Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 22, 2014
Love it!!!!
Apr 22, 2014
The Cabin wad clean and functional. This is not a primitive campsite, the facilities are clean and adequate, the scenery is quite lovely. We have enjoyed this KOA on numerous occasions and undoubtedly will again.
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
We really enjoyed the stay! Very clean, lots to do, kids enjoyed it as well and close to lots of history.
Apr 22, 2014
Staff was wonderful - so nice and very helpful!
Apr 22, 2014
The reason I didn't give HF KOA a 5-star rating was because I found glass on my site (#165) during my stay 4/13-17/2014.
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
For the most part, everything was wonderful! We stayed Easter weekend in a deluxe cabin that they consider the lodge. this was very nice. clean and comfortable. we had 5 people that stayed very comfortably in that accommodation. only complaint is that they turned the electric off on us with no notice on our last day. that was not nice since our refrigerator was full of food!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the electric issue. We are currently renovating the exterior of Cutler Hall and the Game Room. We had a work order with the power company and unfortunately they began work on that Monday morning, with little notice to us or our campers. Thank you for your understanding.
Apr 22, 2014
You gave us a free night and then were basically closed for Easter. The kids had no movies to watch, no jumping pillow, no camp store, the two vending Mach.s were not working, We needed to empty our waste and nobody was around. On arrival, we were given the worst site there, 174. Hard to back into and on a bad slope

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Families are very important to us, including our employee's families. We apologize for any inconvenience our early store closing on Easter Sunday may have caused. Our Game Room, Mini-golf, Basketball and Volleyball Courts, Playground, and Dumping Station were all open for campers staying over.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
This was our first experience at a KOA and we are hooked!! Kids had a great time and the campground amenities were top notch. This campground is central to so many outdoor activities that we want to come back and see more!
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
I felt this KOA was over priced. The 8.00 extra fee just because it is call a resort is over the top. The roads at sit #41 need a lot of work. The location was great. Facilities were great. Liked the free pancake breakfast on weekends. Staff was outstanding, very helpful.
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
We enjoyed our stay, Grandchildren spent the night(s) and enjoyed various recreational activities provided at this kampground. Will definitely stay again!
Apr 19, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
We loved all the amenities at this KOA. The bounce pillow was a hit with the kids and the adults! The movie theater is a perfect thing to have for a rainy afternoon. We were here off season so it wasn't crowded, I can see where it might get over crowded during the summer season.
Apr 18, 2014
Got really cold over night and the heat didn't work, so we were given space heaters (not always safe). Never had hot water for the time I was here and the cabin next to me was told they had 7 minutes worth of hot water. It is nice as far as things to do on the grounds if its cold any raining. The indoor basketball court, arcade, movie theater and large sitting room (cards etc.) come in handy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you had heating and water issues. We will look into both issues on this cabin. Thank you for letting us know. The use and temperature of water being used will determine the time that the hot water heater is able to heat additional water.
Apr 17, 2014
This is quickly becoming one of our favorite campgrounds. The staff is very accommodating. The free pancake breakfast is a great value!
Apr 17, 2014
Apr 17, 2014
Staff were very friendly and courteous. It is in a beautiful setting and is very clean. The general store is awesome. We will certainly play to return.
Apr 16, 2014
We were awoken by teenagers arriving at 11:00pm, the only thing we could complain about, otherwise, excellent
Apr 15, 2014
lots of activities for all. Great staff and beautiful charming area
Apr 15, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
Top notch - great place for kids!! The staff is excellent and goes out of thier way to help.
Apr 15, 2014
site 137 needs to be leveled/graded. Leaves need to be raked up and disposed of as they blow into bath house. Need a sign on Rt. 340 close to the right turn to get into KOA (you have one on your driveway but need one on highway)
Apr 15, 2014
Very nice and Large with tons of space and Activities. The space we were in could have been marked better but, had little effect on our stay. Staff was great and very friendly!
Apr 15, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
We had a wonderful stay with the bounce pillow, minigolf, hayride, campfire, and KOA store to shop around. And it was so close to the Harpers Ferry National Park, we enjoyed our tour of the old town.
Apr 15, 2014
I was surprised to find another add on.$2/night/pet. Also another add on resort fee of $8/night for ???? I feel like you keep adding on. If you are going to charge a resort fee it should be added into the per night fee and no hiding it as a add on. I think you will find with the pet fee as already evident nobody will clean up. $2 for what?? I always clean up after my pet as well as myself
Apr 15, 2014
We LOVE this koa! The location is fantastic (right next to the battlefield, very easy access to the shuttle into the old town). The staff is so friendly and inviting. The amount of activities they have along with the amenities keeps the kids busy and never bored. This is a perfect place for families. My 4 year old LOVES camping and we can't wait to stay here again!
Apr 15, 2014
Our site was adequate, but for the money I thought we might have had a little larger spot, not quite so close to adjoining sites.
Apr 14, 2014
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was very good for people wanting to visit Harper's Ferry, and Antietam. The campground needs a LOT of updating. About half the sites were seriously out of level. There's not enough lighting at night. Sites are too small (not wide or long enough) for today's RV's and 5th wheels. Interior roads are very narrow, not enough room to maneuver.
Apr 12, 2014
though the season hadn't yet begun - we did miss the jumping pillow, and the Bunkhouse heating situation was dicey, we enjoyed the facilities, the office/store, and the accommodations. We'll be back next year - with a larger group.
Apr 10, 2014
I do not believe that there should be a charge to reserve a site. If the site is open that is requested, it should be yours with the deposit that is required.
Apr 10, 2014
ite was adaquate. Repairs were necessary before completing hook up but were made quickly. Stray cats are plentifull around this area of the campground and ruined our portable trash recepticle by marking it .
Apr 10, 2014
When we go to a KOA Campground we have high expectations. This campground was very good, staff wa very friendly, and we had a great time.
Apr 09, 2014
Apr 07, 2014
Great family and friends weekend getaway. Loved my cabin, the young and old enjoy the in ground trampoline.
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 05, 2014
The kids loved all the activities. The campground was very clean including the bathrooms.
Apr 02, 2014
Too much rain but camp was great
Apr 02, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
too much to say and not enough space for me to write it. i will be contacting corporate.
Mar 31, 2014
Extremely cold and rainy days, but the staff was very helpful in making us feel as comfortable as possible and they all were polite and insightful. Really enjoyed the pancake breakfast (only wish I had been informed of the new resort fees when I made my reservation).

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.