Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2014
We had a fantastic first experience with a KOA and would definitely stay here again!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
The campground was too loud and not family friendly. Our "neighbors" stayed up all night screaming and talking about drugs, keeping us and our 9 year old awake. Reports to the registration office were not taken seriously and calls to the overnight number reporting them yielded no results either. We will camp elsewhere next time.
Jul 15, 2014
The bathhouses were not good. I stayed here 6 yrs ago & they were the cleanest I'd ever visited. Not so now. The Kabin was clean but small site and no parking. We wanted to buy a bag of ice and waited 5+ mins for the clerk to wrap up his conversation with the previous customer. This was the best KOA I had stayed at previously and it was disappointing to not have that same level of experienc
Jul 15, 2014
saturday night was terribly crowded and loud, but Sunday night was peaceful and great.
Jul 14, 2014
Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Showers and bath rooms kept clean. Very happy.
Jul 14, 2014
The stay was great and the activities were awesome. My only complaint is that it was very dusty. They should put more gravel down in the camping area to keep the dirt and dust down.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Kampground staff very helpful.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Great place with lots of activities and clean facilities. Only wish quiet time could be extended to 11pm. By the time the family finished excursions (River Riders zipline and tubing) and wanted to relax with some music it was quiet time. Other than that everything was fabulous!
Jul 14, 2014
Excellent location and facilities. Staff was very attentive and friendly.
Jul 14, 2014
I love camping and this has been my second stay with this campground. Two things I would address. The bathroom showers need to be clean. I understand the amount of people using the showers but they were just a mess. I know we swim at our own risk cause of now life guard. I have two children under 4 yrs of age. to many older kids in baby pool and to many crazy things going on in big pool.
Jul 14, 2014
Do not read reviews, except mine. LOL. I booked this KOA, off the internet, but then my husband and bro in law read reviews and I almost cancelled due to the comments. The facility is awesome, staff friendly and organized. The grounds, other than some sites being hilly (you are in the mountains), were very nice. Two RV's this trip. Looking in Sept for 8 of us and cabins for others. Be back soon
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Awesome time had by all....
Jul 14, 2014
Too many ants!!! Other than that! Everything was good!
Jul 14, 2014
Very friendly and efficient staff. Numerous activities for the children. Betty greets you at the front gate and starts you off with a very warm welcome. One of my favorite camping places.
Jul 14, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at Harpers Ferry KOA. There was so much for the kids and adults to do. We will definetly be back!
Jul 14, 2014
Only problem was WiFi not working, wouldn't have mattered but my cell phone didn't have a very good signal either. I work for an emergency services unit.
Jul 14, 2014
this past weekend was our first time at the harpers ferry k o a .it is by far the best k o a we have stayed at.it was clean and quite and plenty of things to do.the camp store is set up well.the free pancakes each morning were good. we will be booking another stay here at harper's ferry k o a.
Jul 14, 2014
I stayed at site 123. Did not like the fact that this site has a street light right there. Also at this spot, there is a cabin right there so you really dont have any privacy at all. My only complaints. Other than that, the staff are great help and friendly.
Jul 14, 2014
Friendly staff the amenities in recreation area are outstanding and well kept. However most sites were not. Electrical panels need updating and perhaps some sites need re- grading for better leveling. Particular for lager RV. But overall we had a exciting time.
Jul 14, 2014
We always enjoy staying at the Harpers Ferry KOA. Grounds and bath houses are always clean, and it's a very family friendly campground. Our favorite place to go away from home!
Jul 13, 2014
Huge plusses are: great location - helpful and friendly staff- wide range of activities for all ages. The cabins are clean and generally comfortable, but some improvements could be easily made. These include a clothes rack, and a handle on the heavy sliding door on the bathroom to make it easier to open.
Jul 13, 2014
I have never stayed at a KOA and it was really something. It was a resort!!!
Jul 12, 2014
Used to be a nice place until new manager took over. Trees neglected - 1 lg branch & 1 lg tree have come down on us. Always same response, "We have a tree guy coming out next week." Start caring more about your guests & not your money. Also day people crowd the pool area. No seats or tables because of them. They also have access to campers & outside belongings. Not a safe feeling!
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
This is a phenomenal property with really nice people running it. Everything was clean, neat, and comfortable. This was about the 10th time I've stayed here - in everything from tent to motorhome and for the first time this year a Kamping Kabin. It's a great experience every time and I always look forward to coming back.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Great stay, will be back.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Really enjoyed the campground. They had lots of activities and the pool was great. Will definitely stay again.
Jul 11, 2014
Overall very good KOA. However, it is a big one so lots of people! Our site was roomy but the kids noticed a LOT of children on the playground and bouncy pillow. Store is AWESOME.....everything you need for provisions and souvenirs! Second time here: 1st, cabin, 2nd RV full hookup
Jul 10, 2014
This KOA is the perfect place to bring young teenagers -- lots of activities for them! A game room, indoor basketball court, swimming pool, volleyball, moon bounce, miniature golf -- great accommodations!
Jul 10, 2014
Bathrooms were very clean & the staff was exceptional.
Jul 10, 2014
We're only giving 3 stars due to the sites. They could be improved. However, the resort is packed with fun things for young families and close to NPS Harper's Ferry for the history buffs.
Jul 09, 2014
We just love this KOA. It is our favorite place to go of all times. The staff there are the kindest most accommodating staff of any campground we have ever been to.
Jul 07, 2014
This is the first KOA campground that is actually close to the site we wanted to visit. Too expensive for a long stay, though.
Jul 05, 2014
The internal roads are very narrow and are rutted. We have a larger rig and it was hard to get into the sites. Once we were in the sites they were nice, but ours was very harrow. I would have expected to have trash pick up at the cost of the sites. The help was nice, but we had trouble finding our site, an escort would have been great.
Jul 04, 2014
This KOA is overpriced for a stay. Numerous things need attention. The swimming pool is dirty,sides never cleaned,burning trash blowing into pool,no wash basin for dirty feet from construction.Sites need attention, uneven,trash on ground,pull thru sites too short. Garbage dumpsters over flowing.In general this is the worst kept KOA I have stayed at.
Jul 04, 2014
this is the first time i stayed at harpers ferry and it was fantasic,and very family oriented We will deffently stay there again
Jul 03, 2014
We found this campground to be neat and tidy with lots of amenities and friendly staff. We stayed mid week so the campground was relatively quiet. We were a annoyed that the site right next to us turned over 2X in the 3 nights we were there, when clearly there were tons of other sites available. Otherwise the complaints aren't the fault of KOA swearing at the pool, loud music from another site etc
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
We enjoyed this years stay very much.Staff was friendly and helpful. I would have liked to have had more activities on Sunday, but, overall, a great time.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Pool area was large. Roads were narrow and hard to navigate with camper. Sites were short and packed together too tightly. High price to camp was not a good value.
Jul 03, 2014
This was a well located KOA, but the attitude of the staff matched the captive audience mindset. The WIFI never worked and when we complained the sweet young thing behind the counter simply shrugged. Two nights at one of the most expensive KOA's we have stayed at and they were totally unresponsive to a problem. I suggested maybe a price reduction might be in order, a second shrug. Go elsewhere.
Jul 03, 2014
pull thru sites are a little tough to get into

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.