Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 04, 2014
Great first time visit, we will be back !!
May 03, 2014
We loved the facilities and would definitely come back.
May 03, 2014
May 03, 2014
May 02, 2014
Park personnel were not honest with us upon checkin, telling us our desired location didn't have correct power for our rig. Laundry not clean.
May 02, 2014
We used their KOA coupon buy 1 night,get 1 night free. The rate was $51 but we ended up paying almost $100 due to hidden fees (resort fee, VIK (had no idea) and another fee for $10 for which they had no idea what it was for. Talking to other visitors, they all experienced the same. Don't think we'll be going back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the confusion regarding the rates, a full break down of all fees are available at anytime. A first night deposit is made on all reservations and the balance is due upon check-in. Based on this reservation request, there was a $10 balance due at check in for the second night.
May 02, 2014
We were on a site that was swamped from the time we got there until we left. This was unexplainable since there were plenty of dry sites higher up. Also feel site overcharged in comparison to nicer, cleaner resort at half the cost in this state.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your site. We would have been happy to move you to another site.
May 01, 2014
The campground and the individuals are great. I did become concerned for a dog across the road from us when the owner punched and whipped the animal. I am sure I spoke loud enough for him to hear that I was not going to watch that animal be abused all weekend. After that I did not see the dog.
May 01, 2014
We had a great time, very nice campground and friendly staff.
May 01, 2014
The site was not what I explained to the operator that I needed in any way!! Staff was very courteous and very accommodating all weekend!!
May 01, 2014
Love this campground and your wonderful staff. Even when it's rainy there is still many things to do. I also love that I do not have to make breakfast. We'll be back soon.
May 01, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. The Scouts had a great time. It was a perfect break from the typical scouting trip. BTW... The pancakes were amazing.
May 01, 2014
May 01, 2014
Their listing states they are Big Rig friendly. They are not. You will have a hard time leaving your site and leaving the campground. Many of us had to walk the area to figure out how to leave our site. Then after we got out of our site, we then had to make a giant u-turn to leave the campground because the turn to leave was to sharp to turn.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you had trouble exiting the park. We have many sites that are big rig friendly. Some campers find it easier to make a right turn into the parking lot before exiting as there is a larger turn radius that direction. Other campers choose to make a left turn and simply exit the park.
May 01, 2014
We were a little disappointed that the cafe was closed, we guess, because of construction. There were no signs. We left the KOA to eat elsewhere.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our cafe is open on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday afternoons in the the spring. We are sorry any confusion the construction may have caused.
Apr 30, 2014
Excellent campground with lots to do for families. Very polite and helpful staff. Love this place
Apr 30, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
Very nice, Was real impressed on how many times they cleaned the rest rooms .
Apr 28, 2014
Our group has been camping 2x a year at the Harpers Ferry KOA for the last 14 years. We always have a pleasant stay. We are a bit taken back by the cost of a regular tent site.. By the time the taxes, fees, recreation fees are added the cost is quite a bit. We did talk about checking around for an alternate campground for our Oct. trip.
Apr 28, 2014
The only problem I had was the noise so early in the morning (we were in the cabins right next to the playground)
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time!
Apr 28, 2014
Both the cabin and bathhouse were very clean. Kids loved the jumping pillow and pancake breakfast. It was nice to not have to cook and do dishes, especially on leaving day. This was our first time staying and will definitely return in the future. Oh and Ron (staffer) was awesome!
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Our scout troop had a great time at the Harper's Ferry KOA. Your facilities were a perfect mix for our scouts.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
What a great campground. Plenty to do to keep the young ones busy and so close to Historic Harpers Ferry.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
There is a lot to do there for kids and adults. The staff is friendly. BUT, the camp site was much to be desired. We had site 35 and being a premium pull through 50 amp it was VERY SMALL. If we had not waited until the other campers pulled out across from us we probably would have had problems getting out. Next time we are requesting a wooded site that is much larger.
Apr 27, 2014
Our first site (123) has a large wire in the middle of the site holding up a poll. Went to the 2nd site and it was not big enough. 3rd site was fine. Wifi barely works
Apr 26, 2014
Apr 25, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. Your grounds are kept up with so nicely. There is so much to do within the camp less alone all the activities outside the grounds. We look forward to our next return.
Apr 24, 2014
The stay was great. I would like to say that the hot water in the showers was poor or lukewarm at best. This is a very expensive KOA and the water should be hot. The people are great and the activities are great as well.
Apr 24, 2014
This is our third year in a row camping Easter Weekend,our kids enjoy all the Easter Activities, the jumping pillow, tie dye, the game room and the park. We will be back next year.
Apr 24, 2014
We atop a least once every year heading south in the fall This year we even stopped on our way home.
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Very nice campground - love the pancakes!!
Apr 22, 2014
The camp grounds are kept clean and the amount of activities for the family are enough that know shouldn't get bored.
Apr 22, 2014
I wish the grass was mowed a little shorter. That was my only complaint. We love staying at this campground and will definitely stay again!
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Love it!!!!
Apr 22, 2014
The Cabin wad clean and functional. This is not a primitive campsite, the facilities are clean and adequate, the scenery is quite lovely. We have enjoyed this KOA on numerous occasions and undoubtedly will again.
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
We really enjoyed the stay! Very clean, lots to do, kids enjoyed it as well and close to lots of history.
Apr 22, 2014
Staff was wonderful - so nice and very helpful!
Apr 22, 2014
The reason I didn't give HF KOA a 5-star rating was because I found glass on my site (#165) during my stay 4/13-17/2014.
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.