Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2015
The KOA was extremely outfitted with fun kid stuff, however we had to leave because our camp area was Swarming with hundreds to thousands of nats. As I came out if the trailer, they were in my eyes as I would blink and in my nose. I had to pack up and leave immediately. Finished assembling our stuff down by the showers where there was not much issue. Refused to rain check or give partial refund.
Jul 21, 2015
We really enjoyed ourselves. Lots to do. The cleanliness of the bathrooms needs work!! Especially the one at the pool.
Jul 21, 2015
Excellent experience, treated well by all the staff that we had contact with. Very clean and well maintained.
Jul 21, 2015
The cabins are overpriced.I paid over $350 for 3 nights (1 of them being free) &the cabin was tiny &did not even have a kitchen area (stove, oven, etc).Our cabin faced another &our outdoor area was right on top of the people next door. We did not feel comfortable making a fire being so close to strangers. We expected this place to be woodsy and have trails and be by the water.Activities were nice.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Fantastic! The staff was incredible! Great (free) pancakes, every day! We'll be back! Wish they had space in Oct.
Jul 21, 2015
Excellent campground, friendly staff, plenty of activities for the whole family to enjoy. Perfect campground to relax and get away, yet located close enough to still enjoy many of the local ammenities.
Jul 21, 2015
Harpers ferry KOA is our favorite campground. We camp there two to three times a year. This is the first time we had our camper out and were having some trouble getting our truck and camper apart. A staff member came by and immediately got us some help. The staff is always very friendly when we visit and we are hoping to visit again soon.
Jul 21, 2015
I loved every bit expect their were a lot of people that walk through our site , we were right across from the pancke hut 143
Jul 21, 2015
the only disappointments were that more than half the games in the game room were broken. Some labeled as such and some not. The games were also incredibly expensive. Some being 1$ per play. a bit much for kids.
Jul 21, 2015
There were many nice amenities, but no cable news (only local news), and some sites were too small in length for camper and vehicle.
Jul 21, 2015
when we checked in computers were rebooting because of power loss, no problem - i was told. day 2 we came back from touring to find that power in our motorhome with our dogs had obviously gone off. told at office, off briefly, "it always comes back on." this is a problem that needs resolution.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that the power went out. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over area wide power outages. We are sorry that the our utility provider, Potomac Edison, did not meet your expectations.
Jul 20, 2015
We always have a fantastic time at this KOA. The staff is friendly and accommodating as is allowed. My largest concern is the price and the fact that when you request a specific site well in advance of your stay a $25 fee is requested to guarantee the site. If I am planning ahead and I give your 2-3 months notice, I should be allowed to pick the site that accommodates me and meets my needs.
Jul 20, 2015
Planning to come back next year!
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
I like the campground. I absolutely do not like the policy of charging me 20.00 to reserve a favorite spot. I go to four or five camgeounds a year and always to at least one new one each year to try and I'm willing to pay half down deposit and I've never encountered the policy your campground has any where else. I think it's ridiculous. I don't know if I'll keep coming there because of this.
Jul 20, 2015
We liked the pancake breakfast and the Civil War Museum.
Jul 20, 2015
Sites are very tight & close....very unlevel & lots of stumps. I don't agree with the resort fee...should only charge if using pool. I feel it needs some maintenance work....the slide is held up by a piece of wood....really. it is a clean campground though.....very friendly staff.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
very good THANK YOU
Jul 20, 2015
we've stayed at this KOA several times before, and sadly this most recent visit did not meet the standards we'd experienced prior. The cabin was FILLED with bugs that we had to kill. There were even spider webs in the bunkbeds. Our friends stayed the first night but none of us stayed the 2nd night.
Jul 20, 2015
Everything was very good - great employees, nice activities, grounds well kept. The only thing I would try to improve is the cleaning schedule of bathrooms. They are thoroughly cleaned once a day and I think if that was bumped to twice it could make a huge difference.
Jul 20, 2015
This is my favorite KOA. It is clean, staff are great, wonderful assortment of activities.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great time!! The staff was so friendly and welcoming. The facilities were nice and clean (which is a must for me!) And there was always something to do. I will definitely be going back in the future!!
Jul 20, 2015
The cabin could be cleaner and also the bathrooms.
Jul 20, 2015
My family and I had a great time everyone was very nice. pancakes were good.
Jul 20, 2015
I enjoyed the campground very much. I do think some attention needs to be given to the Putt Putt course and an update to HD for the movies. Very nice atmophere and freindly staff.
Jul 20, 2015
Loved it! Had a great time.
Jul 20, 2015
Sights are not level and very small. Fire pits are not placed well in sites (paperwork states, "Do not move fire pits."). Permanent sites are overgrown and many not cated for well.
Jul 20, 2015
everybody very helpful pleasant
Jul 20, 2015
W/E/S Lots too narrow and difficult to level out unit - could not use fire ring because neighbors tip-out was positioned over ring. Had to request escort and not very helpful at a dusk arrival. Sewer hook-up higher than trailer on lot. They probably would have accommodated a location move. BR clean. Good area to sight see.
Jul 20, 2015
Camp ground us well maintained and close to attractions.
Jul 20, 2015
We like this KOA, have stayed here several times and never had an issue. However this last stay there was some sort of water leak up the hill from us. As a result our site was like a swamp
Jul 20, 2015
Everyone was so nice!Loved the pancake breakfast:) Can't wait to go back!!!!
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Absolutely loved it! Will be back!
Jul 20, 2015
Family had a great time! Weekend activities were great and facilities clean. Will visit again 😀
Jul 19, 2015
Been coming since the 1980s as a kid and now come as a parent. It gets better every year!
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Air conditioner broke after first 2 hours, tarp over roof. served it's purpose as just bare necessity dwelling for 4 days. Staff was awesome, very friendly!
Jul 19, 2015
Cable was very poor. As we do not watch Tv while camping but if we choose to watch something channels were snowy and very poor. Purchase new ends and still the same.
Jul 18, 2015
Very friendly workers! The bathrooms could use a little more attention, even right after cleaning, they still weren't very clean. The arcade was also a little pricey compared to other campgrounds. Overall a great place though!!!
Jul 18, 2015
The sites are mostly dirt and rutted. Did not look like anyone picks up trash around the sites. Pool area was very nice. Close to 3 Civil War parks which we liked.
Jul 18, 2015
One of our favorites but still hate paying $8 a day activity fee when all we use is dog park. We already pay $2/dog per day. Just have different color band for those who aren't using activities and charge them less. We have family in area and so only use as home base.
Jul 17, 2015
We knew before we got there that is was chocolate weekend (yummy!), but were surprised to find Civil War reenactors camping on-site. It was fantastic. A few of the "soldiers" sat and talked with us, which was very interesting. Our grandson was so interested in listening and asking questions. THANK YOU, They made quite an impression on that 6 year old!
Jul 17, 2015
This was our second time here and will stay again.
Jul 17, 2015
Quiet and pretty nice. There was some trash left on our campsite, and it was very close to other camp sites.
Jul 15, 2015
I found the campsite okay. However the putt putt golf was in really bad shape. Greens torn, rocks everywhere on course etc. Pool was nice as was camp store. Showers good. Thought the $5 price for small bumper sticker was excessive. Was only $1 at state park just last week for Rocky Gap. Convienence to Harpers Ferry was great. Biked in 1.5 miles.
Jul 14, 2015
Have been coming here for years. Grandchildren always ask to come. Something for all ages. See you next year
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals