Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2014
STAYED FOR THE WEEK WITH MY SON, BROTHER AND DAD. IT WAS ONE OF THE MOST RELAXING TIMES WE'VE HAD. THANKS KOA.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Only suggestion - please stock better firewood. Other than that - we (twin 12 y/o boys) love this place.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time, the only problem we had was one night we had a young staff stop by our campsite 2X and tell us our fire needed to stay only 2in above the fire ring.We had 10-12 adults sitting around there and no one had any alcohol in us and we could handle the fire we had. We watched and noticed they never stopped at any other sites who fires where as big or bigger. Not happy about that!!
Jul 22, 2014
Sites are very close together and need some grass.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time. Looking forward to our return trip in October!
Jul 22, 2014
you need to have night patrol on Sunday nights too. walked around trying to find someone at 1:30 am when other campers were being way too loud and couldn't find help.
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time however the spaces are very small and crowded but the staff is great so it makes up for everything. Nice place for kids
Jul 22, 2014
We have been staying at this KOA for about 6 years now. We love it. Our kids who range from 21-25 still love it. From volleyball to the jumping pillow (I know they are older but still young at heart) to the wine tastings, we had a great time. The location is also great.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
I do not care for having to pay an activity fee. That needs to be made known when a reservation is made. I felt blindsided. Plus my wife and I did not use any of the amenities. Very disappointed in that aspect of the stay.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We stayed in the cabin with the bathroom. Everything was clean, the campground was well kept, and staff was friendly. Pancake breakfast was a nice surprise. It was Hawaiin weekend when we were there and all of the activities were great. We really liked the dog park as well. The only disappointment was the sprinkler moonbounce was turned off most of the time, but otherwise we had a wonderful time.
Jul 22, 2014
Extremely crowded place, sites are literally on top of one another. Lots of activities for kids.
Jul 22, 2014
Staff was friendly, lots of fun for the family
Jul 22, 2014
I would definitely recommend this campground to others, especially people with children! Lots to do, rain or shine! Plus being close to historic sites is nice! It's great for a quick weekend away!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Harpers Ferry KOA was awesome! All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was clean and the amenities are beyond what I was expecting. That it is close enough to walk to River Riders is a bonus. I would definitely stay here again.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We always love staying here but I am sorry to see that the gate to the pool has not been fixed. It does not latch. This is a real safety concern and (I'm sure) a code violation. I am considering reporting it myself, just to prevent a small child from wandering in unattended. I see lots of positive improvements at this KOA but this important safety issue should be top of the list.
Jul 22, 2014
Bathrooms could use some attention. Especially ladies and showers.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
We stayed in one of the cabins. The roads are just terrible and the parking at cabins is very small. If you have a large truck parking will be almost impossible. the showers are clean but the shower heads and water temps are just terrible. every shower we used was different. Positive note the pizza in cafe is pretty good
Jul 21, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was. Neat, clean, organized. So many things to do! Will definitely stay again next year!
Jul 21, 2014
Lots of fun family activities we just had a great time.
Jul 21, 2014
We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin in the center of the campground. It was clean and comfortable and central to all activities. We would stay again.
Jul 21, 2014
need to offer day trips
Jul 21, 2014
My camp site had a bad wash out and only got worse each time it rained. The rest rooms were always dirty and several toilets always seemed to be stopped up. The putt-putt course was falling apart! The pool area and theater were very nice and well kept. Overall, our stay was just okay.
Jul 21, 2014
We had a very nice experience with the KOA in Harpers Ferry. The staff was more the helpful and friendly. A totally enjoyable time...
Jul 21, 2014
I liked the campground for the most part. However it was very crowded. It seemed where ever there was a small piece of land you would have a camper set up. Examples... next to the bathrooms, pancake hut and there was one site towards the back that was uneven. It looked liked a river was once there and dried up. I did enjoy the activities and the warm showers. It just would have been nice to not he
Jul 21, 2014
I loved the camp grounds and the help that was given when our cable didn't work. The guy that helped us was nice and got us up and going in ten mins.
Jul 21, 2014
I was hesitant about going back, as our previous stay had been just bad. My husband convinced me to give it another try, so I placed my concerns in the comment section and boy you guys really took care of us! The cabin was amazing, everyone was so nice (even when I started having an anxiety attack at check in). We will definitely be back and are planning on bringing friends along
Jul 21, 2014
The pancake breakfast is a great idea; I loved not having to cook first thing in the morning.
Jul 20, 2014
Family had a great time. Only complaint is the firewood we bought at the camp store was damp. We'll be back!
Jul 20, 2014
Betty who met us at the gate was great. Check in was fine, was surprised by an additional charge for dog (paid for site online). We were put on a tent site that should never have been a site at all. Water drainage on either side of the small pad and lots of tree roots. There was not enough room for the 10x16 tent so we moved it toward the road on the embankment. Poor site. Amenities were good.
Jul 20, 2014
There are a lot of things to do at the campground. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The ice cream is good too.
Jul 19, 2014
Our cabin was nice. We would have liked to see it a little cleaner. Spider webs under the sink, floor swept and mopped, mattress cover cleaned, bunk beds vacuumed.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Great location with very friendly staff. The pools, jumping pillow, and other on-site amenities were great. They had plenty of activities during the day if you don't want to explore Harper's Ferry and the surrounding area. The only downside was privacy. The sites were closely spaced and there was a lot of foot traffic in the campground. We would definitely recommend this campground though.
Jul 18, 2014
Very nice. Convenient walk to Harpers Ferry Visitor Center shuttle for lower town and Murphy's Farm. A lot of activities for kids. Showers could use some updating.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Cabin was dirty and lots if ants
Jul 17, 2014
Cabin porch was full of carpenter bees. Could not use the porch swing or sit on the porch at all. Kind of a bummer as it rained allot during our stay and it would have been nice to be able to use the porch.
Jul 16, 2014
Other than the constant trail of adults and children (all day and NIGHT) we had a great stay.
Jul 15, 2014
We had a great time this past weekend. My only complaint was that our confirmation said we had a Deluxe Cabin with a full bed, bunk beds and pull out futon. It also said we had a full refrigerator. We were disappointed when we arrived and the cabin was so small. The confirm also said there were pans, utensils, etc. There were none of these items in our cabin. Everything else was wonderful.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Most of the games in the game room did not work and the bags of ice were very expensive

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.