Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 22, 2015
This was a nice campground with a great location. The only issue that I had was with the price. There was a base price for the site which was fine, but then there was a resort fee, fee for children, and taxes. This information should be clearly shown when making a reservation.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All rate information is available previous to making a reservation. A first night deposit is required to make all reservations and includes all additional fees. Additionally, a reservation confirmation is emailed with an estimated total cost. We are sorry you were unhappy with the rates.
Jun 22, 2015
I was very disappointed when we checked in and then found out I was not even close to my family's camp site when I was assured I would be 😕 also you need to do something about the gnats, they were horrible 😁

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not show that you had reservations with any other parties. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about gnats, they are a natural part of camping. We hope you enjoyed your outdoor experience.
Jun 22, 2015
We were greeted by two very nice ladies at the gate upon arrival and the was the end of the pleasant experience during our stay. This was by far the worst campground we have ever stayed at. At the registration office we were given very little information. No help getting to the site even though we told them we had never stayed before.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you did not get the information you were looking for. We do offer site escorts upon request.
Jun 22, 2015
I was a bit thrown off. The bikes advertised were not bikes but quad vehicles and I am 6 ft 6 inches. Despite this I gave a try. Way too difficult for myself and the boys we circled the facility once and kids gave up. I had paid for an hour for all 3 kids plus myself and attempted to see if 30 min could be credited. The 'hard no' told me I am no longer welcome.Cabin or no cabin we don't matter.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not rent any vehicles. We do rent fun-cycles and peddle carts (bikes), some do have 4 wheels. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your rental. All guests are subject to the same rules and policies, regardless of their camping accommodations.
Jun 21, 2015
We loved the shaded sites and the pull thru. Easy to get in and out of. We also liked the short walk over to the Harper Ferry visitor center. We saved a lot on gas.
Jun 21, 2015
Too many sites packed in to an otherwise nice property. Bathrooms clean but showers are not good. Crazy water pressure and temps... peel off skin if not careful! Some facilities in need of maintenance and cleaning. Snack bar and arcade area, for example. Pancake hut and coffee/ wine shop is nice.
Jun 21, 2015
The kids and I had a great time camping and participating in the activities at the campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only concern I had was the location of our tent site, it was unnerving to have two rain runoff trenches surrounding your site and your tent was located toward the bottom. I appreciate the efforts your staff put forth in trying to quiet noisy campers after hours.
Jun 21, 2015
This is the most friendly KOA we've ever stayed in! Thank you for your kindness!
Jun 20, 2015
Excellent camping stay at this KOA. Helpful and friendly staff, clean facilities and many fun activities for all ages.
Jun 20, 2015
This is one of our favorite campgrounds!!
Jun 20, 2015
Reason for poor rating ● Extremely bad wifi ● Sites too crowded ● Extreme High prices in store ● Price of sites too high

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you think our pricing was too high. We hope you enjoyed your 6 day stay.
Jun 19, 2015
This campground could use a bit more attention to detail such as removing the poison ivy growing in the playground and fixing the lights in the comfort stations.
Jun 19, 2015
We stayed 3 nights in one of the small cabins and really enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly and works really hard to maintain and clean the campground.
Jun 19, 2015
Everything went as planned. We were more intrested in hiking so spent most or our tine on the trails in the area. Our only issue was the cable chanels came in Fuzzy But since it was late in the evening we did not complain. Otherwise all was good.
Jun 19, 2015
The Black water fitting comming out of the ground was higher then my connection on the RV.. Had to use the dump when leaving.. It wasn't worth the money when a traveler has to use a dump station. Chuck Gross Venice , Florida
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 18, 2015
Nice campground with lots of family activities. Small mishap with our reservation but the staff worked through it.
Jun 18, 2015
We come to this KOA every year and always have a good time.
Jun 17, 2015
We had the corner camp spot right by the store and restrooms. It was a very high traffic area and not much room to enjoy our campfire or other things.
Jun 17, 2015
Will stay there again - nice campground.
Jun 17, 2015
Nice place to unwind for a couple days. Small but clean cabins. Pancake breakgfast was a nice treat.
Jun 16, 2015
We have been coming to this KOA for several years at least once per year. I would suggest the quality of some of the activities could be improved ie, candy apple making. I would like to also suggest the lodges have a fan put in the bathroom for moisture removal and a better drain for the shower or deeper tub bottom to prevent the floor from getting wet. Overall, we enjoy your KOA and will be back.
Jun 16, 2015
love your campground! one thing though. after camping on mothers day, we asked to reserve 143, told no. we were there thurs-Mon. people in 143 only there fri-sun. no reason not to change site. BUT found we loved 131 as well.
Jun 16, 2015
Great Stay. Second time this season. Already reserved two more for this season.
Jun 16, 2015
Paid for delux site. Very small was hard to get into. Trailer just fit no room for my truck had to park along the road. My truck was hit by another trailer trying to get into his spot. Poor ground maintaenance. The only friendly people were in the office. Will not be back.
Jun 16, 2015
Crowded/close together sites on the weekend. Mini golf needs maintenance. Otherwise, good management and nice amenities.
Jun 16, 2015
We really enjoyed the campground it is very well maintained. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Would like to be able to request a camp site without the extra $20 charge!
Jun 16, 2015
Great location but as a mom in a mobility scooter the campground could use some ADA updates (sidewalks that are smoothly connected, campsites with level, in obstructive walkable paths around our camper, etc)
Jun 16, 2015
It was grossly over crowded and dirty with poorly maintained facilities (especially the showers)!
Jun 16, 2015
RV sites for large RV's (we had a 5th wheel that is 43' w/4 slides) are tight! Lots of activities on weekends for kids.
Jun 16, 2015
What I'd envision at a refugee camp might be like....tents 20 feet apart
Jun 16, 2015
Very nice campground. Lots of amenities. Free pancake breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Next time we'll ask for a site further from high traffic area.
Jun 16, 2015
We had a greatt at and were very pleased with the amenities. We had tent site 112- highly recommended. Although its the furthest from the amenities and bathrooms, we were away from everyone else which was better for us- more of a true camping vibe.
Jun 16, 2015
We had a nice shady area! Easy dumping station. We looked around and will try other sites in the future as well. Thanks!
Jun 16, 2015
Site was nice. Activities were great for the kids. But, a site next to use had 9 tents and over 20 people on it - they were rowdy, rude and kept us awake way past the 10pm quiet time. Not fond of that and probably won't be coming back there.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
Showers were not good, either no hot water, stinging spray or dribble. Avoid the free pancakes. The site is lovely, good for walking.
Jun 15, 2015
Very clean! Lots of fun family activities! Unfortunately not all sites level.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice but the ants in the cabin were overwhelming.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
There were a lot of deaf people and sometimes it was a little annoying when the kids would scream and such. Would prefer different campground with variety of campers
Jun 15, 2015
Please update the mini golf course. It is getting a little shabby.
Jun 15, 2015
Very friendly staff and very response to my needs. Will definitely be returning!
Jun 15, 2015
Horrible- I booked a group for an event, and we were all split up. It was really horrible how they handled this.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You're group booked sites individually and not as a group. Our records indicate that you were in 181-194. These sites are all next to each other.
Jun 13, 2015
The shower in our unit drained very slowly. We told the staff 2 times with no one looking at it. There was a large group of teenagers there @start much quieter when they left
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
We rented a deluxe cabin that was very nice. I have never seen more activities for kids at a campgound and your facilities were clean and well maintained. We will be back.
Jun 12, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.