Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2015
Campground was great! Campsites were close together which meant a screaming toddler woke us up every morning at 6:30 am. Not a pleasant experience for 20-somethings who wished to sleep in later on our holiday weekend.
May 26, 2015
We have been to this campground many times and have always enjoyed our stays!!
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
The campground was awesome!!!! Loved all of the different things that you had for the kids. We will be back many , many times
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Change the process for reservations for next year stays. They make me stand in line for more than one hour to reserve my desired site for next year at 6am in the morning. Inconvenient and inconsiderate. Jessica's attitude towards the process or discussing it is unprofessional. I have been told this is it and tough. Give the camper until Sunday to reserve the same sight for one year.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Reservations are first come, first serve. Everyone has the same opportunity to reserve a site. Once the calendar is open there is no way to guarantee a site's availability. Extending special privileges to one camper would be unprofessional. Your fellow campers appreciate your cooperation. Thank you.
May 26, 2015
Grass needed cutting. Don't agree with registration policy seem to be unfair if you like the site you have been getting and someone else can be in line first and get the site. You resort is over rated and the cost is to much for the condition of the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our grass is mowed on a weekly schedule. Reservations are first come, first serve. We are glad you have made reservations for next Memorial Day Weekend. We will see you in 2016. Thank you.
May 26, 2015
I think that koa staff does not manage the property/ guests well. There was lots if issues with noise and quite hour. Manager Jessica had an attitude and no compassion at all to guests who didn't sleep through the nights due to noise issue. I need to take this further to discuss with someone about my experience

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were inconvenience by your fellow campers. Quiet hours were enforced at your request. Staff reported no further noise. We offered for you to move sites or check out with a full refund. You chose to stay in the original site. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
May 26, 2015
I love the campground but was very disappointed that since I registered online, they would not honor my site request. I called and spoke to someone to be listed as a VIK but was bumped to a random site. Then, when I arrived, I was put in a third site. They also told me at the gate "you are no longer a VIK and won't get wood or a table cloth". How rude!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, when making reservations online you are not able to request/guarantee ($20) a specific site. You did leave a note asking for a specific site that was not available. It was booked and guaranteed a year in advanced by another camper. We honored your reservations as it was reserved.
May 26, 2015
I was forced to purchase 3 days for the holiday weekend, when I only wanted 2 nights.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a three night minimum on Memorial Day Weekend.
May 25, 2015
May 25, 2015
Employees friendly, place clean, But campsites 42, 43, 44 much too close. 1 little tree, mostly sun. sitti9ng at my picnic table, i could reach out & nearly touch the next campers septic. our friends had a 40 ft 5th wheel. all campsites were suppose to be long enough for each camper & vehicle. It was not.land t v much better reception that cable. putt putt holes # 6 & 7 dangerous. The full timerso
May 25, 2015
Love the campground and the staff..only issue was having to kennel our dog, a 1.5 year old Doberman, because he was not allowed but there were all sorts of other dogs throughout the park - big and small:(
May 23, 2015
The staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
May 23, 2015
The staff at the campground were very friendly and the bath houses were clean. The sites in the woods could use some stones. You can tell they have not added stones for a few years.
May 23, 2015
THIS CAMPGROUND WAS NOT AT ALL THE PICTURES SHOW THE SITS WERE TO SMALL FOR MY TRAILER UNLIKE WHAT WE WERE TOLD THE MINATURE GOLF COURSE WAS AS DISGRACE 1 HOLE WAS MISSING OTHERS WERE FALLING APART I WOULD NOT GO BACK TO THIS ONE,OR RECOMMEND THIS CAMPGROUNDTO OTHERS
May 22, 2015
May 21, 2015
I feel that the money charged per night for this KOA is too high. It's like airlines charging for checked luggage: extra pet fees, resort fees when it wasn't even ready for resort season, cramped sites, lots of litter everywhere, and very poor cable connectivity (admittedly so for those of us "on the hill"), and the paved roads were miserable. We stayed here to be close to relatives. Never again
May 21, 2015
Had great time there.
May 21, 2015
Had a water/elec site for my tent and it was a good size. On arrival, had no picnic table. Mentioned it to two woman on staff and they assured me they would take care of it. After 50 minutes, no table. Alan stopped by my site with a load of wood and a tablecloth. I told him I'd really like a table and he had it at my sight in 15 minutes. Thanks, Alan. Clean restrooms. Camp store pricey.
May 21, 2015
All the golf carts running around no one could lead us to our site when we arrived. That would have been very helpful.
May 21, 2015
VERY tight and crowded campground. We might go back because our son liked the game room and pool. But would hate to be there when it is full.
May 20, 2015
We have stayed several times now. This trip we did not like our site the sewer and electric from the site in front of us was right in the middle of our site. I went to the camp office and let them know I was not very happy with the site. They were very helpful and helped us find a new site to move to. I really appreciated the kindness of the staff. We had a great stay and love the amenities.
May 20, 2015
May 20, 2015
Laundry was a disaster zone. Over half of all machines are out of service and one dryer not flagged as defective ruined $100 of blankets and mattress covers. What a dump... I am left with the impression that ownership / management is trying to get the last dollars from their sinking ship. Also was left with the impression from the number of defective machines, there was no value in complaining
May 19, 2015
Well this is a tough one to rate . the site we stayed in was in very poor condition. the site was uneven to about 2 inches per foot in all directions. The picnic table was badly bug ridden and rotted.. other parts of the campground were in somewhat better condition, but this side of it was poor. Sad to see since most KOA adhere to a much higher standard . The office staff was great and polite..
May 19, 2015
My first stay at a KOA. Will definitely be back. Clean cabin, fantastic location, helpful staff. No hot water the first night was easily corrected within minutes. Lack of water pressure made showering an adventure.
May 19, 2015
Beautiful surroundings, very helpful staff, awesome service,good activities for any age or weather conditions. Outstanding facilities, excellent value for money
May 19, 2015
While checking in we were asked about pets. We answered honestly stating that we had a Rottie and an English Bulldog. We were told that we were not allowed to have the Rottie but they were not turning away our business and proceeded to let us into the park. Then the proceeding day we were sternly spoken too about our dog for no reason other than bc of his breed. This is contradictory/unnecessary.
May 19, 2015
Lots of noise-our site was next to the main asphalt lot. Next to us were party-city sites and noisy. A long term stay site next to us was very trashy looking, tall grass, junky, dirty. Disappointing stay.
May 19, 2015
Comfort station smells a bit like sewage and toilets in women's bathroom barely flush. Maybe a full septic tank? Cabin was nice, but a bit of a carpenter bee infestation beginning. Luckily, they are not aggressive. Kids loved bounce pillow and pool was great. Staff was awesome! Breakfast was great. Pork sausage was good, but turkey sausage was horrible. Try another brand please. Overall, very
May 18, 2015
We had a great time. Loved the breakfast. Check out was a little early for us.
May 18, 2015
Great first experience! The Facilities, the staff, the area all felt neat, clean and safe. Thank you!
May 18, 2015
Mother's day weekend was fun. Camp is clean, full of activities for the kids and even karaoke for us. We were able to walk to a free shuttle bus to historic Harpers Ferry. Free pancake breakfasts were a bonus!
May 18, 2015
Had a great stay, staff was friendly and helpful, campground clean and well maintained, our site (159) was a little too close to site 158, next time we'll request a different site
May 18, 2015
May 18, 2015
May 18, 2015
The 2 room camping cabin in the woods was great, but we were placed in one directly facing another cabin which held VERY disruptive guests who did not abide by the 10pm noise curfew. In the future, I would request a cabin NOT directly facing another and I would hope that after we complained, something would have been done about the rowdy guests. Alas, sleep was elusive next to those people...
May 18, 2015
Even though it rained we had a great time!
May 18, 2015
Everything was very nice. Would be nice if the check out time could be 12:00.
May 18, 2015
May 18, 2015
We have camped at your campground several times and will continue to do so. We had a problem with our TV reception and the maintenance man was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
May 18, 2015
We always stay at our favorite site . (Lot 12 to be exact). Staff is always warm and friendly. Haven't had a complaint in 3 years of camping with you guys!!!!
May 17, 2015
We stayed over the Mothers Day weekend 2015. Although we had a great time, I was surprised there were no activities geared towards or showing appreciation for Moms....Also, the grass and dandelions were very tall. Grass seriously needed to be mowed. It was very tall. Other than that, we had a great stay.
May 17, 2015
The staff was wonderful. It was a clean campground.
May 17, 2015
had a blast
May 15, 2015
Cabin was clean, mattress very poor (we saw the difference at our next KOA stop in Gettysburg). Good location, friendly staff.
May 15, 2015
much too pricey....cable below average
May 15, 2015
A friendly site perfectly situated to learn more about the history of the United States.. Thank you..
May 14, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.