Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 29, 2014
We have always enjoyed staying at the KOA Harpers Ferry campground. Staff is so friendly and helpful. The park is very clean and we just love your pool.
Jul 29, 2014
Great activities, clean bathrooms, lovely grounds. Really enjoyed our stay
Jul 29, 2014
Sites seem cramped(pull through) but you cant change that now. Area was clean and staff was helpful and courteous. Poles at parking area dump station haven't been replaced(too low to see), did $1500.00 damage to my tow vehicle last year. Overall we like the location , but would like more room.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
While the gentleman explained the convenience package which included pool, pancakes, and other activities, we use none of those services and yet must pay the charge of $8.00. Perhaps a choice could be made available where campers who do not use the services could be exempt from the cost ($24.00) for our 3 night stay.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Great facilities and staff. Pancake breakfast was a added bonus. Bathrooms and showers were more than adequate. Campsite was a little small and will choice a different one next time.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Our visit to the Harpers Ferry KOA consisted of 11 family members on 3 seperate sites. Your KOA is wonderful. The Amenities and Planned Activities for the family provided us fun filled days. Your staff was friendly and restrooms were clean. I have stayed at 14 different campgrounds from Maryland to Florida and Harpers Ferry ranks #1 on my list.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Even though the Staff was great and the location wonderful, the interior roads were narrow and some had washouts. The sites also had washouts and the cable TV connection was no existent at our site without slaving off an adjacent site. For the price I believe these fixes should have been made before any campers arrived. It is a shame because of the amenities provided for families with children
Jul 28, 2014
Park was a bit expensive when adding on the activities fee but your activities were great for our grandkids. Booked there because our niece and spouse have B&B and fishing guide service there. We wanted to have them have dinner with us several times but we were told that no guests were allowed Thurs. night thru Sunday. Check out too early. Staff very friendly.
Jul 28, 2014
I was highly disappointed in the campground. There are certain expectations one expects in a resort. Several reasons include:1.Never mowed the grass/weeds in our camping site. My young daughters kept tripping over them.2.The staff was not friendly. 3.They started cutting and trimming trees at 7:50 am. The only good things to write about are, nice pool and store. I will not stay there again.
Jul 28, 2014
The staff went out of its way to make our stay as good as possible. Great amenities for the kids.
Jul 28, 2014
What a wonderful experience. The staff was amazing and so was the campground. Thanks for everything!!! Can't wait to come back
Jul 28, 2014
Sites were a little cramped. Staff was super friendly. Area we were in was quiet but I could see where some people may complain about noise in other parts of the campground, especially near the common areas.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Mr Klein who worked at the counter was short and rude. I asked to stay longer and both people at the counter took enjoyment in telling me there was no room for us. No one asked a supervisor to rearrange some other non VIP rvs like the older gentleman had done there for me before. Just a quick "nope sorry ok bye" you should have adults working the counter not kids that don't care.
Jul 27, 2014
Camp sites too close together Otherwise a great place to stay!
Jul 27, 2014
we will be back in the fall.
Jul 27, 2014
Thanks for another great stay. We will be back soon.
Jul 26, 2014
Many activities to do! Loved being close to history and the national park. Wine tasting was good; arcade and pool was roomy. My only negatives was no trash pick up and koa guests had to wear wrist bands. Although you are open to public/ locals, it was inconvenient to camper guests at times. Also, many washer and dryers were out of order due to again, public / locals also having that access.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Sites are more expensive than most. Washers, dryers, bikes, game room activities , etc were are all expensive as well. Sites were not "spacious" as described online. Would consider other sites before using this KOA again.
Jul 25, 2014
Nice campground. Plenty for children to do.
Jul 25, 2014
We thought the resort was wonderful. Our children had a super time. The only problem we had was the site that we received was very small. We were able to get our camper in but we could not open it up the whole way. We couldn't put our awning out because of trees. Also the only place for our fire ring was right next to the sewer for the next site. A very unpleasant place to have it.
Jul 25, 2014
Nice quiet campground at least that weekend and enjoyed Harpers Ferry
Jul 25, 2014
We requested a full hook up with sewage and we did not get the sewage and had to use the dump station. We were not too happy about that but other than that it s a great campground.
Jul 25, 2014
We were first time campers and had an awesome time. KOA has every amenity you can think of and the free pancake breakfest was a plus. Loved the cook, she was very friendly. The staff was great and the grounds are gorgeous! Thanks Harpers Ferry KOA...
Jul 25, 2014
This was an overnight stay after a long day of driving. I had printed out a few campground details of the area we thought we would be stopping. This one was a reasonable price but when we arrived an additional $8 "resort fee" was added. If the website can not reflect the correct price to be paid I don't know if I want to support such an organization.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our resort fee covers many amenities provided at the campground. All fees and taxes, including the resort fee, are included in the first night's deposits when you make a reservation online or over the phone.
Jul 24, 2014
Where I have a problem is Friday night no one had a problem with our fire. On Saturday night there were 2 young gentlemen on duty for "security". We were told 3 times that our fire was too big. THe only people around our fire were 8 adults, all of us were responsible and not drinking any alcohol. We watched and noticed that we were the only ones told about the size of our fire, very frustrating.
Jul 24, 2014
Big rig friendly sites are NOT very "friendly". It was very difficult to get into our site, which we observed to be the reoccurring theme for all units we saw arriving in the "big rig friendly" area. I feel this campground takes advantage of it's location and cares very little about the customer.
Jul 23, 2014
Had extreme difficulty leveling our RV in the site we were in. Maintenance used a total of eleven (11) 2x10's to get the RV level. They were very helpful. Some work needs to be done on making the sites more level. Did not appear the grass had been mowed in quite a while around our campsite. Staff at the front desk were O.K. but not as friendly as we have experienced at other KOAs.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
STAYED FOR THE WEEK WITH MY SON, BROTHER AND DAD. IT WAS ONE OF THE MOST RELAXING TIMES WE'VE HAD. THANKS KOA.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time, the only problem we had was one night we had a young staff stop by our campsite 2X and tell us our fire needed to stay only 2in above the fire ring.We had 10-12 adults sitting around there and no one had any alcohol in us and we could handle the fire we had. We watched and noticed they never stopped at any other sites who fires where as big or bigger. Not happy about that!!
Jul 22, 2014
Sites are very close together and need some grass.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time. Looking forward to our return trip in October!
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time however the spaces are very small and crowded but the staff is great so it makes up for everything. Nice place for kids
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
I do not care for having to pay an activity fee. That needs to be made known when a reservation is made. I felt blindsided. Plus my wife and I did not use any of the amenities. Very disappointed in that aspect of the stay.
Jul 22, 2014
Extremely crowded place, sites are literally on top of one another. Lots of activities for kids.
Jul 22, 2014
Staff was friendly, lots of fun for the family

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.