Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 31, 2017
Cable did not work Analog signal in and out Reservation system requires you to get up at 5 to be in line at 6 if you want your safe site Facilities not as clean as it past years
May 31, 2017
Don't charge for cable in premium site if cable doesn't work😞😞
May 31, 2017
Cleanliness of the restrooms & showers appeared to be poorer than in years past. We have stayed on memorial weekend for the past 5 years & this year was a drop. Other campers made similar comments, and one comfort station had camper written note taped to the doors asking other campers to not smoke in the comfort station and to not use the shower as a bathroom.
May 31, 2017
We have been going there for many years, but it has been getting worse in the last few years under different management, It is dirtier than it used to be, bathrooms used to be cleaned alot, now there are dirty and only cleaned occassionally. The miniature golf course is falling apart, boards are rotting. Its like they dont care anymore. All they want is reservations & money.
May 31, 2017
The stay is usually a good one. The process for reserving a site for the next year is terrible. Making a regular camper get up at 6am to make a resevation on Monday morning is bad!
May 31, 2017
Very surprised about the rate increases that they have had it seems on all items and stay. Very disappointed that the bathrooms STILL are not fixed and all working properly. As much money as I'm sure this campground generates it's hard to believe that they would have a bathroom stall out of order. Despite the cost increase and bathrooms, we will continue to come back to this campground.
May 31, 2017
We had a great time - lots of activities for the kids and love how close to Harpers Ferry Park!
May 31, 2017
Although a little pricey we always enjoy our stay.
May 31, 2017
They messed up my reservation that I made a year in advance. I had 8 people staying in one cabin. When I made the reservation I stated I needed the 8 person deluxe cabin. When I called one week before check in they confirmed with me that I in fact was confirmed for the 8 person cabin. Come the day to check in they give us a 6 person cabin.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry the cabin you wanted was not available. The (1) 8 person cabin was booked in May 2016, you made your reservations in July 2016. I spoke with your counterpart when they checked in and you confirmed with them on the phone that you had booked the 6 person cabin.
May 31, 2017
This was our first stay at a KOA and we were very impressed. The staff is amazing! Very nice facilities, plenty to do, and a few freebies along the way never hurt. We've already booked for next year.
May 31, 2017
The actives like the pool and other actives were good. The campsite was very poor. It was small and on a hill, making sleeping very hard with 6 people.
May 31, 2017
Need a guard back at the entrance & no bike riding after dark I saw quite few children dashing out in front of vehicles that's not safe someone is going to get hurt
May 31, 2017
Very nice campground
May 31, 2017
Great staff and nice location really close to the shuttle into Harpers Ferry. The sites are a bit tight and many are very unlevel, but it did not seem to bother anyone. Great amenities for the kids - pool, movie theater, pancakes, etc.
May 31, 2017
Love the area and love the people. The cable and internet are not of "Resort" quality. We pay a big price for those services and cannot rely on them. We planned to have friends watch the 2 races this weekend with us around the camper. Did not happen...
May 31, 2017
All employees were polite and helpfull... A special thanks to Brandon who seemed to be everywhere and made our grandsons first camping experience a very memorable one.
May 31, 2017
We had a great time, bathrooms could have been a little cleaner, but there was a lot of people. I wish there was some way to control the campers keep their pets on a leash
May 31, 2017
Raines the weekend we were there but still had a GREAT time. The bathroom cleaning schedules were not what the signs on the door stated but worked around it.
May 31, 2017
These sites are all on top of each other, & are very short, way too short for the size they told us would fit, & my site was nowhere even close to being level (I had to put my trailer tongue literally on the ground). Sites had tons of tree roots rutting up the ground, making it hazardous to walk in places, & I certainly am glad I wasn't tent camping. The dog park was pretty small, too.
May 31, 2017
I think that the bathrooms needed to be attended to more often on a busy holiday weekend. My cabin had a lot of cob webs. The staff was very friendly.
May 31, 2017
Great indoor basketball ball court. Drainage needs to be adjusted a little around the outside basketball court. Overall, great property!!!
May 31, 2017
The tent sites are all poorly laid out and mislabeled or not labeled at all. Everyone arriving had to get help to figure out where the sites and site borders were. Not all sites had picnic tables and fire pits and people went without. People had to steal tables and pits from other sites if they could. They sold wet firewood. The cost is astronomical for the quality of the product. Stay away!
May 31, 2017
Kids loved the free pancake breakfast, the pool and the merry go round. Great place. Bring your own wood - the stuff they sell onsite doesn't burn very well.
May 31, 2017
When we arrived it wasn't clear where our tent site was and after having tent up we had to move because there was another site between us and another camper, which took some time. We had no table or fire pit but this was brought to us eventually. Our site was on a fairly steep bank and very close to other campers. The KOA had nice features/events but sites need better set up.
May 31, 2017
Grand kids had a great stay lots of activities to keep them busy nice family atmosphere and pet friendly is a plus
May 31, 2017
Overall was pleased,wish our tent site was alittle better.
May 30, 2017
The staff was very attentive and helpful. There were lots of activities for the whole family.
May 30, 2017
The campground and location were perfect. The sites had a lot to be desired. Very tight with little room to enjoy. We had a very very muddy site and the stone roads need work as well.
May 30, 2017
very nice place to stay. Spots are very close to each other but not tough to get into with our larger unit. Unfortunately our cable also did not work but not the end of the world.
May 30, 2017
We had an amazing holiday weekend! Even through scattered showers, there was plenty to do and plenty of fun. The store has everything you may need. Our kids enjoyed the pool, the DJ dance party,and the indoor basketball court. Wine tastings and free pancakes just put it over the top. We even walked over to the harpers ferry national historical park. Beautiful area all around, we will visit again!
May 30, 2017
Lot of activities for the kids and our group enjoyed a lot. There are two things that i must point out is Restroom was filthy and on sat night no one refill tissue paper in toilet and lot of tissue on floor and over flow with sanitary napkin that i was almost throw out in restroom. second thing is tap next to cabin was not located properly and because of rain we were not able to go there.
May 30, 2017
9/10 staffers were very nice. Campsites in need of work (gravel, grading, formatting). Overall wear tear showing on this whole campground. Sites very close/tight together.
May 30, 2017
This KOA is 1000% better than one I stayed in in another state. People are on top of things friendly and kind and they keep it quite at night and there activities for the kids are outstanding. Thank you
May 30, 2017
Very nice, great amenities. I think it was very expensive for what you got though (deluxe cabin). The people are super nice. Jesse the manager was super helpful. Thank you Jesse
May 30, 2017
The site we had a little small but we didn't spend much time at the campground. The staff was very nice and helpful.
May 30, 2017
So many fun activities for the kids! The cabin was clean and centrally located. The staff was so helpful! Can't wait for our next visit!
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Stayed at a lower non electric/water tent site over Memorial Day Weekend. The site did not have a fire ring nor picnic table, we moved to another site. All of the lower tent sites I saw were not flat. It would be nice if they build tent platforms. The tent sites are not well marked. The facilities were pretty decent and it was nice they provided free pancakes.
May 30, 2017
There was no access to the parking spot for my cabin so I had squeeze my car in between 2 other cabins to get to the spot. When I went to leave I got a flat tire on my car.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you could not locate the designated parking for the cabin. We do not recommend driving through rough terrain, please stay on designated roads.
May 28, 2017
Great free pancakes in the morning!
May 27, 2017
Nice campground. Bathhouses were very clean. For some reason there was hay all over the ground as if they just seeded. Got all in the camper but other than that, good place
May 26, 2017
N/A
May 26, 2017
Not pleased at all this time. They changed our site from what we booked and got the worst site in the place.
May 24, 2017
Site was a little muddy because of rain I think some gravel at the sites would help and maybe cable at all the sites. But we enjoy our stays there. Also wish you had 2 price points one with wrist bands and one without.
May 24, 2017
May 24, 2017
Our site didn't have a fire ring or picnic table. Staff was quick to bring one. A lot of sites are very close. Neighbor's sewer hook up is right next to your picnic table/fire ring. Heated pool was very nice. Got to enjoy swimming earlier than most places. For $10 fee would be nice if mini golf course was fixed up. Almost put foot through b/c of rotten wood under rug. Movies were nice.
May 23, 2017
Disappointed in the "deluxe" site . It was pull thru with 50 amp and a wooden picnic table, nothing special. Also charged an additional $10 a night for "resort Fee". Only KOA i've been in where the pool, etc., were an extra fee. Made the stay a little pricier.
May 23, 2017
Nice campground. 2nd stay at this location. Nice pancake breakfast. Close to all that goes on in Harper's Ferry. Clean facilities. Staff is always helpful.
May 23, 2017
We attended a club rally at this site. We felt that for $66 a night for a sight that puts right into the next person plus a $20 resort fee that we did not use any of the resort amenities was too expensive. Seems like there should be an option of wearing a wrist band to access and pay for resort items. KOA's are getting too pricey for my tastes.
May 23, 2017
Staff was friendly! Enjoyed a nice, clean swim in the pool. Sites were very small and many of the trailers/ RV's barely fit and were touching,if not completely on , the roads. Also, the quiet hours clearly were not reinforced with people very loud, music playing, and dogs barking loudly until close to midnight. So much for a quiet campfire and rest for travels the next day.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals