Halifax West KOA Canada

Open May 2 - October 31

Reserve: 888-562-4705

Info: 902-865-4342

Email

3070 Highway 1

Upper Sackville, NS B4E 3C9 Canada

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2017
Friendly staff, clean washrooms, lots to do for children, really enjoyed our stay.
Aug 27, 2017
Wonderful experience!
Aug 27, 2017
Nice Campground, thought the trash collection area and a maintenance area were in very bad condition.
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
We were not satisfy about the site (very near of the highway), the response of the responsable shotup and pay or i refund you, we reserve for 2 week, family year vacation...... He said it to complicated to change. We leave after 5 days fot a better camping. First experience with you, we never return and recommeand you. We tell the story at different peaple and they find this normal for koa
Aug 26, 2017
Our stay at Halifax West was wonderful! We had a suitable site with excellent amenities. We profited by the good concierge information given to us by well-versed staff members. The grounds are well maintained, and the store more than adequate. Walking our pets was fun! This family friendly park is a credit to the KOA parent corporation. Well worth the money. We could have stayed longer! pwb
Aug 26, 2017
We found the enterence in and out to be a very bad hang up, two narrow with the parked rentals there as well. When we entered there was 3 motorhome ahead of us to the highway. Then there was a fifth wheel having a problem getting into his lot that caused a hold up,as not enough room for him. Leaving was all so a problem with the tight area. Otherwise our lot was good and handy to Halifax.
Aug 26, 2017
The first of three nights we had to stay in sight E8 which was not level and was really a hill and a turn and there was no Wi-Fi at all. Our next two nights were OK on site F6 which also had Wi-Fi.
Aug 26, 2017
Beautiful camp ground!
Aug 26, 2017
No room at entrance for vehicles to park resulting in long waits to enter & leave park because of RV's blocking entrance. One whole day was disrupted at our site due to sewage pump breakdown resulting in raw sewage backing up into our sewage hose and disgusting smell all day while repairs were carried out. No offer of compensation was made for our inconvenience. Friendly staff.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
The campground was clean and had many nicely wooded sites which provided some privacy. Our site could have used some gravel because we had a rainy day and ended up with a mucky mess. There were plenty of washroooms and showers with hot water. The campground is located near Hwy 102, therefore was very noisy for sleeping. The owner was not very friendly. Pool, game room and playground for kids.
Aug 26, 2017
The site announces a price range of 27 to 43$. However, the 27$ price is applicable only to TWO sites. It feels like the management use this to sucker in customers who then have to pay the full price because the two $27 sites are invariably occupied. In addition, there was space to sit down and relax indoors in case of bad weather - the game room had no seats just a pool table and arcade games.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Excellent as always 8 th year staying there
Aug 25, 2017
campsite setting is serene and restful with the trees and river, an oasis. missed wagon ride and movie night when I took grandkids neither were available:-( all in all a very good stay and will be back Jo is excellent at overseeing all engages well with guests thank you
Aug 25, 2017
Very friendly staff and large and clean sites
Aug 25, 2017
Très bien, boisé, grands terrains. Attention aux bacs à vidanges qui débordaient et il n'y avait pas de bacs à récupération, alors les gens mettaient les sacs par terre. Ãa faisait malpropre.
Aug 24, 2017
Enjoyed "glamping" in the deluxe pet friendly cabin. Great having our own bathroom and shower/tub, a full sized fridge, microwave and A/C. Staff was great and accommodating. Helped us get the VCR going and loaned us a hot plate. So nice that our pet could stay in the cabin. Really enjoyed our stay. Thank you! Would be great if the pet area was converted into an enclosed leash free area.
Aug 24, 2017
Campsites were ok but constant road noise from the nearby highway was terrible. Why would anyone put a campground so close to a highway ? Staff was friendly. Main criticism is the appearance at the entrance and around the dumpsters and around the maintenance shed. AWFULL! Junk, trash, broken furniture and discarded vehicles....looked like a junkyard! Will not go back there.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Le Camping en tant que tel était super, il y a des jeux pour les enfants et c'est très bien situé. Par contre, le problème se situe au niveau des douches, très difficile d'avoir de l'eau chaude, on s'est lavé à l'eau froide durant 2 jours (pas très agréable) ensuite on s'est lavé à la main dans notre petite roulotte qui n'a pas de douche. De plus, il y avait tellement d'eau sur le planc
Aug 24, 2017
No one took us to our site, very tight access through the park with a large trailer, trees need to be trimmed and our site could have been leveler. It would be nice to see an enclosed dog park too.
Aug 24, 2017
Great time had by all! My son loved the banana bikes and the ice cream and we all enjoyed the convience of the pancake house ! Great laundry facilities too!
Aug 24, 2017
Very nice site in the trees,easy to find and lots for kids to do. Thank for making our first visit to Nova Scotia so enjoyable. Hope to return soon.
Aug 24, 2017
We enjoyed the atmosphere and people while we toured the east coast. It was easy to find, the kids love the pool and playground. Next time we visit the area, we'll be back!
Aug 24, 2017
Terrain petit, pas assez de 3 services Ne se draine pas bien, chemin boueux après la pluie Proche de l'autoroute
Aug 24, 2017
The thing we disliked was the tent camp site. Not very large & our site had zero grass. Other than that, everything was great. We may not visit again because of the tenting site conditions.
Aug 24, 2017
Garbage containers were overflowing with garbage on the ground. Laundry room floor was very dirty. Generally the campground was unkept and in need of ground maintenance. Our site smelled very strong of sewer...thank goodness we were only there for the night and arrived late.
Aug 24, 2017
Love it there - Joe and Christine are fantastic hosts!
Aug 23, 2017
The campground was nice but very tight for our 40' motorhome. It was scary driving both the motor home and our car due to the number of kids riding bikes on the very narrow roads. Other than that, the staff was friendly and the pull-through site was nice. I wish we had more time in Nova Scotia to visit the many different areas of the province.
Aug 23, 2017
Unfortunately the weather wasn't very great so we did not get to do much. I am sure we will be back again next summer.
Aug 23, 2017
Nice park and well run. Enjoyed our stay and its facilities.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
My family had a great stay, the staff went out of their way to provide excellent service. One example we ran out of propane while cooking dinner on a KOA bbq and they had a replacement in less then 4 minutes. I could see how extremely busy they were at that time and yet still came through for us. I would highly recommend this camp ground to my friends and family.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Pour le type d'équipement, nous étions trop serré, avec le drain de vidange du voisin à côté de notre table pour manger. Pour le reste, c'était bien. Beaucoup apprécié les dimensions des douches, plus d'espace que les autres campings.
Aug 22, 2017
Great place to stay. Bath houses very clean well maintained.
Aug 22, 2017
I had reserved by phone a full service drive through site and when we arrived the manager told my husband that I must have pushed the wrong button on line cause we had a back in water and hydro site only. I used Woodalls and only used phone service to hold my campgrounds. I even had a confirmation #. We were not at all pleased.
Aug 22, 2017
This is the second time I'm doing this survey. During our stay there was no Wifi, the pool was cloudy and the running water was only a dribble most of the time, not impressed. It would be nice if someone replied to my survey and even better if I got a bit of a refund back for the inconvenience.
Aug 21, 2017
There needs to be an area specific to group camping. There were 4 campsites: adjacent, & beside us who we camping together; despite that they had their children with them ( probably 10 or 12), the 'parents' partied until 4 a.m. This KOA is not one of the better camping grounds that I have been. Very disappointing.
Aug 21, 2017
Nice park, not too far from Downtown Halifax!
Aug 21, 2017
Staff is very polite. Accommodating when needed. Very nice spot, quiet & relaxing. The only downfall is that we cannot reserve specific sites ahead of time. We really don't know where we would be placed. We had our did who is 80 years old. We have a Tent trailer with no washroom. I would go back if I could reserve a specific site. Besides that. Great place to go camping. Big washrooms. Very nice!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Nice campground, however very difficult to drive in without scratching against trees. Strong smell of sewer at our campsite the last morning we were there.
Aug 20, 2017
Loved our first spot. Wanted to stay an extra night but had to move. Bathroom were less then ideal- busy, dirty, didn't flush properly and the showers were even worse.
Aug 20, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy