Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 03, 2015
The layout of the sites was a little more difficult to navigate than many and no one offered to guide us to our site. Not usually a problem but directions via signs was minimal. Otherwise - GREAT!
Jul 03, 2015
Great campground, very clean bathrooms.The cabin we stayed in could use some TLC, WIFI could use a boost.Overall great stay,
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
The sites are far too cramped!
Jul 02, 2015
Fantastic campground. The staff were very professional and anxious to help with any thing you need. We will definitely be staying here again.
Jul 02, 2015
Facilities were OK but add-on fees and wrist bands (neither of which we've encountered elsewhere) were an annoyance NOT balanced by our KOA discount.
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Our family and friends had a great time at the campground.
Jul 01, 2015
This was our fourth annual camping trip to this campsite. My boyfriend and I love camping in our tent here since there are so many fun activities to do at the campsite and right outside at the state park. The staff was helpful and very flexible with our stay (we arrived late due to heavy rain and were able to set up the following day a bit early). We are already planning our next trip back!
Jul 01, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint was the cable. We could not get any local news or weather channels.
Jul 01, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
I was very disappointed the way our group was separated. We made these reservations in April and two from our group was moved. No one showed up on one of the sites. The putt-putt golf course is in very poor condition. It really needs to be repaired. I need to discuss a situation that happened well we were there.
Jun 30, 2015
From the free pancakes every morning, to the free use of mini golf, the heated pool, the covered bounce pillow, and the movie theater, there is always something to keep the my family entertained. A few things seem dated, but it looks like renovations are on the way. I can't wait to see what improvements are made the next time we visit!
Jun 30, 2015
Great Time
Jun 30, 2015
What an amazing campground - especially for families. Never a dull moment without ever leaving the campground - plus all kinds of adventures in the area. Fantastic place!!
Jun 30, 2015
Kids love the pool & jumping pillow. Mini golf course is in pretty sad shape. Ten years ago this was one of our favorite KOA's, but now it has lots of extra fees ($8 per person per day resort fee) & $10 fee to reserve a specific site so it's quite expensive to stay there.
Jun 30, 2015
I though the campground was great. However, the areas need to be improve: some of the games in the game room were out of order,some of the greens at the mini golf need to be replaced and some of the RV sites need more gravel. More gravel will help especially if it rains. The guests would not be in the mad.
Jun 30, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
From the moment you drive on the property the campground is amazing, the staff that greets you is pleasant and helpful! Thru the entire stay the everyone their is amazing!! One of the nicest campgrounds we have ever been too! We plan on returning this fall or possibly more and will return at least once a year! Thanks to everyone their for a memorable weekend!
Jun 29, 2015
Loved the free pancakes.
Jun 29, 2015
This campground needs to make some improvements to the roads (big ruts) around the campsites in the upper section. Also the big landscape timbers make it difficult to pull out with a big rv. Also having to pay an additional fee plus resort fee per child is ridiculous. Thought it was to be a "FAMILY" campground. They didn't even ask the age of the child (6 under free). Not a very friendly staff.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
We really enjoy this KOA. The sites could be a little wider, but even so, the camp staff, cleanliness of the whole facitity, and great location make this one of my favorite "go to" destinations.
Jun 29, 2015
Great place!
Jun 29, 2015
The campground was in good shape for the most part, but some of the facilities are in dire need of updating. For example, the putt-putt course is in horrible shape. There is plywood showing up through the "grass". Also, The movie theater, while awesome to have on the raining weekend we had, needs some new seats. Other than that, the people were friendly and courteous and took care of us.
Jun 29, 2015
Lots for the kids to do even in the rain! Our large group of 15 had a grey time. Clean facilities and friendly staff. Will be back next year!
Jun 29, 2015
Sites are tightly packed together, especially the "huge" 50amp spots. Many areas of the campground are run down. Pictures are very deceiving on the website (not actual pictures in many instances). The only positives are that staff members were nice and bathroom facilities were clean.
Jun 29, 2015
camp sites where to small way out of level access to camping area was very tight saw 2 campers get damaged trying to pull in there sites because it was so tight I got stuck in the mud due to the pour conditions and was told by the camp ground they would not help I should call a tow truck
Jun 29, 2015
Nice staff very clean campground.
Jun 29, 2015
We had such a nice visit. The staff was very helpful and were able to help us "first timers" out with set up.
Jun 29, 2015
I needed to ask the maintenance men to borrow a ladder and have some stone brought over to the site.... They were there within minutes!! I didn't get their names but they were Awesome!! Thank you again!! R. DeJohn
Jun 29, 2015
This campgound is showing it's age a bit but then I think it has been here for a long time so I can't say that is a negative. Everything was clean and there were plenty available showers, also clean. Something I didn't count on was the free all you can eat pancakes every morning. That made breakfast really easy compared to cooking and cleaning in the RV. We will be back for certain.
Jun 29, 2015
One of the best KOAs that I have ever stayed at. I highly recommend it for personal and family fun!
Jun 29, 2015
We would not stay at this location again. We have stayed at regular campgrounds that had better amenities and did not charge for a dog or a resort fee on top of already high site fees. The sites are extremely un-level and they advertise amenities that they do not provide.
Jun 29, 2015
Nothing but kids to deal with. Practically had to beg for an escort. Last time there all the staff was helpful and didn't have to ask for escort. This place does not rate being a RESORT. Has way to many extended stay sites for a KOA. Guess the new owners are just interested in money.
Jun 29, 2015
Two issues, we have a 36' camper and we mentioned that when we came in. It took 5 people to park us, squeezed like sardines and too many trees. The other issue was no one was enforcing quiet hours. There were people hooting and hollering at 11:30. I have a 3 year old I was trying to get to sleep. I called the office-no answer.
Jun 29, 2015
I like the amount of activities available for the children. Very worth while to visit again.
Jun 28, 2015
We had a good time! Our site,132, was less than ideal, quite narrow and downhill from our neighbor so our mat was full of mud after the rain. The jumpy pillow was kept closed 24 hours after the rain, which was a bummer. On the plus side,pool was great, pancakes rocked and there were plenty of staff who seemed helpful enough! We'd come again,now that we know which sites we'd prefer!
Jun 28, 2015
When I called about our reservations I told them our camper was 41 foot. They put us in a site that really was not for a 41 foot camper (site 94). We ended up damaging our camper while trying to get into the site. When we left, a camper, who had a site in front of us, moved his camper so we could just pull out. We probably would have had a better time if it had not started out on the wrong foot.
Jun 28, 2015
Great place for family and friends. Office staff was friendly and accommodating to several of our requests. Will come back to this in the future.
Jun 28, 2015
They put the sites WAY, WAY to close together. It's ridiculous! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, but that shows greed to me. Sorry
Jun 28, 2015
I brought 10 kids camping for one night and they had a blast. They loved the different options available. They swam and played on the jumping pillow. I liked how close it was to Harper's Ferry National Park and to the outfitters.
Jun 27, 2015
1st night cabin infested with flies, food in sink, pair of shorts under bed washcloth in shower, shower door fell in on me. staff moved us to another it was cleaner but still found things under the bed little ants in kitchen & porch swing broke. responded quickly to our complaints but would have been nicer without them
Jun 27, 2015
Choose site carefully if you have slides.
Jun 27, 2015
We always have a great time at this campground.
Jun 26, 2015
The campground and cabin were very nice. The only negative thing during our stay was the gnats were terrible. Maybe spraying for them might help.
Jun 26, 2015
Asked for an easy pull thru site and was charged $20 and never told there was a charge. Have asked for similar accommodations at every other KOA and have never been charged before. Tight sites, watched a camper hit a car as there is very little room to maneuver.
Jun 26, 2015
I have come here over the years many times. It was my children's favorite camp ground. This will be our last visit ever. 26 of the washers and dryers were tagged for repair and not working. We stayed a week and had to fight to get laundry done. Many sites are just washes when it rains the roads are in horrible condition. Just sad over all.
Jun 26, 2015
Great experience, but Putt-putt course needs major repair work, comfort stations in rv area needs cleaned more frequently and more extensively and rv sites need leveled-up. Impressed by free (quite tasty) pancake breakfasts made by super friendly staffer and excellent pizzas. Impressed by pool cleanliness. Plan on returning end of July through first part of August.
Jun 26, 2015
Lots of fun things to do in area. Campground is clean and nice people are there to help.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.