Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 22, 2015
Staff very friendly, enjoyed the free pancakes, thanks. Pool nice, camping very nice.
Aug 22, 2015
Lots to do here. Most of the staff were friendly. The only negative is that the sites are extremely narrow. We have a toy hauler and it was very tight pulling out when surrounded by other RVs.
Aug 21, 2015
Very nice campground and close to the Harpers Ferry park. The site are a bit close to each other but the atmosphere and staff are great.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
I have previously stayed at this campground before and the experience was great. This past time my kids and I were very disappointed. I stayed Aug. 16-20th which I thought was their summer season, however many of the amenities were "closed because the kids are back in school". I wish I had been informed of this on their website prior to booking.
Aug 20, 2015
We just stayed at site 168. It was a roomy site, however it is in need of some gravel to cover the dry dusty dirt that was tracked everywhere.
Aug 20, 2015
Very friendly, considerate staff. I was a little disappointed at the amount of outside space with our Kampong Lodge. We barely had room to reach our picnic table when a camper moved in next to us.
Aug 20, 2015
This KOA is in a great location but needs a lot of maintenance work done. All three days we were there the swimming pool was so cloudy you couldn't see the bottom. We very seldom saw KOA employees around and the few that did drive past didn't bother to smile or wave. Definitely not the friendly atmosphere we're used to experiencing at KOA's. We won't go back there.
Aug 20, 2015
Met our overnight needs on our way to our final destination.
Aug 19, 2015
This KOA actually exceeded our expectations with the cleanliness, wine tastings, great camp store, wonderful pool, etc. Loved how you are situated right next to the historical park - great perk! We stayed in M009 and it was nice! Thanks to Google Earth we scoped out the sites ahead of time. But, the biggest upgrade we'd like is a stronger wifi as bluetooth/app connections were non-existent.
Aug 19, 2015
The area is beautiful, the campground is nice but they "nickel and dime you" to death. RV sites only allow for 2 people per site and they charge per person, per night. They also charge extra for a 2nd car. There is an activity fee per day (in addition to the site fee). If you want to guarantee your site, they charge you for it. Bottom line- lots of hidden fees which doubles your site
Aug 19, 2015
It was only one night, but very nice, no problems at all
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Harpers Ferry is my favorite KOA, but be warned... you will not be able to enjoy all the amenities in just a weekend. Stay longer to enjoy to the fullest. We'll be back in September!
Aug 18, 2015
Checking out the lady was indifferent, no thank you or goodbye, nothing. Mattress was terrible, no support at all, like a half full air mattress. And checking in also, not very friendly. Pool nice, cabin was nice, but they say, bring linens for the delux cabins, but they do not tell you that you need to bring utensils. I still like the place and area
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed at Harpers Ferry KOA on a weekend in August. It was very crowded but still had plenty to do the kids never had to wait in line and the pancake breakfast was great! Only two small things that bothered us, the bathrooms were only cleaned once a day and it showed. With that many people it should have been done several times daily and the mold in the showers did not get there overnight.
Aug 18, 2015
We liked the jumping pillow, the pool that was opened until 10 pm, ,the playground the pancakes in the morning. Everything was very close to our cabin but it was no privacy at all and the campground is too small to accommodate all the people. It was no trees around the cabin and we couldn't be outside while the sun was up. It was no room to put the blanket on the ground near the cabin.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Overcrowded, tight site campground, trashy overall, dirty pool and restrooms, mini-golf is broken, worn out and disgusting, no enforcement of quiet time, no enforcement of encroachment by neighbor's slide out + bad placement of fire rings = no campfire. Will not come again, will strongly recommend to avoid.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our record indicate that you stayed on site 12. This is a very large back-in site with plenty of room for a campfire. This site is requested and guaranteed often. We are sorry it did not accommodate your camping needs.
Aug 18, 2015
We made certain that we chose a site close to the bathhouse, we paid an extra $20 so we could name our site, and on Friday night the hot water wasn't working. The problem was never resolved during our stay. They also seemed to be short staffed since half the time the kids couldn't play on the water slide or bounce pillow. Very disappointed!
Aug 18, 2015
we had a great weekend Staff was very nice will be planing another trip soon.
Aug 18, 2015
I give this three stars because of the bathroom and the pool. The restroom need to be cleaned several times a day. There were hair everywhere. The pool was cloudy and the pool lining were loose, it was uncomfortable.
Aug 18, 2015
My daughter and I spent two nights here. The staff was extremely friendly. I was impressed with how cean the comfort station was. I would highly recommend Harpers Ferry KOA to my greetings and family.
Aug 18, 2015
We where traveling and needed a place for night our gps brought us to the campground and it was a pleasant stay with a lovely pancake breakfast to get us started our way thank you for a restful night all staff was wonderful
Aug 17, 2015
very nice people and a clean campground. they are always willing to help. a lot of activities to keep everybody happy.
Aug 17, 2015
This is one of my favorite campgrounds. We usually stay here once a season. Little disappointed there was not bingo the weekend we were here.
Aug 17, 2015
We had a wonderful time....just confused about why no one was there to open some things on time, the golf course would be nice if they fixed it, and our cabin definitely could have been cleaner. But we had a great time
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
This is the second time we have stayed @ this campground and loved it! Such to the point where we had more friends come this year. The staff is more accommodating than any where else we've been. The kids had fun with all the activities. The pool is awesome too!
Aug 17, 2015
We have Camped at the Harpers Ferry KOA for the last 3 years with our family. Each year we have enjoyed relaxing at our camp site and the kids enjoy the many activities offered. We have been disappointed in the upkeep of the campground - mini golf course greens torn and boards rotten, roads and some sites washed out. Please take pride in your campground and make some necessary repairs.
Aug 17, 2015
We were very pleased with the site and amenities; however the site was a little too close for comfort to other RVs. The Store was awesome, one of the best we've seen!
Aug 17, 2015
We did NOT like being packed into our camping space like sardines. This KOA is way TOO crowded. We did not enjoy the "trailer park" feel. The activities were great for the children but the spacing of the campers ruined the chances of us returning.
Aug 17, 2015
The campground has a lot of activities for families, however, it seems each year they are adding more camp sites which results in people being on top of each other. The noise level at night is horrible because you can't hear yourself think with others so close in proximity.
Aug 17, 2015
Quietest campground we have ever stayed in. Had a wonderful time
Aug 17, 2015
This was our first time at your campground and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our 5 year old said he wanted to stay forever. All the activities were fun and well organized. One thing that could be improved upon would be the snack bar in the game room. We were there 3 times throughout our weekend stay and it was very unorganized all 3 times . Most of the problems were incorrect signage for choice
Aug 17, 2015
It was great and we can't wait to come back! The presence of staff continually curriculating the premise was very reassuring. And we can't forget the awesome daily pancakes! Yum! I would like to suggest that the office staff remember to direct its guests as to where their site is as we set up our tent before realizing that it needed to be to the right of the post. Thank you!! See you again!
Aug 17, 2015
We enjoyed our stay with KOA. The pool and commons areas were above standard, and we loved the pancake breakfast. Check-in was fast and easy. It is a perfect location to River Riders and to the downtown. The sites themselves were tight and not very level. The bathroom and shower near the laundry really needs some cleaning and update. The laundry room was huge!
Aug 17, 2015
Sites are close together. Mainly no hot water for two days at the showers at main office. Bathrooms were not kept up very well.
Aug 17, 2015
I like the campground, but don't know why you have to charge for pets. The people that work there are all friendly. Again didn't understand the resort fee of $16, as they didn't tell me about it or explain it.
Aug 17, 2015
Camp site was dirty, pervious campers moved the fire ring around numerous times. The sites was a ash pile and the grass that was there wasn't mowed. KOA's are nicer then what we were presented with. Extremely disappointed
Aug 17, 2015
Great campground. Great site. Free pancake breakfast is a real treat. Sides like savage and coffee really inexpensive but you can easily bring your own coffee. Will be back!
Aug 17, 2015
Nice campground, only complaint would be the roads are a little tight for larger trailers. We had a great time and will be back!
Aug 17, 2015
We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back!
Aug 17, 2015
Great Family vacation. Kids had a blast with all of the activities available. We will do this trip every year.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Great weekend stay.we hope to return in the fall. Plenty of things to do and see at the campground and local area.
Aug 17, 2015
the stay was good and the free pancakes were great. The only problem I had was not being able to use the wifi and the pool was not open one day.
Aug 17, 2015
except for the pool, the stay was nice.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.