Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 03, 2017
Sites are extremely unlevel with roads have potholes throughout the park. Drainage is terrible with water and mud accumulating around our unit. Very poorly kept

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our sites follow the natural geography of our area. Some sites are more level than others. The geology of the land plays a large part in the drainage of the campground. Most of the campground is on shale rock, which does not absorb water, but since we are above the river, the water runs off quickly.
Mar 31, 2017
I'm glad they told me at the desk about the path that lead to the White Horse Saloon. We went there twice.
Mar 30, 2017
Very nice campground. Office staff/workers were very friendly. Sites are close together like most KOAs.
Mar 30, 2017
It was very enjoyable and the staff were very friendly and helpful!
Mar 29, 2017
Mar 29, 2017
Excellent location for Harpers Ferry National Park. We walked to Harpers Ferry from the campground. It was great. Many amenities were not available yet (March 23-26) but the store is nice with a lot to offer. The site we stayed in was very roomy and it's a fairly large campground but I can imagine if would be crowded feeling in the height of the season.
Mar 29, 2017
Sites were under water and when we finally got cable we only had a couple channels the rest of the channels you could not see but location is good if you like to hike thier are some good trails near by

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that the rain effected your stay. We hope you'll try us again when there is better weather!
Mar 28, 2017
This was our very first camping trip in our new Travel Trailer. We had a nice time. I wish there were a bit more activities for my kids but I know it was early in the season.the site we got was nice and the guys working the desk were flexible to move us do to mud and water and were very friendly. It was quiet and peaceful. We really enjoyed it and will be back again.
Mar 28, 2017
This was an early spring visit. We had a full hook-up 30 amp pull through site for our 30 foot trailer. The site was rather short for the truck and the trailer and quite muddy. There was very little gravel on the site which led to it being muddy. The staff explained that they had had some issues with reconstruction. We would return again but get a better site
Mar 28, 2017
Mar 28, 2017
My family and I enjoyed our trip...it was a very nice campground and we will be back again.
Mar 28, 2017
Had a great time, as we always do
Mar 28, 2017
Nice and quiet. Good sized sites. Cable didn't work very well.
Mar 27, 2017
The staff was friendly. Plenty of activities for the kids. Bathrooms though were dirty. The RV sites were small. Loved the movie theater and camp store. Pool was not open at time but the kids really wanted to swim in it. Kids loved the arcade and indoor basketball court. Great weekend getaway!
Mar 22, 2017
Mar 21, 2017
Staff was super friendly as always, love love KOA!
Mar 21, 2017
Nice, friendly and close to fun
Mar 21, 2017
Mar 07, 2017
We loved it and will book another stay there in the near future!
Mar 03, 2017
Nice place to stay. Even has an authentic Civil War trench on site!
Mar 01, 2017
Great facility
Feb 28, 2017
Some of the long term guests would play loud music and talk/yell at the top of their lungs well past the 10pm quite time during the week!!! Enforce the quite times and I would give it 5 stars!!!!
Feb 28, 2017
It was nice. Sites are very close to each other though.
Feb 21, 2017
it was good to see the KOA updating their grounds but it made it a little crowded feeling to have everyone in such close proximity.
Feb 20, 2017
The amenities at KOA are like something we have never seen before: Perfectly working WiFi HUGE laundry room Large & clean showers & bathrooms Dog park Gym Theater Arcade Mini golf Besides all the wonderful amenities & the friendliness of all staff members, the location is Incredible. Harpers Ferry National Historical Park, River Riders, Maryland Heights & Lower Town are all a few miles a
Feb 20, 2017
Feb 20, 2017
When I arrived the young man who checked me in was so helpful. He got the best site at the best rate. He also helped me with the cable connection.
Feb 15, 2017
Lots of construction. Short sites for larger units, and super tight turns. Geared for spring/summer/fall campers. Super friendly staff!
Feb 01, 2017
I was charged twice as much as any other KOA to stay here, why is that? Scamming tourists? There was only 1 toilet and 1 shower they were both horrible, disgusting and dirty. This was the worst out of a few KOA's we stayed at.. will stay at any other campground besides KOA for the rest of the trip.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our records indicate that you paid for your reservation in full, online in November, our rates are posted and the same for all visitors. The shower house has men's and women's toilets, and 10 separate showers. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Jan 24, 2017
Jan 18, 2017
we just got a new travel trailer and we wanted to try it out and the weekend was great and the KOA people were great and so was the location.
Jan 04, 2017
Horrible, very run down I was suppose to stay 2 nights but left early as it was not what pictures looked like!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, during the winter months, the campground is bare and cold. It is a much different atmosphere than our bustling busy summers. We are open for basic camping during the winter months.
Jan 02, 2017
$53/night is far too much to pay for a campground off season when the seasonal amenities are closed. Our camping spot was basically in the parking lot of the office. We were woken to construction outside of our RV. The showers were DISGUSTING. We stayed at 2 state parks and 1 privately owned campground during this trip and the KOA was the most expensive as well as the most disappointing and DIRTY.
Dec 23, 2016
Beautiful location and really nice staff. A great place to stay.
Dec 06, 2016
Nice location in Harper's Ferry. Our motorhome would not start and someone from KOA helped us out and we were soon on the road. Thanks!
Dec 05, 2016
Dec 05, 2016
Great place to stay. Will be back.
Dec 05, 2016
I've been to this KOA probably 10 times and this stay was definitely the worst of the 10. This was all due to the site itself, which wasn't level in either its width or length. It required several adjustments and 3 level of risers on the passenger side to get things level. The sewer was uphill and the sites seem to get thinner every time.
Dec 01, 2016
Very quiet this time of year. We loved It!
Nov 30, 2016
Would like to see fewer loud parties til midnight and beyond. Ron and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Will be back soon. Thanks
Nov 30, 2016
Our site was booked in the summer. We get there and were moved to "The Concrete High Rent District". We were not pleased. Then we find out the owners of KOA did not renew the Civil War Museum lease!! I had 2,teens with us who were very disappointed. Not even the original trenches anymore. Oh, you better change the name of this KOA. NOTHING SAYS CIVIL WAR BATTLEFIELDS any more.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your site. Unfortunately, the water to the back of the campground is turned off during this time, only the front is open. Our original Civil War trench is intact and has several placards describing the history.
Nov 28, 2016
We stayed one night on our way home to Western NY, seems to be a extremely popular campground even during the off season. Many RV's, Trailers and Tent campers. Facilities were very clean and heated. Very nice camp store for the items you may have forgotten. People that work there are very friendly and helpful. Great place for a history lesson. Many things to do. Definitely a place to return to
Nov 28, 2016
We had a great experience at Harpers Ferry KOA and would definitely go back.
Nov 28, 2016
This is second year my group has stayed here. Employees are very friendly. We like it here off season because it's not crowded. Haven't stayed in warmer weather. Showers need a little updating. Other then that we had a wonderful time.
Nov 28, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
The first person I encountered was Judy. I called on a Sunday to make reservations be near our friends and she was curt. She wouldn't tell me what site she was reserving for us. When I asked what the site number was, she said she would have to charge me $20! She wouldn't even tell me the name of the road. She just told me it would be walking distance to my friend's site.i have more tosaybutnoroom.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We reserve site types for guests without specific site numbers. If you would like to guarantee a specific site there is a $20 charge. Our records indicate that you camped next to your friends. Unfortunately are roads are not named, so that information would not have been available either.
Nov 25, 2016
Great location and very accommodating.
Nov 22, 2016
A well situated campground, very close to the National Park visitor center. We stayed off season, so did not have the opportunity to see the campground in full swing with yhe many advertised activities. We did find the staff very friendly and helpful, the bathrooms and showers clean.
Nov 22, 2016
We love this campground. 100% will be back again. So much to do here at this KOA even in the fall.
Nov 22, 2016
The location and proximity to hiking was great! Unfortunately, the campground facilities were not clean. Despite a sign that stated the bathroom was cleaned daily, it definitely was not cleaned or maintained for the three days we were there. There wasn't any soap in the dispenser for three days. The campsites were very close and campers helped each other get into their designated sites.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps