Gulf Shores / Pensacola West KOA

11650 County Road 99

Lillian, AL 36549

Reserve: 800-562-3471

Info: 251-961-1717

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Great out of the way spot.clean cabin cold a/c. close to many state parks!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! See you soon.
Aug 05, 2013
It is a nice campground, but the map online made it seem that tent sites were near the water. When I arrived I was given the smallest site on the property no where near the water.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry about that. Yes we have tent sites that are water front and some that are not. We hope to see you soon and just make sure you request a water front tent site upon your next stay. See you soon.
Aug 05, 2013
The area is beautiful and the campground isn't too bad.Very tight spots and no kids activities at all. Very poor playground, hardly a basketball goal at all. Pool is nice and staff was very nice. We will stay again mainly for the convenience to beaches with a decent price.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you like, please sign up for our e-mail list to receive updates on our activities, including kids ;)
Aug 04, 2013
It is obvious that this place is doing a lot of work to make it a better place, but for right now only the upper half is nice and the lower half is a dump. We stayed in the lower half, Tall grass, dog poop all over, un-level lots. Not a good stay. I would not recommend for now.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. Yes we have made many improvements and some are still in process. We hope to see you soon.
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Well we arrived on time and they put us in the wrong cabin. We have a family of five and reserved a cabin that can sleep six and we got a cabin for four. We talked to the front desk and they did move us to a bigger cabin but told us we couldn't stay the four nightswe booked because the cabin they put us in was rented the fourth night. So we booked four nights and could only stay three.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So very sorry this happened to you. We did have an issue with online reservations concerning lodging, that problem is fixed now. We hope to have a second chance to show you how really wonderful it is here.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Bathrooms need updating and cleaner
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Wonderful clean picturesque camping grounds. Too bad it rained for most of our stay but they have a beautiful pool and a short walking distance to a small beach & pier. Staff extremely friendly and courteous.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much! So sorry it rained, although there are some pretty great rainy day things to do around here. :) We hope during your next stay you can hit the beach more.
Jul 29, 2013
Noise and dirty bathroom and bedroom
Jul 29, 2013
This was a beautiful park. We truly enjoyed it!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so very much! We hope to see you soon.
Jul 29, 2013
The staff was very friendly. It would be nice if the camp store had longer hours and the change machine was located in the laundry instead of the store. Fire rings in each site would be nice as well. Thanks for a very relaxing week

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feed back! Glad you had a chance to relax. So very sorry you had to deal with someone not so friendly. We hope to have the chance to show you some real southern hospitality.
Jul 29, 2013
Staff was friendly and very accomodating. Facilities were clean and the many amenities were far above average. Having to take trash and garbage to the dumpster near the front entrance of the park was inconvenient. Placing 55 gallon trash barrels at convenient locations throughtout the park would have improved this situation.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so very much! See you soon.
Jul 29, 2013
Great place. nice pool. friendly people. loved our site. BUT would like checkout time later than 11

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much! Next time you stay be sure to talk to us about a late check out :) See you soon.
Jul 28, 2013
The whole reason we stayed at this koa was the selling point of being on the gulf shore with a beach. Two feet of sand doesn't make a beach. It was close to real beach that was great. The site we were on was super, but the pool needed some care and was closed the last day we were there. No reason why, just a sign that said pool closed. I will not return to this KOA.
Jul 28, 2013
Our cable was out.We reported it Monday & Wed.Not a bayview cabin.View of 2 private homes & trees.Our cabin was dirty upon check in.We reported it same time and was disregarded by staff.The pullout couch was not comfortable to sleep on. The queen bed pulls you to the middle because of dip. The office staff does not answer their phone or return voicemsg. They brushed aside all our concerns.
Jul 26, 2013
The camp sites by the water provided an awesome view!
Jul 26, 2013
Dirthy restrooms ( i hated it going to the restroom)no activities, slow internet, sandy tentspot with all kinds of stuff laying there from former campers, but really nice ownersandaterrific pool !

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for your feed back! We are working on restrooms and we have expanded our internet. So glad you liked us :) See you soon!
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Why is the dumpster unloaded at 5:45 am during quiet time? Not good for sleeping guests.
Jul 24, 2013
Friendly staff. Good location. Small spots. Difficult to maneuver tow vehicle out of spot after unhooking.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We are glad you liked us. We would like to invite you back. We have added more super sites that are great for big rigs towing.
Jul 23, 2013
This was a great campground... Needs to have a better clubhouse and activities for kids...maybe a lifeguard so the kids can enjoy the use of the pool all day...my cabin was infested with flies...Kabin 1 ...would not stay in this unit ...near a driveway and the dumpster ...other than these issues,nice staff...great rates not far from Perdido Fl beaches.....will go back and and send friends

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We are glad you liked us! Yes, bugs in the summer time in the south are sometimes bad. Luckily we can help when you come inside, just let us know next time you stay and we will take care of them. See you soon.
Jul 22, 2013
Great Location! Need to clean the bathrooms!
Jul 22, 2013
Was semi disappointed in our cabin. The pull out bed was nasty and very BAD uncomfortable. The cabin had a very bad odor problem - this was a cabin that animals were allowed in but should not have such a strong dog urine smell. Something could be done about that. The decor was great. People were very friendly.
Jul 20, 2013
the campsite was really bad. the grass was not cut, camping area was too close to each slot, was told they were close to gulf shores, but it was out in the middle of nowhere. the beach area was very small. maybe three feet of beach area and it smelled like dead fish. the showers and bathrooms were nasty and molded. water was standing in the showers. it was the worst place we have ever sta
Jul 20, 2013
when we arrived we were informed that there was no cabin for 6 that we had registered for available. we had to stay in a cabin for 4. very disappointed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry, we did have a problem with online reservations, that is now fixed. We hope to have a chance to show you how great it really is here.
Jul 19, 2013
We had several "odd" encounters with a drunk resident of the koa and an employee as well who we were told was drinking earlier in the evening. The cabins were filthy and many of the porches/common areas smelled of cat urine. The flies were a huge issue due to the maggot infested garbage area. Most staff was friendly but accommodations were less than acceptable. AC, wifi and TV never worked well
Jul 19, 2013
Disappointing! We rented a Kabin and ac was off when we arrived and it took over an hour to cool the Kabin to a bearable temperature. Girl at check in was more interested in texting than greeting or taking care of us. Garbage can outside the Kabin was full of rotten meat..disgusting! Bathrooms by the Kabin are not ventilated/no ac. Showers and main bathrooms are quite a distance from the kabins.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Not a bad little spot! Very enjoyable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! see you soon :)
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
I do not know why this is called "Gulf Shores" it's about 30 minutes from Gulf Shores. The bathrooms are in desperate need of an overhaul.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. We are working on updating our bathhouses. Yes we are 25 minutes from Gulf Shores, but its well worth it ;) If you would like, next time you visit, we are just 3 minutes from Pensacola FL, 15 minutes from the gulf beaches and the Naval Air Museum. We hope to see you soon
Jul 12, 2013
We have stayed at really nice KOA Campgrounds and this one truely dissapointed us. The Cabin needs updated and cleaned . The camp site was unkept and muddy and very difficult to get in and out of. This has made us decide from now on that we will inspect the site first before setting up. Staff was poorly organized and rude. The security was inadaquate with an open gate for possible intruders.
Jul 12, 2013
Old, average, septic smells. I will look for somewhere better.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry your stay was not up to par, thank you for your comments as we need to know issues so we may address them. We would like to invite you back, we have made many improvements and are working hard to make sure grounds are kept in new condition.
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
The restroom and shower facilities were horrible and dirty. The entrance is difficult to negotiate (RV drags on pavement) Camp generally in rough shape.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. We are working on updates with bathrooms. If needed, you may enter through our other drive, we know the hill can be trying. We hope to see you soon.
Jul 10, 2013
Ienjoy my stay I would come back again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Awesome! SEE YOU SOON!
Jul 10, 2013
Great place to camp!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the great review! See you soon!
Jul 09, 2013
All time worst KOA experience ever. Web site/pictures misleading.So looking forward to a great "new" adventure at the gulf...water at fishing pier was brown. Pool was only family entertainment: sadly there was open alcohol almost everywhere. No trash pick up/ however an overflowing dumpster(swarming w/ flies) was located in campground(close to sites. Wi-fi available on store porch/ not sites.
Jul 09, 2013
Bathrooms small hot and unkempt.
Jul 09, 2013
Worst campground I have stayed in. We paid almost 70$ per night because we had a large crew, be prepared for 5$ per person per night over two adults this includes children over the age of 5. Bathrooms small and dirty. RV sites barely large enough for the awning.
Jul 08, 2013
Camper would not fit on site, no room for boat. ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS, melted camper plug..they replaced breaker. 110 plug didn't work, they replaced other breaker, still would not work. At this point, complaints WERE IGNORED. Could not change sites, none available. We paid full amount in advance, a refund WAS NOT ALLOWED! Water standing in Men's RR,UNSANITARY!! IN NEED OF MAJOR IMPROVEMENTS!!!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.