Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
great activities for kids and family. Staff very friendly. Pancake breakfast was great. We look forward every summer to camping here.
Jun 25, 2015
I had the best time, I was planning my next vacation to go again the moment I left.
Jun 25, 2015
Fun. Family, friendly, cleanand great activities.
Jun 25, 2015
The kids loved all the fun things to do.
Jun 25, 2015
Simple and convenient place to stay....Kabin was full of ants and roads were so washed out they were almost undriveable.
Jun 25, 2015
This is our 2nd time coming to this site. My children age 10, 7 and 3. Love it!!! This is place where I trust my kids be safe. The Koa staffs are helpful and friendly. My children love the staff who were on pillow jump duty. Only suggestion I have maybe have dog watcher or sitter with pay at bark area. Because our family had to split in order to stay with our dog.
Jun 25, 2015
Nice clean park with lots of activities. Kids must love coming here. Even nice for us seasoned travelers. Hope to return.
Jun 25, 2015
Staff was friendly but were less than forthcoming when making reservations for 6 motor homes of all the tacked on fees to the initial reservation. The bathrooms were inadequate for our group never mind the other campers near us. The sights were uneven and a disgrace to be called premium. We were very disappointed and will let our national chapter know.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All rates and fees are available at the time of reservation. All reservations require a first night deposit which includes all rates and fees. Your group booked 50 Amp Pull through sites, we do not offer "premium" sites.
Jun 25, 2015
The camping spots are the tightest I've ever experienced. The staff were nice until we asked if they had a blood pressure cuff. My mom did not feel 100% and wondered if she should check her pressure just in case. The girl behind the counter looked at me like I had 3 heads. The movie theatre also flooded during a rain storm. The gutters are in terrible shape at the main building. Rough place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry we did not have the medical equipment you requested. We do not have medically trained staff or provide any medical services. We do provide camping facilities, we see where this may have been confusing. Emergency medical services are available via 911 at any time.
Jun 25, 2015
This KOA is perhaps the worst one we have ever stayed at in out 10 years on the road, They perhaps feel that there proximity to Harpers Ferry Federal park is justification for there high price. The rough roads and mud everywhere are really bad. Its So tight that we had to back up many times just to get in there "PULL THROUGH" site to avoid the RR ties holding back some of the mud.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Rates at any campground or hospitality facility are based on demand and local area attractions. Unfortunately, Tropical Storm Bill came through our area during your stay. We do our best to control mother nature for your comfort, but do not always have a choice in the matter. We are sorry it rained.
Jun 24, 2015
It was extremely crowded our 1st day, which is to be expected Fathers Day weekend. However, our site was directly next to a Military Vet Reunion who blared music from 11am-10pm. I understand quiet hours do not begin until 10pm, but the music was ridiculous. I was discouraged that they were allowed to party so loud, and for so long, at family campground. Everything else about our stay was great!
Jun 24, 2015
Overall, great. Very crowded though, sites are small and packed in together, although we managed to be assigned 100, which was actually great, kind of an "island" as the registrar put it. Enjoyed all the extras, like the wine tasting, fantastic camp store, DJ at the pool, live band at night. Game room and basketball rooms a little worn, but still good places for kids to hang out & play. Gr8Staff
Jun 23, 2015
Hoping that KOA will invest in levels of sites.
Jun 23, 2015
The only thing that upset us this whole weekend was the rudeness of the staff in the lounge area. We waited 7 minutes to even be waited on. The 2 girls were busy. One was washing dishes and one was cooking, but the boy was talking to a friend on the other end of the counter who was playing his music so loud on his phone that you couldn't hear.
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
We had a great stay. There 24 from Troop 899 and the campgrounds were clean and accomodating.
Jun 23, 2015
I arrived in the dark & nearly got my vehicle stuck in a gulley in the road -wasn't told about road conditions before heading to campsite. There wasn't a tent pad & the campsite was on a slope with lots of rocks/sticks. Very little shade & a large stump in the campsite(major trip factor). All of the amenities offered can't make a poor nights sleep any better! $90+ & $57- way overpriced.
Jun 23, 2015
This way our first time camping as a family, we choose this place because it had so much to offer when you have kids. I would highly recommend this place to anyone with kids. My only disappoint was that we had a site that was on a complete slope which made sleeping strange. Also some of the access roads where pretty washed out and I have a Honda civic, glad I didn't get one of them!
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Weren't we surprised to find all the extra fees tacked on to our reservations for 6. We even had a club membership tacked on to one reservation. The sites were un-level, the bathroom was inadequate and we will NOT be visiting KOA's again, and we will let our national organization know of our disappointment.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All rates and fees are available at the time of reservation. All reservations require a first night deposit which includes all rates and fees. We are sorry you felt the bathrooms were "inadequate", we are unaware of any issue during the time you were here.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
There needs to be dedicated Pathways to cross the camp sites it was getting real old when people were cutting through our sites
Jun 22, 2015
There were many pros and cons to this campground. Let me start with the pros, staff was friendly, pool was great, grinds and grapes was neat! Cons- smallest sites I have ever seen. Our neighbors sewage hole was one foot away from our camper! Gross! We watched four campers come in and leave because they were placed in ridiculously small sites!
Jun 22, 2015
Good pool and plenty of activities. Nicely balanced between family, adult (wine tasting) and children's activities. Also couldn't be closer to the national park.
Jun 22, 2015
Always a pleasure to stay here. My family has been coming here for years.
Jun 22, 2015
This was our first experience at KOA and it was great. We were invited by friends who have been going to KOA for years. We are making plans to come back with the group.
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was great. Friendly staff and clean facilities. Only issue was the campers next to us who had no regard for quiet hours.
Jun 22, 2015
The one complaint is that the single-room cabin we used flooded during a heavy storm, leaving silt and leaves.
Jun 22, 2015
We like this KOA very much but camped there with friends and couldn't be side by side because of the size of campers. They assured us that we would be right across the road from each other and on the map it showed that way but when getting there they were across and down the road. Your staff on the phone and at site were not aware of the distance between these sites. please correct your map.
Jun 22, 2015
Great place. We will be back again.
Jun 22, 2015
i understand this koa is under somewhat new management. We go there everyyear as a family and this time was not a good experience. Bathrooms were nasty, had poop in one of the showers. After 10 pm i was sitting out by the fire by myself and was told i had to go into my camper because it was after quiet time. They rode around and did this to everyone who was out. The time was around 11pm.
Jun 22, 2015
Excellent sites, great staff!
Jun 22, 2015
Ground where tents needed to be very uneven had to repair road that was washed away myself to get our truck out
Jun 22, 2015
Best KOA for activities. Really homey feel
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Full hookup sites were tiny. I was about 30 ft from the Wyfi transmitter but there was no service. The cost was extremely high and the value was poor. The location was OK but once was enough.
Jun 22, 2015
From the beautiful ladies that greeted us at the entrance to the pancake makers, everyone was so happy, friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this KOA to anyone and everyone!! I so enjoyed my Birthday Weekend!! Thank you!!
Jun 22, 2015
the campground was in a state of disrepair. sites needed mowing limbs on ground everywhere trash on sites more than 1/2 of the machines in laundry broken sites too crowded and too small for the average trailer/tow vehicle combination.
Jun 22, 2015
only thing that needs more attention are the bathrooms
Jun 22, 2015
Very enjoyable stay. Helpful, friendly staff and a nice, clean facility.
Jun 22, 2015
Quiet hours not enforced. First night good, 2nd horrible. Neighbors (party of at 25 we could see) up til 2 am talking loudly.Then back up at 6 am. Other neighbor drunk hollering. Dogs barking loudly at 3 am.Not once did anyone patrol by. (Site 277) Left day early for this reason.Camped all life, never had this problem. Very disappointed. Never here on a weekend again!Loved amenities and area.
Jun 22, 2015
This was a nice campground with a great location. The only issue that I had was with the price. There was a base price for the site which was fine, but then there was a resort fee, fee for children, and taxes. This information should be clearly shown when making a reservation.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All rate information is available previous to making a reservation. A first night deposit is required to make all reservations and includes all additional fees. Additionally, a reservation confirmation is emailed with an estimated total cost. We are sorry you were unhappy with the rates.
Jun 22, 2015
I was very disappointed when we checked in and then found out I was not even close to my family's camp site when I was assured I would be 😕 also you need to do something about the gnats, they were horrible 😁

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not show that you had reservations with any other parties. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about gnats, they are a natural part of camping. We hope you enjoyed your outdoor experience.
Jun 22, 2015
We were greeted by two very nice ladies at the gate upon arrival and the was the end of the pleasant experience during our stay. This was by far the worst campground we have ever stayed at. At the registration office we were given very little information. No help getting to the site even though we told them we had never stayed before.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you did not get the information you were looking for. We do offer site escorts upon request.
Jun 22, 2015
I was a bit thrown off. The bikes advertised were not bikes but quad vehicles and I am 6 ft 6 inches. Despite this I gave a try. Way too difficult for myself and the boys we circled the facility once and kids gave up. I had paid for an hour for all 3 kids plus myself and attempted to see if 30 min could be credited. The 'hard no' told me I am no longer welcome.Cabin or no cabin we don't matter.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not rent any vehicles. We do rent fun-cycles and peddle carts (bikes), some do have 4 wheels. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your rental. All guests are subject to the same rules and policies, regardless of their camping accommodations.
Jun 21, 2015
We loved the shaded sites and the pull thru. Easy to get in and out of. We also liked the short walk over to the Harper Ferry visitor center. We saved a lot on gas.
Jun 21, 2015
Too many sites packed in to an otherwise nice property. Bathrooms clean but showers are not good. Crazy water pressure and temps... peel off skin if not careful! Some facilities in need of maintenance and cleaning. Snack bar and arcade area, for example. Pancake hut and coffee/ wine shop is nice.
Jun 21, 2015
The kids and I had a great time camping and participating in the activities at the campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only concern I had was the location of our tent site, it was unnerving to have two rain runoff trenches surrounding your site and your tent was located toward the bottom. I appreciate the efforts your staff put forth in trying to quiet noisy campers after hours.
Jun 21, 2015
This is the most friendly KOA we've ever stayed in! Thank you for your kindness!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.