Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 22, 2015
The KOA was extremely outfitted with fun kid stuff, however we had to leave because our camp area was Swarming with hundreds to thousands of nats. As I came out if the trailer, they were in my eyes as I would blink and in my nose. I had to pack up and leave immediately. Finished assembling our stuff down by the showers where there was not much issue. Refused to rain check or give partial refund.
Jul 21, 2015
Excellent experience, treated well by all the staff that we had contact with. Very clean and well maintained.
Jul 21, 2015
Fantastic! The staff was incredible! Great (free) pancakes, every day! We'll be back! Wish they had space in Oct.
Jul 21, 2015
Harpers ferry KOA is our favorite campground. We camp there two to three times a year. This is the first time we had our camper out and were having some trouble getting our truck and camper apart. A staff member came by and immediately got us some help. The staff is always very friendly when we visit and we are hoping to visit again soon.
Jul 21, 2015
I loved every bit expect their were a lot of people that walk through our site , we were right across from the pancke hut 143
Jul 21, 2015
the only disappointments were that more than half the games in the game room were broken. Some labeled as such and some not. The games were also incredibly expensive. Some being 1$ per play. a bit much for kids.
Jul 21, 2015
There were many nice amenities, but no cable news (only local news), and some sites were too small in length for camper and vehicle.
Jul 21, 2015
when we checked in computers were rebooting because of power loss, no problem - i was told. day 2 we came back from touring to find that power in our motorhome with our dogs had obviously gone off. told at office, off briefly, "it always comes back on." this is a problem that needs resolution.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that the power went out. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over area wide power outages. We are sorry that the our utility provider, Potomac Edison, did not meet your expectations.
Jul 20, 2015
We always have a fantastic time at this KOA. The staff is friendly and accommodating as is allowed. My largest concern is the price and the fact that when you request a specific site well in advance of your stay a $25 fee is requested to guarantee the site. If I am planning ahead and I give your 2-3 months notice, I should be allowed to pick the site that accommodates me and meets my needs.
Jul 20, 2015
I like the campground. I absolutely do not like the policy of charging me 20.00 to reserve a favorite spot. I go to four or five camgeounds a year and always to at least one new one each year to try and I'm willing to pay half down deposit and I've never encountered the policy your campground has any where else. I think it's ridiculous. I don't know if I'll keep coming there because of this.
Jul 20, 2015
We liked the pancake breakfast and the Civil War Museum.
Jul 20, 2015
Sites are very tight & close....very unlevel & lots of stumps. I don't agree with the resort fee...should only charge if using pool. I feel it needs some maintenance work....the slide is held up by a piece of wood....really. it is a clean campground though.....very friendly staff.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
very good THANK YOU
Jul 20, 2015
Everything was very good - great employees, nice activities, grounds well kept. The only thing I would try to improve is the cleaning schedule of bathrooms. They are thoroughly cleaned once a day and I think if that was bumped to twice it could make a huge difference.
Jul 20, 2015
This is my favorite KOA. It is clean, staff are great, wonderful assortment of activities.
Jul 20, 2015
My family and I had a great time everyone was very nice. pancakes were good.
Jul 20, 2015
I enjoyed the campground very much. I do think some attention needs to be given to the Putt Putt course and an update to HD for the movies. Very nice atmophere and freindly staff.
Jul 20, 2015
Loved it! Had a great time.
Jul 20, 2015
Sights are not level and very small. Fire pits are not placed well in sites (paperwork states, "Do not move fire pits."). Permanent sites are overgrown and many not cated for well.
Jul 20, 2015
everybody very helpful pleasant
Jul 20, 2015
W/E/S Lots too narrow and difficult to level out unit - could not use fire ring because neighbors tip-out was positioned over ring. Had to request escort and not very helpful at a dusk arrival. Sewer hook-up higher than trailer on lot. They probably would have accommodated a location move. BR clean. Good area to sight see.
Jul 20, 2015
Camp ground us well maintained and close to attractions.
Jul 20, 2015
We like this KOA, have stayed here several times and never had an issue. However this last stay there was some sort of water leak up the hill from us. As a result our site was like a swamp
Jul 20, 2015
Everyone was so nice!Loved the pancake breakfast:) Can't wait to go back!!!!
Jul 20, 2015
Family had a great time! Weekend activities were great and facilities clean. Will visit again 😀
Jul 19, 2015
Cable was very poor. As we do not watch Tv while camping but if we choose to watch something channels were snowy and very poor. Purchase new ends and still the same.
Jul 18, 2015
Very friendly workers! The bathrooms could use a little more attention, even right after cleaning, they still weren't very clean. The arcade was also a little pricey compared to other campgrounds. Overall a great place though!!!
Jul 18, 2015
The sites are mostly dirt and rutted. Did not look like anyone picks up trash around the sites. Pool area was very nice. Close to 3 Civil War parks which we liked.
Jul 18, 2015
One of our favorites but still hate paying $8 a day activity fee when all we use is dog park. We already pay $2/dog per day. Just have different color band for those who aren't using activities and charge them less. We have family in area and so only use as home base.
Jul 17, 2015
We knew before we got there that is was chocolate weekend (yummy!), but were surprised to find Civil War reenactors camping on-site. It was fantastic. A few of the "soldiers" sat and talked with us, which was very interesting. Our grandson was so interested in listening and asking questions. THANK YOU, They made quite an impression on that 6 year old!
Jul 15, 2015
I found the campsite okay. However the putt putt golf was in really bad shape. Greens torn, rocks everywhere on course etc. Pool was nice as was camp store. Showers good. Thought the $5 price for small bumper sticker was excessive. Was only $1 at state park just last week for Rocky Gap. Convienence to Harpers Ferry was great. Biked in 1.5 miles.
Jul 14, 2015
Have been coming here for years. Grandchildren always ask to come. Something for all ages. See you next year
Jul 14, 2015
One of the nicest family oriented camp grounds we have been to. There is plenty of things for everyone to enjoy, especially the morning pancakes!!!
Jul 14, 2015
The camp site was more than nice and kept well clean. the entire staff was very helpful.
Jul 14, 2015
Friendly atmosphere, great staff. We enjoyed our staying.
Jul 14, 2015
Very nice campground and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Definitely would recommend this campground.
Jul 14, 2015
One of the best KOA stores I've seen, but the campsites are small and you feel a bit cramped. The cost is also on the high side.
Jul 14, 2015
They gave us the worst site.Right next to the Office,No Fence in between.People cut right in the middle of Our campsite all day and night. One time when My wife and I were sitting out;two people walked one in front and one in back of us and continued talking as if we were not there. I request a new site within min's.of our arrival and again next day to no avail. We left with no refund after 1 day
Jul 13, 2015
Mixed feelings about the campground. The sites were VERY close together. Upon arrival our site had trash (cigarette butts, yellow pieces of hard plastic, and other small pieces of trash) in the gravel/grass area. The registration building and coffee house were in beautiful condition. We did not use any of the other facilities. The location of the KOA was the reason for our stay.
Jul 13, 2015
I see a need for additional lighting around the pool and the major walkways around the campground. Some existing lights are out now! But we had a great time!! Pancakes Wow!!!
Jul 13, 2015
Another great stay as always. Everyone was very friendly and ice. Campground was clean. Activities were fun. Pool was clean. Pancakes were great. Cant say anything bad.
Jul 13, 2015
We booked a camping site with water and power and sadly, was given a RV site so there was no soft grassy areas for our tent. If sites are not equipped for a tent, they should not be sold as a tent site.
Jul 13, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and will be back. We also feel like the campground is in some need of updating, the pool and mini golf really need repair/ updating. The game room could use some help and what about music on Saturday evenings that helps to draw people together.Everyone is friendly so we go back. Just our thoughts
Jul 13, 2015
Good Time had by all!
Jul 13, 2015
Always a great stay. Keep it upStaff!
Jul 13, 2015
Not used to staying at such a busy campground but was a special event weekend. All campers seemed to be very respectful of each other. Great location. Chocolate event and Civil War enactors was a nice touch. We enjoyed the trip. Plenty to do around the area if you like history and trails to walk. Enjoyed by all who went.
Jul 13, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. Great activities for the whole family!Love the pancake breakfast!!!
Jul 13, 2015
It was great I camped with two 3 yr old and a 6 yr old . There was lots of fun things for them to do.
Jul 13, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps