Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 16, 2016
Was alittle tight maneuvering lg camper around sites but, overall was a nice place to stay!
May 16, 2016
The roads were really tight. We have a 36 foot trailer and navigating between trees and other campers in the tight spots made for an aggravating time. But it was better on the way out. There were a lot of activities for children which was nice even though we didn't have any. The movie theater and shop were neat and I really enjoyed the wine shop. Overall a nice stay.
May 16, 2016
May 16, 2016
This was our first trip to this KOA to celebrate my birthday. We plan to visit more often!
May 16, 2016
The showers could use a good cleaning.
May 16, 2016
May 16, 2016
We found the staff both professional and polite. The facilities are in shape. We would stay here again - no question.
May 16, 2016
I had a great time.....it was my first visit and everything was great. I would only have liked to been closer to the rest of my group, when we made the reservations we were told we would all be beside each other but once we got the the third cabin had been rented out to another party...that's my only complaint
May 16, 2016
Grounds were not kept up at all. Premium site was unlevel and was moved to a different site. Cable did not work and was just laying on the ground. Sewer cap was broke off and grass was not mowed. Puddles of rain and lots of mud everywhere. Needs lots of stone. KOA's are supposed to be a step above for the prices that you charge. Will not be coming back.
May 16, 2016
Had a good stay, the staff was very friendly. My only complaint was the sites along the road heading towards the maintenance shop was very busy & noisy all day due to staff going up & down.
May 16, 2016
Website is not user friendly, had a cabin reserved for several months when we went to check in it wasn't what I had selected online. Customer service was rude and severely unattentive. Many workers were just standing around doing nothing, and not friendly or welcoming. No solution or compensation was offered to rectify the issue of being placed in the wrong cabin. Ant infestation was not pleasant.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our records indicate that you booked a 4 person cabin online in February. These reservations automatically go into our system. Your deposit and reservation confirmation both reflect this. You were checked into the cabin you booked.
May 10, 2016
This campground is full of great amenities and the location is great. But they need to put some money towards the upkeep of the campsites and cabins. Our cabin was very dirty. It needed a good cleaning. There was dog urine on the bed and door, and dead ants covered the floor. Other cabins had tarps over the roofs. It appears all of the money is going towards the check-in area/store& amenities
May 10, 2016
This was probably the worst and most expensive KOA we have ever stayed. It was poorly maintained, not big rig friendly, lacked rule enforcement, and appeared more like a poorly-maintained mobile home park. Plus, they charged a $10 per day resort fee, for what?? The internet was slow, cable TV was fuzzy and what other amenities were there? Mini-golf. My goal is to spread the word!
May 10, 2016
1st thing they charged me for 2 nights instead of B1G1 free.2nd thing they moved me from a premium site to a reg. Site without asking me and did not credit me the difference until a day later when I went and asked about it. Shower had mold and the water was like needles. I don't think I will be going back too soon.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

KOA BIG weekend is May 13-14. You stayed on May 6-7, although the BIG discount did not apply, you did receive a free night using the Spring BOGO discount. Additionally, one of our new employees erroneously refunded you another night. You paid a total of $31.80 for two nights, a great deal!
May 09, 2016
My only issue this trip was the inconvenience of the office not having our cabin key when we got there (previous guest took it)- and the backup didn't work
May 09, 2016
Wonderful time!
May 09, 2016
Tons of great activities for kids including mini golf and a great camp store. Super close to town! Only complaint is the bathrooms were not very clean at all and were very old. Bath houses need to be re-modeled. Had to walk really far from our tent site to even get to a bathroom. Also very muddy when it rains. Should plant some grass.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
We go there about 3 or 4 time a year in we love it nice,
May 09, 2016
Park was clean, staff very nice, lots of activities, just the sites are very tight when trying to maneuver larger rigs. More signs directing drivers in the 30-40 sites would be helpful.
May 09, 2016
Always a family favorite, outstanding operation here.
May 09, 2016
I used to love this campground. We have been going here for almost 10 years but they really need to improve somethings. The bath houses need to be renovated the same shower that wasn't working last fall is still broken. The sites need gravel or concrete pads because it just becomes a muddy mess with the rain. There is no grass in the sites and most of the gravel has washed away just leavingmud

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Spring time is always an adventure! We have received about 1/3 of our Spring rain in the last two weeks. We can't wait for the weather to be more cooperative so that work on site repairs.
May 08, 2016
Staff was friendly, respectful, and helpful.
May 07, 2016
sites were very tight. getting out of campground was difficult. Staff was very nice
May 06, 2016
The cabin was nice and there was stuff for the kids to do. Friendly staff as well. The price was a little high. For a better price could have stayed in a hotel down the street.
May 05, 2016
We love this KOA....our only complaint would be the bugs that come in the spring....they are not as bad in the summer.
May 05, 2016
Great place,fun activities, enjoyed our stay. Employees very friendly and efficent
May 05, 2016
I stayed in a cabin. It was very clean and comfortable. The campground was well taken care of and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
May 04, 2016
It seems there were many add on costs that we haven't encountered at other KOAs. Pet charges specifically. The location was great for Harpers Ferry and to the many wineries.
May 04, 2016
visited the battle field joged the trails down to the river and did garden tours a good time
May 04, 2016
We made sure to call the reservation line so that my friend and I would have spots next to each other and we get there and not only are we not next to each other but we're on complete opposite sides! Then they tell us that they didn't see notes on their end and they could get us a few spots from each other. It wasn't until we complained enough that they offered us two side by side spots, really?!
May 03, 2016
Just getting kinda pricey
May 03, 2016
May 03, 2016
May 03, 2016
We really love this campground, especially because it's close to the park, has a really nice pet area, and we enjoy the wine tastings. We were surprised to be given a site so far away from the restrooms, though. Are sections of the campground closed in the spring?
May 02, 2016
nice facility - the koa value card however is not much use to - just isn't a great rewards program
May 02, 2016
May 02, 2016
I really enjoy coming to your campground however for the amount of money spent you would expect the bathroom doors to have the locks repaired if not working.
May 02, 2016
need some shade trees around the rv park where you park motorhomes lots 40s and 50s
May 02, 2016
We had a great visit, even though we got wet. The staff was friendly and helpful, and our site was exactly what I had asked for in my special request. My four year old loved the activities, and is already requesting to go back!
May 02, 2016
Cabin smelled like urine. Fire pit contained trash. Cabin roof leaked.
May 02, 2016
Nice campground with lots of activities. The RV sites are rather small and the grass was extremely tall at our site. Rain caused pooling water at our site which made packing up difficult.
May 02, 2016
I really like this campground. It's well-maintained, has a great camp store, lots of activities, etc. My biggest complaint is that it is over-priced...very over-priced in my opinion.
May 02, 2016
The sites are WAY too close together. Since we were traveling with friends, we requested side-by-side sites and we were assured, No Problem..you are next to each other. When we checked in, there were no notes of our request and the KOA crew had to juggle sites to accommodate. Wish the sites were in better shape and roomier. Overpriced. KOA crew were great! Very kind and accommodating
May 02, 2016
Great park, happy to see improvements being done. One of our favorite places to camp.
May 02, 2016
Started running backhoes at 7 am. Need some paint and maintenance. Staff not enthusiastic.
May 02, 2016
fire hazzards

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are unaware of any fire hazards and work to ensure that the campground is safe for everyone. We would be glad to talk with you more about your concerns.
May 01, 2016
Loved the dog park. Lot #2 is a terrible lot! Rain water run off coming off your road needs to be redirected as it runs straight into this lot and into front door, it appears to be a water leak under your road it's always running making this lot very uneven ,hardly enough room to park because of the trenches . Makes this lot dangerous for children and seniors.
May 01, 2016
Stayed in the bunk house with 13 girl scouts and 3 adults. It fit our needs perfectly. The place was simple but very clean. We could have used a sink and stove, but we knew that going in. The best thing to me was the people. They were very nice and very very accommodating.
May 01, 2016
The sites are a little small and tight to get into. Over all the campground is a good one to stay at. There are lots of activities and the staff is very friendly and helpful if you have any questions.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals