Halifax West KOA

3070 Highway 1

Upper Sackville, NS B4E 3C9 Canada Canada

Reserve: 888-562-4705

Info: 902-865-4342

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 27, 2013
The staff are friendly and the campground is clean. There is lots for the kids to do. My kids love the banana bikes, though it does get a little expensive with 3 kids at $3/ 1/2 hr. Only drawback is the highway noise as the highway is just beyond the trees.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Kinda tight hey.
Aug 26, 2013
Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean campground and we had a lovely site!
Aug 26, 2013
Pull thru sites could use some trees for shade but other than that very nice, friendly staff.
Aug 26, 2013
The swimming pool was not very clean at the time we went à your Koa, it would be a good thing to clean it more often
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
WE stayed at site #44 and it was very small. The noise from the highway was totally unwelcome and quite disturbing. The dust from the gravel campground road was everywhere. The location near Mount Uniake is good for access to the city and for touring places in the centre of the province.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Kids had fun, and it was small, but great for a few days. Wasn't impressed when I asked to move our site to another location, I was told the sites were booked, but yet they stayed vacant the whole time we were there, my guess is they didn't want to go to the trouble of changing them.
Aug 26, 2013
We always enjoy our stay at the Halifax West KOA.
Aug 26, 2013
We were very disappointed to be in a open area when I had requested a wooded area for a tent. I was told I had clicked automobile, which meant that we'd be sleeping in our vehicle. Upon returning home I read my reservation, I had clicked automobile but it also mentioned tent twice on my receipt. There were a few other instances that we were disappointed about.
Aug 25, 2013
WE had a wonderful stay. KOA is a wonderful family park.
Aug 25, 2013
Handy spot close to Halifax. Friendly staff. Enjoyed our stay of one night. Lots of dogs and good play area for kids.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Decent campground close to Halifax. Our kids loved the playground. Pancake breakfast was slow but tasty. Mornings started at 7am with people leaving. No sleeping in! RV pull through sites tight. Little privacy.
Aug 23, 2013
Campground is clean and well maintained; staff friendly/helpful. Some turns extremely tight for large rigs because of trees - recommend you remove a few especially going into Section C.
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
The staff and park were amazing!I would recommend to anyone looking for an excellent place to stay!
Aug 21, 2013
fantastic Camp Ground and Staff. Facilities Excellent and second to only Hill City and very clean
Aug 21, 2013
The only complaint we ad about our stay was our site location. It felt like we were camping on top of our neighbours. Our fire pit was only about 2 feet away from next campers tent! A little too cozy!
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Great family campground. Very clean well kept facilities; pool, washrooms, grass area, playground. Lots for my children to do. We will be going back.
Aug 20, 2013
Very welcoming staff!!
Aug 20, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff as there was no local tourist info. available in the office. They accommodated a last minute reservation change which was very much appreciated. Very "child-friendly" park. Enjoyed our stay and would return!
Aug 20, 2013
Great time. We already booked our next visit.
Aug 19, 2013
The first time we stayed the shower rooms at the back of the camp were not the greatest, however, when we returned at the end of our trip they had been upgraded and it was great to see this. I would however suggest that they put down matting on the tiles outside the stall as the floors were very wet. The staff was remarkable, especially Verna.
Aug 19, 2013
Great place to make as homebase for exploring halifax and surrounding area!
Aug 19, 2013
I walked in the office to be met with some snippy teenager saying only "I'm going to have to ask you to slow down, we have children on bikes here." REALLY???? I have just turned a corner to come into the campground.. how fast could I be going? Then when I didn't reply she continues to say "check in isn't until 2". I asked "should I park back out on the road and wait til then?" Bad, bad service
Aug 19, 2013
Good location, clean, friendly. Had an ant problem in the area we were parked in.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Thanks very much for a great stay and hope to see you next year! Robert, Erika and family
Aug 19, 2013
We had a great time at Halifax West KOA. It's not too big, there are plenty of treed lots to provide shade and the kids loved the playground and the pool.
Aug 19, 2013
facilities were well maintained and clean which was great. however, too bad that even though 3 couples booked as a group weeks in advance we couldn't get placed together. Also, not a fan of kids being able to ride the rental bikes on the narrow road-nervous driving for sure as kids just dart out from everywhere and anywhere on those things. Have been to other KOA campgrounds they designate areas
Aug 19, 2013
The camp sites were clean and well maintained, the pool was clean and the bathrooms were spotless! My kids LOVED the banana bikes and the staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful campground and we will definitely be returning!!
Aug 18, 2013
Back washroom/showers had ventilation issues.
Aug 18, 2013
Staffers encountered were not friendly, except for one of the fellows who work outside. Sites in the E section are adjacent to the dump station which emits a foul odor when waste is dumped. The smell permeates the area. Ownership has not kept up with the needs of todays campers  full service sites are at a minimum, hence a lot of dump station use.
Aug 17, 2013
Very nice campground and people working there. Only complaint is the strong smell of the dump station.
Aug 16, 2013
We were so glad that someone on staff told us about the Link bus that took us to Halifax.. It was so convenient and saved us from driving and the parking fee. Your bathrooms were clean.
Aug 14, 2013
WiFi poor. Make the effort to modernize. Critical error.
Aug 14, 2013
Camping tranquille, avec tous les services et bien situé.
Aug 14, 2013
Sites are quite close together. very little room for vehicles. very little room between rv's.
Aug 14, 2013
the space we had reserved barely fit the trailer we had, we could not put out our awning, the campfire was behind another persons trailer smoking them out. the amount of large gravel rocks in the playground that had a jumping pillow was foolish and led to a lot of band-aids, I asked about prices for rentals and the person I asked told me store. they didn't know the wagon ride was 2.5 mins long.:(
Aug 13, 2013
small quiet campground. some sites were small not to far from downtoen halifax
Aug 13, 2013
Enjoyed our stay much. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wash rooms were always very clean. The Campground is well Managed and it is a no-nonsense campground. The campsites are always kept mowed and are always tidy. I would highly recommend this Campground and it is definitely a good spot to enjoy a week-end with your family...lots of activities for the children ,biking, swimming etc.
Aug 13, 2013
Le camping est excellent et très propre. Il est ausi très plaisant de séjourné chez vous, dans la tranquillité
Aug 13, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. There was a terrible stench in the showers though. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Beautiful view from our site by the river.
Aug 12, 2013
The campsite was great we liked the treed private sites. The bathrooms and showers could have been cleaner. also the showers need an adult chair and hook for cloths. The people were not as outgoing and friendly as other KOA camps we visited.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.