoy the "trailer park" feel. The activities were great for the children but the spacing of the campers ruined the chances of us returning.
Aug 17, 2015
We enjoyed our stay with KOA. The pool and commons areas were above standard, and we loved the pancake breakfast. Check-in was fast and easy. It is a perfect location to River Riders and to the downtown. The sites themselves were tight and not very level. The bathroom and shower near the laundry really needs some cleaning and update. The laundry room was huge!
Aug 17, 2015
Sites are close together. Mainly no hot water for two days at the showers at main office. Bathrooms were not kept up very well.
Aug 17, 2015
I like the campground, but don't know why you have to charge for pets. The people that work there are all friendly. Again didn't understand the resort fee of $16, as they didn't tell me about it or explain it.
Aug 17, 2015
Camp site was dirty, pervious campers moved the fire ring around numerous times. The sites was a ash pile and the grass that was there wasn't mowed. KOA's are nicer then what we were presented with. Extremely disappointed
Aug 17, 2015
Great campground. Great site. Free pancake breakfast is a real treat. Sides like savage and coffee really inexpensive but you can easily bring your own coffee. Will be back!
Aug 17, 2015
Nice campground, only complaint would be the roads are a little tight for larger trailers. We had a great time and will be back!
Aug 17, 2015
We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back!
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Great weekend stay.we hope to return in the fall. Plenty of things to do and see at the campground and local area.
Aug 17, 2015
the stay was good and the free pancakes were great. The only problem I had was not being able to use the wifi and the pool was not open one day.
Aug 17, 2015
Your campground is really nice , you are way over price though , Children under 12 should be free and should let people know you are charging extra for kids and what is resort fee's ... Once again I won't be back you are way over priced !!!!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that our pricing structure does not accommodate your camping expectations.
Aug 16, 2015
No shade in pull thru section. Tried calling for 2 days prior to arrival with no luck in someone answering or emailing us back. Upon arrival witnessed the phone ringing off the hook while 2 employees held a conversation with each other. They only answered it after I made the comment to a friend that I understand now why we couldn't get thru. Other than that campground was great.
Aug 16, 2015
Everything was great about our stay except one thing I just can't let go. We called the campground and emailed them for 3 days and could never talk to a person. We called mornings, middays and evenings with no luck. When we were there and in the campstore we heard phones ringing and watched several employees engaged in conversations and never touched the phones. Stay was excellent other then that.
Aug 16, 2015
A lot of kids activities scheduled, but kids came back disappointed that they we're so disorganized. Campground was very crowded. Staff did not seem to understand where they we're putting us. Now that we've seen battlefields, we don't need to return to visit. Not a destination.
Aug 16, 2015
Very nice park. So glad they had a fenced in dog area.
Aug 16, 2015
We think you have a great Campground. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi was a waste of time. Super slow with a strong signal.I would be willing to pay Tengo if it worked. I like to use the internet on my vacation along with the local attractions. The free pancakes were great. This was our second year at your RESORT ($8.00 per person per day resort fee).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you had trouble with the WiFi. We have an excellent system (Tengo), but unfortunately with every camper using it, the bandwidth provided to our area cannot keep up. The resort fee is $8 per site per day. We look forward to seeing you again.
Aug 15, 2015
Camp store over priced. Camp sites with patio not level.
Aug 14, 2015
Site reservation was wrong, Wi-Fi internet connection failed 4 days before departure, guessing it needed to be reset, mentioned to office.
Aug 14, 2015
We loved the campground!!! The staff was most helpful, professional and courteous. There were great activities for all. The pool was wonderful. My husband even got to fire the Canon and I got to ring the bell. We definitely want to return again.
Aug 14, 2015
First time staying and we had fun. We will be back soon
Aug 14, 2015
although we enjoyed the central location, we were disapointed in the internet being down for all 5 days of our stay and the pool having to be closed for an entire day due to broken glass having been found in the pool. Our site, although a pull through, was not large enough for us to park our tow vehicle on the site. overall, we enjoyed our stay but would request a larger site.
Aug 14, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. The camp store was awesome! Slightly disappointed with the premium pull through sites. They were very small and the roadways were a bit tight for a big rig. Luckily the sites across from us were empty when we pulled out, otherwise it would have been difficult maneuvering our 40" 5th wheel safely. The sites on the ends of the rows would be OK for larger rigs though.
Aug 14, 2015
Asked for nice quiet site. Given site within a stones throw of main office. So small, firepit was next to street Asked for another site clerk was very rude Assigned site between 2 other campers. More remote sites clearly available. Neighbors partied til at least 2am. Had to turn on a/c to drown them out. Also had to ask neighbors to move truck it was parked on our site. Poor campground management
Aug 13, 2015
Everyone of the staff was helpful and extremely friendly.
Aug 12, 2015
would consider 5 star rating except for: WiFi not working, a real problem for us too many washer/dryer out of service
Aug 11, 2015
Great location, nice pool. Huge camp store with anything you need. Excellent laundry facility.
Aug 11, 2015
Great time as always. Bingo was lot of fun. I continue to make the comment fix the greens on the put put golf course. I has been an issue for year.
Aug 11, 2015
Family friendly KOA. Everyone was very nice. Cabin A.C. not so good.Had some portable unit in the middle of our cabin like a construction sight. Water in shower not so good. Not very hot and only for about 3 minutes. Otherwise, loved our time there!!!
Aug 11, 2015
Too crowded too be very enjoyable. Cold showers on Sat night and Sunday morning. Check in staff efficient but not friendly at all.
Aug 11, 2015
Great fun for the kids, lots of activities! Our site was spacious though some of the pull throughs looked tight. Bathrooms were as clean as can be expected for a campground. Location was perfect and the staff was pleasant. We would definitely go back, the kids were begging to stay.
Aug 11, 2015
Awesome Campground! Plenty to do! Staff is extremely friendly! Sites are reasonable size! Clean! We will be back!!!
Aug 11, 2015
Nice and clean, lots of things to do for adults and children. Nice and quiet and friendly too.
Aug 11, 2015
Nice pool and kiddie pool. New water slide looked fun-did not try, however. No wifi, golf course needs major work. Still had to pay full activity fee.
Aug 11, 2015
The Harper's Ferry KOA was overall very nice. The store was well stocked (but very pricey) and most of the camp was clean.
Aug 11, 2015
My wife and I had a great time!
Aug 11, 2015
very close to Harpers Ferry and its all attractions. big pool, store, etc and very real resort like setting. however, the sites are close to each other.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Lots to do for the whole family at this KOA. Disappointed with the road conditions and site conditions. Never did get our 31ft class C leveled because we ran out of leveling blocks. Our sites were in desperate need of fresh gravel to cover up the tree roots. Our 4 year old face planted in the gravel because he couldn't see the roots at night.
Aug 10, 2015
A variety of activities for all ages. I agree with charging a resort fee due to all of the activities. I do not think charging per person, per night beyond two people is family friendly. That is costly for a family of eight, they should not be charged for 6 extra people per night.A suggestion might be to increase the resort fee to $10 instead of extra charges.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps