Halifax West KOA

3070 Highway 1

Upper Sackville, NS B4E 3C9 Canada Canada

Reserve: 888-562-4705

Info: 902-865-4342

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay; very peaceful, pleasant surroundings. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The trip in to Halifax was scenic, not too far...would definitely stay at this KOA again! Cheers!
Jul 11, 2013
i found with my stay at KOA most of the services promised where not avalible. we came extremly excited to swim in the pool and where told to come back later as our stay was only one night we got kind of anxious but came back when they then told us it wouldnt be ready till the next day which was untrue in the end. we where also disappointed about the pancakes promised everyday where not in fact ope
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
The washrooms and showers were large, comfortable, and clean. I like the fact that each washroom is private. The pool is a little small and there isn't a lot of activities for younger kids. Most sites are private, but some are hilly and uneven. The store also did not have a lot of supplies.
Jul 10, 2013
We did not use your facilities other than the dump station but found the campground pleasant. Especially found Charlie an excellent addition to your staff. Very helpful and great PR person.
Jul 10, 2013
It will be my last stay at this camp ground.I have been a long time camper here along with family friends. I was so taken by the cancellation fee of 10.00 regardless if you cancelled with proper notice of 48hrs. I was also irritated by the price of wood its eight dollars now and the bundle is even smaller. There are smaller provincial parks that I should be supporting. I wont be back
Jul 09, 2013
Our stay was fantastic except for a worker named Charlie who was extremely rude to me. He has no people skills and attempts to enforce his own opinon of the campgrounds rules. He does not know how to ask people rather he attempts to order them around which is very distrubing and makes you feel very defensive and upset. I have been a regular at this campground but having second thoughts now.
Jul 09, 2013
Overall great stay, but the firewood was very wet. Bring your own firewood and everything will be fine.
Jul 08, 2013
Great family campground, staff was nice, friendly and helpful.
Jul 08, 2013
We had a great time. Our only issue was having the firewood delivered .. we waited over an hour and asked again at office .. then waiting another 1/2 hr before going back and getting it ourselves. Next time we'll just get it ourselves.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Need more garbage cans/recycle bins around
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
My biggest complaint is with respect to the main entrance. It is very small and if a big rig stops to register both the entrance and exit are blocked. It is very child friendly
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
I arrived on Friday night and there was no record of the booking my brother-in-law had made a week ago. He asked for 3 sites and only 2 were reserved (unknown to him) and my site was going to be booked when I called with my Value Card #, which I did but my call was not returned. The owner was not very pleasant in my dealings with him. It's left a bad taste in 3 families mouths.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
Fine, it was convenient but not what we are looking for (prov. and Nat. Parks)
Jul 06, 2013
Entrance needs to be better managed. Campers who are registering at times block entrance to those who are already on site cause delays gaining entrance. Campers registering need to be told to park so they do not block the entrance. KOA staff must enforce this at all times.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Our site wasn't very big and thereby our neighbors parked very close to us which didn't give us a lot of privacy.we were also disappointed that we had to pay five dollars an hour to stay a few more hours on Canada day.So we could see the parade, instead of packing up our stuff.
Jul 04, 2013
Wet floors in showers half inch of water.Dirty washrooms. Property in sitting in lowland built on a swamp it appears.Bugs and mosquitoes loaded in washrooms and showers.
Jul 03, 2013
The units were very close together and the fire smoke was coming in our motor home. The wash rooms were clean and always excessable. All in all the stay was pleasant.
Jul 03, 2013
Our stay at your kampground was top-of-the-line. Thank you very much. We'll be back.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
When I booked we had a family vacation of 4 people. Turned out being a "big people" get away. I would have been allowed 2 adults and 2 children on the site for the regular nightly rate, but because it turned out that there were 4 adults, I come to find out that I would be charged $10 per night extra for the SAME number people. That SUCKS. Also, NOISY:crows, road traffic, partiers next site.
Jul 02, 2013
Great stay, your team are awesome. The park and all the washrooms and showers are always imaculate. Looking forward to next adventure. Thanks
Jul 02, 2013
It was a real family oriented and friendly atmosphere. Staff were superb and the grounds were immaculate, despite the wet weather. Had to leave early, needed dry weather.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
We made the most of a very rainy three day weekend. More organized indoor activities would have helped. We love the chocolate bar bingo at other campgrounds. Selling ice cream would also be nice. The price of the little treats in the main office are outrageous! I paid over $5.50 for a kinder egg and push pop!
Jul 02, 2013
Only recommendation is to make sites more tent friendly, putting a tent on gravel is really uncomfortable, would like a grassy area for the tent.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Great stay excellent campground .
Jul 01, 2013
We have been here a few times and enjoyed it. This time we were in a tent and it was very heavy rains. Our tent was floating and we wanted to leave early. We were told we couldn't have any refund. We were looking for just Sunday since we gave 24 hours notice. Sometimes things may happen when on vacation which means you may have to cut it short.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Excellent. Really clean washrooms and well cared for sites.
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
Very friendly and family oriented atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay and will come again
Jun 28, 2013
The campground was very nicely maintained and I would recommend them to others. One small critique, when we (and others) called about a disturbance we got an answering machine. The problem was handled well, but we had no idea if our message was received.
Jun 28, 2013
we had a lovely stay, staff friendly, great place for children.
Jun 27, 2013
Too crowded-many sites had two to four vehicles and many people. Noisy/dusty-too many vehicles. Vehicles driving too fast. Insects were bad. Couldn't get full hookups.
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
it was great and the owners were awesome,, only downfall was the crow at 5:45 am, oh well gotta love the great outdoors. Cheers
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Our stay was awesome! The bathrooms were impeckable which is what I look for when I'm out camping! I would definately stay here again! Thanks again for the lovely experience!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.