Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 07, 2014
Family had a great time. My son loves the indoor basketball court. We didn't realize when booking that they made a haunted house in there. Otherwise, great staff and good time
Oct 07, 2014
The campground was quite large, and exceptionally close to the national park, which was great because we could just walk! My only concern was that with a 40 foot rv w/ slideouts and a car, the site was very small, we had to park the car sideways to fit and we were within an inch of hitting an electricity pole with our slideouts. Size of RV should be taken into consideration when offering sites
Oct 07, 2014
The cabin was in a good location facing the forest and was close to all the amenities. There were also several enjoyable attractions in the area.
Oct 07, 2014
Had a great time. I wish they would put sum gravel down at all of the sites. They are in need of some TLC.
Oct 07, 2014
The cost of staying at this KOA is getting more expensive each time we come. No new amenities have been added but the cost keep rising.
Oct 07, 2014
Too pricey for quality of the facility. Some areas appear neglected/run down. $8 resort fee, when all we wanted to a place to sleep/shower.
Oct 06, 2014
Best weekend ever... so many things for the kids to do, the haunted house was incredible...
Oct 06, 2014
A fun weekend stay for our family (and a whole gang of friends too!) while we were in the area for the Freedom's Run in Shepherdstown.
Oct 06, 2014
Very well run and maintained campground. We have stayed here twice and will again in the future.
Oct 06, 2014
Did not tell us nor was it in the book, but we got charged $5 a day extra for a resort fee and $2 per day for our dog. It was not situated close to Washington DC. They did have a nice laundry facility.
Oct 06, 2014
THE CABIN WAS QUITE DIRTY, DEAD BUGS AND DIRT ON FLOOR. THERE WAS AN ANT INFESTATION THAT GOT INTO SOME PACKAGED FOOD I HAD INSIDE AND IT HAD TO BE TOSSED. THE SHOWERS WERE IN POOR CONDITION-SHOWER HEADS NEED REPLACED. BATHROOM WAS FILTHY SAT MORNING. DYE FOR TIE DYE SHIRTS WAS NOT PROPERLY MIXED/LABELED. HALLOWEEN ACTIVITIES WERE FUN BUT OTHERWISE NEEDS MORE ATTENTION TO DETAIL/CLEANLINESS.
Oct 05, 2014
This is our second time staying here and we love it. The reenactment weekend was amazing!!!
Oct 05, 2014
Good campground but sites are kind ofcrammed together. I was lucky to have one with some distance between me and other campers. Nice facilities.
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
Enjoy this campground. Lots to do there as well as nearby sites. We stay here often.
Oct 04, 2014
great place to stay friendly very clean
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 02, 2014
perfect camping spot when bringing the little ones. Staff is great.
Oct 02, 2014
Staff very friendly and helpful. Campground layout very nice--with historical points of interest. Bathroom was clean, shower stalls were less so, but had private doors. Store was great! Some sites were not level.
Oct 01, 2014
The campsite was fine. But for two of the four days we stayed, I had a cold shower. Not good. I didn't mind paying the $8 per day resort fee if there were events. In the middle of the week in September, there were none and yet we still paid the $8 per day resort fee. Otherwise, great place for children.
Oct 01, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Typical KOA EXCEPT for the showers. Showers are the MAIN feature we are after and showers full of BLACK MOLD aren't worth the price! Your new shower building is perfectly fine. You need to WARN guests of the old ones!
Sep 30, 2014
The staff was not nearly as friendly as they used to be. A lot of new people. We had one of the employees in the site next to us and he was just plain rude. The wine tasting staff were not very nice. The staff changes have not been good. Our site was not as promised either- too small for our trailer.
Sep 30, 2014
This Kamground is neat and clean, on the downside the sites are small and over priced
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Loved the civil war weekend but would have liked to pick my spot as it was a little tight to get my trailer in.
Sep 30, 2014
Had a great time we loved the civil war shows. We come every year. Staff is always friendly and helpful.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
awsome
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Awesome stay and great customer service. Facilities were very well taken care of there was no lack of help and guidance from all of the staff.The only downfall was how packed the campground was and all the loud generators at night. But we did visit during prime season.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Activities were never ending. Starting with breakfast, hayride, candy hunt, music in the evening WOW. Children did not want to leave.
Sep 29, 2014
We've stayed here frequently over the years. We were disappointed for what is called premium sites at premium price. If you have cable you should be able to get more than a couple channels clearly. The grass should be cut. Not enough space to continue.
Sep 29, 2014
We had a great time!! We especially enjoyed all the Civil War demonstrations. What a great camping trip! We will definitely be back, again.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Staff very friendly and helpful. We had visitors arrive on Saturday who were allowed into the campground with no problems!! Pancake breakfast was awesome, we were first timers and had for gotten wrist bands, but were allowed to eat anyway. Wonderful staff. Only complaint was campsite that was not level,
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Our site was rather small, even for our pop-up camper. Mini golf course needs quite a bit of TLC. Camp store was price. However, the kids loved having the movie theatre, arcade and free pancakes every morning. The staff was very friendly. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay.
Sep 29, 2014
We love the Harper's Ferry KOA. It is always clean and the staff is always friendly and helpful.
Sep 29, 2014
Was nice and quiet, had some bad kids there that didn't want to follow the rules. But that is not the campgrounds fault it is the parents fault.
Sep 29, 2014
Our stay wasn't as good as our prior visit. There were quite a few damaged holes on the mini golf course (green grass mats were missing or torn up), there were times the jumping pillow was closed due to lack of staff, the cafe was closed, and the website said the pool was heated but it was closed. Seems like summer is really the only time to go.
Sep 29, 2014
Second time we've stayed in the last year...we love it!
Sep 29, 2014
Friendly staff and no problems make for a great stay.
Sep 29, 2014
I Was A Little Shocked To Be Charged $8.00 A Night Extra For A Resort Fee And $20.00 Extra To Reserve A Site To Be With A Group.The Sites Are Very Close Together And Roads In Campsites Are In Need Of Some Work.I Myself Will Not Return To This KOA

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. Our records indicate that your group did stay together. The $20 VIK fee is to guarantee a specific site of your choosing; this also includes a bundle of wood and table cloth.
Sep 29, 2014
Very disappointed. WE paid an extra $20.00 so all of our camping group could be together and that didn't happen. I was on one of the "premier" sites and I didn't have cable at all, didn't get my bundle of wood or yellow table cloth. We will not be returning to this campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Our records indicated that your reservations were made adjacent to one another and that you stayed together. Also, you were not charged for the site guarantee ($20). All sites in this area have cable, and we are unaware of any issues.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.