Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2014
We're only giving 3 stars due to the sites. They could be improved. However, the resort is packed with fun things for young families and close to NPS Harper's Ferry for the history buffs.
Jul 09, 2014
We just love this KOA. It is our favorite place to go of all times. The staff there are the kindest most accommodating staff of any campground we have ever been to.
Jul 07, 2014
This is the first KOA campground that is actually close to the site we wanted to visit. Too expensive for a long stay, though.
Jul 05, 2014
The internal roads are very narrow and are rutted. We have a larger rig and it was hard to get into the sites. Once we were in the sites they were nice, but ours was very harrow. I would have expected to have trash pick up at the cost of the sites. The help was nice, but we had trouble finding our site, an escort would have been great.
Jul 04, 2014
This KOA is overpriced for a stay. Numerous things need attention. The swimming pool is dirty,sides never cleaned,burning trash blowing into pool,no wash basin for dirty feet from construction.Sites need attention, uneven,trash on ground,pull thru sites too short. Garbage dumpsters over flowing.In general this is the worst kept KOA I have stayed at.
Jul 04, 2014
this is the first time i stayed at harpers ferry and it was fantasic,and very family oriented We will deffently stay there again
Jul 03, 2014
We found this campground to be neat and tidy with lots of amenities and friendly staff. We stayed mid week so the campground was relatively quiet. We were a annoyed that the site right next to us turned over 2X in the 3 nights we were there, when clearly there were tons of other sites available. Otherwise the complaints aren't the fault of KOA swearing at the pool, loud music from another site etc
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
We enjoyed this years stay very much.Staff was friendly and helpful. I would have liked to have had more activities on Sunday, but, overall, a great time.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Pool area was large. Roads were narrow and hard to navigate with camper. Sites were short and packed together too tightly. High price to camp was not a good value.
Jul 03, 2014
This was a well located KOA, but the attitude of the staff matched the captive audience mindset. The WIFI never worked and when we complained the sweet young thing behind the counter simply shrugged. Two nights at one of the most expensive KOA's we have stayed at and they were totally unresponsive to a problem. I suggested maybe a price reduction might be in order, a second shrug. Go elsewhere.
Jul 03, 2014
pull thru sites are a little tough to get into
Jul 02, 2014
The Harpers Ferry KOA is a verry nice place , and a good location. Onley a fiew things that could be inproved is the number of 50 amp sights with full hook up.
Jul 02, 2014
Our Scout Troop Had A Bike Trip to the C&O Canal, and stayed at the Camp Ground. Great Camp Ground. Very Impressed! Thank You
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Very Enjoyable
Jul 01, 2014
We love this campground; however we take issue with the $8 entertainment fee tacked on. I am not interested in using any of the pool or playground facilities nor am I interested in pancakes. Two pancakes, spread over a three day stay, cost me $12 a plate! Other than that the campground is in beautiful shape and no stinkbugs this year. Thanks.
Jul 01, 2014
Great location, great campsite BUT the WIFI is really really bad. Please do something to upgrade it. Not only myself but heard a lot of campers complaining about the poor WIFI.
Jul 01, 2014
New sites were too narrow, old sites had trees roots very exposed and interior roads were bad.Resort fee added per person was too much. We had to pay $48 for 6 club members some of who could no longer camp to come to our meeting and dinner for 3 hours. Extreme prices for families w/children and senior citizens, even those who just visit for just a few hours. They didn't use any of the facilities
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Well maintained, very clean, organized activities, friendly helpful staff, budget friendly. You do need a hot tub, but otherwise one of the best campgrounds we have visited.
Jul 01, 2014
My family and I had a great experience with Harper's Ferry KOA. The amenities are great for adults and kids. My kids were occupied by the activities like making beaded necklaces and playing at the little carnival activity. The pool, jump house and giant jump pillow were fun too!
Jul 01, 2014
Great park but lot 52 very uneven. Required lots of work to. Set up.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Our family had a nice visit at KOA Harpers Ferry. The campground was well kept and there are plenty activities for children. I would like to suggest that the KOA staff be more mindful of visitors when they are driving their golf carts. I felt the visitors should be able to cross roads and not wait for staff to pass and be more aware of children.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
So much to do at this campground,we had a great time. A little tight for some of the larger RV's getting to and from the sites but no complaints. I would recommend that someone be in the camp store to just handle items that are for purchase so you don't have to wait behind folks checking in to camp. it shouldn't ake 15 minutes to get a bag of ice or a cup of coffee. great campground!
Jul 01, 2014
Overall my experience was great. Lots of activities going on and a great place for children. Facilities were clean and well maintained. I rated an 8 out of 10 since some of the sites were a bit tight and the wifi was not working at all during my stay. working.
Jul 01, 2014
It was great. I read some blogs before going to this location and my opinion is that this is a great RV park. Felt safe. Kids loved it.
Jul 01, 2014
The deluxe cabins have a shared space that is a little small. I recommend staying with someone you know if you are sharng a fire space in that close of quarters.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
We love it! We will return next year for our "Cousin Camp."
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Love the area and park. The gift store was amazing as was the large pool. Only negative was our campsite was quite sloped to where we could not get level and had to switch spots and also no trees in our site at all.
Jun 30, 2014
We have stayed there 3 or 4 times and have enjoyed it. However; there are really not enough lounge chairs at the pool. If you are expecting 100-150 people you need to have more than 20 lounge chairs! Some of my group had to lay on towels on the concrete...not nice!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The staff is great, campground is clean and inviting. We already have reservations to go again.
Jun 30, 2014
We had a wonderful time. Can't wait to stay again.
Jun 30, 2014
Great amenities. VERY small sites.
Jun 30, 2014
There were many people (campers) that made our stay not so great. The couple fighting at midnight that disrupted our sleep and the families glaring at us in the restrooms made for an interesting stay. Employees were nice and helpful.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Always a great visit. This time though security needed to be on the ball regarding obnoxious drunk campers. Saturday night after 1:00 and a drunk woman was yelling and carrying on.
Jun 30, 2014
Very good service but very crowded. Our camp ground was on a slope hard to set up tents and other families were right on top of your campsite as well. I would rent a cabin next time before I would camp with 3 other families for 120 dollars for 2 nights
Jun 30, 2014
The staff was very courteous and helpful. The grounds were kept very clean with lots of personnel when needed. Problem, the actual campsites were very small and it was on a side of a hill.
Jun 30, 2014
Tripped over tree roots protruding out of ground in front of my cabin. I now have a bump on my forehead and a scrapped up nose where my head (glasses) hit the steps. I will never stay at this KOA again as this is an easy safety hazard to fix. Obviously this KOA is not about safety. Cabin 108 is very unsafe and should be fixed immediately.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for letting us know about the tree roots. Many of our sites and cabins are in a natural environment to enhance the camping experience. We also have sites and cabins with hard surface outdoor areas for those who prefer that type of accommodation.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.