Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Overcrowded!!!!! Pancakes were great Most staff very friendly Store was well stocked Wine tasting a joke! Overcrowded!
Jul 26, 2015
We loved the location, the kids loved the pool and the jumping pillow. The restrooms were not the best, but far from the worst.
Jul 26, 2015
Beautiful location, beautiful campground and friendly staff. We will be back!
Jul 25, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful,I liked my site in the woods.
Jul 25, 2015
I found this campground disappointing. My site was as much dirt as gravel; had it rained it would have been a mess. Since I travel with my dogs I always stay where there is a dog park. This one was almost half dirt rather than grass and would have ben a mess with rain. The folks were nice, however, and the camp store was well stocked, but the site had a worn and not "kept up" appearance.
Jul 24, 2015
The only reason we chose 4 stars is the condition of the pool. It could use some work. Everyone was friendly and of course the pancaks are always delicious.
Jul 24, 2015
The sites are clean and large enough and well maintained. The bathrooms and showers are clean and well maintained.
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
The pool was fantastic. The bathrooms were clean. The sites were a bit close to each other, and the hubs was disappointed there was no fishing in the pond. But overall we had a great time & will be back!
Jul 23, 2015
very clean and enjoyable
Jul 23, 2015
We really enjoyed it and hope to come back next year!!!
Jul 22, 2015
We love coming to the HF KOA. We come several times a year. Our stay great. It was easy to check in and we always love the pancake breakfest!
Jul 22, 2015
We stay here about 4-5 times a year. We like the layout of the campground. The sites are great and the staff are excellent.
Jul 22, 2015
When I made reservations, I did'nt pay the extra $20 to guarantee a certain site. The lady I spoke with told me which site she had put us in (we had concerns about the size of our camper). I reserved with a deposit equivalent to one night's stay. When we arrived, we were told we were in a different site, which cost us $13 more per night than the one we were originally supposed to be in. Not happy
Jul 22, 2015
chocolate week end was wonderful,pool is great,always have lots to do or not.....love the wooded sites.but would like to be assigned the nicer bigger sites first without having to chnge...should hold smaller sites til last
Jul 22, 2015
Had a great time, lots to do. Only suggestion is better care and cleaning of the restrooms.
Jul 22, 2015
The KOA was extremely outfitted with fun kid stuff, however we had to leave because our camp area was Swarming with hundreds to thousands of nats. As I came out if the trailer, they were in my eyes as I would blink and in my nose. I had to pack up and leave immediately. Finished assembling our stuff down by the showers where there was not much issue. Refused to rain check or give partial refund.
Jul 21, 2015
We really enjoyed ourselves. Lots to do. The cleanliness of the bathrooms needs work!! Especially the one at the pool.
Jul 21, 2015
Excellent experience, treated well by all the staff that we had contact with. Very clean and well maintained.
Jul 21, 2015
The cabins are overpriced.I paid over $350 for 3 nights (1 of them being free) &the cabin was tiny &did not even have a kitchen area (stove, oven, etc).Our cabin faced another &our outdoor area was right on top of the people next door. We did not feel comfortable making a fire being so close to strangers. We expected this place to be woodsy and have trails and be by the water.Activities were nice.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Fantastic! The staff was incredible! Great (free) pancakes, every day! We'll be back! Wish they had space in Oct.
Jul 21, 2015
Excellent campground, friendly staff, plenty of activities for the whole family to enjoy. Perfect campground to relax and get away, yet located close enough to still enjoy many of the local ammenities.
Jul 21, 2015
Harpers ferry KOA is our favorite campground. We camp there two to three times a year. This is the first time we had our camper out and were having some trouble getting our truck and camper apart. A staff member came by and immediately got us some help. The staff is always very friendly when we visit and we are hoping to visit again soon.
Jul 21, 2015
I loved every bit expect their were a lot of people that walk through our site , we were right across from the pancke hut 143
Jul 21, 2015
the only disappointments were that more than half the games in the game room were broken. Some labeled as such and some not. The games were also incredibly expensive. Some being 1$ per play. a bit much for kids.
Jul 21, 2015
There were many nice amenities, but no cable news (only local news), and some sites were too small in length for camper and vehicle.
Jul 21, 2015
when we checked in computers were rebooting because of power loss, no problem - i was told. day 2 we came back from touring to find that power in our motorhome with our dogs had obviously gone off. told at office, off briefly, "it always comes back on." this is a problem that needs resolution.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that the power went out. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over area wide power outages. We are sorry that the our utility provider, Potomac Edison, did not meet your expectations.
Jul 20, 2015
We always have a fantastic time at this KOA. The staff is friendly and accommodating as is allowed. My largest concern is the price and the fact that when you request a specific site well in advance of your stay a $25 fee is requested to guarantee the site. If I am planning ahead and I give your 2-3 months notice, I should be allowed to pick the site that accommodates me and meets my needs.
Jul 20, 2015
Planning to come back next year!
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
I like the campground. I absolutely do not like the policy of charging me 20.00 to reserve a favorite spot. I go to four or five camgeounds a year and always to at least one new one each year to try and I'm willing to pay half down deposit and I've never encountered the policy your campground has any where else. I think it's ridiculous. I don't know if I'll keep coming there because of this.
Jul 20, 2015
We liked the pancake breakfast and the Civil War Museum.
Jul 20, 2015
Sites are very tight & close....very unlevel & lots of stumps. I don't agree with the resort fee...should only charge if using pool. I feel it needs some maintenance work....the slide is held up by a piece of wood....really. it is a clean campground though.....very friendly staff.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
very good THANK YOU
Jul 20, 2015
we've stayed at this KOA several times before, and sadly this most recent visit did not meet the standards we'd experienced prior. The cabin was FILLED with bugs that we had to kill. There were even spider webs in the bunkbeds. Our friends stayed the first night but none of us stayed the 2nd night.
Jul 20, 2015
Everything was very good - great employees, nice activities, grounds well kept. The only thing I would try to improve is the cleaning schedule of bathrooms. They are thoroughly cleaned once a day and I think if that was bumped to twice it could make a huge difference.
Jul 20, 2015
This is my favorite KOA. It is clean, staff are great, wonderful assortment of activities.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great time!! The staff was so friendly and welcoming. The facilities were nice and clean (which is a must for me!) And there was always something to do. I will definitely be going back in the future!!
Jul 20, 2015
The cabin could be cleaner and also the bathrooms.
Jul 20, 2015
My family and I had a great time everyone was very nice. pancakes were good.
Jul 20, 2015
I enjoyed the campground very much. I do think some attention needs to be given to the Putt Putt course and an update to HD for the movies. Very nice atmophere and freindly staff.
Jul 20, 2015
Loved it! Had a great time.
Jul 20, 2015
Sights are not level and very small. Fire pits are not placed well in sites (paperwork states, "Do not move fire pits."). Permanent sites are overgrown and many not cated for well.
Jul 20, 2015
everybody very helpful pleasant
Jul 20, 2015
W/E/S Lots too narrow and difficult to level out unit - could not use fire ring because neighbors tip-out was positioned over ring. Had to request escort and not very helpful at a dusk arrival. Sewer hook-up higher than trailer on lot. They probably would have accommodated a location move. BR clean. Good area to sight see.
Jul 20, 2015
Camp ground us well maintained and close to attractions.
Jul 20, 2015
We like this KOA, have stayed here several times and never had an issue. However this last stay there was some sort of water leak up the hill from us. As a result our site was like a swamp

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.