Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
Overcrowded!!!!! Pancakes were great Most staff very friendly Store was well stocked Wine tasting a joke! Overcrowded!
Jul 26, 2015
We loved the location, the kids loved the pool and the jumping pillow. The restrooms were not the best, but far from the worst.
Jul 26, 2015
Beautiful location, beautiful campground and friendly staff. We will be back!
Jul 25, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful,I liked my site in the woods.
Jul 25, 2015
I found this campground disappointing. My site was as much dirt as gravel; had it rained it would have been a mess. Since I travel with my dogs I always stay where there is a dog park. This one was almost half dirt rather than grass and would have ben a mess with rain. The folks were nice, however, and the camp store was well stocked, but the site had a worn and not "kept up" appearance.
Jul 24, 2015
The only reason we chose 4 stars is the condition of the pool. It could use some work. Everyone was friendly and of course the pancaks are always delicious.
Jul 24, 2015
The sites are clean and large enough and well maintained. The bathrooms and showers are clean and well maintained.
Jul 24, 2015
The pool was fantastic. The bathrooms were clean. The sites were a bit close to each other, and the hubs was disappointed there was no fishing in the pond. But overall we had a great time & will be back!
Jul 22, 2015
We love coming to the HF KOA. We come several times a year. Our stay great. It was easy to check in and we always love the pancake breakfest!
Jul 22, 2015
We stay here about 4-5 times a year. We like the layout of the campground. The sites are great and the staff are excellent.
Jul 22, 2015
When I made reservations, I did'nt pay the extra $20 to guarantee a certain site. The lady I spoke with told me which site she had put us in (we had concerns about the size of our camper). I reserved with a deposit equivalent to one night's stay. When we arrived, we were told we were in a different site, which cost us $13 more per night than the one we were originally supposed to be in. Not happy
Jul 22, 2015
chocolate week end was wonderful,pool is great,always have lots to do or not.....love the wooded sites.but would like to be assigned the nicer bigger sites first without having to chnge...should hold smaller sites til last
Jul 22, 2015
The KOA was extremely outfitted with fun kid stuff, however we had to leave because our camp area was Swarming with hundreds to thousands of nats. As I came out if the trailer, they were in my eyes as I would blink and in my nose. I had to pack up and leave immediately. Finished assembling our stuff down by the showers where there was not much issue. Refused to rain check or give partial refund.
Jul 21, 2015
Excellent experience, treated well by all the staff that we had contact with. Very clean and well maintained.
Jul 21, 2015
Fantastic! The staff was incredible! Great (free) pancakes, every day! We'll be back! Wish they had space in Oct.
Jul 21, 2015
Harpers ferry KOA is our favorite campground. We camp there two to three times a year. This is the first time we had our camper out and were having some trouble getting our truck and camper apart. A staff member came by and immediately got us some help. The staff is always very friendly when we visit and we are hoping to visit again soon.
Jul 21, 2015
I loved every bit expect their were a lot of people that walk through our site , we were right across from the pancke hut 143
Jul 21, 2015
the only disappointments were that more than half the games in the game room were broken. Some labeled as such and some not. The games were also incredibly expensive. Some being 1$ per play. a bit much for kids.
Jul 21, 2015
There were many nice amenities, but no cable news (only local news), and some sites were too small in length for camper and vehicle.
Jul 21, 2015
when we checked in computers were rebooting because of power loss, no problem - i was told. day 2 we came back from touring to find that power in our motorhome with our dogs had obviously gone off. told at office, off briefly, "it always comes back on." this is a problem that needs resolution.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that the power went out. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over area wide power outages. We are sorry that the our utility provider, Potomac Edison, did not meet your expectations.
Jul 20, 2015
We always have a fantastic time at this KOA. The staff is friendly and accommodating as is allowed. My largest concern is the price and the fact that when you request a specific site well in advance of your stay a $25 fee is requested to guarantee the site. If I am planning ahead and I give your 2-3 months notice, I should be allowed to pick the site that accommodates me and meets my needs.
Jul 20, 2015
I like the campground. I absolutely do not like the policy of charging me 20.00 to reserve a favorite spot. I go to four or five camgeounds a year and always to at least one new one each year to try and I'm willing to pay half down deposit and I've never encountered the policy your campground has any where else. I think it's ridiculous. I don't know if I'll keep coming there because of this.
Jul 20, 2015
We liked the pancake breakfast and the Civil War Museum.
Jul 20, 2015
Sites are very tight & close....very unlevel & lots of stumps. I don't agree with the resort fee...should only charge if using pool. I feel it needs some maintenance work....the slide is held up by a piece of wood....really. it is a clean campground though.....very friendly staff.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
very good THANK YOU
Jul 20, 2015
Everything was very good - great employees, nice activities, grounds well kept. The only thing I would try to improve is the cleaning schedule of bathrooms. They are thoroughly cleaned once a day and I think if that was bumped to twice it could make a huge difference.
Jul 20, 2015
This is my favorite KOA. It is clean, staff are great, wonderful assortment of activities.
Jul 20, 2015
My family and I had a great time everyone was very nice. pancakes were good.
Jul 20, 2015
I enjoyed the campground very much. I do think some attention needs to be given to the Putt Putt course and an update to HD for the movies. Very nice atmophere and freindly staff.
Jul 20, 2015
Loved it! Had a great time.
Jul 20, 2015
Sights are not level and very small. Fire pits are not placed well in sites (paperwork states, "Do not move fire pits."). Permanent sites are overgrown and many not cated for well.
Jul 20, 2015
everybody very helpful pleasant
Jul 20, 2015
W/E/S Lots too narrow and difficult to level out unit - could not use fire ring because neighbors tip-out was positioned over ring. Had to request escort and not very helpful at a dusk arrival. Sewer hook-up higher than trailer on lot. They probably would have accommodated a location move. BR clean. Good area to sight see.
Jul 20, 2015
Camp ground us well maintained and close to attractions.
Jul 20, 2015
We like this KOA, have stayed here several times and never had an issue. However this last stay there was some sort of water leak up the hill from us. As a result our site was like a swamp
Jul 20, 2015
Everyone was so nice!Loved the pancake breakfast:) Can't wait to go back!!!!
Jul 20, 2015
Family had a great time! Weekend activities were great and facilities clean. Will visit again 😀
Jul 19, 2015
Cable was very poor. As we do not watch Tv while camping but if we choose to watch something channels were snowy and very poor. Purchase new ends and still the same.
Jul 18, 2015
Very friendly workers! The bathrooms could use a little more attention, even right after cleaning, they still weren't very clean. The arcade was also a little pricey compared to other campgrounds. Overall a great place though!!!
Jul 18, 2015
The sites are mostly dirt and rutted. Did not look like anyone picks up trash around the sites. Pool area was very nice. Close to 3 Civil War parks which we liked.
Jul 18, 2015
One of our favorites but still hate paying $8 a day activity fee when all we use is dog park. We already pay $2/dog per day. Just have different color band for those who aren't using activities and charge them less. We have family in area and so only use as home base.
Jul 17, 2015
We knew before we got there that is was chocolate weekend (yummy!), but were surprised to find Civil War reenactors camping on-site. It was fantastic. A few of the "soldiers" sat and talked with us, which was very interesting. Our grandson was so interested in listening and asking questions. THANK YOU, They made quite an impression on that 6 year old!
Jul 15, 2015
I found the campsite okay. However the putt putt golf was in really bad shape. Greens torn, rocks everywhere on course etc. Pool was nice as was camp store. Showers good. Thought the $5 price for small bumper sticker was excessive. Was only $1 at state park just last week for Rocky Gap. Convienence to Harpers Ferry was great. Biked in 1.5 miles.
Jul 14, 2015
Have been coming here for years. Grandchildren always ask to come. Something for all ages. See you next year
Jul 14, 2015
One of the nicest family oriented camp grounds we have been to. There is plenty of things for everyone to enjoy, especially the morning pancakes!!!
Jul 14, 2015
The camp site was more than nice and kept well clean. the entire staff was very helpful.
Jul 14, 2015
Friendly atmosphere, great staff. We enjoyed our staying.
Jul 14, 2015
Very nice campground and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Definitely would recommend this campground.
Jul 14, 2015
One of the best KOA stores I've seen, but the campsites are small and you feel a bit cramped. The cost is also on the high side.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.