Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
The whole staff is amazing, as always! The staff at this KOA makes the whole camping experience very enjoyable! Always so friendly and kind!
May 27, 2014
The only reason I rate you average instead of above average is because you curfew is 10:00. We were not allowed to make noise after 10:00 and we had 6 campsites of family. How can we have different conversations without making some noise. I am coming back labor day weekend and I hope we can have more fun after 10:00 like playing our acoustic guitar around the campfire, isn't that what camping is
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
We enjoyed all the activities and things to do for the kids. Bathrooms had back up issues as did our site with dumping tanks. Extremely expensive, nickel and dimed for everything....even payed for dog. Nice campground, just too expensive!
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
The spots are extremely tight, not comfortable sitting around the fire and leaning on the neighbors slideout on his rig. Also, at the pool the language and behavior of some of the teenagers was too much to keep my 8 year old in that environment. Very well maintained and good activities. I won't return.
May 27, 2014
We have been camping at this KOA for years and this was our first bad experience. We are VIK members and our service at our campsite when we arrived terrible - I have a back injury and needed to help move my picnic table because "staff was all busy". The noise after 11:00 pm kept us up all three nights & was totally unacceptable. There was no hot water for showers our first night. What happened?
May 27, 2014
The camp offered so much for family. The location was perfect for outside adventures as well. The bike parade for the children, band, and hay rides were all appreciated. Obviously, everyone loves a pool, and your pool was just right. The wine tasting was a very creative addition and added a touch of class to our stay. The camp sites are well maintained.We look forward to staying with you again.
May 27, 2014
We had a fantastic time
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
We have camped every year for the past 6 and our group grows each time! We love it!!!
May 27, 2014
This was our first time at a KOA. We loved the Kamping Kabin and really enjoyed certain aspects of the place, such as the friendly staff, pool, and pancake breakfast. However, the campground was far too crowded. Every square inch was occupied by a tent or RV. More reserved, green space is needed. You also need more bathrooms. The band on Sunday night played too late.
May 27, 2014
I rented the 20-person bunkhouse and the A/C did not work when I got there. They called in someone and got it up and running relatively quickly. We had a blast and can't wait to come back again.
May 27, 2014
Very crazy! Lots of people everywhere and no one really over seeing anything well. We had different rules every time we went to the bounce pillow which was very annoying. And the pool was beyond crazy! We have enjoyed staying here every other time but this time will def make me think twice before our next trip.
May 27, 2014
The restrooms near site 127 were dirty most of the time. On a busy weekend, they should have been cleaned more often. We had friends staying on site 84 and we could not believe how little room there was between trailers. Activities for kids were good and the pancake breakfast was great. Overall a good stay but could have been better
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
There was so much for kids to do which was great. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
May 27, 2014
Very nice,clean,conveinant, nice people, my only complaint is our site was on a hill and had to put 5 blocks under legs of pop up in the back to level out.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Location is great, just at entrance of national park. However, at current rates per site, there is appears to be no money put back in, beyond just cosmetics. Restrooms/showers are in poor condition and are basically inadequate for the number of sites. Cable tv worked sometimes.
May 27, 2014
This was my first time at a KOA. It was way nicer than I ever expected!The facilities were cleaned often, which was awesome since it was a busy memorial day weekend. All of the staff was very friendly too.
May 27, 2014
There are many amenities at the campground, our favorite one being the free pancake breakfast. This is a great campground for kids. Our only complaint was the noisy people, but you get that anywhere.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Our kids had a lot of fun here and there was always something to do. The free pancakes were great! There were a lot of PG-13 movies being shown throughout the weekend, I would have preferred more G and PG movies for the younger kids to watch. Water temperature in the showers was hit or miss.
May 27, 2014
We had a really great visit. Even though the park was packed, we felt the staff did an excellent job of treating everyone very well and keeping everything clean and neat. This is our favorite park, of the many we visit, for many reasons. And we will continue to visit here as often as we can. I only wish you could expand the number of full service sites you have because sometimes your filled up.
May 27, 2014
We have stayed at several KOA's over the years. This is by far one of the best! Althought the cabin site we had was in a veritable ditch a the front door, it was clean and situated so we could get to know our neighbors :).The campground was clean all of the staff was very helpfull and friendly. We booked atthe last min and were happy to be there.Bathrooms were huge and clean.Highly reccomended!
May 26, 2014
May 25, 2014
Very nice park and close to everything we wanted to see.
May 25, 2014
I want to tell everybody it was a great time and the people were very nice just. Like family so if you want a great time and great people then go to this koa
May 24, 2014
Very clean and friendly staff.
May 24, 2014
This was a trip planned to go to Washington DC but we could not find a closer campground that any of our friend had stayed at in the past. Someone told use about Charlestown and your ground there in Harpers Ferry. It was great for what we wanted to do--go site see DC. One suggest get some info on the METRO lines so your guest can use. Great breakfast, pool outstanding,staff excellent. Will return
May 23, 2014
Great camp store! Nice wooded sites, but mostly 30amp services. A newer area was apparently added within last few years. New area has very narrow sites and hard to navigate thru with our large trailer. We would return again.
May 22, 2014
We love your campground! The large campsites allow us to entertain when we host dinners for family camping trips. We love the fact that there was a battle fought on the site of your campgrounds, rich with history! The proximity to Harper's Ferry is also wonderful...so beautiful! Staff is always friendly and helpful.
May 22, 2014
Definitely kid friendly- would recommend to a family. Campsites weren't isolated enough for a real tent camping experience. Would probably stay somewhere else next time as we are a couple without children.
May 22, 2014
Very friendly!! Loved the free pancakes for breakfast. Will definitely be returning.
May 22, 2014
Great space, great rates and a great surprise, a free pancake breakfast, not just one day but all three that we were there. Keep up the good work, we'll be sure to come back!
May 22, 2014
May 22, 2014
The amenities were great. Staff was very friendly. We were originally disappointed with the size of our site, but after speaking with someone at the front desk we were able to be moved to a site that would accommodate our 10x10 tent.
May 22, 2014
Rented a small cabin, it was clean and had everything we needed.loved the campground and the friendly staff.check in and out easy.loved the buy one get one night special!
May 22, 2014
We actually didn't enjoy our stay at WV KOA as much as in the past. Partly because our campsite wasn't up to par. We have children and weren't anywhere near children's activities. But also the neighbors dogs kept wandering onto our site and at one time attacked me as I was walking our leashed dog. He went after my dog and once I picked our dog up proceeded to attack my leg until I kept walking.
May 22, 2014
Its OK lots 2do for kids but we were a group of 14 adults,we asked to be away from kids since i knew we would be loud. Needless to say at 10pm quite time goes into effect& we got talked to about 11pm so not bad but they were rude about it. They could have just said it nicely. So by the next day we knew to keep it down & Lucky for us the group of guys across from us were too loud Saturday
May 22, 2014
It was a VERY busy weekend when we arrived with lots of activities, including wine tasting! But after the weekend it cleared out and was delightfully quiet. I really liked the proximity to Harpers Ferry National Park, and the Civil War historical sites all around, including in the campground.
May 22, 2014
Very nice, large KOA. We drive big rig and have stated here on several occasions. The main issue I aways have is site size and level. The sites here for larger rigs are small and very bad level. One must be prepared for extreme adjustments because of this. The sites can be narrow and the driving to get in and out difficult. There are few options to change this so be aware. Overall nice.
May 22, 2014
After reading some reviews I was sceptical about staying but am glad we did!! We have a 43 foot camper and our site was roomy.The campground was clean and well kept, the staff was friendly, people abided by the quiet hours and there was alot for the kids to do!! Also enjoyed the free pancakes and the local wines for sale at Grapes and Grinds. Will be going back here in the future for sure.
May 22, 2014
Staff friendly.Next to Harpers Ferry National Park.Lots for kids to do.
May 21, 2014
hello, we love staying at the Koa cabins every year, but this time was a little disappointing. maintance was working on the next cabin banging and sawing waking us up very early. we did not expect this type of disrespect while on vaca. Also they really need to invest in new mattresses.those beds are uncomfortabe sleeping and creek with every move. This is not what you want for paying $200/nt
May 20, 2014
May 20, 2014
Always good camping at Harpers Ferry KOA!!
May 19, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.