Halifax West KOA

3070 Highway 1

Upper Sackville, NS B4E 3C9 Canada Canada

Reserve: 888-562-4705

Info: 902-865-4342

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 29, 2015
STAYED IN TRAILER WITH ELECTRIC plugs that pull from wall. Mold on blinds/window.sewage dumping left to renter.
Aug 29, 2015
Worst KOA I've ever stayed in
Aug 28, 2015
KOA staff is very friendly and do their best to assist you in your needs. A shuttle service to Halifax can be arranged with reservation in advance to go to dwtn Halifax. Helpful if you are not mobile
Aug 28, 2015
The signage to get to the campground was very poor. This is the first KOA we have been to where there were no signs out on the highway. The camp was nice but where we were was all swampy grass, gravel, and goose poop. The owners/managers/staff were all nice and I guess they were trying their best but I found it not up to the KOA standard. Sorry guys.
Aug 28, 2015
Loved this campground as a kid and love it as an adult. Lots to do for everyone ☺
Aug 28, 2015
All great. Minus the weather
Aug 27, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
it was awesome.The only thing is the price of your firewood $10 is a little much,but everything great
Aug 27, 2015
it was only ok
Aug 27, 2015
Campground is clean and quiet for the most part. However, sites are small, new sewers are high above ground level making it hard to dump, pool was dirty. Heavy congestion at the entrance due to rental vehicles and overall lack of space.
Aug 26, 2015
Had a wonderful 9 day stay. The staff was absolutely wonderful. The only strong suggestion we would have is to have an adult only time in the pool. We love kids but would love to have an enjoyable time in the pool without all the screaming and splashing. Pot holes are can issue as well. Overall nice park and friendly employees!
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
I was tent camping. The site given to me did not have any patch of grass so I had to set up on gravel and not the small gravel either. There were oil patches from previous RVs and garbage in the firepit. The reason I came here was that I enjoyed my stay here about 8yrs ago but this time it looks like everything is set up for RV camping. Will not be coming back.
Aug 26, 2015
The owners were very helpful. Lost money in the coin washing machine had to leave before office was opened. Sites were very close together.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
Just not for us. The site was nice with good amenities but on our first night we had to deal with loud foul mouthed drunks.Finally shut up when threatened with eviction.Second nigt was good.
Aug 25, 2015
Very warm campground very clean and the bathrooms were excellent in cleanness
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Good central location for day tripping in the Halifax area. Friendly staff.
Aug 25, 2015
I have stayed at other KOA's in the past. This was below average as far as bathroom cleanliness. The cabin had a musty smell.
Aug 25, 2015
Great place with kids, only down fall is the adult noise after hours from the cabins.
Aug 25, 2015
Very clean, staff were nice.
Aug 24, 2015
Loved the trees around the sites. Made it feel more like camping.
Aug 24, 2015
Great family-friendly environment. Clean showers and well-kept grounds. Not too far from the city and easy to get to for day-trips. Would rate higher if there was more space/privacy between sites - Some had trees and some didn't. Some details were fantastic! - Pancake house, ice cream stall, movies for kids, and an outstanding playground. Overall good camping experience.
Aug 24, 2015
Being American, I would of liked Cable TV. The sites are a little unlevel (2 or 3 Blocks to level)and the roads are tight for larger rigs. Pool is small and always filled with kids. Maybe set 1 hour aside for adults only. The staff and campers I met at the campground were outstanding. Out of all of Canada, Nova Scotia was the Best!!
Aug 24, 2015
Stayed in Lot D08. Strong sewer gas smells (1) day. The lot has large rocks around the picnic table area which should be moved, very dangerous,one seems to be covering a hole. Deep hole between fire pit and tree which someone could twist a ankle.
Aug 24, 2015
Very clean, quiet and the older sites have trees etc for a feeling of privacy.
Aug 24, 2015
Great. Have small kids and the campground was very quiet at night. Bathrooms were very clean and kids loved the playground. The pool water looked a little dirty but that is my only complaint and it wasn't dirty enough to stop us from using the pool. Will definitely stay again!
Aug 23, 2015
The camp was very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. Our only disappointment was that we had reserved online and were given the smallest site . We could barely fit the trailer on the site. Whereas, right across from us were much larger sites that were given to people that just had tents. That was the only conflict with our stay.
Aug 22, 2015
Entrance and exit is a bottle neck traffic jam. When we got there there was somebody stopped always back and we were ahead of people we were traveling with and they could not get off the road. Poor set up for entry. I guess we are too old, but too many kids, and tent city there. We like much quieter parks. When we got to our spot I had to scoop several piles of poop because people before
Aug 22, 2015
I rate this camping as poor for the following reasons: 1. Reception poorly maintained 2. Pile of garbage close to the exit 3. No paper toilet in the bathroom, so I had to carry my own 4. Bathroom poorly maintained, no soap and dirty 5. Kayak and other items are pieces of junk
Aug 22, 2015
Great staff and a very clean park. Love it
Aug 22, 2015
The stay was perfect !! The kids had a blast and didn't want to go We'll be back :) Suggestion tho maybe a covered picnic table at the playground , it gets hot there :)
Aug 22, 2015
We had a great stay. Friendly staff, lots for kids to do, yummy breakfast. But people drive too fast esp. down by where the play area is.
Aug 22, 2015
very clean lots of things for kids to do very helpful
Aug 22, 2015
Very nice staff. The pool was in need of some maintenance as there seemed to be dirt around the waterline. The bikes rolling around in many different directions was a little unnerving. Little children riding bikes on the same roads as very large rvs does not seem like a good idea. Besides the issues I mentioned, we had a great time and our granddaughters loved it. They can't wait to go again.
Aug 21, 2015
We stayed in the mini home and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Everything was neat and clean and the staff was very friendly. Loved it!
Aug 21, 2015
Fabulous!. We WILL be returning next year. Joe, his family and his staff are top class. Security was great. I'm speechless and that doesn't happen much. Thank you
Aug 21, 2015
It was further from Halifax than I thought it would but and a little buggy but overall a nice place to stay
Aug 21, 2015
Great place for kids. Clean facilities. Kids loved it, lots of pool time as it was hot hot!
Aug 20, 2015
poor entry and exit. sites too close together
Aug 20, 2015
Toilettes peu propres et avec odeur d'humidité extrême. Joli camping familial.
Aug 20, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. Some improvements to facilities could be useful. Fridge in our cabin froze everything ruining a lot of our food, soap dispenser in one bathroom didn't work which was a bit inconvenient, and wifi only worked if you sat outside the store...didn't work in our cabin. However, cabin location was great, loved the banana bikes and people/staff were very friendly...so we had fun
Aug 19, 2015
Had issues with breaker tripping voltage very low A/C & kettle not 30 amps
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
My only problem in this camp ground was the Wifi. In the area in which our RV was parked there was no way you could get on. You always had to go up near the front and that is no fun with the mosquitos.
Aug 18, 2015
Wonderful as always!!
Aug 18, 2015
It was a nice place, staff were very friendly, lots for the kids to do. Our site was a bit narrow so not much room to move around and play without bumping into the camper beside us. But other than that it was great. We will be back for sure!
Aug 18, 2015
tout est parfait
Aug 18, 2015
The staff are very friendly and helpful

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.