Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 21, 2017
We have stayed at Harpers Ferry KOA many times. There are some infrastructure problems, and maintenance issues. All showerheads in the bathrooms across from playground need replacing. The spray felt as though pins & needles were hitting me. Surrounds need replaced. Two of the newer women's toilets wobbled. Some toilets did not flush at all. One of the men's toilets was indescribably dirty.
Aug 21, 2017
Grass needs to be mowed. Too many roots and stumps sticking up. Hard to walk around.
Aug 21, 2017
You pack us campers in too much. We are all on top of each other. People behind us were right up against our bedroom and they talked all night!!!! Way too close to each other
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Since you can't pick a specific site when making reservations like other campgrounds, we were assigned Site 186. The TT was backed up tight to the sewer hook-up on the left side and the open canopy on the right side was over the sewer hook-up for site 187. Nothing like having a picnic table set 6 feet from a sewer hook-up. Site 186 shouldn't exist.
Aug 21, 2017
The only problem we had was we were almost set up and realized we didn't have cable when we were told there was cable. Move and the next site didn't have it either so we had to move again. But all is good because that site was better anyway.
Aug 21, 2017
Enjoyed the time there. The campground and employees were just wonderful. The area is rich in history and many things to see. If the camp site had been level it would have been perfect. Thank you and the staff for everything.
Aug 21, 2017
Sites are small and on bad Hills. Needs a lot of work on sites and roads. As well as too many folks in for this Campground. Way too many people. We were there a week and for 400.00 we should have got a better site. Not one that puts our camper up in air. Very unsafe.
Aug 21, 2017
The campsites are not level big roots sticking up when it rains it's nothing but mud. For the price of camping there you would think you could afford some gravel for the campsites. And when you call to reserve a site nobody answers the phone
Aug 21, 2017
The location of this KOA is great. We took advantage of the proximity to the National Park by walking everywhere or taking the shuttle. The campground is large and has lots of diverse activities. There are very few comfort stations for the size. I was in a very bad RV site. As far as I could tell it was among the worst sites there while flatter ones were still available. I was disappointed.
Aug 19, 2017
We have stayed here before and loved it but this year was a bit of a disappointment. The pool was green the whole week and gnats were awful. There didn't seem to be a lot of activities for the kids this year and the ones they did have, the employees didn't seem very enthusiastic to do. Had to go and find employees to remind them to start an activity. We question whether we will return or not.
Aug 19, 2017
Came with a 5& 7 year old who couldn't wait to bounce. Seems like we had to constantly ask for an attendant. On 1 occasion my 7YO was told it might rain. It had rained earlier & the sky was clear & maybe it would be open later. We paid activity fees & part of the time couldn't participate in our chosen activity Also the pool smelled & you couldn't even see the bottom Not what I expected frm KOA
Aug 18, 2017
Cable needs to be on every site if its part of the resort fee then either we have it or get a site with it. Nice pool area and the event staff does some good stuff. Cant beat the price of those pancakes!
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
While in need of some repair, the showers were clean. Bathrooms were clean. Pancake breakfast was a nice touch. Folks in the store were helpful and the store carried necessities. We enjoyed our stay tent camping with water and electricity.
Aug 18, 2017
Great time, as always..staff, property wonderful!
Aug 18, 2017
Needs lots of work to bring it up to a standard justifying almost $80/night.
Aug 18, 2017
We enjoyed our first 2 nights so, we extended our stay for a 3rd night! The area has so much to offer as far as recreation for the family! At the campground we enjoyed the pool, mini golf, biking, and the free pancakes each morning. The only disappointment was the firewood we bought at the camp store would not light for us no matter what, and we didn't want to spend more money on lighter fluid.
Aug 18, 2017
We went mid August and found the campground to be fairly empty. It was nice and quiet. We stayed on a tent site. Ours was fine, but I noticed others were pretty small. The cabins looked nice. The pull through sites were pretty small also, and there weren't many trees. The amenities were nice (usual KOA). It was very convenient to many local attractions.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Very nice campground but pull thru sites very tight and crowed.
Aug 17, 2017
Needs a Van Tour to DC. Long trip.
Aug 17, 2017
Nice Campground. Staff was helpful. Very convenient to the Battlefield and to Harpers Ferry.
Aug 16, 2017
Great had a lot of fun
Aug 16, 2017
Very nice stay, staff is very friendly. Sites are close and tight to maneuver but overall very nice.
Aug 16, 2017
We were to!d we'd have a patio site for our Motorhome. they had to go look and see if there was one. Someone was parked in a patio that wasn't suppose to be. No one asked them to move. They stuck us in another site wð/ patio and we couldn't get in it and it wasn't level at all. 2 more after that b4 we got park People breaking rules..dogs, trucks all over the place, could hardly drive on lan
Aug 16, 2017
Fine.
Aug 16, 2017
I love it out there, Staff very friendly. But I would love to see more activities for Adults, like a music, dance, comedy or bands at night.
Aug 16, 2017
Plenty to do at the campground and in the surrounding area!
Aug 16, 2017
Way too expensive compared to other KOAs. Extra charge for guests is ridiculous. Told reason was this is a resort. NO IT ISN'T. I have stayed at way better KOA (San Diego) that offers same at a way better price and has a lot more to offer. Only wristbands are for extras not all amenities like this KOA. Saw others using facilities w/o wristbands and no one stopped them. Charge for cable

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Each KOA is individually owned and operated. Prices are based on amenities, access, location, and region. We do not charge for cable. We are very familiar with the San Diego KOA and think they are great also!
Aug 16, 2017
Wood was green and wet. Single shower was dirty. Pancake breakfast....well $2.00 for a cup of coffee! Really. For what it cost to stay here wood should be dry and not green and coffee should be free.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that wood you purchased was not to your liking. We do offer free pancakes everyday in the summer, and additional items are for sale. We feel that $2 is a nominal, standard fee for coffee at any retail store or restaurant.
Aug 15, 2017
My favorite KOA. Only suggestion would be to clear up the pool. It has not been clear the last two times we have stayed.
Aug 15, 2017
very nice
Aug 15, 2017
The stay was awesome, we plan to camp approx. 5-6 more weekends before the end of the season and could really see us spending the majority of them here except for one thing, football season is right around the corner and the cable service we had was terrible. of all of the channels maybe 2 came in and the rest were "snowy". Is this something that will be addressed?
Aug 14, 2017
this is one of the most friendly campgrounds we go to.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
The only issue we had was the sewer hookup. We were in site 152, and it looked as though they had just put new sewer in. However, it was at the very front of our camper... We did not have a long enough sewer hose, so we couldn't hook up. Our camper is 33 feet, and the sewer connection on the camper is closer to the back of the camper. You will need a long sewer hose for site 152! :-)
Aug 14, 2017
Other than the sites being small/narrow, our stay was nice. The price for a site so narrow was a bit much. We loved the pancake breakfast!
Aug 14, 2017
We loved the convenience to everything. Our camp site was located in a nice spot.
Aug 14, 2017
We loved it!! Very helpful staff including the guy nicknamed Bat Man lol!
Aug 14, 2017
Lots of good activities however, the showers and bathrooms need attention!!! Spiderwebs and pealing tiles. Mini golf course is completely unsafe, there is rotting wood under the greens. Pool water was cloudy. For as much as we paid extra to take kids there, these things should be updated and clean!!!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Had alot of activities planned for the weekend to keep everyone entertained. Pretty cool. Mini golf course could be improved though.
Aug 14, 2017
The campground is very nice and the spot where we were was nice and level, so that was great. Lots of things to do at the campground and a great camp store. The cable connection was the worst part of the stay--very few channels and very fuzzy.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
The employees are very friendly and helpful. Overall alot of activities and things to do. The only negative about the campground is some of the pull through sites need to have some trees cut down, luckily my neighbor was able to help me out as the trees made it very challenging. We tried to do the 1000 walking tour but the guide never showed up. I'll definitely be back.
Aug 14, 2017
We loved the campground, however, the site that was given us for our 39 foot 5th wheel was too small (Site #28) on an end of a row. There was no place to park our vehicle except on grass. The site was also extremely muddy with a lot of standing water (prior to rain falling) and much worse after the rain storms.. Such that we couldn't get in and out of our front door. Proper drainage is needed
Aug 14, 2017
By far the worst campground I 've stayed at. The showers were horrible, mold in the corners, smelly one smelled like a dog had bathed in it, and very outdated. I didnt let my kids shower in them. Maintenance staff was rude. Playground was not little kid friendly. Sites were super tight and cramped. Blacktop in need of repair. Sites markers were hard to understand. Will not return ever.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals