Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Oct 08, 2013
Limit 400 characters doesn't give enough room to rate stay. Overall-great time w/ kiddos & group of friends for somewhere close & LOTS for young ones to get into for October wknd. Smell was bad from sewer connections. Staff at Jumping Pillow was falling asleep on Sunday. Stores were great. Heavy, fast traffic not cracked down on though! :( STAFF WAS NICE. Expensive for off-season CROWDED spaces.
Oct 08, 2013
My girls told me next time to let the office know we had no hot water for two nights; no light in the bunk room; not a good mattress on my husband's side. I do not like to make a good deal and therefore waited two days to share this with the office. I had all of my family with us around the park; had a wonderful, wonderful time and will be back next year with them. We so enjoyed the pancakes.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
this koa has it really going on. a kid could not possibly get bored!!! very friendly and helpful staff. the only complaint we had was at site 10 the smell from the dump?? (i assume)was terrible. but we'll be back!!!!
Oct 07, 2013
Was a little disappointed that the minature golf course is in such bad shape.
Oct 07, 2013
bugs
Oct 07, 2013
We had 29 family members & friends with us throughout the campground! Everyone had a great time. My only concern is that the manager is just not a very friendly person. We have been there at least 3 times so far this year & not once has she said "hello", "how are you" or just "hi" whenever we pass her. The other staff members are extremely friendly & we always engage in conversations.
Oct 07, 2013
Campground is always clean. Staff always helpful and friendly. I would suggest some gravel in the sights as it was very very dusty. Would also like to see speed limit enforced as the sights near pavilion are very close to street.
Oct 07, 2013
I know when you got camping it's all about enjoying the outdoors and your campgound is not only in a great location for that, but the campground itself offers much of that. The only negative thing is your wifi system is terrible and needs to be upgraded. Also, being in a premium site there was no cable TV.
Oct 07, 2013
I have been coming here for the last 8 years. Love this camp ground and would not go anywhere else!! The only issue I had were the stink bugs that invaded my cabin!
Oct 07, 2013
Nice campground plenty of activities, bathouse(by playground)only one I used should have been cleaner.
Oct 07, 2013
Had a blast in the Halloween house; excellent October treat! A little short on staff to manage the safety on the inflatable slide. Two times I had to interject because older kids were putting younger kids in danger.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
We have been coming there for years. Must say I'm glad Dale is gone. That man was rude. We love coming there. It would be nice when you pay your $20VIP an get the coupon book that the one 10% coupon could be used on your total purchase no on one item at $20 I spend $100 on items but couldn't use the coupon an at check in no one say anything about KOA card an I forgot so I never got discount :(
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
The full hook up sites were expensive for what you get. There was no grass on our site. The activities were closed early. If you charge a resort fee, you have to adequately provide what you promise.
Oct 07, 2013
The weather was beautiful & our site very nice, as is always at the WVA KOA. However, we never had wifi access. I brought it to the attention of the office personnel 2x, to no avail. Just disappointed that we paid for a service that we never had the use of:(
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Great location and lots of things to do. Was a bit buggy and I think i found the birthplace of stink bugs. Showers could have been cleaner, but bathrooms were clean and staff was friendly.
Oct 07, 2013
Very nice campground with a great camp store and other activities. The only issue would be the very tight site sizes and closeness of the sites.
Oct 07, 2013
Campground was good. Campsight not so great. Set up a at sight 119 next to pancake pavilion/playground. Kids woke me up early around 7am every morning and kept me up all night screaming and what not after quite hours. Disappointed
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Very clean and friendly. Lots for the kids to do.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
As always this KOA was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oct 07, 2013
We LOVED the hayride, games, movies, trick or treating and decorations this past weekend had to offer! Our 3 year old has never had so much fun camping and neither have we!
Oct 07, 2013
Overall, this is a great campground. It is well manicured. I would like maintenance crews to be more diligent about keeping gravel out of the grass in the "horseshoe" area. My biggest complaint is cost. I paid $60/day for full hookups, yet I still get charged a $6/day "activity fee." To top it off, I'm then charged $1/person for a hayride. Why do I get charged for this on top of the activity fee.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
love this place all the kids activities are awesome!!!!
Oct 07, 2013
This camp ground was a complete mob scene. Way too many people crammed into a small area. Very dusty and smokey. Congratulations on a great location please spend some of the money on upgrades and maintance. I liked the Halloween theme and the staff. I will come again but don't want the place to be at near 100% occupancy.
Oct 06, 2013
Oct 05, 2013
Beautiful space nestled next to a sprawling state park and an easy, short drive from Harper's Ferry. Well worth a spending a quiet fall weekend here!
Oct 04, 2013
it seem things have gone down a lot in the last 2 yrs. We have been coming here for 5 yrs and love it.The civil war things are great.The grounds are not being kept up the way they should be.
Oct 04, 2013
Worst KOA ever! Staff is rude and unfriendly. Spaces are like a trailer park...narrow and unlevel. No landscaping & dirty! Then they have the nerve to charge a resort tax! We were warned about this koa but already had reservations..don't make our mistake! Pass up this $$$ rude & dirty koa!
Oct 04, 2013
We've used this KOA many times. The staff is friendly and there is so much to do in the Harpers Ferry area. Some RV sites have been improved but they still aren't as good as they could be. Drainage on some is poor. Trees and the angle to get in and out can be a problem for bigger rigs. Not sure why they could not use my 19,000 Rewards points. Most KOA's ask me if I want to use them.
Oct 03, 2013
The Civil War reenactment was great. Tom and Marsha Wood out did themselves to put on this show. Already made plans for next year.
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
I do wish you had retained your policy on your Kamping Kabins of One free night with a reservation of Two nights. Otherwise the weekend was wonderful with the Civil War reenactments, etc. Harpers Ferry National Park tour guides are available through the information at the KOA desk sign-in. Best KOA in America!
Oct 03, 2013
Nice campground. Very friendly staff. But the stinkbugs were horrible.
Oct 03, 2013
Beautiful area, great stay!!!
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
We enjoyed our stay and will be back again. One comment: Your checkout time used to be later. 11AM is quite early for campsites.Would be great if it was 12 or 1PM.
Oct 02, 2013
The reason for the low scores is the $6.00 resort fee & $1.50 pet charge per day that is being charged over & above the high price of the camping fee.We do not utilize the amenities that was offered.Free pancakes, yeah right. 6 pancakes cost me $18. We stayed 3 nights with one night being free & I still had to pay resort & pet fee for the free night. What is the pet fee for? KOA's are out for us
Oct 02, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Lots of activities on the weekend, great location for driving to nearby attractions. Nice sites. Really liked the way the bathhouse was set up. Would definitely stay here again.
Oct 02, 2013
First time visit to koa. If all are like this one, I will become a card member.
Oct 02, 2013
Nice park a little high in price compared to other KOA's but close to where we want to visit.
Oct 02, 2013
We found the nitely rate a bit pricey ($60). WeAndvthisbwas after our KOA discount. The campground charged a resort fee that negated our discount. We found that a bit uncategorized. We were there for only one nite on our way back south.
Oct 02, 2013
The site was clean and quiet, woodsy, no grass. Bathrooms pretty clean, took forever to get hot water in the shower. No hooks to hang anything at vanities. Price quite high ($58+) for a 14 foot cargo trailer. Dog area needed grass seed, many dusty bare spots. WORST THING: THE INVASION OF STINKBUGS,indigenous to W.VA. Personally killed hundreds of the little buggers. KOA: do pest control NOW!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Stink bugs were most likely accidentally introduced to eastern Pennsylvania in 1998. Native to Eastern Asia, this insect is predominately an agriculture pest. Insecticides are not recommended as they affect Stink Bugs minimally.
Oct 01, 2013
I love staying at this KOA campground! There is so much to see and do there that you don't ever have to leave to go elsewhere for entertainment. It's clean and friendly too! We will be back next year.
Oct 01, 2013
we had a great time! the property was spotless, sites were good size-easy to manuever in. we stayed during a quiet week last week and appreciated that the campers that were there were spaced out and not lumped together. Friday night many poured in as there were alot of festivities for the weekend. we had to leave Sat. morning and were sad to be missing all that was to be going on!! will be back

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.