Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Oct 07, 2013
The weather was beautiful & our site very nice, as is always at the WVA KOA. However, we never had wifi access. I brought it to the attention of the office personnel 2x, to no avail. Just disappointed that we paid for a service that we never had the use of:(
Oct 07, 2013
Great location and lots of things to do. Was a bit buggy and I think i found the birthplace of stink bugs. Showers could have been cleaner, but bathrooms were clean and staff was friendly.
Oct 07, 2013
Very nice campground with a great camp store and other activities. The only issue would be the very tight site sizes and closeness of the sites.
Oct 07, 2013
Campground was good. Campsight not so great. Set up a at sight 119 next to pancake pavilion/playground. Kids woke me up early around 7am every morning and kept me up all night screaming and what not after quite hours. Disappointed
Oct 07, 2013
Very clean and friendly. Lots for the kids to do.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
As always this KOA was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oct 07, 2013
Overall, this is a great campground. It is well manicured. I would like maintenance crews to be more diligent about keeping gravel out of the grass in the "horseshoe" area. My biggest complaint is cost. I paid $60/day for full hookups, yet I still get charged a $6/day "activity fee." To top it off, I'm then charged $1/person for a hayride. Why do I get charged for this on top of the activity fee.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
love this place all the kids activities are awesome!!!!
Oct 07, 2013
This camp ground was a complete mob scene. Way too many people crammed into a small area. Very dusty and smokey. Congratulations on a great location please spend some of the money on upgrades and maintance. I liked the Halloween theme and the staff. I will come again but don't want the place to be at near 100% occupancy.
Oct 04, 2013
it seem things have gone down a lot in the last 2 yrs. We have been coming here for 5 yrs and love it.The civil war things are great.The grounds are not being kept up the way they should be.
Oct 04, 2013
Worst KOA ever! Staff is rude and unfriendly. Spaces are like a trailer park...narrow and unlevel. No landscaping & dirty! Then they have the nerve to charge a resort tax! We were warned about this koa but already had reservations..don't make our mistake! Pass up this $$$ rude & dirty koa!
Oct 04, 2013
We've used this KOA many times. The staff is friendly and there is so much to do in the Harpers Ferry area. Some RV sites have been improved but they still aren't as good as they could be. Drainage on some is poor. Trees and the angle to get in and out can be a problem for bigger rigs. Not sure why they could not use my 19,000 Rewards points. Most KOA's ask me if I want to use them.
Oct 03, 2013
The Civil War reenactment was great. Tom and Marsha Wood out did themselves to put on this show. Already made plans for next year.
Oct 03, 2013
Nice campground. Very friendly staff. But the stinkbugs were horrible.
Oct 03, 2013
Beautiful area, great stay!!!
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
We enjoyed our stay and will be back again. One comment: Your checkout time used to be later. 11AM is quite early for campsites.Would be great if it was 12 or 1PM.
Oct 02, 2013
The reason for the low scores is the $6.00 resort fee & $1.50 pet charge per day that is being charged over & above the high price of the camping fee.We do not utilize the amenities that was offered.Free pancakes, yeah right. 6 pancakes cost me $18. We stayed 3 nights with one night being free & I still had to pay resort & pet fee for the free night. What is the pet fee for? KOA's are out for us
Oct 02, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Lots of activities on the weekend, great location for driving to nearby attractions. Nice sites. Really liked the way the bathhouse was set up. Would definitely stay here again.
Oct 02, 2013
First time visit to koa. If all are like this one, I will become a card member.
Oct 02, 2013
Nice park a little high in price compared to other KOA's but close to where we want to visit.
Oct 02, 2013
We found the nitely rate a bit pricey ($60). WeAndvthisbwas after our KOA discount. The campground charged a resort fee that negated our discount. We found that a bit uncategorized. We were there for only one nite on our way back south.
Oct 02, 2013
The site was clean and quiet, woodsy, no grass. Bathrooms pretty clean, took forever to get hot water in the shower. No hooks to hang anything at vanities. Price quite high ($58+) for a 14 foot cargo trailer. Dog area needed grass seed, many dusty bare spots. WORST THING: THE INVASION OF STINKBUGS,indigenous to W.VA. Personally killed hundreds of the little buggers. KOA: do pest control NOW!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Stink bugs were most likely accidentally introduced to eastern Pennsylvania in 1998. Native to Eastern Asia, this insect is predominately an agriculture pest. Insecticides are not recommended as they affect Stink Bugs minimally.
Oct 01, 2013
we had a great time! the property was spotless, sites were good size-easy to manuever in. we stayed during a quiet week last week and appreciated that the campers that were there were spaced out and not lumped together. Friday night many poured in as there were alot of festivities for the weekend. we had to leave Sat. morning and were sad to be missing all that was to be going on!! will be back
Oct 01, 2013
The men's bathroom by the store was not cleaned the first two days we were there. The one further down by the tent section was really clean
Oct 01, 2013
wE JUST WANTED TO GET AWAY. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL WEEKEND IN THE WOODS. QUIET, HELPFUL STAFF, BEAUTIFUL! lOVED HEARING THE CANNON, SEING THE REACTMENT FROM OUR CAMPSITE AND A CAMPFIRE!
Oct 01, 2013
great internet connection, enjoyed the free pancake breakfast
Oct 01, 2013
Bathrooms could have br cleaner. Loved the activities.
Oct 01, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Great place to stay, lots to do
Sep 30, 2013
We go to Harpers Ferry KOA every year. It our favorite campground because of the close location to Harper's Ferry, the friendly staff, cleanliness, and activities (rain or shine). Thanks for being a great campground!!
Sep 30, 2013
Enjoyed very much. Know you don't want to cut trees, but very hard to get larger rigs out of sites, especially when vehicles are parked across from you.
Sep 30, 2013
I love staying at this campground. Staff always friendly & helpful. we always have a great time and have recommended it to friends and family. We look forward to coming back again
Sep 30, 2013
This was our first visit and we were totally happy and impressed with Hapers Ferry KOA! The KOA was clean and the workers were helpful and friendly! We will be back!
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Up grade the cabel.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
The campground was very nice and the town was amazing. Looking forward to coming back again. Had a great time.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Always an extraordinary family experience. My wife, kids and dog all love it. We're already planning our next 2 trips
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Everything was great. The only thing is when you guys are goingo to do re-creation weekends and people are bringing pets..you may want to provide a heads up. Our dogs were really scarred of the cannon booms and we had no idea about the reinactment weekend when we booked our stay. Also, need paper towels in the shower areas for people to be able to clean up hair balls after a shower.
Sep 30, 2013
This was our first visit to this KOA and we had a fantastic time. The staff was friendly and helpful and there were plenty of activities for all ages.
Sep 30, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. We thought our lot and the ones around us were spacious. There were plenty of activities going on that we could participate in. Very fun and friendly staff. The only thing we can think of that may need improving is there needs to be some road names for guidance. As others said, roads were a little tight. Not a big deal though.
Sep 30, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.