Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 14, 2015
May 14, 2015
We enjoyed out stay for the most part - pancakes and lots of activities were great. What we did not like is that there were too many campers crammed into the campground. This was especially evident in the evening when all the campfires were going... the smoke was too much. I would also suggest informing campers that the loud noise from the cannons can be very scary to the dogs
May 13, 2015
May 13, 2015
fun time
May 13, 2015
My favorite campground! The staff is always hepful and polite. I have referred several friens.
May 12, 2015
What's not to love about this place?! Our friends were able to camp in the site next door. Great auction items! Well stocked camp store :-)
May 12, 2015
Wish the activities were not extra $$... most seemed not worth price paid
May 12, 2015
We love to stay at the KOA of Harpers Ferry WV. We have camped there for years but lately they have new staff, are very rude and short with customers. We are very unhappy
May 12, 2015
We will be back... enough said.
May 12, 2015
We were disappointed that the pool was not open but otherwise a nice stay.
May 12, 2015
This was our second time here and it is a great campsite. So much fun for our entire family and a beautiful location.
May 12, 2015
We were put in site #124 against the old cabin and it was so unlevel it took 5 leveling blocks to level the trailer. I hated this site it caused alot of trouble for us. Please level this site!!!
May 12, 2015
The only downside was the roads were too narrow to get a large travel trailer in and out.
May 12, 2015
very nice campground- this was our third time there and we will certainly return again- only complaint is the size of the "big rig" sites are extremely cramped and make having a fire- even with the fire rings, very cramped
May 12, 2015
We had a great stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and the grounds are kept clean. There are many things to do and see and the fire pit was a great time. We'll be back.
May 12, 2015
This campground has declined over the last few years. The prices are ridiculous- only 1 adult is included I the price. The grass had not been mowed. The sites were not kept. Our fire pit was over flowing with leaves. Some of the staff were rude. The mini gulf had a complete hole missing. Staff had their dog in the karaoke hall but campers' dogs are not allowed.
May 12, 2015
We love this campground and stay at least 3x throughout the year. We were extremely disappointed this time since there was a Race coming thru the campground at our sites were in the heart of the festivities. We were woken up around 6:45am to people yelling right outside our camper. There were several spots open and there was no reason to not tell us what was to be expected. very disappointed!!!!
May 12, 2015
Had a good time. We booked late so we got a kinda small site for our size csmper, but hey we had fun.
May 12, 2015
We love coming to this campground. There is so much to do and the kids have so much fun. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They are wonderful!!
May 12, 2015
The site was very slanted and needed some mowing but the am entities were great
May 12, 2015
We had a great time. The free pancakes were great and my kids loved the bouncing pillow. My only complaint is that they sold us wet/green wood and we couldn't light it. All in all we had a great stay.
May 12, 2015
I have stayed at Harper's ferry wv camp site before and have really enjoyed the stay with my family members. This time around even after I called to confirm that my dog was aloud to be there with us , when we arrived after our 2 hour trip we were very dissapointed when we had to take out dog back home. He is a puppy pit bull and is very well trained. Not a happy memeber of koa right now..

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for any confusion. We do not allow Rottweiler, Doberman, Pit Bulls, or any mixes there of.
May 12, 2015
May 12, 2015
The canopy was not over the jumping pillow and the pool was not open. This campground was not prepared for Mothers Day Weekend. Very disapoonted.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. The pool was open on May 15 as scheduled. The jumping pillow cover is installed in the spring when weather permits. All other amenities and activities were open, we are unaware of any other preparations that were needed.
May 12, 2015
The 10pm quiet time is ridiculous! Every other campground I can think of is 11pm. To be told at 10:15 on a weekend night to stop playing corn hole is also ridiculous especially when a party of at least 30 people could be heard clear across the campground. The quiet time really needs to be changed!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Most of our campers enjoy the 10PM quiet hours. We are sorry that you do not enjoy our quiet hours.
May 12, 2015
store and game room closed too early. The snack bar wasn't open.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our game room and store close at 10PM.
May 11, 2015
The cabin was very clean and comfortable. I wish I would have known in advance that there were no sleeping pillows, it said no linen but I didn't think that meant pillows also...I will be better prepared next time...the staff were very friendly.
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Paid extra to have a cabin with a bathroom and the shower water was so cold we had to use the community shower. Very disappointed!
May 11, 2015
Very disappointed in the condition of the campground, we are charged a "resort fee" but the pool wasn't opened (website said it was), cover wasn't on the bounce pillow, the mini golf course hasn't been taken care - damage still there from last year and more, and the grass hadn't been mowed. There were fewer organized activities for the kids. This was 6th year coming on this same weekend.
May 11, 2015
This is the perfect environment for our kids: a safe place to roam and build their independence and confidence. It's a great sight to see your 8yo and 3yo go off on their bikes, and hear the tales on their return of mistaken map reading and how they figured it out.
May 11, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpfuLet an there were lots of fun activities to do. I was not however, entirely thrilled with the condition of K112. The front 2 legs of the bed were broken ands were several of the blinds, the toilet could have been cleaner.
May 11, 2015
The kabin was very nice and a great location. Great neighbors and a lot of stuff to do for the kids. We'll be back!
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Mothers Day Weekend stay. Disappointed. No grass cut thru out campground. Cabins infested with wood bees drilling constantly on porch. Pool was not open as stated when reserved. Bingo was not held nor was indoor basket ball available. Our kids are teens so not much avail for them to do other than put-put golf. Had to pay $8 activity fee per person in my family of 5 yet no activity for them
May 11, 2015
This campground has everything! Wonderful sites, fantastic staff, and Civil War history literally under every step you take! My only regret is that our stay was for work, not play, so we couldn't take full advantage of the numerous amenities available.
May 11, 2015
A little too busy for us - a couple of old retirees without children or dogs - but great for families
May 10, 2015
Very busy Mothers Day weekend, but we were given a nice quiet spot. Still quite expensive.
May 09, 2015
The location of this KOA was excellent for Civil War & Harpers Ferry activities. It was poorly set-up and maintained, however, compared to other KOA's where we have camped. The pull-through sites in our area were not level and tight with other campers, trees, and elec. poles. Staff were not very friendly during check-in and the grounds could have been cleaner and mowed!
May 09, 2015
May 09, 2015
Even though we came during the Off Season and some off the amenities were not yet open, it was a Great Place to stay and relax. We would like to have had some more shade, but due to the size and electrical needs, we had to stay in the open are area. Next time we will stay in the fall and only use the 30 amp. But we will return.
May 08, 2015
May 06, 2015
The campground has a lot of great activities for families. We loved the dog park and movie theater. My only disappointment was with the bathrooms. The showers and bathrooms were always very dirty.
May 06, 2015
The sites were very rocky(we had tent with water and electric. There were only three stalls in the bathroom making it difficult to get one. The 10pm noise ordinance was not enforced and I was up listening to chatters until 2am. However, the staff were very nice and the showers were amazing. There were also plenty of activities planned each day
May 06, 2015
the initial call to the Harpers Ferry Campground quoted us a figure of $127.00 for a 3 night we said we would call back in less than 15 minutes after we discussed it when we called back a different person took the call and said that the person who took the first call was not available ,we said we would take the space and he quoted us $170.00 fifty dollars more than the first person after a lengthy
May 05, 2015
Campground is clean and has everything you could possibly want, but more importantly the employees are awesome. They are friendly and helpful and really add to you overall camping experience.
May 05, 2015
May 05, 2015
We were a little annoyed that my wife and I were required to pay an additional $8 each for an activity fee. We had no intention to participate in the "free" pancake breakfast or any other activity. We will not be coming back again unless it is to visit Harpers Ferry.
May 05, 2015
sewerage back up into trailer day of leaving
May 05, 2015
cant wait to go again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.