Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 05, 2013
campground was nice.Everyone in our group had a nice time. the extra activities were nice.2 things seemed to bother me. bathhouse seemed to get messed up a lot.thats not your fault its dirty campers.leaving dirty socks & underware in the shower,toilet paper on the floor,someone even left a dump in the showers. try to clean them more .the other a dog barked a lot.maybe put camper/dogs in 1 area
Aug 05, 2013
We enjoy the trip. Children enjoyed the activities and the staff was friendly.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We had a fabulous time. We were very impressed by the quality of the staff, the facilities and the activities. We have been to several small privately owned campgrounds since the last time we stayed at a KOA and we had forgotten how much better they really are!!
Aug 05, 2013
The sites are very close together. On Friday night the site across from us had a loud party that lasted past midnight. On Sunday the showers and restrooms were broken.
Aug 05, 2013
Very Nice Well kept campground. Lots of things there for kids to do and see. If I was to want to see anything change it would be to limit golf cart use to the elderly or handicapped campers only and only for daylight hours.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Well to paid 152.00 for two nights and get one night free is outrages .then you want to charge a resort free is wrong and then charge a pet fee what next ? I guess you will charge for Internet next then site 78 fire ring is broken,guess cannot be fix why? What happen to family campground when camping was family of four not two then charge for everything else whats wrong ? Cheaper to stay in hote

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All Rates are based on two people. In addition, there is a $6 per night resort fee. If you choose to VIK a site and guarantee a specific site number there is a $20 fee. All reservations require a first night deposit and include a confirmation email with the estimated cost of your stay.
Aug 04, 2013
Enjoyed the area, but the campground is way too crowded. Campsites are far too close together. Because of this, we did not enjoy the "camping" aspect of our vacation.
Aug 04, 2013
Site 120 should be marked for small campers only, no tents. The water runoff goes through every part of the all gravel site. Only complaint.
Aug 04, 2013
The overall stay was great and the pancake breakfast was outstanding. The only problem was that this has been the most expensive KOA that we have stayed at. Don't know what the prices are based on, but all others have been less.
Aug 04, 2013
I can't believe KOA no one was around in the evenings to control all the drunkards. They partied and carried on till 1:30 in the Morning. A rotten stay for a lot of people. Was going to stay another night but had to go home to get some sleep.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that other campers disrupted your stay. We have night patrol on all night to address any campground issues after the store closes.
Aug 03, 2013
I think this was our 4th year and each year has been great, the personel all rate 8 stars, THANKS TO ALL The Ernie Lincoln family in Va. Shenandoah valley
Aug 03, 2013
We have stayed several times at this campground and each time we have had an issue with the cable and tv clarity. A guy comes with a small screen tv and hooks up and it shows ok, but our tvs in the inside show some clear and some fuzzy. This has happened with different campers, so I believe it is in your system and not my motorhome, but you always point me to my system. Never a solution!!!
Aug 02, 2013
Campsites, near the comfort station, for travel trailers could use some leveling.
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
I live just a few miles from Harpers Ferry but I go every year for the last two weeks of July to escape the hot 'dog days' of summer. They have the BEST pool in the world!!! The staff is always friendly and the campground is clean and easy to navigate. I love camping at Harpers Ferry KOA :D
Aug 01, 2013
There is something that really needs to be addressed.There were maintance guys driving the gators very reckless. I even seen one of them lock the brakes up and spin around,they were pushing picnic tables with them.This is not a good thing for your campers to see.I also watched 2 young boys throw horse shoes overhanded and laugh about it.We watched them flip picnic tables over while mowing.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
We took our three grandsons. They had plenty to do. I thought the pool needs some repair. Not sure what could be done but we had a very hard storm one night . The next morning we had a ton of mud, rocks and debris washed down to our front door. My family loved the bouncy. Basketball, valleyball, and chess. We could not find a place for the little ones to fish. Water was too fast flowing .
Aug 01, 2013
I always enjoy my stay but the bathrooms are in need of serious repair. Lights missing and parts of the wall torn are a serious eye sore and make for a bad impression. Coffee should be free as this is common practice at other popular campgrounds. Also, if I pay for 4 adults at my campsite I should not be charged additional fees for multiple vehicles. Camping should be more affordable for families.
Jul 31, 2013
I give you a solid 10. Staff were exceptionally helpful and courteous. The facilities were top notch. Will certainly recommend you to others. Georgeandbillie@frontier.com
Jul 31, 2013
The staff was great--nothing they could do to make the stay better. Unfortunately, the camp sites are extremely small and there is no privacy to be had. My tent had views to 8 other tents. Maybe not the campground's fault?--live and learn...I prefer more woodsy, private sites. Activities and Facilities for the kids were great--never a dull moment.
Jul 30, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay! At check-in John was very polite and helpful! We will stay again. The only down side was the spots are not very big.
Jul 30, 2013
All employees were super friendly and helpful. Very clean sites and facilities. We can't wait to go back!
Jul 30, 2013
I couldn't be happier with our recent trip to the KOA in Harpers Ferry! The online reservation and check-in process was a breeze. The facilities were clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The campground was a little crowded but we had our own space and our neighbors were very friendly. Definitely coming back again!
Jul 30, 2013
Had a wonderful time and enjoyed all Harpers Ferry KOA had to offer Would recommend this campground to all of our camping friends
Jul 30, 2013
There seemed to be a lot of things for the kids to do. The store had a lot of cool things in addition to camping supplies. Main complaint: sites were too close together. We barely fit with the camper & we barely had enough room to be outside. Definitely too many people.
Jul 30, 2013
This is great place to stay with children. They have activities for them every 2 hours.
Jul 30, 2013
Branding is excellent, employees all wear yellow, super friendly. Our site was level. But many sites with the big rig premium patios were super sloped, needs to be fixed.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Overall we enjoyed our stay. Some facilities are ready for an update.
Jul 30, 2013
We had a group of 3 rv's and 4 cabins reserved since the end of February. One couple was told that they had no reservation. They had not brought any paper work with them to show otherwise. The KOA clerk was quite snippy with them. Told them the only available cabin was one which slept 8 people. They were forced to take it at a higher rate. This is just wrong! They will take it up with KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you had a poor experience. A reservation deposit is required to make any reservation and an email confirmation will be sent. Unfortunately, we only had an 8 person cabin available for your reservation on that particular weekend.
Jul 29, 2013
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. When the campers next to us departed they left a huge mess in their site and the staff responded quickly to clean up the garbage. We appreciated the multiple age appropriate ammenities for our children (ie: playground, bounce pillow, pool etc). It would be great to see a no smoking policy especially on the playground and all group areas.
Jul 29, 2013
We had a great time at Harper's Ferry KOA. The staff - wonderful! The Summershine staff were the best group of young adults - very friendly & helppful. Looking forward to our stay there in October!!! Only problem-too many day visitors. It made the pool area very crowded.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The stay was very nice, workers are the best. I do think the price is a bit much. You shouldn't have to pay an additional price for your 2 children. Base price of the spot should include at least a family of 4.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
We stay there a lot and have recommended and have brought groups. I think there should be a discount or some perk for those who organize groups there or recommend. Just a suggestion.
Jul 29, 2013
Nice Place.
Jul 29, 2013
We love it, lots to do, clean, I would suggest updating the grass playing areas on the mini golf, they are pretty torn up.
Jul 29, 2013
We love going to KOA in Harpers Ferry. We live 45 minutes away, and love going there and relaxing.
Jul 29, 2013
This was our 2nd time here. Had a great time. Lot 163 was great for our size trailer. Mini golf needs repairs but was still fun.
Jul 29, 2013
The first 2 times we had a very bad time because our sites were extremely small. This time we decided to give it 1 more shot and we booked a large site in a wooded area. I received a phone call from KAO saying they wanted to put us in a delux site. When we got there of course there was no record of KOA calling me and they put us in site 96. not the site we were expecting. Not large like we booked

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Site 96 is a Water and Electric site designed for larger RV's up to 50 feet. We recommend making reservations at least a few weeks in advance for optimum site choice. Also, making reservations online does not allow for specific site requests, it is best to call the campground directly.
Jul 28, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.