Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 20, 2015
Laundry was a disaster zone. Over half of all machines are out of service and one dryer not flagged as defective ruined $100 of blankets and mattress covers. What a dump... I am left with the impression that ownership / management is trying to get the last dollars from their sinking ship. Also was left with the impression from the number of defective machines, there was no value in complaining
May 19, 2015
Well this is a tough one to rate . the site we stayed in was in very poor condition. the site was uneven to about 2 inches per foot in all directions. The picnic table was badly bug ridden and rotted.. other parts of the campground were in somewhat better condition, but this side of it was poor. Sad to see since most KOA adhere to a much higher standard . The office staff was great and polite..
May 19, 2015
My first stay at a KOA. Will definitely be back. Clean cabin, fantastic location, helpful staff. No hot water the first night was easily corrected within minutes. Lack of water pressure made showering an adventure.
May 19, 2015
Beautiful surroundings, very helpful staff, awesome service,good activities for any age or weather conditions. Outstanding facilities, excellent value for money
May 19, 2015
While checking in we were asked about pets. We answered honestly stating that we had a Rottie and an English Bulldog. We were told that we were not allowed to have the Rottie but they were not turning away our business and proceeded to let us into the park. Then the proceeding day we were sternly spoken too about our dog for no reason other than bc of his breed. This is contradictory/unnecessary.
May 19, 2015
Lots of noise-our site was next to the main asphalt lot. Next to us were party-city sites and noisy. A long term stay site next to us was very trashy looking, tall grass, junky, dirty. Disappointing stay.
May 19, 2015
Comfort station smells a bit like sewage and toilets in women's bathroom barely flush. Maybe a full septic tank? Cabin was nice, but a bit of a carpenter bee infestation beginning. Luckily, they are not aggressive. Kids loved bounce pillow and pool was great. Staff was awesome! Breakfast was great. Pork sausage was good, but turkey sausage was horrible. Try another brand please. Overall, very
May 18, 2015
We had a great time. Loved the breakfast. Check out was a little early for us.
May 18, 2015
Great first experience! The Facilities, the staff, the area all felt neat, clean and safe. Thank you!
May 18, 2015
Mother's day weekend was fun. Camp is clean, full of activities for the kids and even karaoke for us. We were able to walk to a free shuttle bus to historic Harpers Ferry. Free pancake breakfasts were a bonus!
May 18, 2015
Had a great stay, staff was friendly and helpful, campground clean and well maintained, our site (159) was a little too close to site 158, next time we'll request a different site
May 18, 2015
May 18, 2015
May 18, 2015
The 2 room camping cabin in the woods was great, but we were placed in one directly facing another cabin which held VERY disruptive guests who did not abide by the 10pm noise curfew. In the future, I would request a cabin NOT directly facing another and I would hope that after we complained, something would have been done about the rowdy guests. Alas, sleep was elusive next to those people...
May 18, 2015
Even though it rained we had a great time!
May 18, 2015
Everything was very nice. Would be nice if the check out time could be 12:00.
May 18, 2015
May 18, 2015
We have camped at your campground several times and will continue to do so. We had a problem with our TV reception and the maintenance man was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
May 18, 2015
We always stay at our favorite site . (Lot 12 to be exact). Staff is always warm and friendly. Haven't had a complaint in 3 years of camping with you guys!!!!
May 17, 2015
We stayed over the Mothers Day weekend 2015. Although we had a great time, I was surprised there were no activities geared towards or showing appreciation for Moms....Also, the grass and dandelions were very tall. Grass seriously needed to be mowed. It was very tall. Other than that, we had a great stay.
May 17, 2015
The staff was wonderful. It was a clean campground.
May 17, 2015
had a blast
May 15, 2015
Cabin was clean, mattress very poor (we saw the difference at our next KOA stop in Gettysburg). Good location, friendly staff.
May 15, 2015
much too pricey....cable below average
May 15, 2015
A friendly site perfectly situated to learn more about the history of the United States.. Thank you..
May 14, 2015
May 14, 2015
We enjoyed out stay for the most part - pancakes and lots of activities were great. What we did not like is that there were too many campers crammed into the campground. This was especially evident in the evening when all the campfires were going... the smoke was too much. I would also suggest informing campers that the loud noise from the cannons can be very scary to the dogs
May 13, 2015
May 13, 2015
fun time
May 13, 2015
My favorite campground! The staff is always hepful and polite. I have referred several friens.
May 12, 2015
What's not to love about this place?! Our friends were able to camp in the site next door. Great auction items! Well stocked camp store :-)
May 12, 2015
Wish the activities were not extra $$... most seemed not worth price paid
May 12, 2015
We love to stay at the KOA of Harpers Ferry WV. We have camped there for years but lately they have new staff, are very rude and short with customers. We are very unhappy
May 12, 2015
We will be back... enough said.
May 12, 2015
We were disappointed that the pool was not open but otherwise a nice stay.
May 12, 2015
This was our second time here and it is a great campsite. So much fun for our entire family and a beautiful location.
May 12, 2015
We were put in site #124 against the old cabin and it was so unlevel it took 5 leveling blocks to level the trailer. I hated this site it caused alot of trouble for us. Please level this site!!!
May 12, 2015
The only downside was the roads were too narrow to get a large travel trailer in and out.
May 12, 2015
very nice campground- this was our third time there and we will certainly return again- only complaint is the size of the "big rig" sites are extremely cramped and make having a fire- even with the fire rings, very cramped
May 12, 2015
We had a great stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and the grounds are kept clean. There are many things to do and see and the fire pit was a great time. We'll be back.
May 12, 2015
This campground has declined over the last few years. The prices are ridiculous- only 1 adult is included I the price. The grass had not been mowed. The sites were not kept. Our fire pit was over flowing with leaves. Some of the staff were rude. The mini gulf had a complete hole missing. Staff had their dog in the karaoke hall but campers' dogs are not allowed.
May 12, 2015
We love this campground and stay at least 3x throughout the year. We were extremely disappointed this time since there was a Race coming thru the campground at our sites were in the heart of the festivities. We were woken up around 6:45am to people yelling right outside our camper. There were several spots open and there was no reason to not tell us what was to be expected. very disappointed!!!!
May 12, 2015
Had a good time. We booked late so we got a kinda small site for our size csmper, but hey we had fun.
May 12, 2015
We love coming to this campground. There is so much to do and the kids have so much fun. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They are wonderful!!
May 12, 2015
The site was very slanted and needed some mowing but the am entities were great
May 12, 2015
We had a great time. The free pancakes were great and my kids loved the bouncing pillow. My only complaint is that they sold us wet/green wood and we couldn't light it. All in all we had a great stay.
May 12, 2015
I have stayed at Harper's ferry wv camp site before and have really enjoyed the stay with my family members. This time around even after I called to confirm that my dog was aloud to be there with us , when we arrived after our 2 hour trip we were very dissapointed when we had to take out dog back home. He is a puppy pit bull and is very well trained. Not a happy memeber of koa right now..

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for any confusion. We do not allow Rottweiler, Doberman, Pit Bulls, or any mixes there of.
May 12, 2015
May 12, 2015
The canopy was not over the jumping pillow and the pool was not open. This campground was not prepared for Mothers Day Weekend. Very disapoonted.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. The pool was open on May 15 as scheduled. The jumping pillow cover is installed in the spring when weather permits. All other amenities and activities were open, we are unaware of any other preparations that were needed.
May 12, 2015
The 10pm quiet time is ridiculous! Every other campground I can think of is 11pm. To be told at 10:15 on a weekend night to stop playing corn hole is also ridiculous especially when a party of at least 30 people could be heard clear across the campground. The quiet time really needs to be changed!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Most of our campers enjoy the 10PM quiet hours. We are sorry that you do not enjoy our quiet hours.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.