Gunnison KOA

105 County Road 50

Gunnison, CO 81230

Reserve: 800-562-1248

Info: 970-641-1358

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Sep 25, 2013
It was just an overnight stay so we weren't able to take advantage of any of the amenities. The little A-frame tent cabins are cute and adequate for a quick stop.
Sep 14, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Nice place, Tent cabins are alittle expansive for what you get.Either use a tent or spend the extra $ and get a cabin.
Sep 05, 2013
Did not stay there .Payed for an a-frame but found it not suitable for us because of bugs and size. Would have switched to a camping cabin but they were already closed at 7 pm tryed calling there number no answer so went to a motel.
Sep 04, 2013
We rented one of the A-frame tents. We usually get a one room cabin, but thought we would try something different. It is tiny, but suited our needs just fine. They are positioned close together and do not have a fire-ring, but we would consider staying there again. Great price for what you get! The staff is amazing as well!
Sep 03, 2013
Extremely friendly and helpful camphosts. A very quirky KOA with entertainment for all ages. Lots of space to walk around, never feels cramped. We'll be back next year I'm sure.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Great for families with kids due to the unique kid-friendly pets in a fenced garden area where kids can pet two lamas, a donkey, and two ponies, and when the owner is in the garden, he lets the kids walk the ponies on a leash.
Sep 02, 2013
nice bathrooms. great staff. nice touch with the animals for kids and adults.
Aug 27, 2013
KOA Dave and his staff are totally awesome
Aug 27, 2013
Always a good time at the Gunnison KOA!!!
Aug 27, 2013
The best KOA I've ever stayed in. Friendly staff, great setting, and clean facilities.
Aug 27, 2013
Front desk staff was very helpful. Clean bathrooms!
Aug 27, 2013
Not only a great place to stay, but you will have tons of fun while your there. Friendly, helpful staff, and all the amenities needed to make camping fun and easy.
Aug 27, 2013
Dave and his crew was awesome! Can't wait for next year!!!
Aug 27, 2013
The best KOA I have ever been too Dave is the best
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Really friendly staff. Very easy to make our reservations. Clean grounds and clean well stocked restrooms. Great showers. Some nice quiet shady areas for tents. We usually prefer National Forest campsites but this was remarkably pleasant and will make us consider KOA more often in the future.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Very clean and neat. Staff was very friendly.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
This is my third year in a row staying with you, loved every time!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
It needs some work.
Aug 18, 2013
What a beautiful place to stay! When we got there we just sat and relaxed in front of the pond and trees. The bathrooms were above average from other koa's I have stayed at. The laundry room was very clean and comfortable. The owner was very friendly and helpful. He has a couple of miniature ponies and a miniature donkey that were very friendly.
Aug 15, 2013
Good stay.Nice location. Only 1 issue: my wife was walking our dog near our campsite.Our dog had to relieve herself & my wife didn't have any bags with her to pick up the waste. Before she had a chance to go get a bag,one of the "groundsman" yelled at my wife from across the road "Pick that up please!!!" We are responsible pet owners & always pick up after our pet.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Stayed in the cozy tent cabins.Lady driving golf cart drove by while I was sitting on picnic bench next to road, road was wet, still had mud puddles. She drove by pretty fast, I got mud splatterings. Just be aware of puddles next time & who you'll splash. Had to go to restroom middle of night & would suggest maybe place a few dim solar lights to lead the way; easy stick in, pull out kind.
Aug 11, 2013
Wonderful campground and the owners and employee's are great folks to talk with. I have been at this is KOA for many years and I will be back when I can.
Aug 08, 2013
Probably would have rated higher but the mosquitoes at my site were terrible. The staff was very nice.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
2 night stay. Very muddy road to first deluxe tent site. Second night storm left three trees falling on our cabin site. Owners very responsive to storm damage. Cabin held up nicely. Still, exciting.
Aug 06, 2013
Great, family oriented campground. We'll see you again soon!
Aug 05, 2013
This KOA is the friendliest of all the Kampgrounds we have stayed in during our travels. They treat you like family, plus they have a family of animals that add to the fun. There is so much for kids to do, and of course Gunnison is full of outdoor activities, too. We always look forward to staying with Dave, Michael and the rest of the gang.
Aug 04, 2013
Staying in an Aframe cabin puts one a long way Crome the showers. Ports-pot provided close by was clean.
Aug 04, 2013
This is a great place to camp! We have been returning here for many years as a memory of when we wanted to travel but couldn't afford the expense of a hotel room. I hope we can continue to come back every year, just for the fun of camping. The WI-FI stinks, but hey....your camping!!!!
Aug 03, 2013
Very helpful at check in. Clean restrooms & showers. It was great to finally have grass to put our tent on. We really Loved having the mule wake us up in the morning. I'm serious. Gary Rabuck
Aug 01, 2013
Nice grassy tent sites with lots of room.
Aug 01, 2013
Hosts are extremely friendly and generous. Bathrooms were clean and showers worked well. WiFi a bonus, but not very reliable. Short bike to Hartmann rocks, short drive to downtown. Will be back!
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We still love this place and will be back, but wow, the airport seemed so much more obvious this time. Lots of flights in and out. Noisy. :(
Jul 26, 2013
All great except smell coming from area near ponds which wafted into my cabin. Also the campground should allow guests to rinse off vehicles that get tree sap all over them while parked on the grounds. There is a lot of sap there!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Nice place and nice people, however they need more trashcans around the site, the fire pits were a bit confusing as to which site they were assigned to. The biggest issue was, my son and I felt the restrooms were to small with only one urinal and two toilets.The showers would not be able to accommodate a handicapped or large person and you need more hooks for towels and clothing in the restroom.
Jul 23, 2013
The best camp we have ever stayed at. Seems like they were on top of the little things that make camping a great experience. They sprayed the camp at night for Mosquitos, they watered down the gravel road to keep dust down. They took personal interest in you by coming around every couple hours and asking if you needed anything. Never seen that before. We will be coming back to try the cabins next
Jul 22, 2013
Friendly reception & easy check in, good restrooms and showers, pleasant setting. Will visit again.
Jul 22, 2013
Very clean campground/showers/etc. the staff is EXTREMELY helpful and friendly!
Jul 22, 2013
Terrible service. The owner was verbally abusive to our group and he is not a good person. I will never bring our business back here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This is the same person I had to correct. As a KOA Frachisee, I have the ability to remove a survey like this. Far out of the main stream and personally abusive. Quite frankly, I leave them for you to judge and they are fun to read. Hey we all scour reviews for the negative. Read on and enjoy! Dave
Jul 22, 2013
Fun to see animals, but they triggered my allergies.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so lucky to provide a petting zoo for our customers, especially for our youthful guests(two miniature horses, one miniature donkey and three Llamas. These animals are on display on weekends. If the presence of these animals will aggravate a condition we will attempt to relocate you.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.