Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 01, 2014
Their listing states they are Big Rig friendly. They are not. You will have a hard time leaving your site and leaving the campground. Many of us had to walk the area to figure out how to leave our site. Then after we got out of our site, we then had to make a giant u-turn to leave the campground because the turn to leave was to sharp to turn.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you had trouble exiting the park. We have many sites that are big rig friendly. Some campers find it easier to make a right turn into the parking lot before exiting as there is a larger turn radius that direction. Other campers choose to make a left turn and simply exit the park.
May 01, 2014
We were a little disappointed that the cafe was closed, we guess, because of construction. There were no signs. We left the KOA to eat elsewhere.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our cafe is open on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday afternoons in the the spring. We are sorry any confusion the construction may have caused.
Apr 30, 2014
Excellent campground with lots to do for families. Very polite and helpful staff. Love this place
Apr 30, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
Very nice, Was real impressed on how many times they cleaned the rest rooms .
Apr 28, 2014
Our group has been camping 2x a year at the Harpers Ferry KOA for the last 14 years. We always have a pleasant stay. We are a bit taken back by the cost of a regular tent site.. By the time the taxes, fees, recreation fees are added the cost is quite a bit. We did talk about checking around for an alternate campground for our Oct. trip.
Apr 28, 2014
The only problem I had was the noise so early in the morning (we were in the cabins right next to the playground)
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time!
Apr 28, 2014
Both the cabin and bathhouse were very clean. Kids loved the jumping pillow and pancake breakfast. It was nice to not have to cook and do dishes, especially on leaving day. This was our first time staying and will definitely return in the future. Oh and Ron (staffer) was awesome!
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Our scout troop had a great time at the Harper's Ferry KOA. Your facilities were a perfect mix for our scouts.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
What a great campground. Plenty to do to keep the young ones busy and so close to Historic Harpers Ferry.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
There is a lot to do there for kids and adults. The staff is friendly. BUT, the camp site was much to be desired. We had site 35 and being a premium pull through 50 amp it was VERY SMALL. If we had not waited until the other campers pulled out across from us we probably would have had problems getting out. Next time we are requesting a wooded site that is much larger.
Apr 27, 2014
Our first site (123) has a large wire in the middle of the site holding up a poll. Went to the 2nd site and it was not big enough. 3rd site was fine. Wifi barely works
Apr 26, 2014
Apr 25, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. Your grounds are kept up with so nicely. There is so much to do within the camp less alone all the activities outside the grounds. We look forward to our next return.
Apr 24, 2014
The stay was great. I would like to say that the hot water in the showers was poor or lukewarm at best. This is a very expensive KOA and the water should be hot. The people are great and the activities are great as well.
Apr 24, 2014
This is our third year in a row camping Easter Weekend,our kids enjoy all the Easter Activities, the jumping pillow, tie dye, the game room and the park. We will be back next year.
Apr 24, 2014
We atop a least once every year heading south in the fall This year we even stopped on our way home.
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Very nice campground - love the pancakes!!
Apr 22, 2014
The camp grounds are kept clean and the amount of activities for the family are enough that know shouldn't get bored.
Apr 22, 2014
I wish the grass was mowed a little shorter. That was my only complaint. We love staying at this campground and will definitely stay again!
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Love it!!!!
Apr 22, 2014
The Cabin wad clean and functional. This is not a primitive campsite, the facilities are clean and adequate, the scenery is quite lovely. We have enjoyed this KOA on numerous occasions and undoubtedly will again.
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
We really enjoyed the stay! Very clean, lots to do, kids enjoyed it as well and close to lots of history.
Apr 22, 2014
Staff was wonderful - so nice and very helpful!
Apr 22, 2014
The reason I didn't give HF KOA a 5-star rating was because I found glass on my site (#165) during my stay 4/13-17/2014.
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
For the most part, everything was wonderful! We stayed Easter weekend in a deluxe cabin that they consider the lodge. this was very nice. clean and comfortable. we had 5 people that stayed very comfortably in that accommodation. only complaint is that they turned the electric off on us with no notice on our last day. that was not nice since our refrigerator was full of food!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the electric issue. We are currently renovating the exterior of Cutler Hall and the Game Room. We had a work order with the power company and unfortunately they began work on that Monday morning, with little notice to us or our campers. Thank you for your understanding.
Apr 22, 2014
You gave us a free night and then were basically closed for Easter. The kids had no movies to watch, no jumping pillow, no camp store, the two vending Mach.s were not working, We needed to empty our waste and nobody was around. On arrival, we were given the worst site there, 174. Hard to back into and on a bad slope

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Families are very important to us, including our employee's families. We apologize for any inconvenience our early store closing on Easter Sunday may have caused. Our Game Room, Mini-golf, Basketball and Volleyball Courts, Playground, and Dumping Station were all open for campers staying over.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
This was our first experience at a KOA and we are hooked!! Kids had a great time and the campground amenities were top notch. This campground is central to so many outdoor activities that we want to come back and see more!
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
I felt this KOA was over priced. The 8.00 extra fee just because it is call a resort is over the top. The roads at sit #41 need a lot of work. The location was great. Facilities were great. Liked the free pancake breakfast on weekends. Staff was outstanding, very helpful.
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
We enjoyed our stay, Grandchildren spent the night(s) and enjoyed various recreational activities provided at this kampground. Will definitely stay again!
Apr 19, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
We loved all the amenities at this KOA. The bounce pillow was a hit with the kids and the adults! The movie theater is a perfect thing to have for a rainy afternoon. We were here off season so it wasn't crowded, I can see where it might get over crowded during the summer season.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.