Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

May 27, 2015
Poor management and designs of sites. Due to lack of paths, I had a non stop flow of people cutting through my site to go to the bathroom, pool etc... As for the management of sites. Huge RV's on very small sites and small RV's on huge sites. To say that the roadway was blocked at times due to many vehicles. Too many tents and shelters on sites did not help either.
May 27, 2015
first time in the area and this KOA is located in the perfect location for Harpers Ferry. great store and friendly staff.
May 27, 2015
Great campground. Friendly, clean, and plenty to do. Loved the pool and jumperoo. Grand kids had a ball. Hope to be back for a 3rd time this summer.
May 26, 2015
Cable did not work Hate the reservation system. After a wonderful restfull weekend have to get up early to stand in line to make sure you can get your same site. You should be able to reserve your site up until noon on Monday
May 26, 2015
Great amenities and location. Plot sizes run a little small and the bathrooms could use two cleanings a day, but we otherwise found it to be a great campground with friendly staff and fun activities.
May 26, 2015
fix all the greens in the put put area
May 26, 2015
The campground is really clean and the staff is helpful. Love the wine tastings and activities for the kids. Unfortunately the knats were really bad for some reason, but we will return.
May 26, 2015
Everything was great ,bathrooms were clean and the staff was awesome
May 26, 2015
Awesome time! Everybody was friendly. A lot to do. Only thing that could change is they need a life guard there to many people in pool
May 26, 2015
Our stay was great! We definitely will come back. Pool was very nice, lots to do. Very clean bath house. Thank you Harpers FerryKOA
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Awesome campground! Clean and friendly! Can't wait to go back!
May 26, 2015
Sites are small. My site was full of nails left over from previous fire ring movements. Staff came out a picked up approximately 2 lbs plus I still found more all through the weekend. Fire rings should be placed permanently to prevent this.
May 26, 2015
The campground was awesome!!!! Loved all of the different things that you had for the kids. We will be back many , many times
May 26, 2015
Change the process for reservations for next year stays. They make me stand in line for more than one hour to reserve my desired site for next year at 6am in the morning. Inconvenient and inconsiderate. Jessica's attitude towards the process or discussing it is unprofessional. I have been told this is it and tough. Give the camper until Sunday to reserve the same sight for one year.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Reservations are first come, first serve. Everyone has the same opportunity to reserve a site. Once the calendar is open there is no way to guarantee a site's availability. Extending special privileges to one camper would be unprofessional. Your fellow campers appreciate your cooperation. Thank you.
May 26, 2015
Grass needed cutting. Don't agree with registration policy seem to be unfair if you like the site you have been getting and someone else can be in line first and get the site. You resort is over rated and the cost is to much for the condition of the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our grass is mowed on a weekly schedule. Reservations are first come, first serve. We are glad you have made reservations for next Memorial Day Weekend. We will see you in 2016. Thank you.
May 26, 2015
I love the campground but was very disappointed that since I registered online, they would not honor my site request. I called and spoke to someone to be listed as a VIK but was bumped to a random site. Then, when I arrived, I was put in a third site. They also told me at the gate "you are no longer a VIK and won't get wood or a table cloth". How rude!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, when making reservations online you are not able to request/guarantee ($20) a specific site. You did leave a note asking for a specific site that was not available. It was booked and guaranteed a year in advanced by another camper. We honored your reservations as it was reserved.
May 25, 2015
Employees friendly, place clean, But campsites 42, 43, 44 much too close. 1 little tree, mostly sun. sitti9ng at my picnic table, i could reach out & nearly touch the next campers septic. our friends had a 40 ft 5th wheel. all campsites were suppose to be long enough for each camper & vehicle. It was not.land t v much better reception that cable. putt putt holes # 6 & 7 dangerous. The full timerso
May 25, 2015
Love the campground and the staff..only issue was having to kennel our dog, a 1.5 year old Doberman, because he was not allowed but there were all sorts of other dogs throughout the park - big and small:(
May 23, 2015
The staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
May 23, 2015
The staff at the campground were very friendly and the bath houses were clean. The sites in the woods could use some stones. You can tell they have not added stones for a few years.
May 23, 2015
THIS CAMPGROUND WAS NOT AT ALL THE PICTURES SHOW THE SITS WERE TO SMALL FOR MY TRAILER UNLIKE WHAT WE WERE TOLD THE MINATURE GOLF COURSE WAS AS DISGRACE 1 HOLE WAS MISSING OTHERS WERE FALLING APART I WOULD NOT GO BACK TO THIS ONE,OR RECOMMEND THIS CAMPGROUNDTO OTHERS
May 22, 2015
May 21, 2015
I feel that the money charged per night for this KOA is too high. It's like airlines charging for checked luggage: extra pet fees, resort fees when it wasn't even ready for resort season, cramped sites, lots of litter everywhere, and very poor cable connectivity (admittedly so for those of us "on the hill"), and the paved roads were miserable. We stayed here to be close to relatives. Never again
May 21, 2015
Had great time there.
May 21, 2015
Had a water/elec site for my tent and it was a good size. On arrival, had no picnic table. Mentioned it to two woman on staff and they assured me they would take care of it. After 50 minutes, no table. Alan stopped by my site with a load of wood and a tablecloth. I told him I'd really like a table and he had it at my sight in 15 minutes. Thanks, Alan. Clean restrooms. Camp store pricey.
May 21, 2015
All the golf carts running around no one could lead us to our site when we arrived. That would have been very helpful.
May 21, 2015
VERY tight and crowded campground. We might go back because our son liked the game room and pool. But would hate to be there when it is full.
May 20, 2015
We have stayed several times now. This trip we did not like our site the sewer and electric from the site in front of us was right in the middle of our site. I went to the camp office and let them know I was not very happy with the site. They were very helpful and helped us find a new site to move to. I really appreciated the kindness of the staff. We had a great stay and love the amenities.
May 20, 2015
Laundry was a disaster zone. Over half of all machines are out of service and one dryer not flagged as defective ruined $100 of blankets and mattress covers. What a dump... I am left with the impression that ownership / management is trying to get the last dollars from their sinking ship. Also was left with the impression from the number of defective machines, there was no value in complaining
May 19, 2015
Well this is a tough one to rate . the site we stayed in was in very poor condition. the site was uneven to about 2 inches per foot in all directions. The picnic table was badly bug ridden and rotted.. other parts of the campground were in somewhat better condition, but this side of it was poor. Sad to see since most KOA adhere to a much higher standard . The office staff was great and polite..
May 19, 2015
While checking in we were asked about pets. We answered honestly stating that we had a Rottie and an English Bulldog. We were told that we were not allowed to have the Rottie but they were not turning away our business and proceeded to let us into the park. Then the proceeding day we were sternly spoken too about our dog for no reason other than bc of his breed. This is contradictory/unnecessary.
May 19, 2015
Lots of noise-our site was next to the main asphalt lot. Next to us were party-city sites and noisy. A long term stay site next to us was very trashy looking, tall grass, junky, dirty. Disappointing stay.
May 18, 2015
We had a great time. Loved the breakfast. Check out was a little early for us.
May 18, 2015
Had a great stay, staff was friendly and helpful, campground clean and well maintained, our site (159) was a little too close to site 158, next time we'll request a different site
May 18, 2015
May 18, 2015
Even though it rained we had a great time!
May 18, 2015
Everything was very nice. Would be nice if the check out time could be 12:00.
May 18, 2015
We have camped at your campground several times and will continue to do so. We had a problem with our TV reception and the maintenance man was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
May 18, 2015
We always stay at our favorite site . (Lot 12 to be exact). Staff is always warm and friendly. Haven't had a complaint in 3 years of camping with you guys!!!!
May 17, 2015
We stayed over the Mothers Day weekend 2015. Although we had a great time, I was surprised there were no activities geared towards or showing appreciation for Moms....Also, the grass and dandelions were very tall. Grass seriously needed to be mowed. It was very tall. Other than that, we had a great stay.
May 17, 2015
The staff was wonderful. It was a clean campground.
May 15, 2015
much too pricey....cable below average
May 15, 2015
A friendly site perfectly situated to learn more about the history of the United States.. Thank you..
May 14, 2015
May 14, 2015
We enjoyed out stay for the most part - pancakes and lots of activities were great. What we did not like is that there were too many campers crammed into the campground. This was especially evident in the evening when all the campfires were going... the smoke was too much. I would also suggest informing campers that the loud noise from the cannons can be very scary to the dogs
May 13, 2015
May 13, 2015
My favorite campground! The staff is always hepful and polite. I have referred several friens.
May 12, 2015
What's not to love about this place?! Our friends were able to camp in the site next door. Great auction items! Well stocked camp store :-)
May 12, 2015
Wish the activities were not extra $$... most seemed not worth price paid

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.