Halifax West KOA

3070 Highway 1

Upper Sackville, NS B4E 3C9 Canada Canada

Reserve: 888-562-4705

Info: 902-865-4342

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
fantastic Camp Ground and Staff. Facilities Excellent and second to only Hill City and very clean
Aug 21, 2013
The only complaint we ad about our stay was our site location. It felt like we were camping on top of our neighbours. Our fire pit was only about 2 feet away from next campers tent! A little too cozy!
Aug 20, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Halifax West KOA. As a family of 6, the mini-home was exactly the type of accommodation we needed - really a home away from home. The staff were all pleasant and extremely helpful (especially Courtney!). After this vacation, staying at other KOAs, and the Halifax West location in particular, are high on our list!
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Great family campground. Very clean well kept facilities; pool, washrooms, grass area, playground. Lots for my children to do. We will be going back.
Aug 20, 2013
Very welcoming staff!!
Aug 20, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff as there was no local tourist info. available in the office. They accommodated a last minute reservation change which was very much appreciated. Very "child-friendly" park. Enjoyed our stay and would return!
Aug 20, 2013
Great time. We already booked our next visit.
Aug 19, 2013
The first time we stayed the shower rooms at the back of the camp were not the greatest, however, when we returned at the end of our trip they had been upgraded and it was great to see this. I would however suggest that they put down matting on the tiles outside the stall as the floors were very wet. The staff was remarkable, especially Verna.
Aug 19, 2013
Great place to make as homebase for exploring halifax and surrounding area!
Aug 19, 2013
I walked in the office to be met with some snippy teenager saying only "I'm going to have to ask you to slow down, we have children on bikes here." REALLY???? I have just turned a corner to come into the campground.. how fast could I be going? Then when I didn't reply she continues to say "check in isn't until 2". I asked "should I park back out on the road and wait til then?" Bad, bad service
Aug 19, 2013
Good location, clean, friendly. Had an ant problem in the area we were parked in.
Aug 19, 2013
EXCELLENT !!!!!!!In every way.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Thanks very much for a great stay and hope to see you next year! Robert, Erika and family
Aug 19, 2013
We had a great time at Halifax West KOA. It's not too big, there are plenty of treed lots to provide shade and the kids loved the playground and the pool.
Aug 19, 2013
facilities were well maintained and clean which was great. however, too bad that even though 3 couples booked as a group weeks in advance we couldn't get placed together. Also, not a fan of kids being able to ride the rental bikes on the narrow road-nervous driving for sure as kids just dart out from everywhere and anywhere on those things. Have been to other KOA campgrounds they designate areas
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
The camp sites were clean and well maintained, the pool was clean and the bathrooms were spotless! My kids LOVED the banana bikes and the staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful campground and we will definitely be returning!!
Aug 18, 2013
Back washroom/showers had ventilation issues.
Aug 18, 2013
Staffers encountered were not friendly, except for one of the fellows who work outside. Sites in the E section are adjacent to the dump station which emits a foul odor when waste is dumped. The smell permeates the area. Ownership has not kept up with the needs of todays campers  full service sites are at a minimum, hence a lot of dump station use.
Aug 17, 2013
Very nice campground and people working there. Only complaint is the strong smell of the dump station.
Aug 16, 2013
We were so glad that someone on staff told us about the Link bus that took us to Halifax.. It was so convenient and saved us from driving and the parking fee. Your bathrooms were clean.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
WiFi poor. Make the effort to modernize. Critical error.
Aug 14, 2013
Camping tranquille, avec tous les services et bien situé.
Aug 14, 2013
Sites are quite close together. very little room for vehicles. very little room between rv's.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
the space we had reserved barely fit the trailer we had, we could not put out our awning, the campfire was behind another persons trailer smoking them out. the amount of large gravel rocks in the playground that had a jumping pillow was foolish and led to a lot of band-aids, I asked about prices for rentals and the person I asked told me store. they didn't know the wagon ride was 2.5 mins long.:(
Aug 13, 2013
small quiet campground. some sites were small not to far from downtoen halifax
Aug 13, 2013
Enjoyed our stay much. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wash rooms were always very clean. The Campground is well Managed and it is a no-nonsense campground. The campsites are always kept mowed and are always tidy. I would highly recommend this Campground and it is definitely a good spot to enjoy a week-end with your family...lots of activities for the children ,biking, swimming etc.
Aug 13, 2013
Le camping est excellent et très propre. Il est ausi très plaisant de séjourné chez vous, dans la tranquillité
Aug 13, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. There was a terrible stench in the showers though. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Beautiful view from our site by the river.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The campsite was great we liked the treed private sites. The bathrooms and showers could have been cleaner. also the showers need an adult chair and hook for cloths. The people were not as outgoing and friendly as other KOA camps we visited.
Aug 12, 2013
Everything was well taken care of and clean. The lodge was well-equipped with one exception.... In the description on the website, it said kitchen. I took this to mean that this would have everything we would need to cook, like in a cottage. In reality, there was no stove, pots or pans. Perhaps, you can amend the description to list what features it has to avoid confusion.
Aug 12, 2013
Friendly staff makes u feel welcome
Aug 12, 2013
Beaux sites. Personnel très gentil. Belle piscine. Camping propre, mais odeurs désagréables dans les douches et quelques coupures de courant durant notre séjour. Terrains du fond: on entend l'autoroute(section c).
Aug 12, 2013
Our site #40 should have had fill...it was full of large rocks and stumps and very uneven. The kids kept falling and hurting themselves. The sites were small and the water and electrical hook-ups were not placed very well. They forgot to do the wagon ride and we had to call to remind them. The ride lasted all of about 4 minutes. Quiet Time was not enforced. The pancake breakfast was goo
Aug 12, 2013
After beingin KOA Cornwal PEI this place was ugly, no grass just rocks! Pillow in mini and right beside a fence!!!
Aug 12, 2013
I see a need for garbage cans at the sites and it is always nice when you recieve a blue recycle bag as well as a garbage bag upon check in
Aug 12, 2013
I have already recommended friends to this place and they have stayed and loved it as well!!
Aug 11, 2013
Nice campground however the pool was closed for our entire stay (really wanted to relax with the family by the pool after our long drive). Also our campsite was flooded with water most of the time. Most other sites did not have this problem. Not very satisfied.
Aug 11, 2013
Worst campground I've ever stayed at. We were at an unserviced site right next to the washrooms. No privacy at all. Were ignored by two different people in the office before being acknowledged. Will not be back ever.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Site E10 too narrow for a large trailer with slide outs. We did not have a firepit and requested one..owner said he would come out to see but never did...was talking in a regular voice in laundry room at 9:30pm and was told we had to be quiet by security because there was a permanent trailer right next door that had small kids. Some nice sites in park but our section was way too tight together.
Aug 10, 2013
Convenient location to tour Halifax, Peggy's Cove and Lunenburg. Pool was clean but to the cool side but very refreshing after a day on the road. The only concern was very congested around the office area. Very pleased that this campground recycles.
Aug 10, 2013
If you went to a nice hotel and all around it were gravel parking places mixed with mud, would you stay there. If the roads leading to the hotel were pot-holed, would you? All of the area around the 3-way connections were muddy. The whole place at least needed a extra layer of gravel to keep the mud and dirt out of our motorhome.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.