Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895


343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 21, 2017
Nice, friendly and close to fun
Mar 21, 2017
Mar 09, 2017
Had a great time!
Mar 07, 2017
We loved it and will book another stay there in the near future!
Mar 03, 2017
Nice place to stay. Even has an authentic Civil War trench on site!
Mar 01, 2017
Great facility
Feb 28, 2017
Some of the long term guests would play loud music and talk/yell at the top of their lungs well past the 10pm quite time during the week!!! Enforce the quite times and I would give it 5 stars!!!!
Feb 28, 2017
It was nice. Sites are very close to each other though.
Feb 27, 2017
Feb 22, 2017
Great location for hiking or for visiting the battlefields.
Feb 22, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin w/ bathroom. It was clean and bed was comfortable. The cabins are a little to close to each other but it was the off season so we did not mind. The rec/game room definitely needs some TLC and cleaning.
Feb 22, 2017
I wish the game-room stayed open longer than 5pm. Other than that the stay is ALWAYS wonderful!
Feb 21, 2017
Feb 21, 2017
Nice lodge...but as far as the game room about 80% of games were broken. Theres veryyy old candy in one of the vending machines. At the playground the green slide is broken. I just feel like for as much money as they charge they would so better upkeep with things.
Feb 21, 2017
it was good to see the KOA updating their grounds but it made it a little crowded feeling to have everyone in such close proximity.
Feb 20, 2017
The amenities at KOA are like something we have never seen before: Perfectly working WiFi HUGE laundry room Large & clean showers & bathrooms Dog park Gym Theater Arcade Mini golf Besides all the wonderful amenities & the friendliness of all staff members, the location is Incredible. Harpers Ferry National Historical Park, River Riders, Maryland Heights & Lower Town are all a few miles a
Feb 20, 2017
Feb 20, 2017
When I arrived the young man who checked me in was so helpful. He got the best site at the best rate. He also helped me with the cable connection.
Feb 15, 2017
Lots of construction. Short sites for larger units, and super tight turns. Geared for spring/summer/fall campers. Super friendly staff!
Feb 13, 2017
Even off season the stay was great!! Amentities were clean and staff helpful. Will definitely be coming back!
Feb 09, 2017
Feb 05, 2017
We needed a place that we could stay with our dog that would be clean and he could also have room to run around. We definitely found this at this location as there was a dog park and plenty of room room to take him for long walks. The cabins were clean and the staff was friendly even though is was an offseason weekend. we were still impressed with the facility and all it has to offer.
Feb 01, 2017
I was charged twice as much as any other KOA to stay here, why is that? Scamming tourists? There was only 1 toilet and 1 shower they were both horrible, disgusting and dirty. This was the worst out of a few KOA's we stayed at.. will stay at any other campground besides KOA for the rest of the trip.


Our records indicate that you paid for your reservation in full, online in November, our rates are posted and the same for all visitors. The shower house has men's and women's toilets, and 10 separate showers. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Jan 24, 2017
Jan 23, 2017
Great stay, as usual. An annual event for our Trail Life troop. I am considering bringing my family here when the weather is warmer and we can afford to tent camp! Antietam National Cemetery was powerful.
Jan 18, 2017
we just got a new travel trailer and we wanted to try it out and the weekend was great and the KOA people were great and so was the location.
Jan 17, 2017
They were great. Was expecting to just get away for a weekend of winter camping and they upgraded us for free to a better cabin. Only two other cabins filled but still, great deal and great fun.
Jan 04, 2017
Horrible, very run down I was suppose to stay 2 nights but left early as it was not what pictures looked like!!!


We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, during the winter months, the campground is bare and cold. It is a much different atmosphere than our bustling busy summers. We are open for basic camping during the winter months.
Jan 03, 2017
My husband and I took an impromptu trip between Christmas and New Years. What a wonderful, relaxing time to visit! We enjoyed the quietness and the beautiful winter scenery of the mountains. Thanks Ron for your friendliness and hospitality. It was interesting to see how many staff were working maintaining the grounds in winter and preparing for next year's season. We didn't want to come home.
Jan 02, 2017
The cabin was great, but a little beat up. The countertops were chipped, the fridge had broken drawers and the keurig was also broken. But the location is great and the dog park was really nice.
Jan 02, 2017
Amazing time!! Stayed during New Years Eve weekend. Only downside was the comfort station closest to us was closed so we had to walk to the main bathhouse which wasn't that far just a little cold.. My boyfriend and I can't wait to come back and bring our kids and friends!!! I didn't want to leave! Very relaxing, clean and beautiful!
Jan 02, 2017
$53/night is far too much to pay for a campground off season when the seasonal amenities are closed. Our camping spot was basically in the parking lot of the office. We were woken to construction outside of our RV. The showers were DISGUSTING. We stayed at 2 state parks and 1 privately owned campground during this trip and the KOA was the most expensive as well as the most disappointing and DIRTY.
Dec 29, 2016
will be back
Dec 23, 2016
Beautiful location and really nice staff. A great place to stay.
Dec 06, 2016
Nice location in Harper's Ferry. Our motorhome would not start and someone from KOA helped us out and we were soon on the road. Thanks!
Dec 06, 2016
Weather was cold and blustery so couldn't take advantage of all outdoor amenities. Enjoyed cozy rustic cabin. Plan to stay again
Dec 05, 2016
Dec 05, 2016
This is a hard place to rate. If you are staying here for location, then it is a five star (so close to Harper's Ferry NHP. The staff also gets a 5 star rating. This is a year round camp which is great.The lower rating comes from ambience and outdoorsy environment. All cabins and campsites are so closely positioned, it is like camping in a parking lot.
Dec 05, 2016
Great place to stay. Will be back.
Dec 05, 2016
I've been to this KOA probably 10 times and this stay was definitely the worst of the 10. This was all due to the site itself, which wasn't level in either its width or length. It required several adjustments and 3 level of risers on the passenger side to get things level. The sewer was uphill and the sites seem to get thinner every time.
Dec 01, 2016
Very quiet this time of year. We loved It!
Nov 30, 2016
Would like to see fewer loud parties til midnight and beyond. Ron and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Will be back soon. Thanks
Nov 30, 2016
Our site was booked in the summer. We get there and were moved to "The Concrete High Rent District". We were not pleased. Then we find out the owners of KOA did not renew the Civil War Museum lease!! I had 2,teens with us who were very disappointed. Not even the original trenches anymore. Oh, you better change the name of this KOA. NOTHING SAYS CIVIL WAR BATTLEFIELDS any more.


We are sorry that you were unhappy with your site. Unfortunately, the water to the back of the campground is turned off during this time, only the front is open. Our original Civil War trench is intact and has several placards describing the history.
Nov 28, 2016
We stayed one night on our way home to Western NY, seems to be a extremely popular campground even during the off season. Many RV's, Trailers and Tent campers. Facilities were very clean and heated. Very nice camp store for the items you may have forgotten. People that work there are very friendly and helpful. Great place for a history lesson. Many things to do. Definitely a place to return to
Nov 28, 2016
We had a great experience at Harpers Ferry KOA and would definitely go back.
Nov 28, 2016
This is second year my group has stayed here. Employees are very friendly. We like it here off season because it's not crowded. Haven't stayed in warmer weather. Showers need a little updating. Other then that we had a wonderful time.
Nov 28, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
The first person I encountered was Judy. I called on a Sunday to make reservations be near our friends and she was curt. She wouldn't tell me what site she was reserving for us. When I asked what the site number was, she said she would have to charge me $20! She wouldn't even tell me the name of the road. She just told me it would be walking distance to my friend's site.i have more tosaybutnoroom.


We reserve site types for guests without specific site numbers. If you would like to guarantee a specific site there is a $20 charge. Our records indicate that you camped next to your friends. Unfortunately are roads are not named, so that information would not have been available either.
Nov 25, 2016
Great location and very accommodating.
Nov 22, 2016
A well situated campground, very close to the National Park visitor center. We stayed off season, so did not have the opportunity to see the campground in full swing with yhe many advertised activities. We did find the staff very friendly and helpful, the bathrooms and showers clean.

Reserve now or check dates


Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals