Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

RV Reviews

Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Mr Klein who worked at the counter was short and rude. I asked to stay longer and both people at the counter took enjoyment in telling me there was no room for us. No one asked a supervisor to rearrange some other non VIP rvs like the older gentleman had done there for me before. Just a quick "nope sorry ok bye" you should have adults working the counter not kids that don't care.
Jul 27, 2014
Camp sites too close together Otherwise a great place to stay!
Jul 27, 2014
we will be back in the fall.
Jul 27, 2014
Thanks for another great stay. We will be back soon.
Jul 26, 2014
Many activities to do! Loved being close to history and the national park. Wine tasting was good; arcade and pool was roomy. My only negatives was no trash pick up and koa guests had to wear wrist bands. Although you are open to public/ locals, it was inconvenient to camper guests at times. Also, many washer and dryers were out of order due to again, public / locals also having that access.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Sites are more expensive than most. Washers, dryers, bikes, game room activities , etc were are all expensive as well. Sites were not "spacious" as described online. Would consider other sites before using this KOA again.
Jul 25, 2014
Nice campground. Plenty for children to do.
Jul 25, 2014
We thought the resort was wonderful. Our children had a super time. The only problem we had was the site that we received was very small. We were able to get our camper in but we could not open it up the whole way. We couldn't put our awning out because of trees. Also the only place for our fire ring was right next to the sewer for the next site. A very unpleasant place to have it.
Jul 25, 2014
Nice quiet campground at least that weekend and enjoyed Harpers Ferry
Jul 25, 2014
We requested a full hook up with sewage and we did not get the sewage and had to use the dump station. We were not too happy about that but other than that it s a great campground.
Jul 25, 2014
We were first time campers and had an awesome time. KOA has every amenity you can think of and the free pancake breakfest was a plus. Loved the cook, she was very friendly. The staff was great and the grounds are gorgeous! Thanks Harpers Ferry KOA...
Jul 25, 2014
This was an overnight stay after a long day of driving. I had printed out a few campground details of the area we thought we would be stopping. This one was a reasonable price but when we arrived an additional $8 "resort fee" was added. If the website can not reflect the correct price to be paid I don't know if I want to support such an organization.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our resort fee covers many amenities provided at the campground. All fees and taxes, including the resort fee, are included in the first night's deposits when you make a reservation online or over the phone.
Jul 24, 2014
Where I have a problem is Friday night no one had a problem with our fire. On Saturday night there were 2 young gentlemen on duty for "security". We were told 3 times that our fire was too big. THe only people around our fire were 8 adults, all of us were responsible and not drinking any alcohol. We watched and noticed that we were the only ones told about the size of our fire, very frustrating.
Jul 24, 2014
Big rig friendly sites are NOT very "friendly". It was very difficult to get into our site, which we observed to be the reoccurring theme for all units we saw arriving in the "big rig friendly" area. I feel this campground takes advantage of it's location and cares very little about the customer.
Jul 23, 2014
Had extreme difficulty leveling our RV in the site we were in. Maintenance used a total of eleven (11) 2x10's to get the RV level. They were very helpful. Some work needs to be done on making the sites more level. Did not appear the grass had been mowed in quite a while around our campsite. Staff at the front desk were O.K. but not as friendly as we have experienced at other KOAs.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
STAYED FOR THE WEEK WITH MY SON, BROTHER AND DAD. IT WAS ONE OF THE MOST RELAXING TIMES WE'VE HAD. THANKS KOA.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time, the only problem we had was one night we had a young staff stop by our campsite 2X and tell us our fire needed to stay only 2in above the fire ring.We had 10-12 adults sitting around there and no one had any alcohol in us and we could handle the fire we had. We watched and noticed they never stopped at any other sites who fires where as big or bigger. Not happy about that!!
Jul 22, 2014
Sites are very close together and need some grass.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time. Looking forward to our return trip in October!
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time however the spaces are very small and crowded but the staff is great so it makes up for everything. Nice place for kids
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
I do not care for having to pay an activity fee. That needs to be made known when a reservation is made. I felt blindsided. Plus my wife and I did not use any of the amenities. Very disappointed in that aspect of the stay.
Jul 22, 2014
Extremely crowded place, sites are literally on top of one another. Lots of activities for kids.
Jul 22, 2014
Staff was friendly, lots of fun for the family
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We always love staying here but I am sorry to see that the gate to the pool has not been fixed. It does not latch. This is a real safety concern and (I'm sure) a code violation. I am considering reporting it myself, just to prevent a small child from wandering in unattended. I see lots of positive improvements at this KOA but this important safety issue should be top of the list.
Jul 22, 2014
Bathrooms could use some attention. Especially ladies and showers.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
My camp site had a bad wash out and only got worse each time it rained. The rest rooms were always dirty and several toilets always seemed to be stopped up. The putt-putt course was falling apart! The pool area and theater were very nice and well kept. Overall, our stay was just okay.
Jul 21, 2014
We had a very nice experience with the KOA in Harpers Ferry. The staff was more the helpful and friendly. A totally enjoyable time...
Jul 21, 2014
I loved the camp grounds and the help that was given when our cable didn't work. The guy that helped us was nice and got us up and going in ten mins.
Jul 20, 2014
Family had a great time. Only complaint is the firewood we bought at the camp store was damp. We'll be back!
Jul 20, 2014
There are a lot of things to do at the campground. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The ice cream is good too.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Great location with very friendly staff. The pools, jumping pillow, and other on-site amenities were great. They had plenty of activities during the day if you don't want to explore Harper's Ferry and the surrounding area. The only downside was privacy. The sites were closely spaced and there was a lot of foot traffic in the campground. We would definitely recommend this campground though.
Jul 18, 2014
Very nice. Convenient walk to Harpers Ferry Visitor Center shuttle for lower town and Murphy's Farm. A lot of activities for kids. Showers could use some updating.
Jul 16, 2014
Other than the constant trail of adults and children (all day and NIGHT) we had a great stay.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Most of the games in the game room did not work and the bags of ice were very expensive
Jul 15, 2014
The good. I have camped here many times. The Harpers Ferry KOA staff is great, polite and friendly. The place is clean and great amenities, pool, indoor basketball court, big bounce thing, planned activities, free pancakes. The Bad. I have a 32ft 5th wheel and crew cab long bed. WE HAVE NEVER BEEN PLACED ON A SITE THAT WAS BIG ENOUGH to park the camper and the truck. The sites are way too small.
Jul 14, 2014
Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Showers and bath rooms kept clean. Very happy.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.