Gunnison KOA

105 County Road 50

Gunnison, CO 81230

Reserve: 800-562-1248

Info: 970-641-1358

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Aug 15, 2013
Good stay.Nice location. Only 1 issue: my wife was walking our dog near our campsite.Our dog had to relieve herself & my wife didn't have any bags with her to pick up the waste. Before she had a chance to go get a bag,one of the "groundsman" yelled at my wife from across the road "Pick that up please!!!" We are responsible pet owners & always pick up after our pet.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Stayed in the cozy tent cabins.Lady driving golf cart drove by while I was sitting on picnic bench next to road, road was wet, still had mud puddles. She drove by pretty fast, I got mud splatterings. Just be aware of puddles next time & who you'll splash. Had to go to restroom middle of night & would suggest maybe place a few dim solar lights to lead the way; easy stick in, pull out kind.
Aug 11, 2013
Wonderful campground and the owners and employee's are great folks to talk with. I have been at this is KOA for many years and I will be back when I can.
Aug 08, 2013
Probably would have rated higher but the mosquitoes at my site were terrible. The staff was very nice.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
2 night stay. Very muddy road to first deluxe tent site. Second night storm left three trees falling on our cabin site. Owners very responsive to storm damage. Cabin held up nicely. Still, exciting.
Aug 06, 2013
Great, family oriented campground. We'll see you again soon!
Aug 05, 2013
This KOA is the friendliest of all the Kampgrounds we have stayed in during our travels. They treat you like family, plus they have a family of animals that add to the fun. There is so much for kids to do, and of course Gunnison is full of outdoor activities, too. We always look forward to staying with Dave, Michael and the rest of the gang.
Aug 04, 2013
Staying in an Aframe cabin puts one a long way Crome the showers. Ports-pot provided close by was clean.
Aug 04, 2013
This is a great place to camp! We have been returning here for many years as a memory of when we wanted to travel but couldn't afford the expense of a hotel room. I hope we can continue to come back every year, just for the fun of camping. The WI-FI stinks, but hey....your camping!!!!
Aug 03, 2013
Very helpful at check in. Clean restrooms & showers. It was great to finally have grass to put our tent on. We really Loved having the mule wake us up in the morning. I'm serious. Gary Rabuck
Aug 01, 2013
Nice grassy tent sites with lots of room.
Aug 01, 2013
Hosts are extremely friendly and generous. Bathrooms were clean and showers worked well. WiFi a bonus, but not very reliable. Short bike to Hartmann rocks, short drive to downtown. Will be back!
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We still love this place and will be back, but wow, the airport seemed so much more obvious this time. Lots of flights in and out. Noisy. :(
Jul 26, 2013
All great except smell coming from area near ponds which wafted into my cabin. Also the campground should allow guests to rinse off vehicles that get tree sap all over them while parked on the grounds. There is a lot of sap there!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Nice place and nice people, however they need more trashcans around the site, the fire pits were a bit confusing as to which site they were assigned to. The biggest issue was, my son and I felt the restrooms were to small with only one urinal and two toilets.The showers would not be able to accommodate a handicapped or large person and you need more hooks for towels and clothing in the restroom.
Jul 23, 2013
The best camp we have ever stayed at. Seems like they were on top of the little things that make camping a great experience. They sprayed the camp at night for Mosquitos, they watered down the gravel road to keep dust down. They took personal interest in you by coming around every couple hours and asking if you needed anything. Never seen that before. We will be coming back to try the cabins next
Jul 22, 2013
Friendly reception & easy check in, good restrooms and showers, pleasant setting. Will visit again.
Jul 22, 2013
Very clean campground/showers/etc. the staff is EXTREMELY helpful and friendly!
Jul 22, 2013
Terrible service. The owner was verbally abusive to our group and he is not a good person. I will never bring our business back here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This is the same person I had to correct. As a KOA Frachisee, I have the ability to remove a survey like this. Far out of the main stream and personally abusive. Quite frankly, I leave them for you to judge and they are fun to read. Hey we all scour reviews for the negative. Read on and enjoy! Dave
Jul 22, 2013
Fun to see animals, but they triggered my allergies.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so lucky to provide a petting zoo for our customers, especially for our youthful guests(two miniature horses, one miniature donkey and three Llamas. These animals are on display on weekends. If the presence of these animals will aggravate a condition we will attempt to relocate you.
Jul 20, 2013
very crowded...couldn't use fire pit because it was 10 ft from our neighbor's tent...our site #68 must have had a number of underground springs because our site was very wet/muddy...site was across a stream from a horse pasture that was smelly...staff WERE very helpful and friendly.
Jul 19, 2013
Stayed in tent kabin. Quiet,by a beautiful small lake. No mosquitos.Check in was fast and easy. Bought reservation on line. That process was smooth and easy. The grounds here are well kept and beautiful. A pleasure to wake up and have breakfast at our table on the little lake. Rest rooms and showers were clean and always available.Thanx to your staff.
Jul 18, 2013
We had a great time. Showers were clean. Site was well maintained. Kids caught fish for the first time. Close to town so we were able to take the ladies shopping also. It was a perfect get away.
Jul 17, 2013
Friendly Staff-clean restrooms and showers, Laundramat Grass and trees everywhere instead of dirt and asphalt Nice folks
Jul 16, 2013
Great place for families. I enjoyed that our Kabin was on the other side of the pond which made it slightly more private. It would have been nice if the picnic table outside our cabin was outside the back door between the Kabin and the pond. I wish that more KOA's had these type of tent/cabins. Dave has the perfect personality to run this place.
Jul 15, 2013
Friendly staff, great spot, nice facilities. Camping spots were a bit tight but we were in town for a softball tournament so didn't spend much time there.
Jul 15, 2013
The staff are always friendly and accomodating. The campground is very well cared for and the kids love all of the animals and the fish pond. Would highly recommend it.
Jul 15, 2013
The KOA was beautiful, well cared for and our host was very kind. However, our fellow campers were the worst we have ever camped near. Kids running and screaming at 6 am both days, adults drinking and laughing and being loud until 1 am. It was difficult to sleep and the tent area is way to crowded.
Jul 15, 2013
Nice facility and helpful staff. Probably due to the holiday time (July 4th) but the trash dumpsters were overflowing and the smell was quite bad.
Jul 15, 2013
A great tent area. Poor wifi.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Nice grass for tents, but only 2 toilet stalls for a campground this large. An upgrade seems well overdue.
Jul 10, 2013
The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. They made our stay much more enjoyable. Our site, next to the small brook, was a little damp throughout our stay, but not enough to keep us from having fun. The restrooms and showers were clean and working fine with plenty of hot water. Thanks KOA!
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Quiet. Friendly staff. Beautiful location.
Jul 08, 2013
Great for kids, they have lots to do and staff is very nice and the showers are very clean and the bathrooms are too. Will definitly go back!!
Jul 07, 2013
Great location, nice tent cabin, very nice owners, interesting animals for children to view, nice fishing pond, close to town.
Jul 01, 2013
I like that this campground has more tent campers than others so there is more respect for tent campers. The grounds are well maintained as well as the shower facilities. The owner is always SO FRIENDLY.
Jun 24, 2013
great place to stay.
Jun 24, 2013
This was a great place to stay. It was so green. We liked the playground, the animal petting area out in the middle, dog run and all of the grass. The bathrooms were so clean!! Everyone was so friendly. We will be back!
Jun 24, 2013
We arrived at the campground after hours,which we were worried about. When we got to the office they had a envelope with our name on it and made everything easy. Great place and good people, will return.
Jun 24, 2013
I attende WSCU for a 3 day course so the proximity of KOA Gunnison was convenient. The campground met or exceeded all of my needs. Great place to camp!
Jun 24, 2013
Always nice to stay at this KOA. Keep up the good work.
Jun 14, 2013
fabulous service and accommodations. Love the deluxe tents!!
Jun 13, 2013
I will definitely return to this KOA. It is by far the best that I have experienced so far. The grounds were very well maintained, very family friendly, and wonderful accommodations for the camping experience.
Jun 12, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Baby ponies. Sheep. Donkey. Goats. You can pet them! Did I mention the stove? Nicestest people ever. Stay here even if its kind of out of the way you will not regret it:)

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.